Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad L440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad L440

Average customer rating:
3.192 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
18
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
8
27 of 52(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad L440
Review 1 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

This is item is average

Date: January 6, 2015
" Keyboard is cumbersome and processing power is average. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect College laptop

Date: January 5, 2015
" Everyone around campus has a mac and they're missing out. This laptop is perfect: compatible with all software and performs well. It is incredibly durable and built extremely well. I cannot complain about it whatsoever. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

thinkpad L440

Date: January 3, 2015
" I borrowed a friends think pad L440, and found that it was a great little lap top. However I would have to purchase an external mouse. I could not get used to the built in mouse. I would prefer a ball type built in mouse. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Battery Plugged in Not charging

Date: December 25, 2014
" just brought last month, I ran Battery Plugged in Not charging problem. My battery was down to 5%. Can't not be charges it. it was a new system and just opened the box and played a few times and let it sleep. A few days later I played and noticed battery drained out. Don't know why? Looking for technical solution and tried but it didn't work. Don't know where to look for support. My company brought a lot Lenovo products without such an issue. I bought it for personal use and ran this problem at first. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst decision to Purchase Ever

Date: December 25, 2014
" Not happy with the techinical service support . "
Review 6 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Dissappointed

Date: December 11, 2014
" I bought a Lenovo because I use one at the company I work at and love my work issued laptop. I spoke to a representative about what my needs are and a bit disappointed. It is slow...doesn't seem to connect very fast and the mouse pad us clunky and not easy to use. I am also disappointed that there was not even one game on it....not even solitaire, which most computers have. I don't think I would go this route again. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid unit and good value

Date: December 7, 2014
" Had my L440 for 2 weeks now and think it was a really good buy. I got the standard 4 GB RAM and 500 GB hard drive. The only options were the HD+ screen (recommend this) and the Windows 7 Pro (running old XP programs). Also got the 2 year depot warranty. Price direct (good service on the order) came in under $700 including tax & free shipping. The unit arrived slightly faster than expected (9 days).
I'm finding the new style keyboard is a good thing (wife's 2 year old T series has this). The speed is real welcome after my (still running) 7 year old R series. (I mostly just use MS Office & Chrome in my work.) USB 3 port is fast too.
Biggest adjustment is the touch pad - it takes some getting used to. I have played with the settings for over a week, and have got it pretty good - think I'll actually like it. Not having indicator lights is an adjustment too, but for the price . . .
The case feels solid & well built too.
So overall seems like a real good business machine & value! "
Review 8 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Complete Letdown

Date: November 6, 2014
" -Laptop took four times as long to ship than indicated at time of purchase.
-System board crashed within a week of use.
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Was hoping for better...

Date: October 28, 2014
" After 2 Macbooks, I decided to go back to a PC for various reasons. I know many businesses use Levovo which is why I chose it. However, I've been very disappointed. I don't use the laptop for anything data hungry or complicated- simple web surfing and email. It constantly freezes, web pages do not download, error messages appear, it restarts itself. Last week I tried to type a letter on Microsoft Word and couldn't because there was at least a 30 second delay between me typing and the words appearing on the screen. I was very surprised as the lack of quality and can definitely see why people are constantly buying Apple and no more PCs. I tried to give PC another chance but now I know better. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Huge Disappointment

Date: October 26, 2014
" Computer is 2 months old.
My T430 was stolen from my car and I tried to replace it the best I could with this model. This has been a major disappointment. It is full of glitches and has far fewer features despite being a year newer. Example: when the cord is removed all programs freeze for up to 1 minute as the computer adjusts to solely running on battery. I have found myself using my computer less and less because it is a headache to use this unlike my old Lenovo which I thoroughly enjoyed using. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good sturdy laptop

Date: October 26, 2014
" This is a well-built laptop. It looks and feels like a durable product.
The trackpoint is good and the multitouch trackpad is not as bad as I feared, though of course I prefer the older versions.
I think it is good value for money. It is a lot cheaper than equivalent T models, but bulkier.
The battery is long-lasting and easily replaceable by the user.
Operating speed, boot time etc. depend mostly on the user's installed programs and so on, but a new L440 has snappy responses, at least if you upgrade to the i7 processor and 8GB ram, which I highly recommend.
Display is really nice, has a nice anti-reflective finish which I find very useful. I recommend going for the 1600X900 upgrade. For just $50 more it creates a huge difference. I had a 15.6 inch screen with 1366X768 resolution, and, if you don't mind small text then this one is much more convenient to use despite being smaller. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Surprized because extremely disappointed

Date: October 25, 2014
" This is my second Lenovo and I was very happy with my previous laptop. But they changed the touch pad so that is almost impossible to use. It is very jumpy and it often takes 2 or 3 attempts to do simple commands. Although the rest of the computer is up to Thinkpad's superior standards, the touch pad is so jumpy and annoying that it makes every experience using the laptop very frustrating. I read that this was an issue in previous reviews, but was so pleased with my previous laptop that I ignored the comments. Lenovo made an excellent computer painful to use. I would not recommend this computer until start using a good touchpad again. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

JPM L440

Date: October 8, 2014
" would recommend with reservations. The battery is great. My machine came with a webcam that was broken and to be sent back for depot repair. Not good on a new machine.
The touchpad is a disaster. One of the highlights of previous lenovo products was they keyboard and touchpad. They really blew it on this one. Some people may work it work with ease, but I am not one of them.
Have gotten used to the keyboard, but it is not the same. Would I buy it again, probably not given the price and the keyboard and touchpad. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

much better than my last laptop

Date: October 4, 2014
" So far (and it's only been a short time), I'm really liking my new ThinkPad.......there are some problems with the mouse (sometimes the cursor jumps somewhere else), and also sometimes the cursor vibrates in place like crazy. I like the speed, the ease of the keyboard, and most of the functionality through Windows 7 (I refuse to use Windows 8). "
Review 15 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenevo Thinkpad L440

Date: September 25, 2014
" i bought this laptop a week ago .i like the features but there are some minus points also .
the first thing about 440 is the video quality is very poor .sound is okay.the design is not so attractive.one more big minus point is the touch pad.it is very confusing and sometimes doesn't work at all.lenevo replaced the touchpad buttons with a flat touchpad.it is very annoying.i would recommend to go for a different model.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

A Very Nice Laptop

Date: September 13, 2014
" I purchased this laptop as an upgrade from my Lenovo X220 ThinkPad, which was suffering from various system failures, as well as physical breakage. One of the main reasons I chose the L440 was the presence of the TrackPoint mouse, which I have always found enjoyable. Upon receiving my new laptop, I was pleased to find that it did, in fact, run much better than my old one. The presence of a CD/DVD drive was just icing on the cake. However, I quickly ran into a few problems. The screen has a very narrow vertical viewing angle. The separation of the three TouchPad mouse buttons is not always clear. The button that opens the disk drive is difficult to press, and the laptop must be tilted to the left in order to access it. Much of the Lenovo software included is unnecessary and detrimental to my experience. And, even though I had purchased my laptop with Windows 7 installed, I was sent recovery disks containing Windows 8.1. Aside from these flaws, I am generally pleased with my new laptop. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

New Lenovo Thinkpad L440 purchaded from Outlet

Date: September 11, 2014
" I truly was looking forward to my first personal Thinkpad, but unfortunately this new Lenovo laptop arrived damaged. The right back corner (next to the hinge) was cracked. Almost as if it had been dropped, packaged and shipped. I noticed the damage upon inspection and just before powering it up.
Needless to say it had to be returned. Returning it was another hassle. In the end I opted to buy a Dell laptop. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad L440

Date: September 9, 2014
" I've previously owned a Toshiba Satellite (awful) and a Dell Inspiron 1545 (7 year lifespan). My dad has always had IBM ThinkPads without any complaints, so I decided to make the L440 my next computer. I couldn't be more pleased. The thing I like the most is how fast this computer runs. The redesigned touchpad, while customizable, leaves little to be desired. I will probably purchase a wireless mouse. It was quick and easy to set up, it looks great, and runs like a champ! "
Review 19 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Wish it played video DVDs

Date: September 7, 2014
" See the above. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
diogofdm

Worst Keyboard and touchpad ever/Good performance

Date: August 27, 2014
" Pros:
- Performance is great, it turns on and off really quick.
- Battery performance is awesome.
Cons:
- Keyboard is a BIG MESS! The fact that the Fn key is located at the extreme bottom left, and the Ctrl key is at the right side of the Fn key is REALLY ANNOYING! I keep hitting Fn key thinking it is Ctrl. So many times I messed my code and text because of that. The Ctrl key HAS to be on the extreme bottom left - it is a functional standard requirement.
- Home/End and PgDn/PgUp keys are not functional either. If you use Home/End frequently like me, be prepared to drop your productivity a lot. They are located in the middle of the upper row. If you need to hit them, you will need a couple of seconds to find it before you do so.
- Touchpad is garbage! I doubt someone will get used to that. there's no left/right button, instead they have an "upper" and "bottom" which is not functional at all. Hint: Buy a mouse and pray you don't need to use your laptop on your lap.
"