Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E540

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E540

Average customer rating:
3.865 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (133 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
42
3 stars
29
2 stars
5
1 star
9
97 of 133(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E540
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Bad display

Date: December 26, 2015
" Un happy with display clarity but
Good fast machine
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Hamburg, ON, Canada

Great product

Date: October 22, 2015
" I got my laptop provided to me through a WSIB claim. I enjoy using it. The Only issue I have is sometimes the track pad is not easy to use. Right clicking or left clicking to drop and drag are sometimes not easy to use. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not a techy

Date: October 11, 2015
" I really like this laptop, it replaces my first one that I had for 10 years. My favorite thing about this one is the ability to use my fingerprint for a password. I don't know how to use most of the newer features of this one, but that doesn't stop me from loving it!! "
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my computer

Date: October 7, 2015
" work good --is quite fast -- but I can't get the sleep and hibernate to work--- goes to sleep and then wakes in about 20 seconds -- what is the fix --have an external monitor connected to the laptop "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Laptop Ever bought

Date: September 28, 2015
" I have had this for 8 months and it has never fully worked. First it was the wireless and then the power. Motherboard replaced a month ago and the machine is dead again. Took extra time to get it fixed the first time due to lack of parts so I expect the same again. Tech Support did not even try to fix it over the phone. Should be called order taker "
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AFFORDABLE WIN7 LAPTOP

Date: August 31, 2015
" THIS IS A GIFT FOR MY FATHER. I AM SATISFIED WITH HIS PERFORMANCE AND FEATURES. IT IS WELL WORTH ITS PRICE. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LENOVO THINKPAD.

Date: August 29, 2015
" GREATLY IMPRESSED TO THIS POINT. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Hard Drive Failed

Date: August 12, 2015
" I have had some difficulty with the computer being unresponsive when using Amicus Attorney, but I cannot decide if that is a hardware or software issue. The greater problem was the failure of the hard drive; it was under warranty and replaced, but it did cause me significant delay. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's ok, but....

Date: July 23, 2015
" Not the best purchase ever. It wasn't until I actually received the laptop that I discovered that it doesn't have any kind of charge status indication, other than the icon which is displayed near the system tray on the screen, i.e. it has to be switched on in order to check the state of the battery! Sorry - but that is silly, to say the least. And the mouse pad behaves like a giant key - it depresses when touched! The whole point of a mouse pad - or synaptics pad - is that it's supposed to be solid state. I've sent it back for a full refund - except that the seller won't refund my original carriage fee, nor their fee for installing extra ram when I bought it, so I'm £15 out of pocket. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ThinkPad E540 Opinion

Date: July 5, 2015
" Though I have not put it through extensive paces I am pleased with the laptop so far.
Speed at completing tasks are good (work in Excel, Access, etc.), multitasking several open windows at once causes no appreciable delay, and the touch screen is responsive, as is the keyboard enjoyable to use. I do not do photo or video processing, but visually the display is sharp and clear in its colors.
My overall impression is that this laptop is a solid choice for both home and office work.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and Easy to Use

Date: July 2, 2015
" Just started using it. Lightning fast. Has all the features I wanted in a business laptop. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not sure yet

Date: June 21, 2015
" the product is solid. I like that it sleeps and does not use any power. It keeps crashing on me but not sure if that is a windows 7 issue or this computer. I have to figure that out yet. I am going from a desk top to a laptop so there is an adjustment factor for sure on my part. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lenovo lab top

Date: June 18, 2015
" its fast, has all kinds of neat options that I'm getting used too. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

overall

Date: May 28, 2015
" seems user friendly, nice screen....I mean, I don't know how to compare....synched with my ipod easily, to transfer music. Did not need to have techs transfer all my favorites...easy to do. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Screen problems

Date: May 28, 2015
" There is a problem with the screen. Had it fixed twice. But overall very performant computer. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far, so good.

Date: May 26, 2015
" I've only had this laptop for about a week but so far I'm very happy with it. Before making this purchase I reviewed price, features and reliability of different laptops. I decided on this model because I felt it had the best mix of all for the money. I wanted the I7 processor and 8 GB of RAM, which I had to upgrade to get but I feel it was worth the few extra dollars. The Lenovo ThinkPad line has a good reputation of being reliable so I hope this one lives up to that reputation. So far I don't see any reason why it wont. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Problems with left and right track pad buttons

Date: May 26, 2015
" Overall performance of this laptop is fine, but the left and right track pad buttons don't work very well and I find I have to keep hitting them numerous times before a command is accepted. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

disappointed

Date: May 23, 2015
" Its 2nd time I have issue with E540, laptop doesn't power on. In general product is good, I like it's design, Lenovo additional software are good, keypad is comfortable, but laptop not reliable.
Another one thing, all two times I had to go to Puralator office to send the laptop to repairment center and pick it up because technical support center didn't provide Puralator with my apartment number. It was very in inconvenient and time consuming to stay in traffic jam in my way to Puralator.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

frustrated

Date: May 21, 2015
" I bought a Lenovo based on feedback from others... and I am frustrated. I am a business woman and need my computer. After spending a full day setting it all up I find out that the speakers do not work. Now I have to send my machine in and get it fixed.... and I am without the tool I need to run my business. this is not okay "
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Future proofing

Date: May 21, 2015
" The E540 was the best value for money laptop I found, that offered good all around performance, plus being expandable so that I can have my operating system booting up in seconds!
My budget did not extend to the high resolution screen, which would of made this perfect for me.
The support I have needed in set-up has been faultless.
Regards,
K
"