Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T430 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T430

14" powerhouse with productivity-ready features & leading wireless options.

Average customer rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
3
61 of 75(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T430
Review 1 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best ever

Date: August 17, 2015
" Nuf said "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Poor Start

Date: July 31, 2015
" I purchased a refurbished machine as a backup to my current Lenovo laptop. Within 3 weeks the harddrive failed and Lenovo quickly sent a replacement drive that I installed myself. The new drive seemed to be fine.
Then, a week ago, the battery failed. I called support. Seems the battery is not covered under warranty because it is a refurbished machine. So, I called the 800 number he gave me to talk to the "refurbish department". The number took me to IBM sales. I hungup and I am now weighing my options as to whether to press Lenovo for a replacement battery or just buy one myself.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yes it is LOVE

Date: July 17, 2015
" I have 17 ThinkPads dating from T60 to T430. I would never use any other brand because these are true performers. Whether I use them for personal or business purpose, they are ultra dependable. The warranty is beyond compare, after sale support is on point for parts and correct advice, the whole "team" is professional and knowledgeable. This is a "team" that goes the extra 10 miles to make their customers believers in the brand. Even after warranty they will still provide knowlegeable answers to general questions. Just as a side note, ThinkPad products hold their value and are sought after so they have high resale.Thank you TEAM IBM / Lenovo!! "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid performer

Date: July 2, 2015
" I use a T430 at work which was my first experience with one, I was impressed because I have to have a lot of programs running at the same time, and it rarely underperforms, task switching performance is always very good. Switching between wired and wireless sometimes has issues, but that seems to be more of an OS issue. The backlit keyboard is excellent!.
I even found a used one on ebay, to replace my aging personal laptop, this one so far has also been very good performer.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best lenovo laptop with a drive!

Date: April 7, 2015
" hand down the slimmest and fastest lenovo. The durability is awesome too!! "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

worth every dime

Date: January 20, 2015
" I absolutely hate spending money on laptops. Being that the usual life expectancy is 3-4 years tops, it makes it almost pointless to actually spend good money for a good product when youre going to be doing it again in such a short time.This laptop works like it did the day I got it, and shows no sign of slowing. I easily expect to have it for 6-8 years. I doubt I'll ever shop for computers from any other company. Thankfully some companies still make things well as opposed to just making things that sell. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop!

Date: January 5, 2015
" It is an excellent laptop, extra battery and performance is very good. Very versatile and dynamic. I recommend everyone use the Lenovo laptop, will not be disappointed. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Computer!

Date: January 5, 2015
" I got this computer for College and it is absolutely awesome! My Dad has used ThinkPad's since the early 2000's and they have always proved to be durable and long lasting, not to mention able to take a beating. It has easily handled all I could throw at it from graphics intensive games to long essay writing. Battery life is great with the 9 cell battery I can get between 6-9 hours of work done or 4-5 hours of gaming. the keyboard is good although former ThinkPad users will know that the old one was better. the ThinkLight is very useful when trying not to disturb your roommate or seat partner on an airplane. It gets a little warm after more than an hour or so of intense gaming but that is to be expected from any laptop. Highly recommend the upgrade to NVIDA Graphics and the 9 cell battery. If looking at a New ThinkPad T series either wait for the T450 or buy one of these excellent T430's. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

T430S

Date: December 6, 2014
" I have had my T430s for ~1year.
USAGE: For work
PROS: The extra bright backlight is great for outdoors. nice LCD, battery life is good, keyboard backlight. replacing CD/DVD with battery is a big plus when traveling.
CONS: Touch pad freezes. Plastic is brittle compared to the older Lenovo products . I notice some wifi compatibility issues. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

T430 <3

Date: August 2, 2014
" I am a dead thinkpad fan now. I will keep using this until I die.
The design is so sexy I'd prefer 2 thinkpad over 2 wives. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Professional choice

Date: July 2, 2014
" In more than 10 months I used this product, I never feel any problem with it
Sometimes it's features are UNBELIEVABLE!
You could really rely on it, everywhere every time
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good machine all round

Date: May 2, 2014
" I acquired this computer from someone who got it from another guy who had used it for a couple of years! I love the keyboard in terms of the tactile experience of the keys but the re-(dys)arrangement of the keys from a standard keyboard is not helpful. My biggest concern is the fact that the computer doesnt seem to connect with a data projector. I have tried in three different situations but could not get it to communicate with a projector. Is this a defect in my laptop or is it a design iisue? Please help! "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

13 Hour battery life? (NOT)

Date: May 1, 2014
" This is a descent laptop and consistent with expectations for a Lenovo product. Over the past two years it has been reliable, performance good and more than sufficient for my purposes.
One of the things that drew me to this model was the alleged 13 hour battery life.
I ordered the largest battery they offer, which ungraciously pokes out the back, instead of the more common bump on the bottom.
Fiddling with the power settings does not help a lot.
Lenovo claims great battery life on this unit, yet it has never lasted 4:00 hours and working hard will deplete the oversize battery in a about 2 hours. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not the old IBM thinkpad we knew and loved

Date: March 24, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Durability
" This is a decent laptop. But if you thought you were buying a modern replacement for the old IBM Thinkpad you will be disappointed. The old keyboard is gone; the new chicklet keyboard has mediocre feel. The build quality is down some too. Holding the laptop in one hand causes the chassis to flex enough so the CD tray pops out. Thank goodness they still have the TrackStick!
If Lenovo comes out with a future T-series with the old keyboard, keeps the TrackStick, and goes back to the old build quality, I will be the first in line to buy it. Otherwise, it become just another business class laptop. Nothing to distinguish it from the pack. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Owned Product:13-18 months

SCREEN DEAD AFTER 13 MONTHS USING

Date: March 21, 2014
" SCREEN DEAD AFTER 13 MONTHS USING.DO NOT BUY IT. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Best choice ever

Date: March 17, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
" I use to have a dell inspiron 1720. It is a 7 year old computer that sucks in this day in age. When I got this new laptop I was surprised on how fast It is. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not as good as they make them out to be.

Date: March 7, 2014
Cons: Battery, Build Quality, Display performance
" Honestly I was expecting something good when I first got this brand new Lenovo T430, especially being a ThinkPad. But I was surprised to see that these computers are very cheap compared to my MacBook Pro which I've had for past 5 years. I mean come on... the A key broke off within 2 weeks of using this computer!... Would never buy another Lenovo product ever again. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Thinkpad, as always

Date: December 2, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Weight
" Thinkpad series always has the best quality among different PCs and even Macs, including this model. Everything wents great on the first day except I'm a little bit unaccustomed to the new keyboard setting. I love the old keyboard setting, and that's one major reason I chose Thinkpad again. This new keyboard model is weird to use at first. Yes, it's weird. I made some typo mistakes at first because its difference from the old one. However, after 2 hours getting this model, I was completely used to it and enjoyed it a lot.
Cons: This model is heavy comparing to ultrabooks especially if you buy the 9-cell Lithium battery version, but its supreme quality and performance can cover all the immobility it has.
Wireless card is worse than Macs'
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

To much optimisation | Failed for me

Date: October 30, 2013
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
" T430 is an excellent model, but then it has taken away my favorite key from the pad. The key that used to be placed b/w Alt and Ctrl in the previous version (the one that can be used as an alternative to right click). Since I am pretty equipped with shortcuts, its absence has crippled me. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T430
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Super disappointed

Date: October 28, 2013
" I am a loyal customer of Thinkpad T series, and very satisfied with my old T series laptops, T61 and T400. That's the reason why I decide to buy a new T430 which is a total disaster.
The LCD screen of the new T430 has vertical stripes when pressing the edge. The speaker makes strange noises under mid to high volume.
This is definitely my last Thinkpad laptop, and I will never recommend Thinkpad computers to my friends as I used to do.
Sooooo disappointed. "