Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Twist (S230u) New! or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Twist (S230u) New!

Average customer rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
21
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
10
57 of 79(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twist (S230u) New!
Review 1 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Twist - Wireless Internet Unusable

Date: September 3, 2014
"Despite the design and feature rich capability, the wireless internet problems renders the system completely useless. I work from home as well as travel and the system is constantly going in and out of connectivity, a known problem. There are other quirky things like the way the touchpad makes you move back and forth between the Windows 8 screen, etc. All and all, a poor solution for anyone on the move."
Review 2 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

A lemon in under 2 years

Date: September 2, 2014
"I purchased my S23U a year and a half ago and have had nothing, but problems. Within one week of buying it, my motherboard fried and needed to be replaced. Lenovo was relatively responsive, but I had a week of downtime while it was repaired. A few months later, the touchpad stopped working and needed to be replaced. Less than a year after that, the hard drive failed.
My Lenovo was by far the least reliable computer I have ever purchased and I will not be buying from them again."
Review 3 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mogo

Love the Concept & Setup

Date: August 4, 2014
"I've had my Twist for almost 9-months now. I've been extremely pleased with the machine's setup and concept. By that I mean, were it a little stronger machine, or at least available in different configurations, I would absolutely love it! As with any Windows machine, there are idiosyncracies that must be considered but once I grew accustomed to those, I have thoroughly enjoyed the machines flexibility.
Truly, the only downside I have encountered is with it's lack of strength. I would love to see it offered with an i7."
Review 4 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
darkdragon

Where is the ThinkPad quality!?

Date: July 28, 2014
"I bought the Lenovo ThinkPad Twist S230u, but directly after the warrenty was over, the display starts having stipes of around 1/5 width and full hight. After some time (around 10 minutes) and some bending of the display they mostly disappear, but the next time you open the laptop, they were just there again. A friend of mine has the same model - with the same error (his machine was even replaced once within warranty because of another error).
The missing stylus support is another disappointing fact. Together with the lower-than-FullHD resolution.
Fingerprint sensor is also missing.
Only 2 USB 3.0 ports is too few - 4 would be much better!
Next version should definitely have a bigger SSD!
Battery life could also be better!
Nevertheless, I like the following features:
- REAL Ethernet Port
- IPS display
- Multitouch
- Form Factor
To sum up:
Lenovo don't continue to make such garbage like the Twist (S230u), but create a tablet version of the X-series like the X240! And make it robust!
"
Review 5 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lucy

Good but not perfect.

Date: July 21, 2014
"Pros:
Enough processing power and hard drive storage that I can use it as my main computer.
The twist feature lets me use the touch screen more comfortably than I can with an ordinary laptop.
Fits in my backpack.
Competent technical support and customer service provided by native English speakers with good communication skills.
Good keyboard and track pad allow me to type and navigate with few errors.
Cons:
Screen often doesn't know which way is up, and displays things upside down. Minor nuisance to correct.
Touch screen acts possessed on a moving city bus (breeze and bumps getting interpreted as touches?), but any attempt to calibrate the screen renders it completely unusable.
Battery life isn't great. Also, I'll have to send it in for service if I ever need a replacement battery.
Has trouble connecting to some wifi networks that any other device can connect to using the same settings. After talking to Lenovo tech support and the network guys at work, I've given up."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FotoFinish

Does Everything I Ask

Date: June 5, 2014
"This device does everything I need it to do. I take pictures of race horses at tracks along the East Coast. When traveling I needed a device that would let me insert a memory card, download pictures to flash drive, keep what I want on computer... then put on internet blog. This computer did it all, quickly and remarkably easily.
At home, the mini HDMI port allows me to log onto racetrack sites and display races on my 60" TV.
Can't say how reliable it is as I've had it for only 2 months.
"
Review 7 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James

One of the best I ever purchased

Date: May 29, 2014
"This is a great machine and very comfortable to use. I have other Lenovo laptops but this one has all of the features I need for my church work and community.
The USB ports stops when the laptop goes in the sleep mode. I have to reboot the machine to use them. This is very annoying and is the reason I can't give it a 5 star rating.
This should be a simple fix for Lenovo. I hope they remedy this very soon because I love the laptop/tablet.
Other than the "ANNOYING" USB problem, it is an excellent machine and is recommended.
"
Review 8 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Frustrated

NOT the best laptop

Date: April 15, 2014
"I have had problems with this laptop since I first got it in December, 2013.
The computer gets very hot very fast. The keyboard sometimes decides to stop working.
It likes to disable the wifi adapter at random intervals. Wifi problems happen about once every two hours of use. Recently, I started getting the blue screen of death (critical error dying). Now, I am getting a different blue screen error (kernel data inpage error). The tablet screen also likes to flip , and it is not always easy to get it to go back.
The computer is good in that it is very lightweight, and the tablet functions are cool. It is quite durable physically. The battery life is fairly good (about 3 hours). Before all of the blue screens, it was very reliable. It didn't last nearly as long as I had hoped it would."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelD
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Loving this laptop!

Date: March 30, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"This is a fantastic laptop! Bought it personally but now converted to work laptop. One year in, battery still good for over 5 hours. Too bad it doesn't have 4th generation Intel processor, otherwise would be much longer. I love all the different uses and works great with Windows 8.1! Just overall great laptop/tablet. Best laptop (that can be a tablet) that money can buy."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gman
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Could be great but needs refresh & improvement

Date: March 26, 2014
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, twist capability
Cons: Display resolution, Memory, Battery, Included Software
"This would be my fav, but falls short in some areas:
1) use of mini hdmi forces user to carry adaptor all the time- hardly convenient for a 'portable' to have to carry extra's.
2) screen should be higher res- while quality is good my smartphone is 1080p and I expect no less for my laptop (and need no more).
3) Battery week and can't be replaced
4) my 4gb mem is permanent & can't be expanded- really bad.
5) If Std HD- performance, boot times, wake-from-sleep are all really bad even w the 24GB cache- replaced it w SSD and much better.
6) maybe a 4th gen cpu would help w battery life?
BUT- love the size and the twist (when it works) & the keyboard.
"
Review 11 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charles
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst Purchase Ever - Not Upgradable!!! Really???

Date: March 21, 2014
Cons: Memory
"I bought this a year ago, and barely used it as soon I found it pretty unusable in a few days. It has 4GB RAM and a i5 processor (both are soldered in, so you cannot upgrade them especially the RAM. Never had I bought into a computer that's NOT upgradable.) and soon I found that's a big mistake. It has Windows 8 Pro on it, and with 4GB RAM, you are constantly waiting for the computer to swap data in and out of the memory. I never switched from my old i7 Windows 7 machine to this new one until it died a month ago. I am buying a different branded laptop.
I will never buy a Lenovo or anyone else's that's not upgradable. What's Lonovo thinking?"
Review 12 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cdbrow1
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3.5 GB

Great tablet - bad battery

Date: March 12, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Battery, battery again
"I have had this computer for about 8 months. It performs fine, however it is just about worthless if not plugged in every 2 hours. The battery life is a serious flaw -when I bought it Lenovo said (7 hours) they have now reduced that to ~6 (same hardware) - real world is 3 hours with the screen really dark. I know how to use power saving features and have never gotten over 4 even when set to max savings. Maybe I could crack 4 hours without wifi - but what would be the point. Got a Surface Pro 2 on order - saying bye bye to this one."
Review 13 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dissapointed
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Twist May not be the Best Bet

Date: March 10, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Support, Included Software, Processor
"While the computer is stylish and filled with apps, it seems to be woefully underpowered with only 4MB of memory and you can't add. The basic problem with this laptop is responsiveness. Running updates, using Lenovo Solutions, Windows Updates are painfully slow. This machine requires quite a bit of patience.
If you need a computer to be both work and play, this may not be the best bet."
Review 14 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
geeker123squad
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very poor

Date: March 1, 2014
Pros: Memory
Cons: Warranty, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability, mouse
"The decide struggles to rotate screens from tablet to laptop. The mouse consistently "ghost jumps" and clicks on random things frequently; even when nobody is near the decide. It also "ghost" clicks at its disposal. The mouse will often click without the user clicking on anything and will clicks 2-3 times when i only click once which is about as infuriating as it gets.
Thought I was buying a high end pc/tablet device but this device has been more problematic than I would have ever anticipated for the price.
There are a lot better options out there if you're looking for a high end PC/Tablet combination
"
Review 15 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sr2013
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:3.5 GB

Perfect for commuting

Date: February 23, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display performance
"Great battery life that lasts through my two hour commute and my four lecture. The on screen keyboard is easy to use and in stand mode the laptop fits perfectly on your lap when there is no table or desk available."
Review 16 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joey
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Enough for College Student

Date: February 4, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
"I bought my twist more than a year. Overall I'm satisfied with it. It's fast and quite, it has most ports I need, the screen is bright and the sound is loud. However here are some could be improved. First, I hate the chrome around the screen, it's just ugly. Second, it should has a backlit keyboard or Think Light. Third, if it has a full size vga, that would be perfect. Forth, if Lenovo could fit a 13'' screen into this chassis, which I think it's not hard, this would be a legendary machine.
I love my little twist, I hope it's perfect but it's not. However it good enough for me right now, I'm satisfied overall.
"
Review 17 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JJSDDS
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5

Im Now an Apple Fan!

Date: February 3, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: Warranty, Wireless card, Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"There is nothing on this computer that hasn't failed. Windows 8 software glitches, followed by Windows 8.1 software glitches, compounded by a poor keyboard and mousepad and continued screen rotation problems even after instituting all known fixes. And 2 failures each of the solid state drive and HDD! Of course the second hard drive failures (2 months after the first) are "out of warranty." Windows 8 and IBM/Lenovo have been able to do in 13 months what Steve Jobs couldn't do over the past 30 years - make me an Apple fan!!"
Review 18 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
krconatser
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very good purchase

Date: January 30, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: digitizer, pen input
"Love my twist, but wish that there was a digitizer. I hope that Lenovo will provide support to be able to use a digitizer, or even the wacom feel stylus."
Review 19 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freway01
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Nice 2-in-1 Windows 8 Ultrabook

Date: January 15, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Included Software, had to buy/install a full version of win 8 pro
"I've had my Twist for about a year. First thing I did was replaced the 500GB HHD with a 250GB SSD and installed Windows 8 Pro on it. I use it daily at home and work and never had a problem with it.
Even with the SSD, you don't get no where near the advertised 6 hours from the battery. I usually keep it plugged in, but when it was new, I got maybe 3.5 hours when I used the battery. Last trip I took I was getting about 3 hours on a charge.
If Lenovo came out with a new Twist with the new 4th Gen i5 and an SSD which would extend battery life, it would be a killer machine."
Review 20 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Della
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Really a Great Buy

Date: January 8, 2014
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, convertible modes, touch screen
Cons: accelerometer
"I've had the Twist for about five months, and it's a wonderful laptop. I use it for all of my college work, and all of my entertainment like Youtube and Netflix. It multitasks very well, the keyboard is great for writing papers, and it never has performance problems.
The tablet, tent, and stand modes are very convenient although I don't find myself using them all the time. I love having a touch screen display and being able to rotate the screen around. The Twist is altogether a great buy if you want a quality convertible laptop for a decent price.
The ONLY complaint I have is the occasionally glitchy screen orientation, but it's not a hassle and can be fixed easily."