Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E540

Average customer rating:
3.839 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
23
3 stars
21
2 stars
4
1 star
6
65 of 87(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E540
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

First Time Buyer and a Pleased One

Date: January 21, 2015
" I was a in the market for a new laptop and stumbled across this Lenovo model. I hadn't heard much about this company but a quick Google search convinced me. After using the product for two months now, I can be quite certain that the Thinkpad e540 was what I was looking for.
Having a built-in finger print scanner made unlocking the laptop quick. Though there was a lack of Caps-lock and NumLock lights, the on-screen display easy made up for that.
Comfortable gaps between the keys created a smooth typing experience with the additional number-pad for easy number crunching.
The simple LED light on the outer laptop cover sets the laptop apart from others and keeps people wondering what's inside.
The trackpad and trackpoint combination also greatly add to the versatility of the keyboard. If the trackpad did not fit my liking, the trackpoint would naturally remedy that.
I earnestly believe that this Lenovo product is a good buy and hope to see what Lenovo will invent in the future.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Fix the Touch Pad or don't buy it

Date: January 17, 2015
" I've used this product for 6 months now & every day I curse the touch pad. It drives me crazy! I can't believe they ever tested the touch pad with a track-point user. I bought Lenovo because after having 2 other Lenovo/IBM Thinkpads, I loved the track-point. Now with no separate right/left buttons on the touch pad, it is a hit or miss operation every time I try to use it. Lenovo NEEDS to provide a replacement Touch Pad for this machine with Right/Left mouse buttons as in the past. I'd gladly buy one to avoid this constant frustration. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Cannnot use this machine due to layout

Date: January 13, 2015
" I would return this machine, but did not unpack and use it until the return period had expired. Due to some issues with my finger control, I cannot use the button on the keyboard that substitutes for a mouse. The touchpad has no left and right click buttons, which I had assumed were standard. Thus, there is no way for me to left click and drag my finger to select text without a mouse, or to do any of the many other functions I depend on that require the left and right click buttons. Even the touchpad is almost impossible to use as it does not curve over the front edge of the machine, so to use it you have to lift up your hand and so your thumb is pointing downward towards the pad, rather than being able to rest your wrist in front of the machine and touch the pad. Thus, this machine is unusable. I paid over $1100 for it 5 months ago, and am really angry. I will never buy a Lenovo product again. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Main board failure

Date: January 8, 2015
" I bought the Laptop 05.12.2016,, It worked approx. 3 days than newer can switch on again. We brought to the Service Partner. They changed the main board. Service time was 5 days. I got it back few days later. 27. 12.2014 stopped again the same situation.
The machine went to the Service again.
Lenovo Hungary doesn't tell the Service and me the CUSTOMER, when can They ensure the spare parts.....
I work on a small company we have more than 40 pcs of Lenovo product like PC's,, Laptop's,,, Server's,,,
I can’t believe it this is Customer friendly work process by Lenovo.
Please give me contact telephone nr to Lenovo Hungary,,, Who can inform me
Thanks in advance
Jeno Szabo
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great computer and even better technical support

Date: January 7, 2015
" Great deal. Great computer..I developed a PW lockout Christmas Eve..Travis had software sent which arrived ever so fast for me to miserably fail at getting the old OS replaced with a recovery disc.. Not an easy task for me but the patience of Travis and Tristan assured me that if I wanted I could walked thru the process.. I am upset...They are very patient and understanding and willing to go the extra mile.. When all said and done I had the background support needed to give me the confidence to keep swinging until I succeeded knowing they had my back.. Excellent team..and I am not super easy to maintain a demeanor that allows help. Thanks again...
I hope I got the names correct... You did an outstanding job.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good but with few remarks!

Date: January 7, 2015
" Everything is good.
Except the fact that the GPU comes in only 64 bit version, which is not enough for gaming in FullHD resolutions. This just cuts down the memory bandwith. But it's good enough for Autocad, Maya and etc.
I don't know why but Lenovo had put only 3 USB ports on this model, the old E530 had 4, the T/W/L series all have 4, and the design is not so different. I just can't think of any reason - savings ?!
As for the display, if you buy the TN 1366x768 - it's not good! Bad colors, low brightnes...
The TN Full HD matrix is fairly good. It covers about 75% of the sRGB and after calibration it's kind of good. : ))
The real beauty is that you can actually put the W540 Full HD IPS display without any hassle, and it covers 95 % of the sRGB... : )))
If you want to use linux with this laptop and Optimus - forget it... it's too much hassle to run it...
Windows - it's great!
If you play games beware! - The GPU (Nvidia) goes to 83 degrees and starts throttling a bit. (intel core i7)
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love Thinkpads

Date: January 7, 2015
" I have been a long-time fan of the Thinkpad since it was introduced by IBM many years ago. Lenovo has done a great job of keeping up the tradition of quality and performance. I love the trackpoint and keyboard key tops that are as close as you can get to a typewriter feel for typing accuracy. My new E540 is great and has the power to churn through backups and security software but still let me use the machine for work I want to do. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good relation to price

Date: January 5, 2015
" Computer is solid and good for every day purposes. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Laptop

Date: January 5, 2015
" Good functional laptop. Too much bloatware but has worked well so far. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

CTRL key continues @ same irritating spot

Date: January 3, 2015
" for a lot of us who still use commands when using programs, it is so much more helpful in efficiency to have the control key at the far left bottom...just got used to the feel and location, and that is where it is located on all other keyboards. but lenovo continues to have the key second in from the left. has anyone else noticed this too or am i the only one? =) "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Thinkpad

Date: December 25, 2014
" This Lenovo Thinkpad has been great for me . Price is fair, quality is good. No complaints thus far. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Laptop for home use

Date: December 24, 2014
" I have been using this Laptop for 6 months. Below are few of the problems I face.
a. Track pad is not reliable, The cursor does not move sometimes. I need to restart the system if it stops working.
b. Two finger scroll worked only few months, Also two finger scroll warranty is not covered in regular warranty.
c. Sometime the system responds very slowly, I restart the system in such conditions.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Love the 540

Date: December 20, 2014
" My thanksgiving purchase :D
pros:-super fast(i7 & 8gigs), great performance
-not as heavy as expected,pretty handy
-awesome keyboard, but the swapping of fn and cntrl button takes some time to get used to
-loved all the one button access for so many features instead of the function keys...good thinking lenovo :)
cons:-Its a rather minimalitic looking laptop. The area above the keyboard looks so empty that I feel they could have had the speakers there!
-The touch pad aint so bad but the synaptic scroll does not work in my VM Player :x
-The wifi does not connect to my network sometimes when I boot the system, sleeping or rebooting and then trying to connect has got it working.
-overall it feels sturdy but feels too plasticky for touch
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Pretty Good

Date: December 19, 2014
" My ThinkPad works fine, although I had to use my recovery discs after about four days. I have a few issues with the Internet wanting to stop working. Overall, I must say that the features I have are awesome. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst computer I ever had

Date: December 14, 2014
" worst motherboard design I have ever seen, the memory is separated from cpu for 2cm or less
if you computer gets hot you will have no memory
the lenovo stickers are all falling off, and they came like this
there is almost no air ducts in the computer, so if you ever buy an sdd the heat problem will affect it too
the resolution is HORRIBLE, to say less, 1366x768 in a 15.6" computer is not aceptable anymore
the USB 3.0 is not good too, from time to time it will just shut down and then turn on again, very annoying problem
the trackpad is HORRIBLE too, ok I undertand that lenovo want me to use the red dot but at least make a trackpad that is usable, this one does not follow my commands at all
and the computer comes with a LOT of pre-programs that have no use
I will never let anyone buy something from lenovo again, if I have the opportunity I will talk bad about lenovo aways
Worst Computer EVER
Config:
AMD A10-5750M 2.5GHz
8Gb 1600MHz DDR3
Windows 8.1
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice, mid-range budget i5 business ThinkPad

Date: December 12, 2014
" (This review is for the E540 20C6008SUS)
Pros:
- Memory can be expanded to 16GB...Highly recommended.
- i5 2.5 GHz Dual Core i5-4200M (with hyper-threading) means 4 logical cores...So it can run a VM or two simultaneously.
- 7200 RPM HDD is nice to have at this price point.
- The DVD Burner, RJ45 Gigabit LAN Port and the VGA port are nice to have.
- While I thought the fingerprint scanner might be a gimmick, it makes unlocking the ThinkPad much more convenient than I expected.
Cons:
- The TouchPad is terrible. I now use a wireless mouse.
- The soft-touch plastic on the back of the LCD is easily scuffed. Be prepared to buy a form-fitting neoprene case to protect it.
- The LCD lid flexes disturbingly even when opening it with two hands.
- The power input is right next to the RJ45 Ethernet port, and I find myself occasionally shoving the power plug into the Ethernet port.
Conclusion:
The E540 has it's faults, but for a i5-4200M...It's a decent bang-for-the-buck. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

not what I purchased

Date: December 9, 2014
" Ordered 2
Came with wrong software. Unable to utilize. Waiting for the fix. Disapointed
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

good product

Date: December 4, 2014
" good performance, nice keyboard "
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

great machine

Date: December 3, 2014
" my wife is very happy and she just loves her new E540. It's going to be a wonderful holiday season. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop

Date: November 29, 2014
" This is the first Lenovo I've ever owned and I love it. Easy set-up, works smoothly. I've had no hiccups whatsoever. I think for the processor speed, features and quality this is a very good buy. Don't hesitate to buy it. "