Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad L440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad L440

Average customer rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
6
24 of 45(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad L440
Review 1 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Complete Letdown

Date: November 6, 2014
"-Laptop took four times as long to ship than indicated at time of purchase.
-System board crashed within a week of use.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Was hoping for better...

Date: October 28, 2014
"After 2 Macbooks, I decided to go back to a PC for various reasons. I know many businesses use Levovo which is why I chose it. However, I've been very disappointed. I don't use the laptop for anything data hungry or complicated- simple web surfing and email. It constantly freezes, web pages do not download, error messages appear, it restarts itself. Last week I tried to type a letter on Microsoft Word and couldn't because there was at least a 30 second delay between me typing and the words appearing on the screen. I was very surprised as the lack of quality and can definitely see why people are constantly buying Apple and no more PCs. I tried to give PC another chance but now I know better."
Review 3 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Huge Disappointment

Date: October 26, 2014
"Computer is 2 months old.
My T430 was stolen from my car and I tried to replace it the best I could with this model. This has been a major disappointment. It is full of glitches and has far fewer features despite being a year newer. Example: when the cord is removed all programs freeze for up to 1 minute as the computer adjusts to solely running on battery. I have found myself using my computer less and less because it is a headache to use this unlike my old Lenovo which I thoroughly enjoyed using."
Review 4 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good sturdy laptop

Date: October 26, 2014
"This is a well-built laptop. It looks and feels like a durable product.
The trackpoint is good and the multitouch trackpad is not as bad as I feared, though of course I prefer the older versions.
I think it is good value for money. It is a lot cheaper than equivalent T models, but bulkier.
The battery is long-lasting and easily replaceable by the user.
Operating speed, boot time etc. depend mostly on the user's installed programs and so on, but a new L440 has snappy responses, at least if you upgrade to the i7 processor and 8GB ram, which I highly recommend.
Display is really nice, has a nice anti-reflective finish which I find very useful. I recommend going for the 1600X900 upgrade. For just $50 more it creates a huge difference. I had a 15.6 inch screen with 1366X768 resolution, and, if you don't mind small text then this one is much more convenient to use despite being smaller."
Review 5 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Surprized because extremely disappointed

Date: October 25, 2014
"This is my second Lenovo and I was very happy with my previous laptop. But they changed the touch pad so that is almost impossible to use. It is very jumpy and it often takes 2 or 3 attempts to do simple commands. Although the rest of the computer is up to Thinkpad's superior standards, the touch pad is so jumpy and annoying that it makes every experience using the laptop very frustrating. I read that this was an issue in previous reviews, but was so pleased with my previous laptop that I ignored the comments. Lenovo made an excellent computer painful to use. I would not recommend this computer until start using a good touchpad again."
Review 6 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

JPM L440

Date: October 8, 2014
"would recommend with reservations. The battery is great. My machine came with a webcam that was broken and to be sent back for depot repair. Not good on a new machine.
The touchpad is a disaster. One of the highlights of previous lenovo products was they keyboard and touchpad. They really blew it on this one. Some people may work it work with ease, but I am not one of them.
Have gotten used to the keyboard, but it is not the same. Would I buy it again, probably not given the price and the keyboard and touchpad."
Review 7 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

much better than my last laptop

Date: October 4, 2014
"So far (and it's only been a short time), I'm really liking my new ThinkPad.......there are some problems with the mouse (sometimes the cursor jumps somewhere else), and also sometimes the cursor vibrates in place like crazy. I like the speed, the ease of the keyboard, and most of the functionality through Windows 7 (I refuse to use Windows 8)."
Review 8 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenevo Thinkpad L440

Date: September 25, 2014
"i bought this laptop a week ago .i like the features but there are some minus points also .
the first thing about 440 is the video quality is very poor .sound is okay.the design is not so attractive.one more big minus point is the touch pad.it is very confusing and sometimes doesn't work at all.lenevo replaced the touchpad buttons with a flat touchpad.it is very annoying.i would recommend to go for a different model.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

A Very Nice Laptop

Date: September 13, 2014
"I purchased this laptop as an upgrade from my Lenovo X220 ThinkPad, which was suffering from various system failures, as well as physical breakage. One of the main reasons I chose the L440 was the presence of the TrackPoint mouse, which I have always found enjoyable. Upon receiving my new laptop, I was pleased to find that it did, in fact, run much better than my old one. The presence of a CD/DVD drive was just icing on the cake. However, I quickly ran into a few problems. The screen has a very narrow vertical viewing angle. The separation of the three TouchPad mouse buttons is not always clear. The button that opens the disk drive is difficult to press, and the laptop must be tilted to the left in order to access it. Much of the Lenovo software included is unnecessary and detrimental to my experience. And, even though I had purchased my laptop with Windows 7 installed, I was sent recovery disks containing Windows 8.1. Aside from these flaws, I am generally pleased with my new laptop."
Review 10 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

New Lenovo Thinkpad L440 purchaded from Outlet

Date: September 11, 2014
"I truly was looking forward to my first personal Thinkpad, but unfortunately this new Lenovo laptop arrived damaged. The right back corner (next to the hinge) was cracked. Almost as if it had been dropped, packaged and shipped. I noticed the damage upon inspection and just before powering it up.
Needless to say it had to be returned. Returning it was another hassle. In the end I opted to buy a Dell laptop."
Review 11 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad L440

Date: September 9, 2014
"I've previously owned a Toshiba Satellite (awful) and a Dell Inspiron 1545 (7 year lifespan). My dad has always had IBM ThinkPads without any complaints, so I decided to make the L440 my next computer. I couldn't be more pleased. The thing I like the most is how fast this computer runs. The redesigned touchpad, while customizable, leaves little to be desired. I will probably purchase a wireless mouse. It was quick and easy to set up, it looks great, and runs like a champ!"
Review 12 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Wish it played video DVDs

Date: September 7, 2014
"See the above."
Review 13 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
diogofdm

Worst Keyboard and touchpad ever/Good performance

Date: August 27, 2014
"Pros:
- Performance is great, it turns on and off really quick.
- Battery performance is awesome.
Cons:
- Keyboard is a BIG MESS! The fact that the Fn key is located at the extreme bottom left, and the Ctrl key is at the right side of the Fn key is REALLY ANNOYING! I keep hitting Fn key thinking it is Ctrl. So many times I messed my code and text because of that. The Ctrl key HAS to be on the extreme bottom left - it is a functional standard requirement.
- Home/End and PgDn/PgUp keys are not functional either. If you use Home/End frequently like me, be prepared to drop your productivity a lot. They are located in the middle of the upper row. If you need to hit them, you will need a couple of seconds to find it before you do so.
- Touchpad is garbage! I doubt someone will get used to that. there's no left/right button, instead they have an "upper" and "bottom" which is not functional at all. Hint: Buy a mouse and pray you don't need to use your laptop on your lap.
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
benb

bad referbished

Date: August 26, 2014
"I bought this unit from lenovo outlet, when I opened the box I noticed some scratched on it i just got a rag and clean it the scratch was gone then I turned the unit on and gone though the set up procedure.
after that I found out that the finger tip scanner is not working, called the technical support they couldn't help and told me to return the computer back to fix the problem.
I don't think this item was checked by any technician it look like they just got the defective unit put it in a new box and sold it the way it was.
I am not saying that all lenovo product are bad but I did not have a good experience with this unit."
Review 15 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alex

Great laptop for four months

Date: August 19, 2014
"This laptop has good battery life, good performance, but only lasted for 4 months before the display failed. The part was back ordered and with the upgraded warranty still will take over a week to fix. Unacceptable, since this is my work computer and source of income.
Wish I had stayed with other brands."
Review 16 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SuperSalvo

my 3rd thinkpad in 14 years

Date: July 11, 2014
"overall, i suppose i'm satisfied. i'm not sure i understand laptop design. i would be okay with all connections being made in the back of the laptop along with the power cord and rj45 jack.
i do have two quirks: 1) the dvd writer is difficult to open, manually. the button is flush with the panel. it is difficult to press. i'm forming the habit of opening the player with the "eject" feature in "my computer." 2) also, i keep getting a code 39 with the player, which is resolved by using microsoft's fixit. i'm installing a lot of software, so i'm hoping it won't be an issue after i'm done.
they made minor changes to the keyboard layout and made the top row with smaller keys. i had keyboard and trackpad problems with my 2nd thinkpad, had to use a separate keyboard and mouse. i have no issues with this trackpad and only time will tell how long the keyboard will last.
i do have to say that i seem to get more computer for less money over the years."
Review 17 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pugh

Mostly awesome

Date: June 15, 2014
"After finally needing to upgrade computers, I decided to invest in a Lenovo. I had heard of their fantastic reliability for the longest time, and knew that it would be a good purchase. Out of the box, everything was great. With i7 and the 8 gigs of RAM, the thing runs like a dream. The only set back is, like everyone else has said, the trackpad. It was something that didn't need to be fixed. I have tried so hard to like it, but it is way too buggy. Right click is impossible to find when you want it, and appears when you don't. At the end of the day, it is a great computer with everything I need for college. I guess I will just have to get a USB mouse."
Review 18 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charlie

Good Purchase

Date: June 13, 2014
"Performance was greet, did not Like function keys as default. Had to write Visual Studio program to make default the F keys."
Review 19 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarkN

T61 lcd died

Date: June 12, 2014
"This is a replacement for my beloved T61. The lcd died after 7+ years. Anyway, this L440 is not quite as nice as the old T61, which had a magnesium top, better touchpad, and overall better fit,finish,and build quality. However, this L440 is also about $400 less expensive and should do what I need a laptop for."
Review 20 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daniel

Very good

Date: June 11, 2014
"This laptop exceeded my expectations.
The keyboard is simply one of the best out there. The key travel is extremely generous and really fun to type on. Performance wise, I equipped my laptop with the 4700-MQ and it handles everything perfectly. But, I still found the laptop to be quiet and cool (Never passed 50C.
Onto the hotly controversial Touchpad, I don't see a problem with it. In fact, I prefer it over the old ones. Its big, smooth, quiet, and perfect for me. I can use it for hours without feeling the need to get a mouse. Finally, the battery life is wonderful. with the 9cell battery, I get an average of 9-12 hours usage with 10/15 on brightness. Overall, a perfect laptop for students or offices.
"