Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T430u or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T430u

Powerful 14” Ultrabook for small to medium business; durable, yet lightweight, tons of storage, vivid graphics, and SMB software.

Average customer rating:
3.292 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
2
14 of 24(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T430u
Review 1 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best performing laptop to rely on

Date: January 5, 2015
" The best performance laptop that is suitable for software application uses.thin and sleek design and more over it does not heat up. Cool laptop to have. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ondres

Good laptop for very fair price

Date: April 14, 2014
" Well, it doesn't give you all performance as we used to see on "normal" T430 however I am quite satisfied with this piece.
It offers quite solid performance (i5 with 4 threads) and also sufficient storage (500 GB) and very good feature - I appreciate hybrid disc - it combines speed with huge capacity).
I found out display is a weakness and also was surprised by only 2 USB ports. Also, what I consider as a weak point is absence of special buttoms for volume control... That's pretty uncomfortable! Despite all weaknesess it's solid and reliable friend on th way, at home...
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Azihe
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Flimsy Casing Broke

Date: January 21, 2014
Pros: Processor
Cons: Display resolution, Warranty, Support, Battery, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
" I bought this directly from Lenovo, and on arrival the frame felt flimsy and flexible. Little did I know, the laptop's casing was already broken and was never meant to be that flexible. The laptop continued to be flimsy for a few months, then the casing completely came apart from the inside. After taking the computer to a Lenovo authorized repair business, I was told that the laptop was broken due to "user error", and had to pay 300 dollars to fix it since that was not covered under a warranty. I could not have known the product was defective instead of just poorly made. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Philbert
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wasted potential

Date: January 16, 2014
Pros: Processor, Security Features
Cons: Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
" Lots of potential in the hardware, but Lenovo completely screwed up two key factors affecting user interface. First, the display -- it's a cheap piece of junk-tech and it shows. Horrible contrast, muddy colors, minimal resolution -- it's seriously difficult to use for long periods of time. Secondly, the touchpad is the absolute worst I have ever used. Tap sensitivity is horrible, forcing me to double, triple, quadruple tap just to get it to register. But I have the opposite problem when trying to use the mouse buttons. That area of the touchpad is cursor-sensitive, so when you try to left or right click, your thumb inevitably moves sideways a bit and so does the cursor, so you end up clicking somewhere you don't mean to. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thinkpad
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

thinkpads will DO.

Date: October 16, 2013
Pros: Processor, Security Features, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: thunderbolt would have been great, backlit keyboard would have been cool, no dock, not a spill proof keyboard
" best buy so far.
had a t40, t400, t430 (Dad's laptops)
now the t430u. (mine)
its a well equipped machine that can help any student do the job right. i5 perfect for the task that need be done. Nvidia GT 620m. acceptable for gaming (past time gaming NOT heavy gaming). memory 4gb well all laptop memory can be upgraded so no problem there. storage is not an issue these days cause you can buy a external hard drive for less than $100.
build quality is superb. design is amazing. and it follows the ultrabook standards which is good for people working on the go.
with regards to resolution and screen quality.
honestly who needs 1080p or 900p??
1366x768 is good enough.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
longtimethinkpadfan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Never Again

Date: August 22, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Build Quality
Cons: Storage, Display resolution, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, no real docking station
" I have had many ThinkPad models. My husband ordered this for work, not realizing it had no CD drive. Since it would not meet his needs, and I am a lighter user these days, we exchanged computers.
Besides being short on USB ports, the solid state drive is too small for almost any user and I had to get an outside harddrive - there goes one USB port. Add a mouse (other reviewer's criticism of the trackpoint are correct) and that's all you get. So I looked for a docking station for connectivity and fewer wires all over my desk and THERE ISN'T ONE! There is something Lenovo calls a dock - but it is just a glorified port replicator. You cannot mount the machine in it - no power supply through it and it costs $169. Users rated it at 3 stars, so I think I'll pass.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goda17
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

OK value overall despite terrible screen & bugs

Date: June 12, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Build Quality
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
" I've owned just about every generation of T-Series going back to the T21 and I really wanted to love this T430u.
The screen is nearly a deal breaker. For one, 1366x768 just doesn't cut it any more and worse is the horrible viewing angles. The worst I've ever seen in many years.
The trackpoint bugs that others have mentioned are true and have NOT been fixed. There was one update that solved an issue where the cursor would just stop responding. However, still there are several times a day when the pointer just jumps to the top right and starts clicking away resulting in a bunch of your open programs being abruptly closed. Anybody working on this???
I Wish it had the backlit keyboard like the T430s. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slevin
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent product, despite negative reviews

Date: June 7, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution
" I searched for the perfect computer for months, finally realizing that such a thing does not exist. The T430u arrived on Tuesday. It comes reasonably close to my unreasonably high expectations. (Comp specs: i5, 8gb ram, 128 gb ssd, fingerprint reader.)
The battery life is excellent, and charges quite quickly. The weight, feel, and look of the machine are excellent. The screen res could be a bit better, but it is fine. The audio is just fine.
My one complaint: the touchpad is awful. I use the trackpoint solely. If this wasn't the case, I would be terribly disappointed with the machine.
People complain about the new Thinkpad keyboards, but this is the best typing experience II've ever had.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunny
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good T series genetics with silly flaws

Date: June 2, 2013
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, sharp case edge
" Had T410 prior. T430u is robust in construction but not light, even though it is made with titanium. Metal base forms a sharp ridge around the edge, which makes using the trackpad a pain... literally! Has only two USB ports; it would have been nice to have at least one more USB. 5,400 RPM HDD is a bit of a let down, considering that 7,200 RPM is the default now; the 24Gb SSD cache disk makes up the difference. The screen is slim and crisp to look, but not sure what having two discrete video subsystems is supposed to achieve; I tried both and saw no difference. The keyboard is well designed and provides good tactile feedback, but the special Fn key symbols are printed in dark grey, which is impossible to read in low light. The keyboard illumination light at the top of the screen is useless. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
justtryingtoworkhere
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

AVOID

Date: May 13, 2013
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
" Long positive history with Thinkpads, but this does not live up to the name.
I've had it since November, and the mouse still floats away. Hangs. Love the trackpoint. But not on this. Have swapped out keyboard. No good fix. Nothing more aggravating than having 'mouse' jump when working.
The rest doesn't matter - Avoid! "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
David
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Horrible Battery Life

Date: April 20, 2013
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Battery
" I like the design, portable and lightweight. Feels somewhat well built.
Had issues with the battery since almost day one. Battery sometimes failed to hold charge. Then about 4 months after purchase the battery died completely. Battery will not charge anymore at all. Not sure if the battery recall days are coming back. This is where it gets better though.. The battery is a lithium ion internal battery. And pretty much available no-where (including Lenovo website).. I am yet to find out how good their warranty and customer service is though.
Device comes full of all sorts of bloatware. But I guess that is really nothing new.
I like the keyboard. Intel HD4000 is nothing to write home about. Bluetooth works well. I wish there were 3 USB ports instead of two. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MSS430
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Buggy driver on otherwise great laptop

Date: April 11, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
" Overall, this is a nice machine. It is lightweight and thin, has great performance and long battery life.
Unfortunately, the driver for the track pad is seriously buggy. I downloaded an update which fixed one of the problems, but other problems still remain. The most annoying problem is that at times, for no apparent reason, the cursor moves to the upper right corner and sends left key press to the system. Since the Windows X button is usually at that location for maximized windows, one or two windows close all of a sudden. This is atrocious and that's why I'm giving it a 2 star rating.
I also find that it freezes for a few seconds at times. I'm not sure what the cause is. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BusinessUser5
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Satisfied

Date: March 23, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
" I have been in the market for a laptop for a few months and after much research decided on this unit. Although I did read a number of reviews that mentioned issues with the display quality and sharp edges on the housing. While the display is not the newest available on the market I do not need retina display. As far as sharp edges are concerned the edges are crisp and have not resulted in any problems. I travel 50% of the time and needed a unit that is portable (4 lbs), durable, and reliable. The T430U has met all of my needs so far. If I wanted a laptop for entertainment purposes I would have looked at something else. This is a solid unit and the keyboard is fantastic. From my perspective this is one great machine. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Designer
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid All Around

Date: January 17, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: only 2 usb ports
" I am extremely pleased with this machine & really cannot report any flaws. The build quality is great, performance is great & it runs very cool. The temperatures reported with light usage are 48°C for processor & again about 48°C for the Platform Controller Hub (PCH). Only when the CPU is taxed for prolonged periods will the machine noticeably increase in temperature. I get around 4 to 5 hours battery depending upon usage. The only thing I would not mind is an extra USB 3.0 port but I can happily live with two. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mmangen
Owned Product:1-6 months

Would never recommend for heavy users

Date: January 11, 2013
Cons: design
" I purchased this computer right after Thanksgiving 2012 directly from Lenovo. The sales rep I had was fantastic! Support has been really great too (I've had to call twice).
I just started using it on a regular basis after the first of this year (so just about 2 weeks now).
The outer, front facing edge is not rounded / beveled so my wrists are red, sore and covered in gauze because the edge just "cuts into your wrists" (I have two Facebook friends who said the exact same thing about the T430u).
Bottom line - I think this is a great computer but ONLY for people who aren't using it all day, every day.
I'm not sure what the solution is for my wrists but I know that wrapping my wrists in gauze daily is not an ideal solution. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheOHouse
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very High Quality, Well Rounded Ultrabook

Date: January 11, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution
" With all of the new hardware being introduced at the end of 2012 and the arrival of Windows 8, choosing a new machine was difficult. The aluminum casing is rigid and cool to the touch, the palm rest around the keyboard is a nice (high density) textured plastic that is very comfortable. This thing is so much nicer than all of the flimsy PCs they sell at Best Buy.
This ThinkPad would have met all of my desires for a computer if it had come with a touchscreen and a higher resolution display, but you really can't beat what you get for the price.
This machine gets you 90% of the top-of-the-line features for 50% of the price. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snanua
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Am happy with my purchase

Date: January 11, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution
" I started using it, its pretty light (a bit heavier compared to other ultrabooks). Loved the keys, and the form factor. The screen resolution is OK, but good for me for the purpose of work / project related stuff that I need to do from time to time. It is a business ultrabook, not a gaming or entertainment one. Happy with the battery life - the ultrabook also does not heat up - there is a small vent on the side that runs at intervals to exhaust the heat which is good. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lionex
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Linux Machine

Date: January 6, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Memory, not enough indicator lights
" When i replaced the ram and the hard drive with a Samsung 840 250gb ssd and installed Ubuntu 12.10, everything except for the wireless card worked right away (as a result of conflicting kernel modules with the wl driver).
The keyboard is great and it was really easy to get used to, but it could do with caps lock, wireless and touchpad indicators. The clickpad is great, two finger scrolling works flawlessly in Ubuntu 12.10, I can scroll in any direction that both of my fingers go.
The clickpad and trackpoint in combination work very well for me, and having a hardware middle mouse button is a lifesaver, especially since I do light 3d edting.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Balboa
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Listen to your customers and market for God Sake!!

Date: January 2, 2013
Cons: Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Memory, Screen size, Display performance
" Lenovo, quit making an unfinished product for God sake. You are wasting your investment and loosing your market share to creeps like Dell or HP. 10 oint Touchscreen + 256GB SSD, dedicated video card and a 1600 by 900 display resolution on T430u and take my money. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T430u
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
disappointed
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Screen kills this otherwise perfect laptop

Date: January 2, 2013
" This laptop is perfect in every way, but Lenovo has seriously crippled it with the screen they have included. Not only is the resolution low (which was known before purchasing), but the quality is very VERY poor. The viewing angles are awful, and the screen is painful to use for more than a few minutes. Stacked up against my 4 year old Macbook Pro, the T430u screen is a complete joke. This is not just on the machine I received, but others as well.
Buyers considering this laptop should wait until Lenovo adds a better screen as an option, or look to another manufacturer. It is unfortunate that Lenovo chooses to cripple it's products like this (in the hopes you will buy the X1C) but that is why Lenovo and Thinkpads are losing ground these days :/ "