Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Twist (S230u) New! or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Twist (S230u) New!

Average customer rating:
3.516 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
23
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
15
63 of 95(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twist (S230u) New!
Review 1 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad choice; hope it was their prototype

Date: August 19, 2015
" Now typing on other PC as my s230u let me down once again. Screen doesn't work any longer, neither on the laptop screen nor on an external one. I've never been happy about it from day one, and generally speaking, I'm a big Lenovo fan, so it's a pity I have to write this. The screen clarity is supposed to adapt automatically, but with constant light it's often going from lighter to darker, and sometimes it's even hard to read anything at all. Starting up is slow, automatic screen adaptation between laptop/tablet mode doesn't function properly; sometimes it even happens that I see my screen upside down as soon as I unplug the adapter. I just brought it to a PC shop yesterday, but I'm planning to buy a new laptop already, even if they can fix it. I'm not even saying it won't be Lenovo again, as I have been using Lenovo for years, and I've always been extremely satisfied. I just would never ever recommend the s230u to others. Thinking of a Yoga Pro now... "
Review 2 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst purchase ever

Date: July 26, 2015
" Hard drive had to be replaced after 1 year. Probably only worked properly for 6 months. The other issue is that the HDMI output doesn't work so I can't watch steamed movies on the tv. I tried different cords thinking that was the problem. But it was the computer. "
Review 3 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very reliable and fast pc

Date: March 21, 2015
" The touch screen works seamlessly the computer has 4th generation core I-3 processor which handled running multiple applications very well. Have 1 complaint and that is that the ram is soldered therefore; it cannot be upgraded.
The mouse pad can be a little touchy and some of the Lenovo apps eat up that memory so I had to manually turn them off.
"
Review 4 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This computer is ok, but not great

Date: March 21, 2015
" Overall, it is not bad...I purchased the i5 processor and find that it gets bogged down very easily on fairly simple tasks. Booting of the machine from sleep mode takes a long time and gives no indication if it has started (just a black screen). Loading new programs and browsing the web often lead to a spinning wheel of death.
I would recommend upgrading to the more powerful version as a result.
Touch screen is a nice feature, but I find I use it less than I anticipated.
Comes loaded with many tools etc. that nobody really wants and they just pop up annoying reminders.
If purchasing a new laptop now, I would likely go for a surface pro with keyboard (I bought the surface 2 and it is very good). It is smaller, lighter and seems to have similar capability. If you want a full-on laptop, skip the touch screen and get a more powerful laptop.
I hope that helps if you are considering a purchase. "
Review 5 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't Wait Until I Can Afford a Different Laptop

Date: February 12, 2015
" This laptop is simply not worth the money. I have owned 4-5 laptops and have never been as displeased as I am with this one.
I cannot remember ever dropping this laptop. Every time I transport it I put it in a special protective sleeve of my backpack. I keep anti-virus software on it and am very careful of what I download on the internet. I treat my laptop very well-- Unfortunately, it does not treat me well.
I have had it for only a year and a half and it is falling apart. While I am using it, it will randomly pull up an app like "Netflix" or "Photos" for no reason, multiple times. It almost always lags when I type (on multiple different programs). It randomly "goes to sleep" and the screen goes black while I am in the middle of doing something. Sometimes, the image of the mouse flashes on and off rapidly for ten minutes at a time. The screen brightness will fade and brighten randomly. This computer literally has a mind of its own, and it's evil! I despise having to use it. "
Review 6 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

twist

Date: February 8, 2015
" Convenient size "
Review 7 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Value touchscreen laptop

Date: January 20, 2015
" I bought Thinkpad Twist (S230u) from Lenovo Outlet for slightly more than $300. Needless to say that's a great value. The laptop has great build quality, as all Thinkpads do. The performance is good with the i3 processor. Battery life is decent, lasting about 5 hours for average workload. The screen is the right size for me - not too small so that seeing text requires conscious effort, and not too large so that carrying the whole thing becomes burdensome.
There's one unique design flaw with this laptop though: the position of the power button. It's so close to the charger location. There are too many times I accidentally hit the power button when I either plug in or unplug the charger. Annoying. I noticed there are other models of Thinkpads and Lenovo branded laptops that have this problem as well.
Overall, this is a great little laptop that has just the right amount of power for everyday work. I really wish the power button is somewhere else though. "
Review 8 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product!

Date: January 5, 2015
" I love the functionality of the touch screen and the laptop. "
Review 9 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love my twist

Date: January 5, 2015
" Have already convinced a couple of friends to buy Lenovo. Love my Twist. Size is perfect. Had some difficulty switching to Windows 8.1 at first but that is not a Lenovo problem. Got the solid state hard drive and my IT dept was really impressed with the speed. Just wish it had the facial recognition software for password that my old Lenovo had. "
Review 10 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WORST purchase ever

Date: December 29, 2014
" I bought the lenovo twist s230u and paid premium because i wanted the touchscreen and twist features. It just died on me. I have been told to replace the motherboard which would not be cheap.I did not expect a lenovo laptop to die after one year. It gives an error messageand will not run when i turn it on. The funny thing is, my cheap HP laptop I bought 6 years ago (for less than half of the price of the lenovo twist) is still running. I'm very disaapinted. Will never buy a lenovo laptop again "
Review 11 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Good At All

Date: October 27, 2014
" It works fine. But that is when it works at all. there always seem to be problems with it. between the touchscreen not working (once, fixed) and the hard drive failing, (three times in a year, fixed) I do not feel that i can always count on it to work when i need it to. Also the track-pad is unusable. If you are between this and a dell, get the dell. "
Review 12 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thinkpad Twist

Date: October 22, 2014
" I have used this product continuously for about a year now. Recently I purchased a Lenovo touch screen monitor which I plug it to when working at home. Great combination, no complaints, everything works as expected. "
Review 13 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Up To The Lenovo Standard

Date: October 22, 2014
" Pros: Cool ideas
Cons: This laptop does not live up to the Lenovo standard, not even close. I have been a Lenovo die hard since my first laptop (the twist is #5). The performance of this laptop does not even come close to the standard the others set. Boot time is terrible, few of the cool features that are advertised actually work as anticipated, the processing is terribly slow, it often takes a good 10-15 minutes before it will recognize and connect to the wireless internet, and many of the programs have serious issues (ie, my microsoft office products will not load). I had hoped this was all related to the launch of Windows 8; however, in the 2 years I've had the laptop, I have seen minimal improvement. Worst of all I get absolutely 0 customer support from Lenovo.
Overall: worst laptop I've seen from Lenovo. I'd rather have my original laptop from 10 years ago.
"
Review 14 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

If only it would keep working

Date: October 21, 2014
" Pro: Performance, touch display
Con: Lack of reliability, low battery life
The Think pad twist looks like a good idea. The touch display works well the version I have got the i7 (u) processor and a SSD wich makes it a very fast laptop. However the biggest problem is that I had to send it to repair twice already for a HDD detection error. It is my 3rd thinkpad laptop and I regret that I changed from the regular series (X or T) to this one. The older laptop I have are still working and this new one failed twice already. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Really Really Slow

Date: October 12, 2014
" For some reason my lenovo is extremely slow. i can barely surf the web. when i do, everything is lagged out and i accidentally click things and then i just end up getting frustrated. not sure if it's the computer or just me. hopefully its just me and i hope that everyone else doesn't have this problem as well. "
Review 16 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great concept, horrific results

Date: October 10, 2014
" I've been working in IT 25 yrs. I wanted a tablet, but couldn't live without the full pc.... Purchased this 1-1/2 years ago, first one came, had to return it because touch screen didn't work at all. Second one, worked for almost a year, but flakey with sometimes working, sometimes not - then touch screen quit working and now even using touchpad won't work. And what's the point of windows 8 without touch ? That's what I paid for. Of course this was just 1 month after warranty. I did not give it heavy use EVER and I'm an IT director, and I work on my pc all day. This is worthless, don't bother. I wish I could use that laptop to give this review, but it won't work. "
Review 17 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Twist - Wireless Internet Unusable

Date: September 3, 2014
" Despite the design and feature rich capability, the wireless internet problems renders the system completely useless. I work from home as well as travel and the system is constantly going in and out of connectivity, a known problem. There are other quirky things like the way the touchpad makes you move back and forth between the Windows 8 screen, etc. All and all, a poor solution for anyone on the move. "
Review 18 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A lemon in under 2 years

Date: September 2, 2014
" I purchased my S23U a year and a half ago and have had nothing, but problems. Within one week of buying it, my motherboard fried and needed to be replaced. Lenovo was relatively responsive, but I had a week of downtime while it was repaired. A few months later, the touchpad stopped working and needed to be replaced. Less than a year after that, the hard drive failed.
My Lenovo was by far the least reliable computer I have ever purchased and I will not be buying from them again. "
Review 19 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the Concept & Setup

Date: August 4, 2014
" I've had my Twist for almost 9-months now. I've been extremely pleased with the machine's setup and concept. By that I mean, were it a little stronger machine, or at least available in different configurations, I would absolutely love it! As with any Windows machine, there are idiosyncracies that must be considered but once I grew accustomed to those, I have thoroughly enjoyed the machines flexibility.
Truly, the only downside I have encountered is with it's lack of strength. I would love to see it offered with an i7. "
Review 20 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Where is the ThinkPad quality!?

Date: July 28, 2014
" I bought the Lenovo ThinkPad Twist S230u, but directly after the warrenty was over, the display starts having stipes of around 1/5 width and full hight. After some time (around 10 minutes) and some bending of the display they mostly disappear, but the next time you open the laptop, they were just there again. A friend of mine has the same model - with the same error (his machine was even replaced once within warranty because of another error).
The missing stylus support is another disappointing fact. Together with the lower-than-FullHD resolution.
Fingerprint sensor is also missing.
Only 2 USB 3.0 ports is too few - 4 would be much better!
Next version should definitely have a bigger SSD!
Battery life could also be better!
Nevertheless, I like the following features:
- REAL Ethernet Port
- IPS display
- Multitouch
- Form Factor
To sum up:
Lenovo don't continue to make such garbage like the Twist (S230u), but create a tablet version of the X-series like the X240! And make it robust!
"