Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Twist (S230u) New! or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Twist (S230u) New!

Average customer rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
18
3 stars
14
2 stars
4
1 star
8
53 of 72(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twist (S230u) New!
Review 1 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Frustrated

NOT the best laptop

Date: April 15, 2014
"I have had problems with this laptop since I first got it in December, 2013.
The computer gets very hot very fast. The keyboard sometimes decides to stop working.
It likes to disable the wifi adapter at random intervals. Wifi problems happen about once every two hours of use. Recently, I started getting the blue screen of death (critical error dying). Now, I am getting a different blue screen error (kernel data inpage error). The tablet screen also likes to flip , and it is not always easy to get it to go back.
The computer is good in that it is very lightweight, and the tablet functions are cool. It is quite durable physically. The battery life is fairly good (about 3 hours). Before all of the blue screens, it was very reliable. It didn't last nearly as long as I had hoped it would."
Review 2 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelD
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Loving this laptop!

Date: March 30, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"This is a fantastic laptop! Bought it personally but now converted to work laptop. One year in, battery still good for over 5 hours. Too bad it doesn't have 4th generation Intel processor, otherwise would be much longer. I love all the different uses and works great with Windows 8.1! Just overall great laptop/tablet. Best laptop (that can be a tablet) that money can buy."
Review 3 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gman
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Could be great but needs refresh & improvement

Date: March 26, 2014
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, twist capability
Cons: Display resolution, Memory, Battery, Included Software
"This would be my fav, but falls short in some areas:
1) use of mini hdmi forces user to carry adaptor all the time- hardly convenient for a 'portable' to have to carry extra's.
2) screen should be higher res- while quality is good my smartphone is 1080p and I expect no less for my laptop (and need no more).
3) Battery week and can't be replaced
4) my 4gb mem is permanent & can't be expanded- really bad.
5) If Std HD- performance, boot times, wake-from-sleep are all really bad even w the 24GB cache- replaced it w SSD and much better.
6) maybe a 4th gen cpu would help w battery life?
BUT- love the size and the twist (when it works) & the keyboard.
"
Review 4 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charles
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Worst Purchase Ever - Not Upgradable!!! Really???

Date: March 21, 2014
Cons: Memory
"I bought this a year ago, and barely used it as soon I found it pretty unusable in a few days. It has 4GB RAM and a i5 processor (both are soldered in, so you cannot upgrade them especially the RAM. Never had I bought into a computer that's NOT upgradable.) and soon I found that's a big mistake. It has Windows 8 Pro on it, and with 4GB RAM, you are constantly waiting for the computer to swap data in and out of the memory. I never switched from my old i7 Windows 7 machine to this new one until it died a month ago. I am buying a different branded laptop.
I will never buy a Lenovo or anyone else's that's not upgradable. What's Lonovo thinking?"
Review 5 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cdbrow1
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:3.5 GB

Great tablet - bad battery

Date: March 12, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Battery, battery again
"I have had this computer for about 8 months. It performs fine, however it is just about worthless if not plugged in every 2 hours. The battery life is a serious flaw -when I bought it Lenovo said (7 hours) they have now reduced that to ~6 (same hardware) - real world is 3 hours with the screen really dark. I know how to use power saving features and have never gotten over 4 even when set to max savings. Maybe I could crack 4 hours without wifi - but what would be the point. Got a Surface Pro 2 on order - saying bye bye to this one."
Review 6 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dissapointed
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Twist May not be the Best Bet

Date: March 10, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Memory, Support, Included Software, Processor
"While the computer is stylish and filled with apps, it seems to be woefully underpowered with only 4MB of memory and you can't add. The basic problem with this laptop is responsiveness. Running updates, using Lenovo Solutions, Windows Updates are painfully slow. This machine requires quite a bit of patience.
If you need a computer to be both work and play, this may not be the best bet."
Review 7 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
geeker123squad
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very poor

Date: March 1, 2014
Pros: Memory
Cons: Warranty, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability, mouse
"The decide struggles to rotate screens from tablet to laptop. The mouse consistently "ghost jumps" and clicks on random things frequently; even when nobody is near the decide. It also "ghost" clicks at its disposal. The mouse will often click without the user clicking on anything and will clicks 2-3 times when i only click once which is about as infuriating as it gets.
Thought I was buying a high end pc/tablet device but this device has been more problematic than I would have ever anticipated for the price.
There are a lot better options out there if you're looking for a high end PC/Tablet combination
"
Review 8 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sr2013
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:3.5 GB

Perfect for commuting

Date: February 23, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display performance
"Great battery life that lasts through my two hour commute and my four lecture. The on screen keyboard is easy to use and in stand mode the laptop fits perfectly on your lap when there is no table or desk available."
Review 9 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joey
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Enough for College Student

Date: February 4, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
"I bought my twist more than a year. Overall I'm satisfied with it. It's fast and quite, it has most ports I need, the screen is bright and the sound is loud. However here are some could be improved. First, I hate the chrome around the screen, it's just ugly. Second, it should has a backlit keyboard or Think Light. Third, if it has a full size vga, that would be perfect. Forth, if Lenovo could fit a 13'' screen into this chassis, which I think it's not hard, this would be a legendary machine.
I love my little twist, I hope it's perfect but it's not. However it good enough for me right now, I'm satisfied overall.
"
Review 10 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JJSDDS
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5

Im Now an Apple Fan!

Date: February 3, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: Warranty, Wireless card, Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"There is nothing on this computer that hasn't failed. Windows 8 software glitches, followed by Windows 8.1 software glitches, compounded by a poor keyboard and mousepad and continued screen rotation problems even after instituting all known fixes. And 2 failures each of the solid state drive and HDD! Of course the second hard drive failures (2 months after the first) are "out of warranty." Windows 8 and IBM/Lenovo have been able to do in 13 months what Steve Jobs couldn't do over the past 30 years - make me an Apple fan!!"
Review 11 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
krconatser
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very good purchase

Date: January 30, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: digitizer, pen input
"Love my twist, but wish that there was a digitizer. I hope that Lenovo will provide support to be able to use a digitizer, or even the wacom feel stylus."
Review 12 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freway01
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Nice 2-in-1 Windows 8 Ultrabook

Date: January 15, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Included Software, had to buy/install a full version of win 8 pro
"I've had my Twist for about a year. First thing I did was replaced the 500GB HHD with a 250GB SSD and installed Windows 8 Pro on it. I use it daily at home and work and never had a problem with it.
Even with the SSD, you don't get no where near the advertised 6 hours from the battery. I usually keep it plugged in, but when it was new, I got maybe 3.5 hours when I used the battery. Last trip I took I was getting about 3 hours on a charge.
If Lenovo came out with a new Twist with the new 4th Gen i5 and an SSD which would extend battery life, it would be a killer machine."
Review 13 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Della
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:2 GB

Really a Great Buy

Date: January 8, 2014
Pros: Keyboard/peripherals, Display resolution, convertible modes, touch screen
Cons: accelerometer
"I've had the Twist for about five months, and it's a wonderful laptop. I use it for all of my college work, and all of my entertainment like Youtube and Netflix. It multitasks very well, the keyboard is great for writing papers, and it never has performance problems.
The tablet, tent, and stand modes are very convenient although I don't find myself using them all the time. I love having a touch screen display and being able to rotate the screen around. The Twist is altogether a great buy if you want a quality convertible laptop for a decent price.
The ONLY complaint I have is the occasionally glitchy screen orientation, but it's not a hassle and can be fixed easily."
Review 14 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gman
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Quad Core
Memory:4 GB or more

died

Date: January 5, 2014
Pros: Weight, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Warranty, Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Security Features, Included Software, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance, Durability
"was going to buy a MacBook I paid 1400 and huge mistake it died in 3 months got it fixed screen has failures its unbelievably slow just hate it. just don't buy it"
Review 15 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaxCharlie
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent concept, mediocre execution

Date: November 19, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Warranty, Support, Battery, Included Software, Display performance, screen display toggle
"I bought the twist in 2012 when it first came out. Initially there was a problem with the rotating display. When you turned it into a tablet mode, the display would toggle. But going back from tablet to PC mode, the display would remain inverted.
There were PC updates that promised to fix it, but it has been a year and the problem still continues.
"
Review 16 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Majoroniell
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Computer, best owned, but not reliable

Date: October 31, 2013
Pros: Weight, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Storage, Warranty, Memory, Support, Battery
"I bought this convertible, because I wanted a computer, and it had the tablet ability. For the first few months, it was great, everything worked great! Recently I have had a lot of RAM issues, RAM would be fairly high with barely anything running, and I would eventually get a B.S.O.D(Blue Screen of Death), I was able to get rid of the BSOD, but not the RAM issues. The touch screen ability is great, but for a while if I touched the screen I would lose my cursor until I restarted my computer, it was like the touch ability took my computer hostage. I fixed that by disabling the trackpad, which has no relation to the touch screen whatsoever.
The Details says the battery should be able to last 6 hours, and I barely get 3 hours of it when not charged, but it charges fairly fast.
"
Review 17 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mark
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

very powerful and useful for multitasking

Date: October 29, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Security Features, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"I can definitely recommend this laptop. It is powerful, it has good screen, and it is very effective to work/web browsing/video chat etc. using this product and multitasking is very easy. Also, it is now much better with Win 8.1 update since Win 8.1 has some new useful specifications compared to the previous version."
Review 18 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
frownyface
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

the worst of both worlds

Date: October 8, 2013
Cons: Storage, Weight, Software compatibility, Display performance
"I got this computer because I thought a touchpad/laptop would be the best of both worlds and I heard Lenovo was a good brand. I was very excited at first about the touchscreen but that excitement was short lived. I am a PC user but sadly I have to say the touch sensitivity and interface are not nearly as good as an iPad. Various commands that were supposed to take place based on swiping from the left or bottom of the screen didn't work. Several programs I use for my job didn't work. You would think that since it's flippable to watch a movie it would have good audio but it was quite bad. And although it was lighter than my current 16" laptop, it was much heavier than I thought it would be. Basically instead of the best of both worlds of tablet/laptop, it was the worst of both worlds. :("
Review 19 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thom
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

Don't do it!

Date: July 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Bluetooth, Screen size, Display resolution
Cons: Warranty, Wireless card, Support
"This computer is horrible. It takes forever to access Internet. I will be struggling with connecting while my wife sitting next to me with her iPad has no problem. This is frustrating.
I have also performed a test with my Kindle. Access with Kindle, none with Twist.
I think is going to be expensive paper weight.
Do yourself a favor and look at other products. Wish I has!"
Review 20 for Twist (S230u) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ontheroadagain
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Works so well its fantastic.

Date: July 26, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Battery
"I use laptops only because my office is the front seat of a truck. we have both a Twist and an X230T and have been using and testing them for about 6 months. from navigation with streets and trips to work orders made with office, photo shop with adobe light room both machines just work. If your like us and you need a pc you can count on the Twist is a great choice. Its convertible from allows us to interact with PDF files covering everything from plumbing to HVAC wiring. And it tough enough to stay in an outdoor environment. you cant go wrong with a Twist by far the best computer we have for me money."