Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E540

Average customer rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
2
42 of 58(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E540
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Computer In The World!!!!!!!!!!

Date: October 24, 2014
"This computer was a gift from a family friend, and it is such a excellent computer , I LOVE IT!!!!!!. i would have never thought to buy a computer from Lenovo , but now I'm buy one for each of my three kids to use for Christmas . This computer is truly the best computer EVER!!!!!!!!"
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent computer

Date: October 16, 2014
"I have had an E540 for 5 weeks now and very pleased with its performance. Two minor annoyances - the control key is no longer in the lower left corner, which takes some getting used to and the computer (Win 7 Pro) drops the wifi connection if left on and unused for an hour or two."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

E540 delivers most of what I wanted

Date: October 6, 2014
"I needed to upgrade from a Lenovo W700ds, because of memory and disk space limitations. The E540 did remove those. I wish that a 17" screen were still available. My only two complaints so far: First, Windows 8.1 takes a LOT of getting used to for a user who is accustomed to Windows desktop applications. The touch screen works OK, but it is easy to get lost trying to navigate between the "old" (Windows 7) style and the new 8.1 style. I wish Microsoft would release an OS that is comfortable for previous W7 users. Second, the E540 does NOT have thumb buttons for the trackpoint. You have to press in the right place (far enough to the left or right) on the pad. I believe this is a major design error because it slows down the user a lot. RESTORE the trackpoint buttons!!"
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice but...

Date: September 23, 2014
"The E540 came on time and properly configured. The touch pad is much bigger than on previous laptops but the buttons are all missing... now you have to click on the touch pad (even if you are using the trackpoint... which I do.) The technique of clicking right, left, etc is cumbersome.
The E540 does NOT have a disk activity indicator. This is a disaster for me. Even though it is a relatively fast machine, there are times which I can detect no activity and get very frustrated thinking that the click has not taken or that the program is not starting up.
I also noticed that there is a gaping hole on the side of the computer. I guess it was supposed to contain a PCI card or something. It would have been nice if Lenovo would have put a cover there.
The DVD seems to be rather flimsy but it works and it seems to be an FRU so, if it dies, I'll just replace the sucker.
The keyboard is not as comfortable as the old thinkpads. I favor the traackpoint on older machines."
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharon

disappointed

Date: August 14, 2014
"I spent a considerable amount of time researching laptops and had the option buying a Sony for much less. However, I went with the Thinkpad based on an older version that I had and loved. Unfortunatey, the E540 is a huge disappointment. Terrible track pad that is noisy with each click... sounds cheap and clunky and the left and right buttons are not responsive. I can only functionally use it when I plug in a mouse. The red pointer is of no use since it does not respond well to the right and left buttons. I am going to give this one to my mother since she always uses a plug in mouse and I will be looking for a different brand."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elias

ThinkPad E540 i7

Date: August 4, 2014
"I purchase this unit from the local Tiger Direct store, the first one I got came with the Right Click action defective, I went to the store and in two days I got the second one, the machine is great!, except the touch pad, it is terrible, I tried to disable it at the BIOS and did not find that option, anyway I am using an external mouse, much better control this way."
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sambha

Lenovo (IBM) E540 i5 ThinkPad

Date: July 28, 2014
"I bought this computer online ($616.67 tax and delivered) from B&H Photo, NY. Had it delivered to a US address (Niagara Falls) $5.00 & drove back to Toronto. Declared all goods and the officer let us go, No duty, nothing.
Good so far. 2 weeks old. Use it daily.
Problems with the Wireless. Called Lenovo Support (Basically IBM). Remote controlled into my machine. Not fixed. Escalated to Level 1 support. Next day, IBM delivered a new Wireless Card (AC 7260) to my door. (Although I already tried it myself but it didn't fix). I'm a techie myself!!! Didn't tell IBM rep for warranty purposes. Next morning, an IBM rep came and installed the card. I knew it needed a driver pgm.
The IBM rep told me he was h/w guy and download the driver, and left my house.I went to Lenovo site and downloaded the driver. Looked for AC 7260 and downloaded the driver. Installed and all is working good.
Keypad button no good, there's only one like apple's. I like it 2; left and right buttons - better control.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
int3366

Best Laptop I've Bought So Far

Date: July 26, 2014
"My wife's last laptop the sound went out and some of the keys on the keyboard quit working. I did lots of research and pricing. Lenovo was rated one of the top laptop brands overall. I found a great deal on a Thinkpad E540. It had everything I wanted plus more. It did only came with 4 GB or RAM which I quickly replaced with the maximum 16 GB. The extra RAM made a fast laptop even faster. So far no problems. Did remove some of the bloatware, which wasn't too bad, I've seen lots worse on new computers. I like that it came installed with Windows 7 Pro and a disc to upgrade to Windows 8 Pro if desired. The only complaint so far is the top shows finger smudges. Neither my wife or I play games so don't know about gaming performance. For surfing the web, using office applications and general computer stuff the E540 is fast and should be able to handle anything thrown it's way."
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jehii

light weight, but solidly built E540

Date: July 26, 2014
"ease of use and setup, well put together."
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jerry

Awesome features but a bit sluggish

Date: July 22, 2014
"I specifically sought out Lenovo laptops that come wth Windows 7 pre-installed because Windows 8 is a disaster and I don't have the time necessary to figure out how to accomplish a task without extensive research.
The E540 is a true 64-bit architecture that is absolutely loaded with features. It is sold with Windows 7 Professional preloaded and Windows 8 CDs are also in the packaging. This model also uses an Intel i7, dual core processor which is far more reliable than the AMD version.
Everything worked right away but the performance was quite disappointing. I recognize that 64-bit Windows is considerably slower than 32-bit but this one really shocked me - just booting up takes at least 2 minutes! Of course math functions are incredibly fast but file handling is much slower than I expected.
From my perspective, this is one of the best Lenovo laptops for the money."
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ArtG

Good Unit

Date: July 22, 2014
"I like this laptop. Only issue is the track pad with out separate left and right mouse buttons."
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoloVC76

Excellent Features

Date: July 21, 2014
"I was happy to find a laptop that had the performance and features of the E540. I7-4th gen processor, max memory 16GB, 720 rpm hard drive, two usb3.0 plus one 2.0 connectors, a full size hdmi connector, Gigabit ethernet port, dvd-rw drive, and the option to run windows 7 0r 8 (professional). Windows 8 system installation disks included. I just ordered another one for my wife. I have had the laptop for a month with no issues."
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lvan

Quit after a week

Date: July 20, 2014
"My new Lenovo won't start after about a week of use...is stuck in startup mode. Tech support was not able to fix it and I will have to return it. Lost a day's worth of work. My old Lenovo was fine and a real workhorse - maybe this one is just a dud."
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sambo

Nice laptop except for the mouse pad

Date: July 20, 2014
"This is my third Lenovo product over the years. I like it except for the mouse pad which is terrible. Sometimes one tap will activate it or sometime you have to press until it clicks. It takes much more pressure to activate this mouse pad."
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tiger

good computer

Date: July 19, 2014
"It has some nice features, is quick to respond. Has very clear photo images."
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AAPEI

I'm a Mac person through and through.....

Date: July 17, 2014
"..and yet, at work, I'm loving this new Lenovo. Finding it quick, easy to maneuver, visually pleasing. Like it very much."
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DCCPILOT

Some disappointments

Date: July 16, 2014
"I buy Thinkpads because I'm happy with the eraser point mouse, which this machine has, but I'm also discouraged by several changes:
- The most frustrating is the way the right and left "click buttons" are now embedded in the mouse pad. The left and right distance from center is way too far and causes me to have to twist my wrist for each use. The "push" is also clunky; too much depression required and an annoying "clunk" when it registers. Really hate this. Had I known I wouldn't have bought the machine.
- There are no lights to signify disk access, caps on numlock. The momentary screen confirmation of these keys is a poor substitute. screen Harder to know where something is executing or stalled.
I'm sorry I bought the machine."
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bayouman

Outside case

Date: July 16, 2014
"Do u think you could mold the next model with finger holes to open cover. I use a letter opener to open the case every morning."
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandita

So far, it's great!

Date: July 11, 2014
"Right out of the box, this was the easiest computer to open and start. Directions were very clear. Just downloaded MS Office, and all went very quickly. Only had this for one week, but everything seems to be going great."
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jimbo

Solid performer

Date: July 5, 2014
"Solid performer. However, I don't think keyboard is backlit-searched and could find nothing to show me if it is. A backlit keyboard is a no-brainer for a laptop. Helps when working in dim light-which I do often as an insurance adjuster. Also, the Function key is right where the Control key is on all other laptops I have owned so there is re-learning on that."