Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y410p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y410p

High-performance 14" multimedia laptop with Ultrabay options to easily add more functionality.

Average customer rating:
3.921 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (178 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
57
3 stars
17
2 stars
15
1 star
14
132 of 178(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y410p
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TFed

So far, few complaints

Date: July 29, 2014
"As far as the actual performance of the machine goes, so far I am very satisfied, but I've only had the laptop a few days. I got a weekly deal that bumped the RAM and added a little SSD, so the value is really quite satisfying, so my only complaints are design based.
I'm switching from a Macbook Pro, and the first things I noticed was that the hinges feel less firm. The trackpad makes a similarly flimsy impression. Works alright, but I use a mouse most of the time anyway. The Caps indicator is on the front left sidewall of the computer. Not within sight, especially since one's wrist covers it while typing. Essentially rendered moot. I don't know if Apple's light-within-the-key is proprietary, but it should be the industry standard by now. Finally, it's a cool looking rig, but the gaming aesthetic can be a bit much for me. It'd be nice to see grey where the red is, and the finish is cool, but for something you rub your hands all over, fingerprint finishes might not be the right choice.
"
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
g1l1s

If only it was reliable...

Date: July 26, 2014
"In June of '13 I was shopping for a laptop that could allow me to run CAD programs and game decently while being something I could lug around if I needed to. I jumped on the ongoing 'deal' immediately after doing a little research on what was a new to the market laptop. My first impression was that the laptop had a great screen (with poor viewing angles) and a great keyboard. Those 2 things are the only positives I can think of after owning the y410p for over a year. The computer had a faulty hard drive which was replaced by Lenovo under warranty (I had to pay for the shipping to the service center). The drivers are constantly giving error messages even after reinstalling/updating/rolling back to previous version/ect. Resource intensive programs will crash even though though the computers hardware should be able to run them without problem. This doesn't even include the awful battery life and questionable chassis build quality. Be prepared for frustration. A deal too good to be true."
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dhal

Unworthy chasis for the specs

Date: July 19, 2014
"I bought my y410p 8 months used and
The Bad: Bought it with the back-lit keyboard not working. Opened her up (even though warranty probably would've covered) and a few small plastic pieces just rolled out from the chasis, come to find later it was a brass threading and part of a plastic cylinder built on the base of the laptop near the hinge that crumbled, now everytime i open the laptop the left back hinge sort of flexes the platic away and warranty will not cover...
The Good: For the price this laptop packs alot of good specs, I've had no performance or technical problems with the pc. Everything works the way it should."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
qwiksilver

Good purchase

Date: July 15, 2014
"High-end config for a decent price. Slightly heavy but makes up for it with strong performance. No overheating issues when using heavy multimedia applications."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sonic

My y410P!

Date: July 4, 2014
"Really, I can only say that is a oustanding device!!!
Very good performance and really really, I cant believe the fast that it is!!!"
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yogafire

GREAT FEATURES AND GREAT PRICE

Date: July 3, 2014
"As soon as this laptop arrived to me, I did a clone on the HDD and copied it over to a 500GB SSD. Best decision ever. I have no lags whatsoever now. My laptop now starts up/loads in 3 seconds. I play heavy graphic games on steam and I also develop software without any lag. I use the 1TB that I took out as my external now. This is the easiest laptop to tune up."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LordOstritch

Very good laptop, until things started breaking

Date: June 29, 2014
"So I bought this laptop during the Black Friday sale as an upgrade to my dinky old little acer aspire one, it worked wonderfully, except the nvidia optimus thing but I got around that. I got it, did all the software updates etc. After a few months of gaming on it, i noticed that it was getting rather hot, so i install a cpu temp app and notice the cpu goes all the way up to 100C now that's very hot, even for a computer. I decide, that it could be a bad thermal paste job so i go into the machine and change out the thermal paste, it cooled down a bit, but was still hot. About two months ago, I noticed a white bar appearing on the left side of the screen, i thought it could be software related, but it wasn't. With every passing day, the bar would gradually get bigger and bigger. I went on a 5-day trip and when i came back the entire screen was completly white, it turned out the screen, or something got knackered. Great laptop until that happened."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rebex1213

Returning it on Monday

Date: June 28, 2014
"At first, I really liked the computer. It was pretty fast and did everything I wanted it to. If I'd written this a week ago, it would have been a fantastic review.
Within two weeks, the screen went dead. I had been extremely careful with the computer, and am positive that nothing I did could have cracked it, so I doubt that was the cause.
Online bug fixes didn't help, and my uncle, who builds his own computers in his spare time, had no idea what it could be.
I plugged it in to my TV to see if that would show me what was wrong and discovered that it was updating. I had to restart it twice when it got stuck at 55%. When it was done, the screen was black except for the mouse, and again, nothing I did could fix it.
I might TRY getting a replacement, but don't have high hopes given everything that went wrong with this one."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shiro

Awesome!

Date: June 27, 2014
"I just bought this laptop, visually is great, it has this combiantion of serious but agressive look, I work with CAD/CAM/CAE softwares and they run fine, i cant ask for more in a laptop, is great for moving out, watching movies, playing games, and you can if you want expand the RAM up to 16GB, the guy that sold it to me said i can change the CD/DVD reader for more Graphics memory, still have to verify this, but the Standard one is just great.
I'm really happy with this purchase and the price/quality ratio is the best you can find out there.
Great quality and reliability, hadn't any problems yet, so i have no idea how is the post-sale service."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rafael7

Good Laptop ever made

Date: June 27, 2014
"A good laptop :D"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Podman32

Great value

Date: June 26, 2014
"For the money, there isn't a better laptop out there. I am glad I got mine in May as they no longer sell this in Canada.
PROS: price, DVD drive, VGA port, good battery life (when using integrated graphics - I have the larger 72 whr battery), great backlit keyboard, great performance (with quad core i7 and nvidia gt755m graphics), lots of storage space (1 TB hdd)
CONS: Screen is low quality (I got the 1366x768 screen which is fine for a 14 inch screen, but it has terrible vertical viewing angles, poor contrast and typical small gamut - only 60 percent of sRGB so colours are very washed out looking), but to be fair for this low price I didn't expect a good screen and after calibrating it with a Spyder 4 the colors are much better at least and the brightness is pretty good so I can live with it. Trackpad isn't great. Build quality is okay - mostly plastic and the screen hinges don't seem that solid. UPS shipping was garbage as usual - tried to deliver the laptop to the wrong address!
"
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rene

Skeptical at First

Date: June 22, 2014
"My friend found this laptop for me and was looking for something that fit my needs as a powerful gaming laptop that was still capable for my college classes and still being able to run heavy programs such as AUTOCAD and Inventor for my selected engineering major in college, and he sure did deliver with finding me this great intel i7 processor with a great graphics card for games and still powerful to run the things that i need at a fantastic price online whereas i was just going to go with a i5 dell inspiron with a far lesser graphics card, which really matters.The design looks great and sleak and professional and the keyboard works and feels great, which I am also very picky about too. i love the backlit keyboard and i can type with ease and the screen resolution is perfect. The only thing i wish was available was that the red be replaced with blue instead to fit me better, but i'm pretty sure thats customizable some way or another. Overall i would definitely recommend this product"
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
zaa9gags

Great Performance.

Date: June 22, 2014
"Pros: Great performance in a value package.
Cons: Touchpad can be better and smoother. Should use material that does not make it greasy over time."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanishStencil

A beast for the price

Date: June 22, 2014
"I am 99% posetive, that you cannot get a better laptop for this price. It boots fast, runs games pretty darn high and stays relatively cool. I really dont have a lot say, its just great.
Only 2 bad things, 1: no numpad, a numpad is nice but not neccessary. 2: there are WAAAAY too many preinstalled programs that you'll never use, first thing i did was uninstall all the programs, and it took like 2 hours. But its worth it for the PC.
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MightyQ

Very Good Purchase

Date: June 20, 2014
"Overall, this computer is very good. The graphics card and processor allow you to play almost any game out there well on high settings. The camera is superb and the audio quality awesome. The light-up keys help a lot for night sessions and I am overall impressed with the computer. The only downsides to this computer are that, if you want an amazing gaming computer, this is okay but not great. For a few games that are somewhat intensive to run, the computer crashed due to a kernel mode problem. I am still trying to fix it. Never the less, this computer will get you to a higher level of gaming for a very reasonable price."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry

High tech and high quality

Date: June 19, 2014
"My daughter and I bought my granddaughter a Lenovo Y410p for her birthday. My granddaughter is very smart and very impatient, so my daughter and I selected a Y410p 14" laptop with lots of RAM and a large hard drive with a supplemental SSD. My granddaughter loves dinosaurs and loves to draw them so she will use her Y410p with a Wacom Intuos drawing pen to draw and animate her dinosaur creations. My daughter and I got a great price on the Lenovo site. (We saved over $400 from the list price.) This computer was highly rated by Consumer Reports which was a big facto in our decision."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lighttran

The Purchase was disappointed.

Date: June 18, 2014
"This is my first time buying product from Lenovo IdeaPad Y410p. I'm very disappointed with the system. I opened the box and turn on the laptop, all I can see was white & gray color on LCD screen. This laptop is new machine should be tested before ship to me.
The system now is shipped to Lenovo Authorized Servive Center for repair one week ago. I'm still waiting to get my machine back to see if is working or not."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Driver

Overall a nice laptop

Date: June 15, 2014
"I like the size of the keyboard on this laptop but I don't care for the touch pad/mouse. Nice screen res, handles multiple programs quickly and easily. Relatively lightweight.
Nice laptop at a fair price.
Although it's not a Lenovo issue, I HATE MS8. Hate it!"
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JETNET

Great buy

Date: June 11, 2014
"Excellent performance for the price. Runs cool even when I'm multitasking with a game running in the back."
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brittany

Great Affordable Gaming Laptop.

Date: June 10, 2014
"It's a great affordable gaming laptop. Mostly people complained about Windows 8, I personally love it! I wish fingerprints didn't cling like they do, it's hard to keep it physically clean. All in all for the price and quality it's great!"