Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Twist (S230u) New! or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Twist (S230u) New!

Average customer rating:
3.573 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
23
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
14
61 of 89(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twist (S230u) New!
Review 1 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Value touchscreen laptop

Date: January 20, 2015
" I bought Thinkpad Twist (S230u) from Lenovo Outlet for slightly more than $300. Needless to say that's a great value. The laptop has great build quality, as all Thinkpads do. The performance is good with the i3 processor. Battery life is decent, lasting about 5 hours for average workload. The screen is the right size for me - not too small so that seeing text requires conscious effort, and not too large so that carrying the whole thing becomes burdensome.
There's one unique design flaw with this laptop though: the position of the power button. It's so close to the charger location. There are too many times I accidentally hit the power button when I either plug in or unplug the charger. Annoying. I noticed there are other models of Thinkpads and Lenovo branded laptops that have this problem as well.
Overall, this is a great little laptop that has just the right amount of power for everyday work. I really wish the power button is somewhere else though. "
Review 2 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Product!

Date: January 5, 2015
" I love the functionality of the touch screen and the laptop. "
Review 3 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

love my twist

Date: January 5, 2015
" Have already convinced a couple of friends to buy Lenovo. Love my Twist. Size is perfect. Had some difficulty switching to Windows 8.1 at first but that is not a Lenovo problem. Got the solid state hard drive and my IT dept was really impressed with the speed. Just wish it had the facial recognition software for password that my old Lenovo had. "
Review 4 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

WORST purchase ever

Date: December 29, 2014
" I bought the lenovo twist s230u and paid premium because i wanted the touchscreen and twist features. It just died on me. I have been told to replace the motherboard which would not be cheap.I did not expect a lenovo laptop to die after one year. It gives an error messageand will not run when i turn it on. The funny thing is, my cheap HP laptop I bought 6 years ago (for less than half of the price of the lenovo twist) is still running. I'm very disaapinted. Will never buy a lenovo laptop again "
Review 5 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Not Good At All

Date: October 27, 2014
" It works fine. But that is when it works at all. there always seem to be problems with it. between the touchscreen not working (once, fixed) and the hard drive failing, (three times in a year, fixed) I do not feel that i can always count on it to work when i need it to. Also the track-pad is unusable. If you are between this and a dell, get the dell. "
Review 6 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Thinkpad Twist

Date: October 22, 2014
" I have used this product continuously for about a year now. Recently I purchased a Lenovo touch screen monitor which I plug it to when working at home. Great combination, no complaints, everything works as expected. "
Review 7 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Not Up To The Lenovo Standard

Date: October 22, 2014
" Pros: Cool ideas
Cons: This laptop does not live up to the Lenovo standard, not even close. I have been a Lenovo die hard since my first laptop (the twist is #5). The performance of this laptop does not even come close to the standard the others set. Boot time is terrible, few of the cool features that are advertised actually work as anticipated, the processing is terribly slow, it often takes a good 10-15 minutes before it will recognize and connect to the wireless internet, and many of the programs have serious issues (ie, my microsoft office products will not load). I had hoped this was all related to the launch of Windows 8; however, in the 2 years I've had the laptop, I have seen minimal improvement. Worst of all I get absolutely 0 customer support from Lenovo.
Overall: worst laptop I've seen from Lenovo. I'd rather have my original laptop from 10 years ago.
"
Review 8 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

If only it would keep working

Date: October 21, 2014
" Pro: Performance, touch display
Con: Lack of reliability, low battery life
The Think pad twist looks like a good idea. The touch display works well the version I have got the i7 (u) processor and a SSD wich makes it a very fast laptop. However the biggest problem is that I had to send it to repair twice already for a HDD detection error. It is my 3rd thinkpad laptop and I regret that I changed from the regular series (X or T) to this one. The older laptop I have are still working and this new one failed twice already. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Really Really Slow

Date: October 12, 2014
" For some reason my lenovo is extremely slow. i can barely surf the web. when i do, everything is lagged out and i accidentally click things and then i just end up getting frustrated. not sure if it's the computer or just me. hopefully its just me and i hope that everyone else doesn't have this problem as well. "
Review 10 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Great concept, horrific results

Date: October 10, 2014
" I've been working in IT 25 yrs. I wanted a tablet, but couldn't live without the full pc.... Purchased this 1-1/2 years ago, first one came, had to return it because touch screen didn't work at all. Second one, worked for almost a year, but flakey with sometimes working, sometimes not - then touch screen quit working and now even using touchpad won't work. And what's the point of windows 8 without touch ? That's what I paid for. Of course this was just 1 month after warranty. I did not give it heavy use EVER and I'm an IT director, and I work on my pc all day. This is worthless, don't bother. I wish I could use that laptop to give this review, but it won't work. "
Review 11 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Twist - Wireless Internet Unusable

Date: September 3, 2014
" Despite the design and feature rich capability, the wireless internet problems renders the system completely useless. I work from home as well as travel and the system is constantly going in and out of connectivity, a known problem. There are other quirky things like the way the touchpad makes you move back and forth between the Windows 8 screen, etc. All and all, a poor solution for anyone on the move. "
Review 12 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

A lemon in under 2 years

Date: September 2, 2014
" I purchased my S23U a year and a half ago and have had nothing, but problems. Within one week of buying it, my motherboard fried and needed to be replaced. Lenovo was relatively responsive, but I had a week of downtime while it was repaired. A few months later, the touchpad stopped working and needed to be replaced. Less than a year after that, the hard drive failed.
My Lenovo was by far the least reliable computer I have ever purchased and I will not be buying from them again. "
Review 13 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mogo

Love the Concept & Setup

Date: August 4, 2014
" I've had my Twist for almost 9-months now. I've been extremely pleased with the machine's setup and concept. By that I mean, were it a little stronger machine, or at least available in different configurations, I would absolutely love it! As with any Windows machine, there are idiosyncracies that must be considered but once I grew accustomed to those, I have thoroughly enjoyed the machines flexibility.
Truly, the only downside I have encountered is with it's lack of strength. I would love to see it offered with an i7. "
Review 14 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
darkdragon

Where is the ThinkPad quality!?

Date: July 28, 2014
" I bought the Lenovo ThinkPad Twist S230u, but directly after the warrenty was over, the display starts having stipes of around 1/5 width and full hight. After some time (around 10 minutes) and some bending of the display they mostly disappear, but the next time you open the laptop, they were just there again. A friend of mine has the same model - with the same error (his machine was even replaced once within warranty because of another error).
The missing stylus support is another disappointing fact. Together with the lower-than-FullHD resolution.
Fingerprint sensor is also missing.
Only 2 USB 3.0 ports is too few - 4 would be much better!
Next version should definitely have a bigger SSD!
Battery life could also be better!
Nevertheless, I like the following features:
- REAL Ethernet Port
- IPS display
- Multitouch
- Form Factor
To sum up:
Lenovo don't continue to make such garbage like the Twist (S230u), but create a tablet version of the X-series like the X240! And make it robust!
"
Review 15 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lucy

Good but not perfect.

Date: July 21, 2014
" Pros:
Enough processing power and hard drive storage that I can use it as my main computer.
The twist feature lets me use the touch screen more comfortably than I can with an ordinary laptop.
Fits in my backpack.
Competent technical support and customer service provided by native English speakers with good communication skills.
Good keyboard and track pad allow me to type and navigate with few errors.
Cons:
Screen often doesn't know which way is up, and displays things upside down. Minor nuisance to correct.
Touch screen acts possessed on a moving city bus (breeze and bumps getting interpreted as touches?), but any attempt to calibrate the screen renders it completely unusable.
Battery life isn't great. Also, I'll have to send it in for service if I ever need a replacement battery.
Has trouble connecting to some wifi networks that any other device can connect to using the same settings. After talking to Lenovo tech support and the network guys at work, I've given up. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FotoFinish

Does Everything I Ask

Date: June 5, 2014
" This device does everything I need it to do. I take pictures of race horses at tracks along the East Coast. When traveling I needed a device that would let me insert a memory card, download pictures to flash drive, keep what I want on computer... then put on internet blog. This computer did it all, quickly and remarkably easily.
At home, the mini HDMI port allows me to log onto racetrack sites and display races on my 60" TV.
Can't say how reliable it is as I've had it for only 2 months.
"
Review 17 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James

One of the best I ever purchased

Date: May 29, 2014
" This is a great machine and very comfortable to use. I have other Lenovo laptops but this one has all of the features I need for my church work and community.
The USB ports stops when the laptop goes in the sleep mode. I have to reboot the machine to use them. This is very annoying and is the reason I can't give it a 5 star rating.
This should be a simple fix for Lenovo. I hope they remedy this very soon because I love the laptop/tablet.
Other than the "ANNOYING" USB problem, it is an excellent machine and is recommended.
"
Review 18 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Frustrated

NOT the best laptop

Date: April 15, 2014
" I have had problems with this laptop since I first got it in December, 2013.
The computer gets very hot very fast. The keyboard sometimes decides to stop working.
It likes to disable the wifi adapter at random intervals. Wifi problems happen about once every two hours of use. Recently, I started getting the blue screen of death (critical error dying). Now, I am getting a different blue screen error (kernel data inpage error). The tablet screen also likes to flip , and it is not always easy to get it to go back.
The computer is good in that it is very lightweight, and the tablet functions are cool. It is quite durable physically. The battery life is fairly good (about 3 hours). Before all of the blue screens, it was very reliable. It didn't last nearly as long as I had hoped it would. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelD
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Loving this laptop!

Date: March 30, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
" This is a fantastic laptop! Bought it personally but now converted to work laptop. One year in, battery still good for over 5 hours. Too bad it doesn't have 4th generation Intel processor, otherwise would be much longer. I love all the different uses and works great with Windows 8.1! Just overall great laptop/tablet. Best laptop (that can be a tablet) that money can buy. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gman
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Could be great but needs refresh & improvement

Date: March 26, 2014
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, twist capability
Cons: Display resolution, Memory, Battery, Included Software
" This would be my fav, but falls short in some areas:
1) use of mini hdmi forces user to carry adaptor all the time- hardly convenient for a 'portable' to have to carry extra's.
2) screen should be higher res- while quality is good my smartphone is 1080p and I expect no less for my laptop (and need no more).
3) Battery week and can't be replaced
4) my 4gb mem is permanent & can't be expanded- really bad.
5) If Std HD- performance, boot times, wake-from-sleep are all really bad even w the 24GB cache- replaced it w SSD and much better.
6) maybe a 4th gen cpu would help w battery life?
BUT- love the size and the twist (when it works) & the keyboard.
"