Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Average customer rating:
4.22 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
14
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 star
3
65 of 82(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 1 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Don't skip on the warranty!!

Date: November 29, 2014
" I've owned this laptop for a little over a year and there have been many repeated issues around the 9 month mark..
Mainly the laptop gets stuck in a boot loop. I had to send the laptop in for repair twice for the same problem. They ended up replacing the motherboard. Now I'm experiencing Wi-Fi drops, I have to use the power cable to turn the laptop back on, even when there's 100% battery.
I have purchased the extended warranty because I foresee many other problems..
The plus thing was that I was able to add more RAM and a SSD. "
Review 2 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great choice

Date: October 16, 2014
" I am a desktop computer programmer and I was so lucky that I got W530 at work instead of W540 (which has a hopeless pad and no LEDs). SSD works great, 16GB of RAM is plenty. No troubles with wi-fi, great battery life. Have been using this machine for more than 6 months with a Lenovo dock and two Lenovo monitors. "
Review 3 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Thinkpad W530 is wonderful and simple.

Date: October 11, 2014
" Thinkpad W530 is wonderful and simple. The computer is very fast and fun with wonderful vibrant colors. The computer is simple and elegant and understated in its presence. Thank you Lenovo for a wonderful and simple product. "
Review 4 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Durable and Reliable

Date: October 3, 2014
" This is by far one of the best investments I have ever made. I have now used the products for 8+ hours/ day for nearly 2.5 years, and I have never had a hardware problem. I am a college student, so those 8 hours are not just sitting at a desk. This laptop has been dropped multiple times, been in dusty environments, been used in the rain and has been carried through 2 Michigan winters in a backpack and nothing has ever failed. The durability alone makes this laptop a great value, but on top of that, this laptop is still one of the top performing laptops 2.5 years after it was released. I would recommend a lenovo workstation to any college student or travelling business person. "
Review 5 for
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very powerful, but awful keyboard and trckpad

Date: September 23, 2014
" This very powerful deaktop replacement is crippled by the awful input devices. The buttonless, muti-finger trackpad makes it impossible to work in programs like excel that require extensive use of right-click. The keyboard continues to suffer from on-screen display num lock and caps lock, made even worse now because they cannot be independently controlled. Skip this version till the input issues are solved. "
Review 6 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ArchitectureDesign

Great Mobile Substitute for Desktop

Date: August 26, 2014
" I've had this laptop now for about six months.
I added a few upgrades, most notably the solid state hard drive (highly recommended). I am also running Classic Shell over Windows 8.1 to regain some lost functionality.
I run several "heavy" programs simultaneously (CAD, Photoshop, etc.), and this computer handles the load with no problem. I often work outside the office, and this computer functions perfectly for that as well--it's pretty much a fairly higher-end desktop that is mobile.
Battery life is fantastic. I can work off a full charge for several hours without sacrificing performance.
I had a Dell XPS before and was very disappointed in its performance. The Lenovo Thinkpad W530 has been the exact opposite experience.
There is a thin plastic cover over the audio controls and power button (at the top of the keyboard) that doesn't sit quite right and feels really cheap.
Also, the Fn, Ctrl, Start, and Alt keys are in a weird order--a pain for using keyboard shortcuts. "
Review 7 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldguy

very happy

Date: August 13, 2014
" Did not get a w540 because I am used to the mouse buttons under the space bar and they are not on the w540. The video plays youtube videos no problem. The DVD will not play movies without jerking. Might be better with 2000. Speakers very good for built in speakers, but still are not loud enough even for a small audience to hear. Key board is fine, better than any of the others I use. The battery will go for 12 hours at a seminar taking notes. The power supply is a super burrito sized power supply. Twice as big as my old one. Widows 7 goes from off to ready in about one minute. No problem networking with my old XP machines. Had no problem downloading Office 2013 at over 135 mbps. Graphics are a little tricky. Has two different systems for video. Use the Nvidia controls to set up extra monitors. The mini display port will send sound into an HDMI monitor or TV. you must buy cable. You may have to tweak the display bios. There is a physical switch you can use to turn of the radio. "
Review 8 for
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EnerTekGlobal

Problems Problems Problems

Date: July 22, 2014
" Great hardware, but I have had nothing but problems straight out of the box with software, and drivers. "
Review 9 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LongtimeThinkPadUser

Really Bad Keyboard

Date: July 12, 2014
" Not a bad machine in every regard except for the one you use the most, the keyboard.
I have been using ThinkPad laptops for over 15 years (when they were sold by IBM) Up until now, ThinkPads has always been known for their excellent high quality keyboards. Not any longer. I don't mind the island-style keys, you can get used to that, but the function and special (Home, End, Insert, Delete) keys are all in one row with no gaps. This makes it extremely hard, for example, to find the F4 key (in the past F1-F12 were in 3 groups of 4 keys).
C'mon Lenovo, bring back what used to be your flagship feature--the best keyboards in the industry. "
Review 10 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tims

Great laptop

Date: July 10, 2014
" What a wonderful powerhouse! This is all I need and more. "
Review 11 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jimthenerd

Powerful, and relatively portable

Date: July 4, 2014
" I bought this laptop mainly for programming and virtualization. I write a lot of code, and I have the habit of not closing/suspending VMs in VMWare after using it. Surprisingly, the CPU usage is very low when I am using about 5 virtual machines at once. The machine is extremely powerful, and also relatively portable. You should try carry the HP workstation and you would notice how light the W530 is.
In general, awesome machine, I love it. "
Review 12 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tsluss

Not quite what I had hoped for

Date: June 27, 2014
" I am the IT supervisor for our company and one of the duties that I'm tasked with is evaluating new equipment on a regular basis to see if there are devices that are a better fit for our company. I decided to try this unit because of it's options.
Overall the build quality is good, on par with the Dell Latitudes that we purchase with the exception of the Latitudes having magnesium chassis. But there have been a few things that I've been disappointed with in regards to the hardware.
One of my biggest gripes is with the battery. The battery doesn't fit snug and wiggles quite a bit and this will sometimes result in the unit completely powering down at random and the only way I can get the unit to turn back on is to completely remove the battery and reinsert it. This can be very frustrating since I often need to carry it around while on battery power.
I had a lot of other issues with this device in the beginning as well, but I have sorted most of those out now. "
Review 13 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Volksware

Portable powerhouse

Date: May 31, 2014
" Using for my mobile recording studio. Works flawlessly. Has plenty of power, beautiful LED HD screen, best keyboard in the business. Lighted keyboard is a nice touch when working in a darkened bar room. Built-in 1394 port connects perfectly with the mixer - I thought I might need an add-in card. Opted for the 7200 rpm 500GB drive for faster storage when recording. With 16 GB of RAM, and 8 virtual core i7 CPU, the DAW software runs with smoothly with all plug-ins, and low latency. Have owned Thinkpads since 1995, and the W530 is the best yet! "
Review 14 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AlbertB

Happy with it

Date: May 29, 2014
" I bought this unit used on ebay, and it was out of warranty, so I was glad that Lenovo still let me buy a warranty extension.
Things I like about it:
- fingerprint reader
- backlit keyboard and an overhead light at the top of the screen that shines down on the keyboard. all easily switched on and off
- supports three external monitors in addition to the internal
Things I don't like:
- built-in camera picks up a lot of glare from the room
- sleep state is very shallow, and the computer often wakes up on its own and drains the battery, so I need to use hibernate
"
Review 15 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PerformanceLaptopUser

The best laptop I've ever had

Date: May 28, 2014
" I've used several laptops, including Dell, HP, Toshiba and ThinkPad, for the past ten years. W530 is the best in performance and reliability. I like its keyboard especially. "
Review 16 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Albatross

Not bad, minor but irrititating quirks

Date: May 28, 2014
" Its a good laptop. Get it. But note the following annoying things ...
1. The plastic tab below the mousepad squeeks - everytime you rest your thumb on it.
2. The plastic top, above the keyboard area, is not flat.
3. The grill on the speakers is very hard to clean.
4. VGA out stops recognizing external monitors if you plug and unplug monitors frequently ... A reboot is needed. I am switching the vga between the w530 and an x201, and the x201 never has an issue. The DP supports daisychains, so its a good alterative if the monitors support it.
5. Re-read 1, its annoying!
But, its a great laptop. I use it with external monitors and keyboards most of the time. "
Review 17 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrPaul

Love it.

Date: May 28, 2014
" My other brand name computer shut down on me. I was looking for very specific features. A lighted keyboard and 8 gig of ram. I did not really understand the dual core processor but this thing just is blazingly fast. I am so happy I found this site and was able to purchase the laptop the way I wanted it. "
Review 18 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LDCPNL

Pretty good

Date: May 28, 2014
" For the most part, the laptop has been pretty good. It has blue screened once, and the ThinkVantage power management settings have to be reset every time I plug the computer back into the ThinkPad USB 3.0 docking station. "
Review 19 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WereWolf1967

Think Pad W530-Outstanding

Date: May 28, 2014
" A friend of mine told me to try a Lenovo (which I knew to be the old IBM), so I gave it a try.
Mine was custom configured for me. It wasn't "cheap" but it was worth every penny. Once I got over the learning curve on Windows 8, I updated to 8.1 and am thoroughly pleased with everything. I also have the multiple license for Office 365 and it also is wonderful.
All in all, with the maxed out RAM and other enhancements, an already excellent laptop became an Outstanding one. I love the back-lighted or overhead lighted keyboard for night and travel work. I have the optional high capacity battery pack which does stick out of the back of the laptop.
I would highly recommend this unit to anyone wanting a power house. The Intel, quad core I-7 processor can't be beat. "
Review 20 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sam1145

Very Good Purchase

Date: May 28, 2014
" I love my Think Pad W530 but am unable to get
the memory card slot to work. Do not know what
the problem is.
"
1-20 of 81