Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U410 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U410

Colorful 14" super-slim laptops.

Average customer rating:
3.15 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
10 of 20(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U410
Review 1 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

value for money

Date: October 2, 2014
"Stylish,less weight"
Review 2 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Far better computers available for the money

Date: September 5, 2014
"I have had my computer for just over a year now and already the hard drive had to be replaced and parts of the plastic (around the screen) are falling apart. Great performance too bad the rest of the computer is a disappointment"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
willie

best purchase ever.

Date: May 28, 2014
"This laptop is great. no problems"
Review 4 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TorontoITGuy

Too much heat at right side of keypad- Non fixable

Date: May 15, 2014
"I bought this ideapad U410 considering it will be very good product. i have used lenovo laptops previously and they were good. But this time, I was wrong. My ideapad is giving too much on the right side of the laptop on the top surface. I sent it to Lenovo repair depot and it was not fixed even slightly. Every time they change something, but it doesn't solve the problem at all. I have seen similar complains on the internet. I would say don't buy this product. I think the design itself went wrong and this laptop can't be fixed to solve this problem."
Review 5 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crudfeatures
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent machine

Date: January 18, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I had this U410 for Christmas 2013. It seems a superb bit of kit. WiFi is spot-on, battery life excellent - over five hours regularly - and it is physically small and neat and smart-looking.
Only drawback is that the touchpad seems too sensitive so I turned off tapping and just used standard clicking.
Camera is good, sound fine, it doesn't get hot in use and it is superbly quick waking after sleep or after hibernate.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone, but having read some other reviews I wold have to assume Lenovo have got the nasty bugs ironed out. Either that or I have a specially good sample unit. The machine I have is good, no doubt about it.
"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JayB
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Wireless card breaks this computer

Date: January 7, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory
Cons: Wireless card
"The u410 is a great computer but it lacks one important quality: the ability to connect to the internet. After 6 months of using this computer and attempting to convince myself that the good qualities (decent battery life, fast processor, amazing price) outweigh the bad, I've finally given up. Do not buy this computer. The wireless connectivity issues are so bad that the u410 is not even worth purchasing.
Like a reviewer before me stated, I wanted to like this computer, I really did. But the terrible wireless card has single-handedly "broken" the u410 in my mind. Sure it has some good qualities but what good is a computer if it can't even connect to the internet?"
Review 7 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
venator531
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Definitely beats the average laptop

Date: November 6, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Wireless card
"After a horrific experience with a 2-year-old Dell Inspiron N4110, I needed a more reliable replacement.
I got my U410 for about $680, roughly the same price as the vastly inferior Dell. The U410, by comparison, boasted an i7 processor, superior design, longer battery life, and an NVIDIA GT 710M graphics card that's not half bad for an ultrabook.
While I may fawn over the U410 in light of the old Dell, I did have one issue: the wireless card seems unusually slow after booting.
tl;dr: Solid laptop for the price I got, watch that wireless card."
Review 8 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bren
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Works for me!

Date: October 22, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Support, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Input/Output compatibility
"Loving this machine. Boot time, battery life, processing speed, portability, and durability are all stellar. Love the sleek look and feel as well.
Don't know about the Wi-fi/overheating issues some other users are having... The only problems I've experienced came when I upgraded to Windows 8.1. Touchpad and audio went way out of whack, but I downloaded updated drivers, and we're right back in business.
Great product, fulfilled all the expectations I had of the laptop I was purchasing."
Review 9 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rangers
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Pretty good

Date: September 17, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Wireless card, Battery
"Lightweight, fast, reliable. However, does not live up to its claimed battery life when using normal functions. Also, the wireless card is beyond pathetic. A lot of times it won't even connect to a network that my phone or iPod can recognize. Decent laptop for the money, but a few key things prevent me from giving it five stars."
Review 10 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sunshine
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

highly dissapointed

Date: September 8, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Screen size, Storage
"I bought this piece few days back because of its amazing configuration 8gb ram , 14 inch display i7 ... Everything was great for the price.
But i was highly disappointed after using it . It had wifi connectivity issues , it started getting overheated above the touch pad area which caused me the biggest disappointment. I want to replace it but now Lenovo have stopped the production of U410 series.
Will keep searching for other laptops.
"
Review 11 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
John
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Major flaw

Date: August 6, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Display resolution, Wireless card, Included Software
"Wireless connection so not reliable. Just type in
IdeaPad U410 wifi problems to see long treads of people having same wifi issues. Lenovo said they fix the problem in summer of 2012, but the problem still exist. I would avoid this laptop
"
Review 12 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ladydaydream
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5

love this laptop

Date: July 31, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor
Cons: Display performance
"Overall I like this laptop. Its cute and easy to transport. The battery last long, it can last over six hours if im not plays videos. In playing videos I get about four hours. The only thing I do not like about this computer is that it did not come with Google chrome and google chrome freezes at times. Also the key pad can be annoying at times. Overall this is a great laptop for students I would recommend it."
Review 13 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
drshah
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Averege

Date: July 29, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility
"Boot up time is 20s and that is the best feature i think! otherwise nothing to say 'wow'. Also feels betrayed when i have read HD LED screen, and got LCD screen with backlit LED. Internal transfer(moving from one drive to other) is very slow. And external transfer also lags much."
Review 14 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
computermomma
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5

I really wanted to like this computer

Date: July 23, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Support, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Wireless card
"I was so excited about this purchase. It had everything I wanted internally in a computer, plus the red ruby color was a fun color & the price could not be beat. BUT even though I really wanted to keep it, I returned it. The wi-fi card is HORRIBLE. All my other wi-fi devices work wonderfully, at full speed, no disconnects on my home wifi. Not this machine. They should recall the N-2230. Major error on Lenovo's part to keep the N-2230 in these computers. I would have really enjoyed using this but I couldn't keep the darn machine connected to the internet. So disappointed! Don't buy this computer if it has the Intel N-2230 wifi card in it - you've been warned. Check the discussion and support forums. They are full of postings about this card -on both the Intel & Lenovo boards."
Review 15 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mike
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

What it could have been

Date: July 21, 2013
Pros: Memory, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Wireless card
"I was so excited to get a laptop with these spec with this price, but I couldn't use wifi at all. The fastest download speed i got was 1Mbs, while all of the other laptops at my house were getting 15 to 23 Mbs"
Review 16 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dindu
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

WIRELESS CARD ISSUE and BATTERY FAILURE

Date: May 25, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Battery
"This laptop has so much potential: looks great, is fast, relatively quiet (to HPs), hybrid SSD HD - logs in super fast. But I should have listened to online reviews. Every 45 mins or so I've to restart the U410 as it kicks me out of my home wifi. I was under the impression the infamous wireless card problem would have been fixed as its all over the internet since 10/12. This could possibly imply Lenovo purposely ships corrupted wireless cards with U410s and is continuing to do so. (BTW, Ive updated to the latest driver). These laptops should be recalled IMO. In addition, my battery can be charged to a maximum of only 58% and the % continues to drop."
Response from Lenovo:By BryaneCommerceJuly 10, 2013
Hello,

We deeply regret the issues you are experiencing with your U410 laptop.

In this case, a driver update should correct your wireless card issue. You stated you had updated to the latest driver but the WiFi card may not update properly unless the driver was download from Lenovo.com.

Here is a link:
http://download.lenovo.com/consumer/mobiles/0wwl13w8.exe

For your battery issue, you may try to fully discharge the battery using the onboard tools to do so and then see if it will recharge to full capacity.

If you continue to experience issues, please contact Customer Support and we will be happy to assist further or provide a replacement.
Review 17 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FirstTimeLenovoCustomer
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Laptop for the Price

Date: December 20, 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Wireless card, Bluetooth, Display performance, audio
"Love the mobility with long battery life, and lightweight. Keyboard very ergonomically designed. Stylish and simple design, people often confuse for MacBook, which is a good thing in my mind. Fast and speedy processor. I use it for surfing the web, using simple programs like Microsoft office and Photoshop.
Biggest flaw is the audio. Very poor quality for both movies and music. The touchpad is weird and not very smooth. The lack of buttons on the touch pad take some getting used to.
Overall, its a great laptop for the price I paid. Lenovo has awesome customer service and I can tell this laptop will last me at least 5+ years. Would recommend to a friend."
Review 18 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chadwick
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid

Date: December 17, 2012
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Video card
"I purchase the i7 model a few months back and the machine absolutely screams through anything I throw at it (aside from heavy gaming). The deck and keyboard are plastic (bottom and lid are metal), but the machine is rock solid - no creaking or bending regardless of how it gets thrown around. Definitely enough processor, graphics, memory, and storage grunt to chew through any kind tasks you need, all the way through photo and video editing, which I do from time to time. As a daily machine, it's excellent. At 10/15 brightness and standard power settings, I can manage at least 5 hours on wifi, over 6 if I'm not doing anything too demanding. The trackpad is top-notch. The keyboard is deceptively shallow; it takes time to get used to the lack of travel, but I found that I now type about 10wpm faster now that I've grown used to it. The sound is about as tinny you can expect from an ultraportable. The screen isn't anything to write home about either, but it gets the job done, and the brightness gets high enough for pretty much any situation. There's always WiDi built in, along with a full-size HDMI if you really have the hots for streaming some video.
I have some isolated niggles. The bezel around the screen is glossy plastic; it feels a bit cheap and reflects light. The keyboard deck is also depressed about 1mm below the laptop surface (unlike on a Mac where the entire deck is hidden below the surface), so dust and dirt get stuck in there. The GPU also seems a bit weak; gaming is a bit better than on integrated systems, but it's not a significant gain, and the machine starts heating up the instance it switches to the discrete graphics. After a minute of having Steam open (and not even playing games), the fan starts to get audible.
Overall, this is a solid daily machine. The battery life is up to par, having an HDD (which contributes to about half the noise at low processor load) is convenient for me, the U410 is relatively small and light, and its performance (other than boot times, but again that's the price to pay for picking the HDD over SSD) puts most ultraportables within $500 of this price point to shame. No regrets so far.
"
Review 19 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aarsee
Location:NY
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Underdog purchase

Date: September 10, 2012
Cons: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Battery, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility
"I thought i would get the best machine but unfortunately, it was just an average working machine...
It is below my expectations !!!
"
Review 20 for IdeaPad U410
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alex
Location:ottawa on
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Basic
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

very good laptop!!!!

Date: August 29, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Video card
"ive had the laptop for a few weeks and so far im loving it!!! no cons at all! wish it had more colors though in terms of performance its better than what you think and dont let the 1.7ghz processor fool you. it runs like a 2.5ghz and the fact that it had 8gb ram is pretty awesome. very good price for these specs!"