Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E540

Average customer rating:
3.887 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
39
3 stars
28
2 stars
5
1 star
7
91 of 124(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E540
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad E540 Opinion

Date: July 5, 2015
" Though I have not put it through extensive paces I am pleased with the laptop so far.
Speed at completing tasks are good (work in Excel, Access, etc.), multitasking several open windows at once causes no appreciable delay, and the touch screen is responsive, as is the keyboard enjoyable to use. I do not do photo or video processing, but visually the display is sharp and clear in its colors.
My overall impression is that this laptop is a solid choice for both home and office work.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Fast and Easy to Use

Date: July 2, 2015
" Just started using it. Lightning fast. Has all the features I wanted in a business laptop. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

not sure yet

Date: June 21, 2015
" the product is solid. I like that it sleeps and does not use any power. It keeps crashing on me but not sure if that is a windows 7 issue or this computer. I have to figure that out yet. I am going from a desk top to a laptop so there is an adjustment factor for sure on my part. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo lab top

Date: June 18, 2015
" its fast, has all kinds of neat options that I'm getting used too. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

overall

Date: May 28, 2015
" seems user friendly, nice screen....I mean, I don't know how to compare....synched with my ipod easily, to transfer music. Did not need to have techs transfer all my favorites...easy to do. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Screen problems

Date: May 28, 2015
" There is a problem with the screen. Had it fixed twice. But overall very performant computer. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

So far, so good.

Date: May 26, 2015
" I've only had this laptop for about a week but so far I'm very happy with it. Before making this purchase I reviewed price, features and reliability of different laptops. I decided on this model because I felt it had the best mix of all for the money. I wanted the I7 processor and 8 GB of RAM, which I had to upgrade to get but I feel it was worth the few extra dollars. The Lenovo ThinkPad line has a good reputation of being reliable so I hope this one lives up to that reputation. So far I don't see any reason why it wont. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Problems with left and right track pad buttons

Date: May 26, 2015
" Overall performance of this laptop is fine, but the left and right track pad buttons don't work very well and I find I have to keep hitting them numerous times before a command is accepted. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

disappointed

Date: May 23, 2015
" Its 2nd time I have issue with E540, laptop doesn't power on. In general product is good, I like it's design, Lenovo additional software are good, keypad is comfortable, but laptop not reliable.
Another one thing, all two times I had to go to Puralator office to send the laptop to repairment center and pick it up because technical support center didn't provide Puralator with my apartment number. It was very in inconvenient and time consuming to stay in traffic jam in my way to Puralator.
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

frustrated

Date: May 21, 2015
" I bought a Lenovo based on feedback from others... and I am frustrated. I am a business woman and need my computer. After spending a full day setting it all up I find out that the speakers do not work. Now I have to send my machine in and get it fixed.... and I am without the tool I need to run my business. this is not okay "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Future proofing

Date: May 21, 2015
" The E540 was the best value for money laptop I found, that offered good all around performance, plus being expandable so that I can have my operating system booting up in seconds!
My budget did not extend to the high resolution screen, which would of made this perfect for me.
The support I have needed in set-up has been faultless.
Regards,
K
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Laptop for Routine Work

Date: May 13, 2015
" We purchased two of these laptops for work purposes. One laptop immediately had a problem with the fingerpad scanner, which meant we had to send it back. It's very discouraging to have to send back a brand new product but we had no choice. Then the supplier didn't have the correct replacement laptop and we had to purchase the next available one which was a bit more money for faster processing speed. The replacement seems good but rocks slightly when placed on a level surface. Screen resolution is not optimal but good enough for routine work. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Extremely Happy with the E540

Date: May 12, 2015
" If you are looking for a durable reliable machine, that allows for easy access to the components of this machine, then a thinkpad is worth a look.
The lenovo e540 is the best laptop I have had, I use it mostly for my home business, but have tested a few games on it and it runs them with ease, using the core i7.
Software is easy to upgrade with lenovo's website. I also liked the offer for lenovo's PDF software, however some may dislike the promotions part. I did refuse the norton security software.
Overall the machine has performed well since I bought it about a week ago. The wifi has been solid where ever I use it, so no issue there and I love the feel of the keyboard and the mouse. The screen is also nice and clear with the anti glare screen, which makes it easy to use literally anywhere. Even used it out in the sun on the weekend with no issue.
Overall a great machine and I sincerely recommend it to anyone. For personal or business use. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Weird

Date: May 9, 2015
" It was supposed to come with a Windows 8 cd, but it didn't. Great. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very effective and easy to use

Date: May 9, 2015
" There are a lot of features on this laptop. Definitely oriented to business. It could use a SD card reader but not essential. Photos taken on a job site have to be down-loaded by other means.
Display is great. Battery power lasts several hours.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Poor product

Date: May 8, 2015
" I have 4 keys that do not work. The #s lock comes on when ever it likes, on the side key pad, and the mouse pad is really user unfriendly. Over all very disappointed.
Also some instructions as to what all the top row of keys do wouldnt hurt. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

lenovo

Date: April 30, 2015
" Mouse pad could be redesigned better. up n down hidden scrolling thing in the middle is frustrating. I also paid extra to have the computer programmed and ready to go. But when I got it I was told by the computer to have a backup file, so after doing that I am frequently reminded that I have no space remaining. Everything is low. i need to free up space.. problem is that I just got the computer and now it's telling me to Uninstall some programs to free up space. I have no idea what programs I can delete without ruining the computer. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good value for the price

Date: April 29, 2015
" I really like the gesture touchpad for vertical and horizontal scrolling. Big improvement over the completely defective touchpad on the Lenovo G550 which I replaced. The biggest negative for me is the sound quality. Sounds like the speakers are covered with a towel. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Overall good laptop.

Date: April 29, 2015
" Always been a fan of Thinkpads and the track point red button. However it is difficult to use the select, left click, with the thumb on this model. I dislike mouse pads because my palm grazes the pad and off goes the cursor to nah nah land. So I just disable the pad. At home I just use a wireless mouse. Going to be using this one with a wireless pointer and stream from the net and cut the cord or space wire to my TV. This model with Win 7 doesn't seem to have a lot of bloatware but there is always ways to safely remove most of it anyway. Don't miss the lighted keyboard much. My old T60p wasn't bright enough for these old eyes anyway. Just hope Lenovo doesn't throw out the track point on all their models. I suppose you won't need it with touch screens. Thanks for reading this. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great machine

Date: April 14, 2015
" this computer is not only fast, with the i7 processor, but it contains some great features. The keyboard is awesome to type on and the screen is wide in order to provide the user with a better experience. The mouse pad is also a great invention. you can zoom and scroll with two fingers. "