Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T430u or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T430u

Powerful 14” Ultrabook for small to medium business; durable, yet lightweight, tons of storage, vivid graphics, and SMB software.

Average customer rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
2
11 of 21(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T430u
Review 1 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ondres

Good laptop for very fair price

Date: April 14, 2014
"Well, it doesn't give you all performance as we used to see on "normal" T430 however I am quite satisfied with this piece.
It offers quite solid performance (i5 with 4 threads) and also sufficient storage (500 GB) and very good feature - I appreciate hybrid disc - it combines speed with huge capacity).
I found out display is a weakness and also was surprised by only 2 USB ports. Also, what I consider as a weak point is absence of special buttoms for volume control... That's pretty uncomfortable! Despite all weaknesess it's solid and reliable friend on th way, at home...
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Azihe
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Flimsy Casing Broke

Date: January 21, 2014
Pros: Processor
Cons: Display resolution, Warranty, Support, Battery, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"I bought this directly from Lenovo, and on arrival the frame felt flimsy and flexible. Little did I know, the laptop's casing was already broken and was never meant to be that flexible. The laptop continued to be flimsy for a few months, then the casing completely came apart from the inside. After taking the computer to a Lenovo authorized repair business, I was told that the laptop was broken due to "user error", and had to pay 300 dollars to fix it since that was not covered under a warranty. I could not have known the product was defective instead of just poorly made."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Philbert
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wasted potential

Date: January 16, 2014
Pros: Processor, Security Features
Cons: Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
"Lots of potential in the hardware, but Lenovo completely screwed up two key factors affecting user interface. First, the display -- it's a cheap piece of junk-tech and it shows. Horrible contrast, muddy colors, minimal resolution -- it's seriously difficult to use for long periods of time. Secondly, the touchpad is the absolute worst I have ever used. Tap sensitivity is horrible, forcing me to double, triple, quadruple tap just to get it to register. But I have the opposite problem when trying to use the mouse buttons. That area of the touchpad is cursor-sensitive, so when you try to left or right click, your thumb inevitably moves sideways a bit and so does the cursor, so you end up clicking somewhere you don't mean to."
Review 4 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thinkpad
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

thinkpads will DO.

Date: October 16, 2013
Pros: Processor, Security Features, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: thunderbolt would have been great, backlit keyboard would have been cool, no dock, not a spill proof keyboard
"best buy so far.
had a t40, t400, t430 (Dad's laptops)
now the t430u. (mine)
its a well equipped machine that can help any student do the job right. i5 perfect for the task that need be done. Nvidia GT 620m. acceptable for gaming (past time gaming NOT heavy gaming). memory 4gb well all laptop memory can be upgraded so no problem there. storage is not an issue these days cause you can buy a external hard drive for less than $100.
build quality is superb. design is amazing. and it follows the ultrabook standards which is good for people working on the go.
with regards to resolution and screen quality.
honestly who needs 1080p or 900p??
1366x768 is good enough.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
longtimethinkpadfan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Never Again

Date: August 22, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Build Quality
Cons: Storage, Display resolution, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, no real docking station
"I have had many ThinkPad models. My husband ordered this for work, not realizing it had no CD drive. Since it would not meet his needs, and I am a lighter user these days, we exchanged computers.
Besides being short on USB ports, the solid state drive is too small for almost any user and I had to get an outside harddrive - there goes one USB port. Add a mouse (other reviewer's criticism of the trackpoint are correct) and that's all you get. So I looked for a docking station for connectivity and fewer wires all over my desk and THERE ISN'T ONE! There is something Lenovo calls a dock - but it is just a glorified port replicator. You cannot mount the machine in it - no power supply through it and it costs $169. Users rated it at 3 stars, so I think I'll pass.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goda17
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

OK value overall despite terrible screen & bugs

Date: June 12, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
"I've owned just about every generation of T-Series going back to the T21 and I really wanted to love this T430u.
The screen is nearly a deal breaker. For one, 1366x768 just doesn't cut it any more and worse is the horrible viewing angles. The worst I've ever seen in many years.
The trackpoint bugs that others have mentioned are true and have NOT been fixed. There was one update that solved an issue where the cursor would just stop responding. However, still there are several times a day when the pointer just jumps to the top right and starts clicking away resulting in a bunch of your open programs being abruptly closed. Anybody working on this???
I Wish it had the backlit keyboard like the T430s."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slevin
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent product, despite negative reviews

Date: June 7, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution
"I searched for the perfect computer for months, finally realizing that such a thing does not exist. The T430u arrived on Tuesday. It comes reasonably close to my unreasonably high expectations. (Comp specs: i5, 8gb ram, 128 gb ssd, fingerprint reader.)
The battery life is excellent, and charges quite quickly. The weight, feel, and look of the machine are excellent. The screen res could be a bit better, but it is fine. The audio is just fine.
My one complaint: the touchpad is awful. I use the trackpoint solely. If this wasn't the case, I would be terribly disappointed with the machine.
People complain about the new Thinkpad keyboards, but this is the best typing experience II've ever had.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
justtryingtoworkhere
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

AVOID

Date: May 13, 2013
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"Long positive history with Thinkpads, but this does not live up to the name.
I've had it since November, and the mouse still floats away. Hangs. Love the trackpoint. But not on this. Have swapped out keyboard. No good fix. Nothing more aggravating than having 'mouse' jump when working.
The rest doesn't matter - Avoid!"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
David
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Horrible Battery Life

Date: April 20, 2013
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Battery
"I like the design, portable and lightweight. Feels somewhat well built.
Had issues with the battery since almost day one. Battery sometimes failed to hold charge. Then about 4 months after purchase the battery died completely. Battery will not charge anymore at all. Not sure if the battery recall days are coming back. This is where it gets better though.. The battery is a lithium ion internal battery. And pretty much available no-where (including Lenovo website).. I am yet to find out how good their warranty and customer service is though.
Device comes full of all sorts of bloatware. But I guess that is really nothing new.
I like the keyboard. Intel HD4000 is nothing to write home about. Bluetooth works well. I wish there were 3 USB ports instead of two."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MSS430
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Buggy driver on otherwise great laptop

Date: April 11, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"Overall, this is a nice machine. It is lightweight and thin, has great performance and long battery life.
Unfortunately, the driver for the track pad is seriously buggy. I downloaded an update which fixed one of the problems, but other problems still remain. The most annoying problem is that at times, for no apparent reason, the cursor moves to the upper right corner and sends left key press to the system. Since the Windows X button is usually at that location for maximized windows, one or two windows close all of a sudden. This is atrocious and that's why I'm giving it a 2 star rating.
I also find that it freezes for a few seconds at times. I'm not sure what the cause is."
Review 11 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BusinessUser5
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Satisfied

Date: March 23, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
"I have been in the market for a laptop for a few months and after much research decided on this unit. Although I did read a number of reviews that mentioned issues with the display quality and sharp edges on the housing. While the display is not the newest available on the market I do not need retina display. As far as sharp edges are concerned the edges are crisp and have not resulted in any problems. I travel 50% of the time and needed a unit that is portable (4 lbs), durable, and reliable. The T430U has met all of my needs so far. If I wanted a laptop for entertainment purposes I would have looked at something else. This is a solid unit and the keyboard is fantastic. From my perspective this is one great machine."
Review 12 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mmangen
Owned Product:1-6 months

Would never recommend for heavy users

Date: January 11, 2013
Cons: design
"I purchased this computer right after Thanksgiving 2012 directly from Lenovo. The sales rep I had was fantastic! Support has been really great too (I've had to call twice).
I just started using it on a regular basis after the first of this year (so just about 2 weeks now).
The outer, front facing edge is not rounded / beveled so my wrists are red, sore and covered in gauze because the edge just "cuts into your wrists" (I have two Facebook friends who said the exact same thing about the T430u).
Bottom line - I think this is a great computer but ONLY for people who aren't using it all day, every day.
I'm not sure what the solution is for my wrists but I know that wrapping my wrists in gauze daily is not an ideal solution."
Review 13 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheOHouse
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very High Quality, Well Rounded Ultrabook

Date: January 11, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution
"With all of the new hardware being introduced at the end of 2012 and the arrival of Windows 8, choosing a new machine was difficult. The aluminum casing is rigid and cool to the touch, the palm rest around the keyboard is a nice (high density) textured plastic that is very comfortable. This thing is so much nicer than all of the flimsy PCs they sell at Best Buy.
This ThinkPad would have met all of my desires for a computer if it had come with a touchscreen and a higher resolution display, but you really can't beat what you get for the price.
This machine gets you 90% of the top-of-the-line features for 50% of the price."
Review 14 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snanua
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Am happy with my purchase

Date: January 11, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution
"I started using it, its pretty light (a bit heavier compared to other ultrabooks). Loved the keys, and the form factor. The screen resolution is OK, but good for me for the purpose of work / project related stuff that I need to do from time to time. It is a business ultrabook, not a gaming or entertainment one. Happy with the battery life - the ultrabook also does not heat up - there is a small vent on the side that runs at intervals to exhaust the heat which is good."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lionex
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Linux Machine

Date: January 6, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Memory, not enough indicator lights
"When i replaced the ram and the hard drive with a Samsung 840 250gb ssd and installed Ubuntu 12.10, everything except for the wireless card worked right away (as a result of conflicting kernel modules with the wl driver).
The keyboard is great and it was really easy to get used to, but it could do with caps lock, wireless and touchpad indicators. The clickpad is great, two finger scrolling works flawlessly in Ubuntu 12.10, I can scroll in any direction that both of my fingers go.
The clickpad and trackpoint in combination work very well for me, and having a hardware middle mouse button is a lifesaver, especially since I do light 3d edting.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Balboa
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Listen to your customers and market for God Sake!!

Date: January 2, 2013
Cons: Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Memory, Screen size, Display performance
"Lenovo, quit making an unfinished product for God sake. You are wasting your investment and loosing your market share to creeps like Dell or HP. 10 oint Touchscreen + 256GB SSD, dedicated video card and a 1600 by 900 display resolution on T430u and take my money."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
disappointed
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Screen kills this otherwise perfect laptop

Date: January 2, 2013
"This laptop is perfect in every way, but Lenovo has seriously crippled it with the screen they have included. Not only is the resolution low (which was known before purchasing), but the quality is very VERY poor. The viewing angles are awful, and the screen is painful to use for more than a few minutes. Stacked up against my 4 year old Macbook Pro, the T430u screen is a complete joke. This is not just on the machine I received, but others as well.
Buyers considering this laptop should wait until Lenovo adds a better screen as an option, or look to another manufacturer. It is unfortunate that Lenovo chooses to cripple it's products like this (in the hopes you will buy the X1C) but that is why Lenovo and Thinkpads are losing ground these days :/"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Student
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop

Date: December 27, 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Battery
"I got the model with the i7 processor, 128 gb solid state drive and nvidia graphics. The laptop looks great and feels very solid. The keyboard is great. The trackpad is good but definitely not the greatest. The system takes around 10 secs to start up and be ready for use. Windows 8 works great, no problems so far. The screen is ok but a higher resolution screen would be nice. It doesn't really matter to me but people who love their full HD movies etc. may want something with higher resolution. The fan is not noisy and the laptop does not heat up a lot. Battery life is ok. I get somewhere between 3-5 hrs. The laptop is slim and very portable. It is heavier than most ultrabooks but has more features and greater performance. Overall very happy with the purchase so far."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Murthy
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows XP Home
Processor:Intel Core i5

Disappointing performance

Date: December 17, 2012
"The T430u is light weight and has great keyboard+trackpad. The build is very good for this price range. However, there are few major drawbacks because of which I decided to return the Ultrabook.
a. Lack of control buttons: No volume/mute buttons, no indicator to know CAPS lock is on/off.
b. Win-8 build (home) I got is HORRIBLE. It is not ready for production. It kept crashing every few hours and I even got blue screen few times (though blank this time in Win8). That was the deal breaker for me. I went back to my old HP + XP model and found that more productive.
I'll probably reconsider this after few months.. but for now, I think I'll stay away from Win-8 models."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cnick6
Location:Redmond, WA
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very high quality but disappointed in LCD

Date: November 5, 2012
Pros: Weight, Video card, Screen size, Build Quality, Processor
Cons: Display resolution
"I just purchased the Core i7 unit for use with Windows 8. It's a very solid "ultrabook" and the low weight is great for daily carry. I'm generally very happy with the purchase and you cannot beat the value. For a Thinkpad, the price is very good. It's very competitive with other PC makers.
Some minor nit-picks:
1. The Core i7 is a dual-core CPU only.
2. Stock RAM of only 4GB? RAM is so cheap these days that it should come with 8GB.
3. Is the maximum RAM 8 or 16GB? The Lenovo shop implies that the unit may accept 8GB modules..?
4. The AC adapter plug is on the right side. I prefer having it in the back as with my other Lenovo laptops.
5. Would LOVE a trackpoint-only option for those of us who HATE touchpads.
6. The viewing angle of the LCD is a bit odd. Some times it's best at 45deg and other times it's best when more upright. It's not consistent.
My one major gripe is the screen resolution. Since this unit has the Geforce GT620M installed, why can't we get a default of 1600x900 like the X1 Carbon? The lower resolution (1366x768) is O.K. but with any bright background (which is prevalent in Win8) shows a "texture" of the LCD display. Since this is a business laptop, I'm not too concerned but I would prefer a higher resolution.
Aside from the disappointing LCD display, the unit is beautifully built. Very high quality here. As usual, the Thinkpad keyboard is excellent!
Installing RAM is a PITA and requires some minor technical skill but it's not super difficult. So far I'm quite happy with the unit. Windows 8 seems to be fully supported and works quite well.
My unit included the Samsung 830 OEM 128GB SSD and its performance is spot on to the retail 830 drive. I may upgrade to the 840 PRO 256GB in the near future but I'm happy with 128GB for now.
My startup time for Windows 8 (which is from power button to typing in my credentials) is probably about six seconds."