Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo Y410p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Y410p

High-performance 14" multimedia laptop with Ultrabay options to easily add more functionality.

Average customer rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(229 Reviews) 223
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (229 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
71
3 stars
27
2 stars
21
1 star
17
165 of 229(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Y410p
Review 1 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Works very well until it doesn't

Date: August 13, 2015
" I bought this laptop for school and gaming two years ago for a very good price (I think around $750). The laptop had good sound quality and cpu speeds and could run high end games on reduced graphics. I really enjoyed this laptop up until last week when the motherboard fried. I took it in to get it fixed and they said the video card is integrated into the board, so the cost of fixing it will be around $450! This obvious design flaw means basically half the cost of a new laptop is needed to fix any aspect of the motherboard that breaks. I'm sorry Lenovo, but I can't recommend a laptop which can turn out to be such a hassle down the road. "
Review 2 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Underwhelming at Best

Date: July 28, 2015
" I've owned this device for almost 2 years and I've regretted almost every moment of it. Its specs look good on paper, but Windows 8 hogs all of its resources when it's not crashing. It's construction is cheap and flimsy and its battery rarely lasts more than 2.5 hours with casual use.
In short, buy another computer if it's not too late. "
Review 3 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Just Look good, bad performance

Date: March 26, 2015
" I bought two of this laptops. They always have some sort of issues.
many times drives doesn't load properly or they stop working you have to install regularly.
one of my laptop stopped working suddenly, i sent it to service center they changed it's hard disk and motherboard. but i have some problems in laptop.
i just look good but performance wise it's so poor. :( I am gonna buy another laptop now..
"
Review 4 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best "cheaper" gaming laptop!

Date: March 25, 2015
" i bought it a while back and i can run any game at medium-ultra settings at 60fps! i am amazed by this laptop :D it has server me well. "
Review 5 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unreliable,

Date: January 22, 2015
" The Good:
- looks pretty nice.
The Bad:
This is a frustrating computer. From the very first week of owning it, I encountered multiple issues that have yet to be resolved.
First issue: A "driver state failure" that, apparently, is affecting a large number of Lenovo users who are still seeking an answer.
Second issue: Upon waking the system from sleep, the trackpad refuses to scroll, sometimes for 30 seconds, sometimes not until reboot. This is also an issue that is affecting many, many Lenovo users.
I tried updating the drivers. I tried searching the forums. But all I found is dozens of people who have the same issues and have not received any help from Lenovo support.
"
Review 6 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Powerful Laptop

Date: January 20, 2015
" Mostly a very good laptop, handles Photoshop very well (with 16GB RAM). Bulky but fairly well built. Brick for a power adapter, but only what you expect from a windows gaming laptop. Sadly the Ultrabay feature doesn't mean much more than the ability to remove and replace the DVD drive, since there's nothing really to replace it with.
Overall a good laptop and great value.
"
Review 7 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

Date: January 20, 2015
" Good performance, short time battery, need improvement/ "
Review 8 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Laptop

Date: January 5, 2015
" This has all the features that work well for a student along with a heavy gamer. "
Review 9 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Purchase Ever

Date: January 5, 2015
" This laptop is the best laptop I've had. It has great value. Great for gaming. 5 other friends have also bought this laptop. Too bad it is discontinued. However, it is not as durable as some other lenovo laptops, the vent cover on the left broke after about 2 months of use. It is just an aesthetic problem, nothing is affected in performance. "
Review 10 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop

Date: January 5, 2015
" Got this for ~$790 as a promo. Great functionality and performance. I recommended using this machine when plugged in if possible. Battery lasts ~5 hours, less on higher settings. I use it for school work (light settings), and a bit for gaming (heavy/high settings). I always make sure that I am plugged in when gaming as the machine runs the smoothest and you won't have to worry about your laptop dying after a few hours.
Overall, best laptop I have owned out of 3 in total. Lenovo did a great job.
"
Review 11 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb

Date: December 19, 2014
" I bought this laptop early this year and I have found it to be the best I had used so far. My only gripe is the screen but I use mine with external monitors so it is not so much a problem. Wonderful performance at a very good price even with a non-SSD hard disk! "
Review 12 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Machine Broke Shortly After Purchase

Date: December 11, 2014
" I had a hardware malfunction shortly after purchasing the laptop had to send it in for repairs. They resolved the issue in about 9 days. When I received the Computer from the repair center it had a separate issue. I have sent my computer in a total of 5 times (each time meant about 7-9 days of the computer being away) and my computer still does not function properly. It will restart and continue restarting until power runs out or I take the battery out. Do not buy this, if you ever have a problem they will not fix it. This being said if I were to strip it for parts I would only have lost more than half of my money. "
Review 13 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

Date: December 10, 2014
" This is my baby now. I have absolutely no complaint about this laptop. I am a game design/multimedia student and it is better than the desktop computers we use in the classroom. If you are looking for the best laptop between price and power, this is the one to get. Multitasking is an ease, seriously. Dont worry if you have a bunch of tabs open in chrome, skype running, steam downloading, and wanna play whatever game you play the most.(or two!). It can handle it, and it won't overheat either. Battery life is sub par, but that is sadly the case with most other powerful laptops. Ultrabay is great! Took out the cd reader, replaced it with another HDD. Its awesome!
ps: it took me a while to realize there is a small plastic cover on the camera, greatly lowering its quality. I just grabbed a needle and pulled it right off! "
Review 14 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lenovo Y410P is an excellent computer

Date: November 16, 2014
" I purchased this computer last year on sale, and I got a great deal. This computer is very fast with the 4th generation i7 processor, and the computer has a great overall feel to it. I love the carbon fiber look as well.
Positives of this computer are its speed, size, and overall great features.
Negatives of this computer are the battery life, which is no problem for me because I am always in a place to charge it, but if you are on the go, this computer may not be for you, as it is also quite heavy as well. Besides battery life and weight, this is a great computer overall and it was definitely a 5-star purchase. "
Review 15 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

gaming beast for the price

Date: November 15, 2014
" good laptop for the price range can play bf4 on ultra settings smoothly. "
Review 16 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but not good enough

Date: November 6, 2014
" I managed to snag one brand new around $620. Ideally this sounds like a monster deal. Quad core i7, 8 gb ram, nvidia gt 750m 2gb dedicated graphics, backlit keyboard, optical drive with ultrabay options for sli. The screen has fairly washed out colors and has some viewing angle issues. Not a huge deal breaker considering I planned mainly to use with a 4k display. The 1tb 5400 rpm harddrive performance brought the machine to a crawl at times. Had I decided to keep the unit I would've upgraded to SSD. The gt 750m is capable of 4k uhd at 30/60hz via hdmi. The part that no one mentions is that the intel card is always the primary and active card. Cannot be disabled in bios or windows. The 750m is a gpu not a dedicated card. The only way to disable the intel card with the gt750m4 ultrabay card which lenovo stopped producing and is not available anywhere. While you can select to use the nvidia card to process, intel is always active and causes stutter at 4k video playback. Sadly a let down. "
Review 17 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best for the price

Date: November 3, 2014
" Good overall laptop. There are only a few problems that keep it from being great.
1st battery life, not very good even when in power save mode
2nd glossy screen, forget using this outside or any where with direct light source
3rd boot time, I can never turn my laptop off due to the extremely long boot time. I mean it's ridiculously long. So i always just keep it on hibernate
But other than these few things the laptop is perfect. Good screen quality, has all the ports you need, and useful light up keyboard for in the dark typing "
Review 18 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lenevo Idealpad Y410P worst purchase ever

Date: October 29, 2014
" (1) freezes after about 1 year of purchase
(2) rebooting would take ~at least 3-4 hours
(3) shut down also would take ~3-4 hours.
Both rebooting and shut down, sometimes would even take up 8 hours.
the too long rebooting persist even after Recovery exercise "
Review 19 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It's a good value, but...

Date: October 20, 2014
" I bought this laptop about a year and a half ago for school, media production, and gaming. Price was very, VERY good for what you got (it always hovered $700-850). There were very few laptops that had the same price to performance ratio. Fast processor, decent graphics card (Could be better. CPU is great, but GPU is a little subpar. Performance was still good, though). It felt like a really solid and reliable laptop, and it was a pleasure to use. Was.
Okay, so due to the fact I have a character limit, I'll quickly go through what I liked
>Good value for performance
>Fast CPU
>Okay GPU
>Performed pretty well.
Aaand, of course, I did say it only WAS a pleasure to use. I'll have to quickly go through this as well. Each one has its own reason for why I thought it was normal or something I didn't have to worry about.
>Slowly revealed bad build quality
>Constantly high temps
>Loose ethernet port
>Broken hinge(HUGE PROBLEM)
>Over sensitive trackpad(actuates when laptop closed)
"
Review 20 for Lenovo Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING Computer

Date: October 19, 2014
" I got this computer almost a year ago and have loved it ever since. This computer is a great deal and was well worth my money. When they say high-performance, they weren't kidding. I can play every game that I've wanted to without a problem. It takes very little time to boot. The backlit keyboard is an amazing addition, i really love it. I would absolutely recommend this computer to other's as it was one of my best purchases i have ever made. "