Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E540

Average customer rating:
3.89 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
28
3 stars
22
2 stars
5
1 star
6
73 of 100(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E540
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

New Lenovo

Date: March 31, 2015
" Love my laptop. Fast, easy to use, and well worth the money.
I am happy with my purchase "
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop

Date: March 31, 2015
" Very happy with our third Lenovo laptop! "
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Diamond in the Rough

Date: March 28, 2015
" I was very excited with my purchase at first. Several friends had highly recommended Lenovo. Once I received my computer I was anxious to start using. The design of the unit is sleek and appealing for this size computer. Features such as the finger scanner was a selling point for me but I found out quickly it is not reliable. I was extremely disappointed with the touch pad! It’s not user friendly at all. I personally have reverted back to a wireless mouse. I choose the Intel Core i7 and it is great! It would have been nice for the package to have included more ram… that was an immediate necessity to upgrade. I like the key board feel and design. Another quirk is the battery life. It appears to diminish if you leave the unit plugged up for a long period of time (based on the battery life icon). Overall it is a very good unit. With just a few modifications and improvements it could be a force to be reckoned with!!! "
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Performance is ok but not the Camera

Date: March 27, 2015
" Integrated camera comes with a very bad pixel and a black & white output. I have installed the latest driver but still no luck. I was wondering why lenovo put this piece of hardware on their product. I am bit disappointed guys!!!!!
I will send this back to where I purchased "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo E540 ThinkPad

Date: March 27, 2015
" Most laptops are useable right from their "box" so it wasn't a surprise the Lenovo E540 was as well. What was surprising is how easy it was too set-up and get to work!
The E540 is a good first or light use laptop and it allows a casual user to rapidly move around the internet or their bank accounts. It also has a small footprint (size), with an agile keyboard. Where it has problems is for a more advanced or demanding user. It also has a removable mouse tip, which is good and bad at the same time as its easier to use and also "pops" off now and then.
The worst problem with the E540, is it is underpowered, not enough RAM for heavy users (multiple files open/video editing, ect). This is common with many manufactures today though and with a modest increase in RAM, the E540 moves up to a real go getter.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo ThinkPad

Date: March 27, 2015
" I love it! I so do appreciate our techy man's recommendation to buy quality. I did not know enough and with all the choices but with his help I chose the Lenovo Think Pad and yes I love it. I know I made the right choice. I also was impressed at my doctor's office to see him using the same Lenovo as mine! Wow. I am happy and love to work again. I am on it lots now. Thank you for my ThinkPad Lenovo. Rate it 5 stars plus. I know the dollars were well spent! Love it, love it, love it!!! "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Thinkpad Edge E540

Date: March 27, 2015
" I have owned others before this one, however my friends keep buying them from me. I like it much more than my trusty T500. Highly reccommended. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Not bad

Date: March 26, 2015
" I have wanted a Lenova for awhile. This one is nice. My only problem is trying to use this touchpad. The cut, copy, oaste is tad difficult. The price was right as an open box special. It did take me 3 days to find the web camera. The casing is cheap plastic. Colors are nice and vivid and speed is adequate. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love this laptop

Date: March 26, 2015
" I needed a good reliable laptop and I finally got it. It is fast and it has great features. I am still learning about them. My main purpose for this laptop will be for grad school and work. This one is perfect, because it is powerful and light. I also like the finger print security. I recommend this one to anyone. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Product Broke Even Before It Was Broken In

Date: March 24, 2015
" Had the product less than 60 days when it was determined Lenovo needed to send me a new operating system and hard drive.
Since I use the computer for business and pleasure, I had no choice but to ask that these parts be sent to me as I could not be without the machine ten days. It cost me $280 to have the Best Buy Geek Squad install the new parts and transfer all my data. It left me without my computer for two days rather than ten days if I sent it back to Lenovo. A very bad and expensive experience...!!! "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

The mouse pad

Date: March 21, 2015
" Not very user friendly. It's very sensitive and its takes a while getting used to it. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fair purchase. Worth the money I spent

Date: March 21, 2015
" Good quality. It has better material and finishing compared to Dell and HP for the same price range although HP provides better performance (CPU, memory and HD). "
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good PC - Bad Graphics

Date: February 12, 2015
" Hello,
I have a problem with the resolution.
your recommended resolution is 1920X1080 - BUT I CAN'T SEE NOTHING!! (so small!!).
I'm tried 1366X768 and the fonts looks b-a-d!!
(i'm using Windows 7)
please help me!!
(I tried eveything with DPI)... "
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

First Time Buyer and a Pleased One

Date: January 21, 2015
" I was a in the market for a new laptop and stumbled across this Lenovo model. I hadn't heard much about this company but a quick Google search convinced me. After using the product for two months now, I can be quite certain that the Thinkpad e540 was what I was looking for.
Having a built-in finger print scanner made unlocking the laptop quick. Though there was a lack of Caps-lock and NumLock lights, the on-screen display easy made up for that.
Comfortable gaps between the keys created a smooth typing experience with the additional number-pad for easy number crunching.
The simple LED light on the outer laptop cover sets the laptop apart from others and keeps people wondering what's inside.
The trackpad and trackpoint combination also greatly add to the versatility of the keyboard. If the trackpad did not fit my liking, the trackpoint would naturally remedy that.
I earnestly believe that this Lenovo product is a good buy and hope to see what Lenovo will invent in the future.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Fix the Touch Pad or don't buy it

Date: January 17, 2015
" I've used this product for 6 months now & every day I curse the touch pad. It drives me crazy! I can't believe they ever tested the touch pad with a track-point user. I bought Lenovo because after having 2 other Lenovo/IBM Thinkpads, I loved the track-point. Now with no separate right/left buttons on the touch pad, it is a hit or miss operation every time I try to use it. Lenovo NEEDS to provide a replacement Touch Pad for this machine with Right/Left mouse buttons as in the past. I'd gladly buy one to avoid this constant frustration. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Cannnot use this machine due to layout

Date: January 13, 2015
" I would return this machine, but did not unpack and use it until the return period had expired. Due to some issues with my finger control, I cannot use the button on the keyboard that substitutes for a mouse. The touchpad has no left and right click buttons, which I had assumed were standard. Thus, there is no way for me to left click and drag my finger to select text without a mouse, or to do any of the many other functions I depend on that require the left and right click buttons. Even the touchpad is almost impossible to use as it does not curve over the front edge of the machine, so to use it you have to lift up your hand and so your thumb is pointing downward towards the pad, rather than being able to rest your wrist in front of the machine and touch the pad. Thus, this machine is unusable. I paid over $1100 for it 5 months ago, and am really angry. I will never buy a Lenovo product again. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Main board failure

Date: January 8, 2015
" I bought the Laptop 05.12.2016,, It worked approx. 3 days than newer can switch on again. We brought to the Service Partner. They changed the main board. Service time was 5 days. I got it back few days later. 27. 12.2014 stopped again the same situation.
The machine went to the Service again.
Lenovo Hungary doesn't tell the Service and me the CUSTOMER, when can They ensure the spare parts.....
I work on a small company we have more than 40 pcs of Lenovo product like PC's,, Laptop's,,, Server's,,,
I can’t believe it this is Customer friendly work process by Lenovo.
Please give me contact telephone nr to Lenovo Hungary,,, Who can inform me
Thanks in advance
Jeno Szabo
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great computer and even better technical support

Date: January 7, 2015
" Great deal. Great computer..I developed a PW lockout Christmas Eve..Travis had software sent which arrived ever so fast for me to miserably fail at getting the old OS replaced with a recovery disc.. Not an easy task for me but the patience of Travis and Tristan assured me that if I wanted I could walked thru the process.. I am upset...They are very patient and understanding and willing to go the extra mile.. When all said and done I had the background support needed to give me the confidence to keep swinging until I succeeded knowing they had my back.. Excellent team..and I am not super easy to maintain a demeanor that allows help. Thanks again...
I hope I got the names correct... You did an outstanding job.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good but with few remarks!

Date: January 7, 2015
" Everything is good.
Except the fact that the GPU comes in only 64 bit version, which is not enough for gaming in FullHD resolutions. This just cuts down the memory bandwith. But it's good enough for Autocad, Maya and etc.
I don't know why but Lenovo had put only 3 USB ports on this model, the old E530 had 4, the T/W/L series all have 4, and the design is not so different. I just can't think of any reason - savings ?!
As for the display, if you buy the TN 1366x768 - it's not good! Bad colors, low brightnes...
The TN Full HD matrix is fairly good. It covers about 75% of the sRGB and after calibration it's kind of good. : ))
The real beauty is that you can actually put the W540 Full HD IPS display without any hassle, and it covers 95 % of the sRGB... : )))
If you want to use linux with this laptop and Optimus - forget it... it's too much hassle to run it...
Windows - it's great!
If you play games beware! - The GPU (Nvidia) goes to 83 degrees and starts throttling a bit. (intel core i7)
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love Thinkpads

Date: January 7, 2015
" I have been a long-time fan of the Thinkpad since it was introduced by IBM many years ago. Lenovo has done a great job of keeping up the tradition of quality and performance. I love the trackpoint and keyboard key tops that are as close as you can get to a typewriter feel for typing accuracy. My new E540 is great and has the power to churn through backups and security software but still let me use the machine for work I want to do. "