Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T430s or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T430s

Slim, light & extra-durable 14" laptop with non-compromising features.

Average customer rating:
3.966 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
40 of 58(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T430s
Review 1 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kapsford
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Value

Date: November 6, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Support, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: size of trackpad
" I just purchased this computer from the lenovo outlet for $750 (refurbished) which was a steal. The configuration I got comes out to over $1400 in the actual lenovo store. (i5,win7pro,8gb ram, 128SSD, ultimate wireless card, camera, bluetooth, et.) So my point is to look around before buying this computer because you can save tons of $$$. That being said, the SSD and upgraded ram in this model makes it blazing fast. It is actually thinner and lighter than what I expected from just looking at the pictures. Ultimately, I would definitely recommend this computer, but make sure to add SDD, upgrade the ram, and get windows 7. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BENy
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

not reliable

Date: October 24, 2013
Pros: Warranty, Support, Durability
" I bought just a month ago, and just accidently dropped it , the coner of the case got cracks and DVD driver just poped out and won't be able to close it ,, after send it back they charge more than what I pay for the new one .... I don't really know what should I say..... "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RoadRunner
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Good do-it-all laptop for road warrior

Date: October 12, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Storage
" I am a professional and a "road warrior." This is my third T4xx series (T400s, T410s, now T430s). These are great overall, if not stellar in any one category. An easy weight to carry, a big enough screen to see, decent battery life, the DVD/CD drive for discs that get handed to me in the field, a backlit keyboard for working on a dark airplane, enough graphics and sound to play a movie while at a hotel, and a 500 GB hard drive so I can store work data as well my music and photos.
Also, they are tough. During an emergency, i drove off with it still on my car's roof - found 2 blocks away, case had road rash but computer runs fine.
Main complaint: the hard drive is 1.8" format rather than 2.5", so it's hard to replace them if they die or you want a bigger drive. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thirteen91
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

good purchase

Date: October 4, 2013
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery
" a good purchase, gives light weight a whole new meaning as this does not compromise on performance by using a ULV processor. This is a proper laptop not a netbook. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jasmine
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Not quite what i was hoping for

Date: September 19, 2013
Pros: Weight, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: touchpad
" I was hoping it performs more smooth than this.
Touchpad is so rough that i feel like my fingers get burn. Keyboard soft to use.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
wtarreau
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Extremely disappointed!

Date: September 17, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance, design in general
" Trimmed review.
Constantly tilting the display to see dark shades, and the black is gray
Kbd: false strikes all the day, especially arrow keys, eg: left gives you PgUP! Need to swap Fn/Ctrl. Too soft keys, impossible to quickly type double letters such as "tt".
Touchpad: clicks when you just move (awful for web browsing). Buttons randomly work, selecting areas is a challenge.
Speakers: same sound as a mobile phone on the table. Volume too low if someone talks nearby.
Many design mistakes. Eg: pwrled is behind! No caps lock led either.
Overall, I regret this choice and I'm impatient to see it die. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aziz
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

One of the best business laptops

Date: September 6, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Battery
" Overall excellent performance , but the battery life is not useful . "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skibum42
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great machine

Date: August 22, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Durability, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Display performance
" After 10 years of Thinkpads, I tried the T431s and quickly returned it for the T430s. Basic CPU/memory machine, adding upgraded screen, camera, Win8, wifi and fingerprint reader. Afterwards, upgraded memory, bay battery and disk cart then added a SSD - after-market at WAY cheaper prices. System is light and fast! A finger swipe wakes it in seconds and the wifi works almost immediately. The system feels durable and I've had no problems with reliability. I like the new keyboard style and glow. Battery life could be better, but I get 4-5 hours. Yeah, the screen color and view-ability is poor if not oriented right, but that is the worst I can say about it. I use a Chromecaster to view videos anyway. Overall, very happy with my purchase. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlphaDelta
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Purchase, Some Feedback

Date: August 17, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, external design
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
" The computer I purchased was fully loaded. With an i7 CPU, and 256GB SSD. The t430s is an amazing machine with an abundant amount of features, and components. However, I realize that the keyboard is very easy to have greases/oils stuck on, and is not like the T430u, with the rough feeling keyboard. Its like Lenovo has 2 types of Thinkpad Keyboards. Unfortunately, the smooth type of keyboard is very attracted to the oils of the skin. As well, the trackpad buttons, are a bit soft, and could be harder. Overall a great computer! "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
laserdiode
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

screen always become blue

Date: July 30, 2013
" as the title. And there are always some problems with the keyboard and camera. I just use it for less than 1 year. It's a poor laptop "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loraine
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great lightweight laptop

Date: July 19, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution
" This laptop boots up incredibly fast. I like the backlit keyboard, light weight, and speed. The monitor did break after a few months but Lenovo replaced it in 2 days including me sending it to them. Great service. I have always liked the ThinkPad quality and would not but anything else. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
frustratedowner
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

poor quality and reliability

Date: July 15, 2013
Cons: Support, Build Quality, Durability
" My 2nd t430s has failed within the first month of ownership. The first had a defective left trackpad button, so I returned it. The second worked for 2 weeks, but now fails to boot or even recover from USB recovery. I'll be returning the 2nd one too. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danny
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

T430S Hits all the Marks

Date: May 23, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
" Very pleased with the 3 spindle massive storage capacity of the machine. It is the best looking of the T series bunch that includes the Ultrabay. It is awesome that I can swap out hard drives with the Ultrabay caddy. Moreover, the Ultrabay can also be used for DVD's or an extra battery (without sticking out the back of the machine.) The screen is great and the brightest of any screen I have seen ever from the T series. Build quality is excellent and the docking station is a must have. I also really appreciate that the batteries can be changed by the user. Lastly, the best feature that I enjoy is the excellent feel of the keyboard. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DissaponitedCustomer
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

T430s severe quality issues!

Date: May 11, 2013
Pros: Weight, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Build Quality, Durability
" I bought a T430s in Dec 2012. Right out of the box, the laptop had following issues:
1. Bad CAPS lock key.
2. Wobbly screen: wobble of around 0.5 inc at the top of the screen
3. Warping and flexing at the bottom edge of the screen.
4. unreliable wifi connection.
Within one week the Lenovo lettering on the top of the laptop started coming apart, one actually nicked my finger!
The laptop cooling fan runs continiuosly, even if I am just web browsing and the CPU utilization is <5-7%!!
Now to get to the the mSSD does not seem to help. The windows experience score is 5.9
The battery lasts for around 2.5 hours on 50% screen brightness while browsing. Playing a video cuts it down to around 1hour 15 minutes. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jgip
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome machine!!!

Date: May 10, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Software compatibility, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
" Originally ordered a Dell, but it had extremely poor battery life and would often overheat. I sent it back and found a refurbished T430s on the Lenovo outlet site. I run Ubuntu as my primary OS, but have it dual-booting with Windows 7. Great battery life ~5-6 hours if just surfing and/or word processing, ~3-4 hours if streaming a lot of music and/or video. Runs Ubuntu like a dream. Backlit keyboard is great. I don't use the trackpoint, but it doesn't get in the way at all. I actually have Ubuntu installed on the 16gb mSata SSD, but the home folder is on the regular hdd with Windows 7. As a result, bootup time in Ubuntu is ridiculously fast. Overall, the build quality is lives up to the Thinkpad T-series reputation, but as the "s" indicates, it's not as big and bulky as the regular T430. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jason
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Terrible T430s

Date: April 9, 2013
Cons: Display performance
" The screen is so bad. It's not the Lenovo we estimated. I had a t400, which is much better than T430s.
Lenovo should improve the performance of screen. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wishihadacat
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Every Author's Best Friend

Date: April 4, 2013
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
" I have been writing novels on my Lenovo T400s since 2011. It is by far the most comfortable and reliable writing and research tool available for serious authors, and professionals in every field! "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kyle
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

6-Month Review

Date: March 31, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Support, Memory, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, trackpad
" I've had this computer for 6-months now.
I've upgraded all features of the computer + 160GB SSD, and 16GB RAM - both a must.
Pros: Never crashes. Super fast with upgrades. Lightweight. Versatile (graphics, gaming, processing).
Example: Handles 40+ FF Tabs, Skype, 5+ Word Tabs, PS5, Ill5, Drmw5, Downolads, Music Streaming - all without a single hick-up in performance. Extremely fast with the upgrades.
Cons: Batter issue when first bought (corrected by Lenovo pretty quickly). Trackpad wearing down after 6-months - doesn't work for 2-4seconds at a time. Screen colors not so sharp. Keyboard not good, battery not great. Need upgrades to experience the performance. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BCgirl1960
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:1 GB

Perfect for anyone user friendly

Date: March 25, 2013
" I have used for demo for work , very nice and would consider buying when the time comes "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T430s
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro

Best Laptop, but need improvement

Date: March 21, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Battery, Weight, Display performance
" I purchased this T430S on last Christmas. It is very good 14" thin laptop. I have had my 15" T61 for many years and love it.
But, I did not keep this T430S because of its quality of sound and display. The sound is not easy on the ear compared with T61 that I have. Another is the color of display. I am happy with anti-glare screen with high resolution. But, the color on the screen looks pale.
Though T Series is for business design, not for entertainment use, as T series is so famous for its reputation as ThinkPad. I wish Lenovo can offer more flexible on Display when customers do "customize" online.
I am waiting for coming T440/T440S/T540S to any different.
Overall, ThinkPad T series is still the best laptop if you compare with other brand. "