Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad L440

ThinkPad L440 Laptop

Average customer rating:
3.221 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
23
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
12
36 of 67(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad L440
Review 1 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

pretty darned good

Date: January 30, 2016
" I've only got one minor complaint so far, and that is that you are unable to deactivate the touchpad. I tried going through tech support and it would cost me extra despite having a full wty to get it worked on and I use a mouse at all times, accidentally hitting on the touch pad is a very annoying problem. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI, United States

Great little machine

Date: January 1, 2016
" I bought this like 15 days before so can make out the best of it. The machine is fast and light. The only thing that I noticed is that there is little noise that come up sometimes due to hard-disk spinning but it does not matter much to me as I will change it to SSD once the price drops "
Review 3 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA, United States

Best for levels of security

Date: December 17, 2015
" Best option for this laptop is the: trusted platform module. Second best option: availability of disk drives.
Missing features: no internal blu-ray option, no secondary front battery option, *missing* panel on left (towards front) of laptop depending upon selections "
Review 4 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Depew, NY, United States

Built like the old Thinkpads

Date: December 14, 2015
" This is like the machine I have come to expect from Lenovo unlike the G model I purchased last year. This one is solid, fast, efficient and windows 7 is still the best system to use. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts, United States

Seems Buggy and Slow

Date: November 3, 2015
" Going on a couple months now and I'm disappointed in my purchase. I code and run some scripting programs through this machine and it's slow, seems buggy, freezes often under normal operating conditions, and was shipped with a ton of bloat-ware (IBM's 'management' software). It's looking like I'll have to throw 12GB at it to see if it'll start performing. Additionally, although 3rd party reviews stated that the screen was lack-luster, I was a bit surprised on how poor it actually is. "
Response from Lenovo:By Lenovo StaffLenovo.comNovember 5, 2015
Hi there,
We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your ThinkPad L440. Please visit Technical Support for assistance: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/.
Review 6 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PERFECT

Date: October 4, 2015
" This laptop is perfect, I have the i7 model with 16gb of ram. I used a brand new T440 for work which got stolen at the airport. I needed a new laptop but i couldn't drop $1400. I bought this and its the same thing, although the materials are a little cheaper, the new track pad works perfect when you configure it properly. The screen and the trackpad could be better but its an awesome laptop and the core i7 model is a powerhouse for the price when you upgrade the ram. THE KEYBOARD IS THE EXACT SAME THING AS THE T440. Its a smart buy. Its like the T440 without the "business class" laptop hype to drive the price up, just as rugged and reliable. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Price was right!

Date: August 19, 2015
" Love that I could get a high performing laptop for under $1,000. Seamless transition from my T420. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Was not disappointed !

Date: August 13, 2015
" Configs :-
Core i7-4712MQ, 16GB RAM, 9 cell, 16GB M.2 SSD, 14" HD+, 500GB 7200RPM
Price - $1027
Great laptop. Been using it for 10 days. So far so good. Performance is great. And battery life is about 6-7 hours with mixed usage. I mostly use it for coding, surfing a lot of web, and watching videos on youtube. Also, i was a bit skeptical about the HD+ screen in this age of 4K displays. But, this screen was more than sufficient for my usage. definitely looks more polished than my previous HD display(VAIO T14)
All in all, if you are on a budget and want to get a high performing machine(not in terms of gaming) this is highly recommended.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Purchase Ever

Date: August 13, 2015
" It's a great waste of 600 bucks. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ThinkPad Key Pad

Date: May 19, 2015
" Deliver me forever from laptops with touch pad key pads. My other Lenovo was bad enough but I wanted the performance and reliability of Lenovo in another machine so I bought the L440 with an extended life battery. This touch pad key pad is an absolute exercise in frustration. I've had this machine for about a year and I NEVER know where the cursor is going to land next. I DARE NOT take my eyes off the screen and there still are times when I have to hunt for it or just click "undo" to back up and start over. With this machine my efficiency is GONE. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Power Cord

Date: May 10, 2015
" Not even 5 months old and the power cord is bad. I sure hope this is under warranty. Right now I'm not feeling too impressed about my investment in this pc. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date: April 22, 2015
" Upgraded resolution. i7. 16GB. AC WiFi. 9cell Battery. Windows 7. Purchased after Superfish. I personally remove a lot of the bloatware Lenovo adds to machines. When finally setup to my standards, this thing is brilliant. I knock some points for Lenovo moving the Function key to the bottom left (like on Macs). I prefer Control in that position on my PCs. I also really miss a keypad cause I'm a network admin and use a lot of numbers, but that's my fault, not Lenovo. Battery life and reliability were key factors and the thing is amazing on both accounts. DO IT if you don't need a keypad. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad

Date: April 4, 2015
" This is one of the worst computers I have ever bought. It is a waist of $700. I bought it for school and within the first few weeks it became slow and didn't want to work as well. It feels like a computer from 9 years ago. The screen isn't that nice. and for the (Military-Specification Testing) My computer doesn't like to work most of the time. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Laptop Purchase Ever

Date: February 27, 2015
" I bought this laptop a month ago. Last night I tried to watch a movie. It doesn't have an HDMI port. My old (non-Lenovo) laptop was 4 years old and had an HDMI port. It's not like the HDMI port is absent to save room, either. It has a (now oudated) DVI port, which is much bulkier. Also the speakers have suddenly stopped working. The computer is also MUCH bulkier than it looks in the picture.
Considering I paid about a grand on the laptop, you'd think, at the very least, that it would work for more than a month and have the kinds of ports that modern machines have.
This was my first Lenovo laptop. At this point, I really don't think I'm going to get another. I'm frustrated that I'm stuck with this outdated, overpriced piece of garbage for the next four or five years. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lenova L440 good budget laptop

Date: February 3, 2015
" Lenova L440 good budget laptop, if you don't mind about different keyboard layout!!
Pros:
1. Good performance
2. Light weight
3. Good battery life.
4. Well placed external ports.. (USB, Network Adp, ....)
Cons:
1. Different Keyboard layout, Say Fn key is placed in place of left-Cntl key. Placement of Home/End/Insert/Delete keys are not of standard. Difficult to adopt
2. New kind of Touchpad - whole pad works as key.. its difficult to differentiate between left & right click.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Lenovo L440 not optimal

Date: January 31, 2015
" The Lenovo L440 is a come down from its predecessor the R60. The major problem is the design change from having a separate clicker to incorporating it in the cursor pad. For keyboard people who use the eraser mouse, this now means to click on a specific mouse position you have to stretch your hand about 5 inches whereas before it was a comfortable 2-inch stretch. Was the goal to decrease speed and require hand stretch exercises? I hope the design engineers return to the separate clicker system. The present one wastes a huge amount of time. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is item is average

Date: January 6, 2015
" Keyboard is cumbersome and processing power is average. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect College laptop

Date: January 5, 2015
" Everyone around campus has a mac and they're missing out. This laptop is perfect: compatible with all software and performs well. It is incredibly durable and built extremely well. I cannot complain about it whatsoever. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

thinkpad L440

Date: January 3, 2015
" I borrowed a friends think pad L440, and found that it was a great little lap top. However I would have to purchase an external mouse. I could not get used to the built in mouse. I would prefer a ball type built in mouse. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Battery Plugged in Not charging

Date: December 25, 2014
" just brought last month, I ran Battery Plugged in Not charging problem. My battery was down to 5%. Can't not be charges it. it was a new system and just opened the box and played a few times and let it sleep. A few days later I played and noticed battery drained out. Don't know why? Looking for technical solution and tried but it didn't work. Don't know where to look for support. My company brought a lot Lenovo products without such an issue. I bought it for personal use and ran this problem at first. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.