Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Y410p or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Y410p

High-performance 14" multimedia laptop with Ultrabay options to easily add more functionality.

Average customer rating:
3.91 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(201 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (201 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
64
3 stars
22
2 stars
17
1 star
15
148 of 201(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Y410p
Review 1 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Y410p hard drive failed after 6 months

Date: September 17, 2014
"Bought this y410p in Dec 2013 and hard drive already started failing to read. Seatools shown failed read test. This is 3rd time having failure with anything that has a Seagate in it."
Review 2 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

So far, so good.

Date: September 16, 2014
"I have only had the PC for a couple of months, and so far I have been able to use it for everything I purchased it to do. Very pleased!"
Review 3 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Buy!

Date: September 14, 2014
"Bought this as a replacement to my Samsung RC512-s02us. It is a BEAST. You can't throw much at this thing that it can't handle. 60 fps in Skyrim with ultra settings, great screen, awesome speakers... I'm very happy. The only thing is that it's quite heavy in comparison with other laptops of similar screen size. (My Dell e4300 is a LOT lighter.) I also didn't like the default Windows 8 install, so now I have a triple boot between Linux Mint, Windows 8.1, and Windowws Server 2008 r2.
All in all, I am very pleased."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Value

Date: September 4, 2014
"Everything works so well, and the speed is fast. There is just one thing that upsets me. The Wireless LAN sometimes could not recognize the network. But it is fine, it works fine after you restart the computer."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Wrong Choice

Date: September 4, 2014
"I bought this computer to upgrade from previous P4 Ultrabook, which I have for four years. Even it is the latest model i.e Core i7, 8GB ram, I can not find anything good about this Laptop. Its bulky and the shape is so outdated. You can buy a better product than this at much lower price."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Mixed Thoughts, Pluses and Minuses

Date: September 2, 2014
"I've had mine now for a year. It is extremely well made given all the cheap plastic machines on the market these days; this is a tough, heavy duty machine. It feels good.
A reviewer just ahead of me lamented that the CPU was slowing down the GPU performance. Not quite. After a year of use, digging into the graphics issue, I still have not figured out how the GPU is hardwired and have concluded that there is a hardware issue. For example, looking at the NVidia PhysX interface, I saw it just did not interface with anything and in order to activate the GPU, I had to run the laptop with TWO simultaneously cloned displays, one HDMI and one VGA. THEN the option appeared to select the NVidia instead of the Mobile or Intel GPU. IMHO, the machine's Intel 4600 chip carries the load 'independently' otherwise.
Hardware service is good; just got a mobo replacement under warranty.
I've used both Win 8 and Win 7 Ultimate 64Bit, another reason for purchasing this machine.
I hope they post this....
"
Review 7 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Remarkably Behind the Times

Date: September 1, 2014
"My biggest beef with this laptop is the wireless card. How can you claim to be a technology company when you products are not up to par with industry standards? Not being able to connect to 5Ghz band on WiFi is a joke.
I did a ton of research before purchasing and landed on this. By most accounts, it was the best you could get without doling out crazy money for an Apple product. I would recommend for a friend simply because there is value to be had in this laptop. However, at this point, I will get rid of this computer when I can afford to and buy some other brand. I thought Lenovo was going to have a great future, but I wouldn't flinch if they went out of business tomorrow."
Review 8 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

This laptop is fantastic.

Date: August 29, 2014
"I like this computer. The price is really low when I bought it."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

This computer is driving me insane

Date: August 29, 2014
"Look I would say I am a gamer and so when I took the leap to computer gaming a while back I wanted to start off with something good but not pricey and then I came across this computer and I have regretted it ever since. The first month or two this computer was working fine and I was enjoying it but after about 5-6 months I started to notice the computer would start to freeze up and I would wait and wait but nothing would happen. Then a month later I felt the computer would start to get really hot even if I was just looking something up on the internet. But the last few weeks have been the worst as I can't even play a game for 1 minute without it freezing and result to me restarting the whole thing again. At first I was thinking it was a virus so I scanned the whole computer but nothing came up so I ended up wiping my whole computer and restarting from scratch and yet nothing changed."
Review 10 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
inb4xavi

is awesome laptop but.....

Date: August 27, 2014
"I wish there was accessories for the ultra bay"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moshingpuppets

Absolutely amazing, please read.

Date: August 26, 2014
"First off, i bought this laptop while it was on sale for 829 + tax. However if you are paying the whole 1200 + for this laptop i'm not sure how much of a deal your getting.
But for the price I payed I must say, this laptop is AMAZING. There is not a single thing in the world that is wrong with this computer. Some could complain about the screen size. If that's an issue for you, then don't by a 14 inch laptop. Obviously! Some could complain about the glare on the screen. Then don't use it when there is a window behind you or go buy a laptop with a glare resistant screen. Also obvious!
This laptop doesn't lie, anything that people may complain about is clearly stated in the laptops features.
I can't imagine anyone complaining about any feature of this laptop other than the screen size, which doesn't even bother me one bit.
When I bought this laptop I was skeptical, and then I read the reviews and I was reassured. However there is a ton of negative reviews and I couldn't imagine why."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JediChris816

Love this little beast!

Date: August 26, 2014
"I bought my Y410p in November of 2013. Great laptop. Small enough to be very portable while avoiding the unnecessary belief that "bigger is better".
The one and only performance issue is the processor. With the processor being only 2.4ghz, this holds the graphics processor back from achieving it's full performance capabilities. Basically the mobile i7 is bottlenecking the GPU.
If the i7 was clocking at 3.2ghz at minimum, the gaming performance would be waaaayy better and the built-in nVidia GPU would be used to it's full potential.
Other than that, I love this little machine. Definitely happy with it.
4.5/5 stars from me."
Review 13 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jeff

Good value

Date: August 22, 2014
"I purchased this laptop for school. Y410P with a 1TB HD + 24 Solid-state.
It performs well for that purpose - only occasionally working a little slower if many programs are running, but I am very satisfied with how fast the computer is. The ONLY problem I have is that it doesn't seem to be good for gaming. It SHOULD be, but it does not perform as expected. Even on low quality graphics settings (in this case Starcraft 2), it is completely unplayable toward the end of the game when it requires more power (sometimes even 0 frames per second for up to 10 seconds at a time).
OVERALL: I am satisfied with the value because of the deal I was given (slickdeals), but I am disappointed that it does not function as it was advertised for gaming."
Review 14 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Colivares

Sleek and powerfull Laptop

Date: August 21, 2014
"I am very happy with my new machine, is gorgeous and sleek, powerfull and not that heavy. I am a softwere developer and I can have running at the same time many apps without having problems."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Surav

Good Performance but very POOR Build Quality

Date: August 20, 2014
"Performance wise this is a good laptop, whether for gaming or for work. I have run 6 virtual machines running different applications at the same time and still there was no lag. Performance wise I have no complaints.
However, the build quality is BAD. Everything is like Plastic. I have noticed the left hinge come off in many of my friends' Y410p (as did mine). This summer when I sent it for repair (hoping that it would be taken care of free of charge since it was still under warranty), but I was asked to pay $269 since they said this is a user induced damage (which by the way is not). Now this laptop has become more like a desktop and I can't move around with it anymore.
If you are planning to buy this same model for yourself or for anyone else, PLEASE DO NOT. You will regret it in the future because of its poor build quality."
Review 16 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sammy

A Good Performer

Date: August 15, 2014
"Purchased the unit 1 week ago...can't say much about reliability being a recent purchase but it looks solid & well-built for the price.
Lucky to have (or is this standard ?) gotten in the VRAM the GDDR5 variety which greatly helps in rendering chores my son (an architecture student )
does a lot with the unit.
My gripes so far is the poor monitor (1366 x 768) which would give a dull low contrast pictures and the sharp interior edges which would leave marks on ones palms. Overall, this is a great buy !!"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Liveonhartwell

Pretty Darn Good.

Date: August 15, 2014
"This Laptop was good enough where I bought another Lenovo for my desktop a few months later and it's been very good also. It is an H530s. Small footprint tower. Since I don't need to do the issue below with the desktop I would rate it 5 star excellent.
The only issue I've had with the laptop is with Windows 8.1 doing a wifi connection to my Android Cell Phone to use the phone as a Mobile Hot spot for Internet connection. I've done that type connection with my Android Tablet with no problem. If the Y410P Lap had done the connection I would have rated it 5 star excellent.
"
Review 18 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sion

800++ , a worth price for this expectation.

Date: August 14, 2014
"Great Laptop, I hope Lenovo will release something like this in future as well. I did want to buy again.
or rather, i want another 1 of this right now.
if only Lenovo would sell it again -_-
"
Review 19 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
architect

Very happy with this purchase...but..

Date: August 8, 2014
"I purchased this laptop because I am an architecture student on a not expensive budget whose crummy HP croaked. I did a lot of research before I purchased this laptop. So far it runs very well and I am pleased with its performance -
-it handles Autodesk products very well.
-the sound is surprisingly very good
-the graphics are very clear and efficient
-backlit keyboard is awesome
-wifi works great
CON: there is one flaw that is ruining the experience. The edge of the computer is very rough. It's like the outer frame of the machine is ever so slightly higher than the plane with the keyboard and touchpad. If I am reclining with my wrists resting on the edge it digs into my arm. I know, suck it up right?Well I didn't pay almost $1000 for a laptop that caused skin irritation. Even as I speak it feels as though I have carpet burn on my wrists. I don't have a choice but to deal with it, but be warned.
"
Review 20 for IdeaPad Y410p
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
UpsetUser

Not sure what's wrong

Date: August 7, 2014
"I bought this model because it seemed to fit my needs well. I wanted a gaming laptop under $1000 that could also serve as a media center. While it can play any game that I throw at it, other aspects of performance get in the way.
I don't know if it's Window 8, or my machine, but all my programs grab too much RAM and cause crashes, even programs like Google Chrome. Applications randomly minimize without any user input. For example, while watching Netflix, chrome will just disappear into the task bar without me touching the computer. The same happens in my games all the time. Every now and then the computer crashes and REFUSES to turn back on. It just flashes the BIOS screen and makes threatening mechanical sounds and then shuts off. I have not yet found a solution to this problem. Also, the graphics card randomly crashes and prevents the computer from being displayed on a monitor, or in most cases my TV. From day to day it works fine; however, it's scary how often things fail."