Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad L440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad L440

Average customer rating:
3.145 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
21
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
11
32 of 62(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad L440
Review 1 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Price was right!

Date: August 19, 2015
" Love that I could get a high performing laptop for under $1,000. Seamless transition from my T420. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Was not disappointed !

Date: August 13, 2015
" Configs :-
Core i7-4712MQ, 16GB RAM, 9 cell, 16GB M.2 SSD, 14" HD+, 500GB 7200RPM
Price - $1027
Great laptop. Been using it for 10 days. So far so good. Performance is great. And battery life is about 6-7 hours with mixed usage. I mostly use it for coding, surfing a lot of web, and watching videos on youtube. Also, i was a bit skeptical about the HD+ screen in this age of 4K displays. But, this screen was more than sufficient for my usage. definitely looks more polished than my previous HD display(VAIO T14)
All in all, if you are on a budget and want to get a high performing machine(not in terms of gaming) this is highly recommended.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Purchase Ever

Date: August 13, 2015
" It's a great waste of 600 bucks. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ThinkPad Key Pad

Date: May 19, 2015
" Deliver me forever from laptops with touch pad key pads. My other Lenovo was bad enough but I wanted the performance and reliability of Lenovo in another machine so I bought the L440 with an extended life battery. This touch pad key pad is an absolute exercise in frustration. I've had this machine for about a year and I NEVER know where the cursor is going to land next. I DARE NOT take my eyes off the screen and there still are times when I have to hunt for it or just click "undo" to back up and start over. With this machine my efficiency is GONE. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Power Cord

Date: May 10, 2015
" Not even 5 months old and the power cord is bad. I sure hope this is under warranty. Right now I'm not feeling too impressed about my investment in this pc. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date: April 22, 2015
" Upgraded resolution. i7. 16GB. AC WiFi. 9cell Battery. Windows 7. Purchased after Superfish. I personally remove a lot of the bloatware Lenovo adds to machines. When finally setup to my standards, this thing is brilliant. I knock some points for Lenovo moving the Function key to the bottom left (like on Macs). I prefer Control in that position on my PCs. I also really miss a keypad cause I'm a network admin and use a lot of numbers, but that's my fault, not Lenovo. Battery life and reliability were key factors and the thing is amazing on both accounts. DO IT if you don't need a keypad. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad

Date: April 4, 2015
" This is one of the worst computers I have ever bought. It is a waist of $700. I bought it for school and within the first few weeks it became slow and didn't want to work as well. It feels like a computer from 9 years ago. The screen isn't that nice. and for the (Military-Specification Testing) My computer doesn't like to work most of the time. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Laptop Purchase Ever

Date: February 27, 2015
" I bought this laptop a month ago. Last night I tried to watch a movie. It doesn't have an HDMI port. My old (non-Lenovo) laptop was 4 years old and had an HDMI port. It's not like the HDMI port is absent to save room, either. It has a (now oudated) DVI port, which is much bulkier. Also the speakers have suddenly stopped working. The computer is also MUCH bulkier than it looks in the picture.
Considering I paid about a grand on the laptop, you'd think, at the very least, that it would work for more than a month and have the kinds of ports that modern machines have.
This was my first Lenovo laptop. At this point, I really don't think I'm going to get another. I'm frustrated that I'm stuck with this outdated, overpriced piece of garbage for the next four or five years. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lenova L440 good budget laptop

Date: February 3, 2015
" Lenova L440 good budget laptop, if you don't mind about different keyboard layout!!
Pros:
1. Good performance
2. Light weight
3. Good battery life.
4. Well placed external ports.. (USB, Network Adp, ....)
Cons:
1. Different Keyboard layout, Say Fn key is placed in place of left-Cntl key. Placement of Home/End/Insert/Delete keys are not of standard. Difficult to adopt
2. New kind of Touchpad - whole pad works as key.. its difficult to differentiate between left & right click.
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Lenovo L440 not optimal

Date: January 31, 2015
" The Lenovo L440 is a come down from its predecessor the R60. The major problem is the design change from having a separate clicker to incorporating it in the cursor pad. For keyboard people who use the eraser mouse, this now means to click on a specific mouse position you have to stretch your hand about 5 inches whereas before it was a comfortable 2-inch stretch. Was the goal to decrease speed and require hand stretch exercises? I hope the design engineers return to the separate clicker system. The present one wastes a huge amount of time. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is item is average

Date: January 6, 2015
" Keyboard is cumbersome and processing power is average. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect College laptop

Date: January 5, 2015
" Everyone around campus has a mac and they're missing out. This laptop is perfect: compatible with all software and performs well. It is incredibly durable and built extremely well. I cannot complain about it whatsoever. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

thinkpad L440

Date: January 3, 2015
" I borrowed a friends think pad L440, and found that it was a great little lap top. However I would have to purchase an external mouse. I could not get used to the built in mouse. I would prefer a ball type built in mouse. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Battery Plugged in Not charging

Date: December 25, 2014
" just brought last month, I ran Battery Plugged in Not charging problem. My battery was down to 5%. Can't not be charges it. it was a new system and just opened the box and played a few times and let it sleep. A few days later I played and noticed battery drained out. Don't know why? Looking for technical solution and tried but it didn't work. Don't know where to look for support. My company brought a lot Lenovo products without such an issue. I bought it for personal use and ran this problem at first. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst decision to Purchase Ever

Date: December 25, 2014
" Not happy with the techinical service support . "
Review 16 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dissappointed

Date: December 11, 2014
" I bought a Lenovo because I use one at the company I work at and love my work issued laptop. I spoke to a representative about what my needs are and a bit disappointed. It is slow...doesn't seem to connect very fast and the mouse pad us clunky and not easy to use. I am also disappointed that there was not even one game on it....not even solitaire, which most computers have. I don't think I would go this route again. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid unit and good value

Date: December 7, 2014
" Had my L440 for 2 weeks now and think it was a really good buy. I got the standard 4 GB RAM and 500 GB hard drive. The only options were the HD+ screen (recommend this) and the Windows 7 Pro (running old XP programs). Also got the 2 year depot warranty. Price direct (good service on the order) came in under $700 including tax & free shipping. The unit arrived slightly faster than expected (9 days).
I'm finding the new style keyboard is a good thing (wife's 2 year old T series has this). The speed is real welcome after my (still running) 7 year old R series. (I mostly just use MS Office & Chrome in my work.) USB 3 port is fast too.
Biggest adjustment is the touch pad - it takes some getting used to. I have played with the settings for over a week, and have got it pretty good - think I'll actually like it. Not having indicator lights is an adjustment too, but for the price . . .
The case feels solid & well built too.
So overall seems like a real good business machine & value! "
Review 18 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Complete Letdown

Date: November 6, 2014
" -Laptop took four times as long to ship than indicated at time of purchase.
-System board crashed within a week of use.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Was hoping for better...

Date: October 28, 2014
" After 2 Macbooks, I decided to go back to a PC for various reasons. I know many businesses use Levovo which is why I chose it. However, I've been very disappointed. I don't use the laptop for anything data hungry or complicated- simple web surfing and email. It constantly freezes, web pages do not download, error messages appear, it restarts itself. Last week I tried to type a letter on Microsoft Word and couldn't because there was at least a 30 second delay between me typing and the words appearing on the screen. I was very surprised as the lack of quality and can definitely see why people are constantly buying Apple and no more PCs. I tried to give PC another chance but now I know better. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad L440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Huge Disappointment

Date: October 26, 2014
" Computer is 2 months old.
My T430 was stolen from my car and I tried to replace it the best I could with this model. This has been a major disappointment. It is full of glitches and has far fewer features despite being a year newer. Example: when the cord is removed all programs freeze for up to 1 minute as the computer adjusts to solely running on battery. I have found myself using my computer less and less because it is a headache to use this unlike my old Lenovo which I thoroughly enjoyed using. "