Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y410p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y410p

High-performance 14" multimedia laptop with Ultrabay options to easily add more functionality.

Average customer rating:
3.911 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(190 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (190 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
62
3 stars
19
2 stars
17
1 star
14
141 of 190(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y410p
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JediChris816

Love this little beast!

Date: August 26, 2014
"I bought my Y410p in November of 2013. Great laptop. Small enough to be very portable while avoiding the unnecessary belief that "bigger is better".
The one and only performance issue is the processor. With the processor being only 2.4ghz, this holds the graphics processor back from achieving it's full performance capabilities. Basically the mobile i7 is bottlenecking the GPU.
If the i7 was clocking at 3.2ghz at minimum, the gaming performance would be waaaayy better and the built-in nVidia GPU would be used to it's full potential.
Other than that, I love this little machine. Definitely happy with it.
4.5/5 stars from me."
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jeff

Good value

Date: August 22, 2014
"I purchased this laptop for school. Y410P with a 1TB HD + 24 Solid-state.
It performs well for that purpose - only occasionally working a little slower if many programs are running, but I am very satisfied with how fast the computer is. The ONLY problem I have is that it doesn't seem to be good for gaming. It SHOULD be, but it does not perform as expected. Even on low quality graphics settings (in this case Starcraft 2), it is completely unplayable toward the end of the game when it requires more power (sometimes even 0 frames per second for up to 10 seconds at a time).
OVERALL: I am satisfied with the value because of the deal I was given (slickdeals), but I am disappointed that it does not function as it was advertised for gaming."
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Colivares

Sleek and powerfull Laptop

Date: August 21, 2014
"I am very happy with my new machine, is gorgeous and sleek, powerfull and not that heavy. I am a softwere developer and I can have running at the same time many apps without having problems."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Surav

Good Performance but very POOR Build Quality

Date: August 20, 2014
"Performance wise this is a good laptop, whether for gaming or for work. I have run 6 virtual machines running different applications at the same time and still there was no lag. Performance wise I have no complaints.
However, the build quality is BAD. Everything is like Plastic. I have noticed the left hinge come off in many of my friends' Y410p (as did mine). This summer when I sent it for repair (hoping that it would be taken care of free of charge since it was still under warranty), but I was asked to pay $269 since they said this is a user induced damage (which by the way is not). Now this laptop has become more like a desktop and I can't move around with it anymore.
If you are planning to buy this same model for yourself or for anyone else, PLEASE DO NOT. You will regret it in the future because of its poor build quality."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sammy

A Good Performer

Date: August 15, 2014
"Purchased the unit 1 week ago...can't say much about reliability being a recent purchase but it looks solid & well-built for the price.
Lucky to have (or is this standard ?) gotten in the VRAM the GDDR5 variety which greatly helps in rendering chores my son (an architecture student )
does a lot with the unit.
My gripes so far is the poor monitor (1366 x 768) which would give a dull low contrast pictures and the sharp interior edges which would leave marks on ones palms. Overall, this is a great buy !!"
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Liveonhartwell

Pretty Darn Good.

Date: August 15, 2014
"This Laptop was good enough where I bought another Lenovo for my desktop a few months later and it's been very good also. It is an H530s. Small footprint tower. Since I don't need to do the issue below with the desktop I would rate it 5 star excellent.
The only issue I've had with the laptop is with Windows 8.1 doing a wifi connection to my Android Cell Phone to use the phone as a Mobile Hot spot for Internet connection. I've done that type connection with my Android Tablet with no problem. If the Y410P Lap had done the connection I would have rated it 5 star excellent.
"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sion

800++ , a worth price for this expectation.

Date: August 14, 2014
"Great Laptop, I hope Lenovo will release something like this in future as well. I did want to buy again.
or rather, i want another 1 of this right now.
if only Lenovo would sell it again -_-
"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
architect

Very happy with this purchase...but..

Date: August 8, 2014
"I purchased this laptop because I am an architecture student on a not expensive budget whose crummy HP croaked. I did a lot of research before I purchased this laptop. So far it runs very well and I am pleased with its performance -
-it handles Autodesk products very well.
-the sound is surprisingly very good
-the graphics are very clear and efficient
-backlit keyboard is awesome
-wifi works great
CON: there is one flaw that is ruining the experience. The edge of the computer is very rough. It's like the outer frame of the machine is ever so slightly higher than the plane with the keyboard and touchpad. If I am reclining with my wrists resting on the edge it digs into my arm. I know, suck it up right?Well I didn't pay almost $1000 for a laptop that caused skin irritation. Even as I speak it feels as though I have carpet burn on my wrists. I don't have a choice but to deal with it, but be warned.
"
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
UpsetUser

Not sure what's wrong

Date: August 7, 2014
"I bought this model because it seemed to fit my needs well. I wanted a gaming laptop under $1000 that could also serve as a media center. While it can play any game that I throw at it, other aspects of performance get in the way.
I don't know if it's Window 8, or my machine, but all my programs grab too much RAM and cause crashes, even programs like Google Chrome. Applications randomly minimize without any user input. For example, while watching Netflix, chrome will just disappear into the task bar without me touching the computer. The same happens in my games all the time. Every now and then the computer crashes and REFUSES to turn back on. It just flashes the BIOS screen and makes threatening mechanical sounds and then shuts off. I have not yet found a solution to this problem. Also, the graphics card randomly crashes and prevents the computer from being displayed on a monitor, or in most cases my TV. From day to day it works fine; however, it's scary how often things fail."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jacko

Highly Disappointed

Date: August 2, 2014
"I've had this laptop since July 2013 - and am writing this review one year later.
Let's start with the biggest and only pro in my opinion, this laptop packs some decent hardware (specs) into an affordable package.
Beyond that point, I was highly disappointed with the numerous cons:
- while laptop looks pretty nice and is small, it feels extremely cheap (back part of lid actually cuts into a hand when trying to grip when closed)
- touchpad is really cheap and ugly
- battery life is poor
- performance is laggy, not smooth (a lot of applications get stuck)
Most importantly, I feel like this laptop (at least for me) is highly unreliable in booting up and shutting down, and performance is way to inconsistent for something that supposed to be "fast". I'm not sure if it's poor driver support or what, but it's definitely not a raw Windows 8 issue since I have other reference laptops in front of me. PC tends to get stuck a lot, and I've not done anything "illegal" with this system at all."
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luca

Good laptop

Date: July 31, 2014
"I suggest to you."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jeff

Ergonomic, Simple, and Powerful

Date: July 31, 2014
"I bought this laptop with the intentions of using it for college work as well as some PC gaming on the side. It turned out to be a great choice. There are plenty of good reviews on the internet about this laptop, and I agree with most of them. This computer has a decent amount of space to hold games/music/videos/presentations. Getting used to Windows 8.1 took a little time, but there is honestly no reason to dislike it. The OS is meant to be simple, and you can customize it however you like.
Pros: Easy to type, great speakers, good quality camera.
Cons: Computer gets a bit hot when playing games on high settings, if you are a serious gamer, this laptop is probably not for you. Also, the design is nice, but a bit fingerprint prone, however this should not suede your choice on buying it, honestly its not a big deal. Battery life is okay, but most people keep their laptops plugged in so.
Overall: Good pick, this computer is enjoyable.
"
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TFed

So far, few complaints

Date: July 29, 2014
"As far as the actual performance of the machine goes, so far I am very satisfied, but I've only had the laptop a few days. I got a weekly deal that bumped the RAM and added a little SSD, so the value is really quite satisfying, so my only complaints are design based.
I'm switching from a Macbook Pro, and the first things I noticed was that the hinges feel less firm. The trackpad makes a similarly flimsy impression. Works alright, but I use a mouse most of the time anyway. The Caps indicator is on the front left sidewall of the computer. Not within sight, especially since one's wrist covers it while typing. Essentially rendered moot. I don't know if Apple's light-within-the-key is proprietary, but it should be the industry standard by now. Finally, it's a cool looking rig, but the gaming aesthetic can be a bit much for me. It'd be nice to see grey where the red is, and the finish is cool, but for something you rub your hands all over, fingerprint finishes might not be the right choice.
"
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
g1l1s

If only it was reliable...

Date: July 26, 2014
"In June of '13 I was shopping for a laptop that could allow me to run CAD programs and game decently while being something I could lug around if I needed to. I jumped on the ongoing 'deal' immediately after doing a little research on what was a new to the market laptop. My first impression was that the laptop had a great screen (with poor viewing angles) and a great keyboard. Those 2 things are the only positives I can think of after owning the y410p for over a year. The computer had a faulty hard drive which was replaced by Lenovo under warranty (I had to pay for the shipping to the service center). The drivers are constantly giving error messages even after reinstalling/updating/rolling back to previous version/ect. Resource intensive programs will crash even though though the computers hardware should be able to run them without problem. This doesn't even include the awful battery life and questionable chassis build quality. Be prepared for frustration. A deal too good to be true."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dhal

Unworthy chasis for the specs

Date: July 19, 2014
"I bought my y410p 8 months used and
The Bad: Bought it with the back-lit keyboard not working. Opened her up (even though warranty probably would've covered) and a few small plastic pieces just rolled out from the chasis, come to find later it was a brass threading and part of a plastic cylinder built on the base of the laptop near the hinge that crumbled, now everytime i open the laptop the left back hinge sort of flexes the platic away and warranty will not cover...
The Good: For the price this laptop packs alot of good specs, I've had no performance or technical problems with the pc. Everything works the way it should."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
qwiksilver

Good purchase

Date: July 15, 2014
"High-end config for a decent price. Slightly heavy but makes up for it with strong performance. No overheating issues when using heavy multimedia applications."
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sonic

My y410P!

Date: July 4, 2014
"Really, I can only say that is a oustanding device!!!
Very good performance and really really, I cant believe the fast that it is!!!"
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yogafire

GREAT FEATURES AND GREAT PRICE

Date: July 3, 2014
"As soon as this laptop arrived to me, I did a clone on the HDD and copied it over to a 500GB SSD. Best decision ever. I have no lags whatsoever now. My laptop now starts up/loads in 3 seconds. I play heavy graphic games on steam and I also develop software without any lag. I use the 1TB that I took out as my external now. This is the easiest laptop to tune up."
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LordOstritch

Very good laptop, until things started breaking

Date: June 29, 2014
"So I bought this laptop during the Black Friday sale as an upgrade to my dinky old little acer aspire one, it worked wonderfully, except the nvidia optimus thing but I got around that. I got it, did all the software updates etc. After a few months of gaming on it, i noticed that it was getting rather hot, so i install a cpu temp app and notice the cpu goes all the way up to 100C now that's very hot, even for a computer. I decide, that it could be a bad thermal paste job so i go into the machine and change out the thermal paste, it cooled down a bit, but was still hot. About two months ago, I noticed a white bar appearing on the left side of the screen, i thought it could be software related, but it wasn't. With every passing day, the bar would gradually get bigger and bigger. I went on a 5-day trip and when i came back the entire screen was completly white, it turned out the screen, or something got knackered. Great laptop until that happened."
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rebex1213

Returning it on Monday

Date: June 28, 2014
"At first, I really liked the computer. It was pretty fast and did everything I wanted it to. If I'd written this a week ago, it would have been a fantastic review.
Within two weeks, the screen went dead. I had been extremely careful with the computer, and am positive that nothing I did could have cracked it, so I doubt that was the cause.
Online bug fixes didn't help, and my uncle, who builds his own computers in his spare time, had no idea what it could be.
I plugged it in to my TV to see if that would show me what was wrong and discovered that it was updating. I had to restart it twice when it got stuck at 55%. When it was done, the screen was black except for the mouse, and again, nothing I did could fix it.
I might TRY getting a replacement, but don't have high hopes given everything that went wrong with this one."