Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E540

Average customer rating:
3.849 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
16
3 stars
20
2 stars
4
1 star
4
54 of 73(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E540
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst computer I ever had

Date: December 14, 2014
" worst motherboard design I have ever seen, the memory is separated from cpu for 2cm or less
if you computer gets hot you will have no memory
the lenovo stickers are all falling off, and they came like this
there is almost no air ducts in the computer, so if you ever buy an sdd the heat problem will affect it too
the resolution is HORRIBLE, to say less, 1366x768 in a 15.6" computer is not aceptable anymore
the USB 3.0 is not good too, from time to time it will just shut down and then turn on again, very annoying problem
the trackpad is HORRIBLE too, ok I undertand that lenovo want me to use the red dot but at least make a trackpad that is usable, this one does not follow my commands at all
and the computer comes with a LOT of pre-programs that have no use
I will never let anyone buy something from lenovo again, if I have the opportunity I will talk bad about lenovo aways
Worst Computer EVER
Config:
AMD A10-5750M 2.5GHz
8Gb 1600MHz DDR3
Windows 8.1
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice, mid-range budget i5 business ThinkPad

Date: December 12, 2014
" (This review is for the E540 20C6008SUS)
Pros:
- Memory can be expanded to 16GB...Highly recommended.
- i5 2.5 GHz Dual Core i5-4200M (with hyper-threading) means 4 logical cores...So it can run a VM or two simultaneously.
- 7200 RPM HDD is nice to have at this price point.
- The DVD Burner, RJ45 Gigabit LAN Port and the VGA port are nice to have.
- While I thought the fingerprint scanner might be a gimmick, it makes unlocking the ThinkPad much more convenient than I expected.
Cons:
- The TouchPad is terrible. I now use a wireless mouse.
- The soft-touch plastic on the back of the LCD is easily scuffed. Be prepared to buy a form-fitting neoprene case to protect it.
- The LCD lid flexes disturbingly even when opening it with two hands.
- The power input is right next to the RJ45 Ethernet port, and I find myself occasionally shoving the power plug into the Ethernet port.
Conclusion:
The E540 has it's faults, but for a i5-4200M...It's a decent bang-for-the-buck. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

not what I purchased

Date: December 9, 2014
" Ordered 2
Came with wrong software. Unable to utilize. Waiting for the fix. Disapointed
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

good product

Date: December 4, 2014
" good performance, nice keyboard "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

great machine

Date: December 3, 2014
" my wife is very happy and she just loves her new E540. It's going to be a wonderful holiday season. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop

Date: November 29, 2014
" This is the first Lenovo I've ever owned and I love it. Easy set-up, works smoothly. I've had no hiccups whatsoever. I think for the processor speed, features and quality this is a very good buy. Don't hesitate to buy it. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Short Term User

Date: November 28, 2014
" I've only had the E540 for a week, so this is preliminary. I like the size and features, especially having Win 7 preloaded, with the Win 8 upgrade. That said, I did not receive the Win 7 COA (I looked all places where the manual said to look with no COA). If I have to reload, I will have a $500 door stop.
I am also unable to use my printer wirelessly, even though all my other Win PCs have no problem. I know it is a setting on the E540, but God knows where to find it..
Finally, there appears to be no way of getting a line input to the sound card. With HD audio advertised, it would seem that audio other than a microphone input would be a necessity.
I like it enough to keep it, but I would not buy If I had it to do over. Nice machine, with plenty of features, but lacking in true performance applications. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great windows 7 lap top

Date: November 21, 2014
" I needed windows 7. Luckily B & H Photo had a few of these left. I hate windows 8. This is a great full size keyboard 15 inch screen Lap top. Not the lightest one but it does seem robust. I think i will add some RAM this cheap configuration slows down with too many windows open. I love my think pad "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

for everything

Date: November 14, 2014
" this was the best thing i have ever done in buying a computer. i almost think it is better than ASUS it is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good "
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

mouse pad is garbage

Date: November 8, 2014
" Overall, the laptop is average and gets basic computing work done well. However, the mouse pad is an abomination. The entire pad can be depressed as its "floating", the feel is flimsy and cheap. Perhaps with some adjustments in the settings and removing some of the features that like to kick in unexpectedly, this would improve its functionality. The only reason the laptop hasnt been returned is because it's a company laptop and I am stuck with it. My short term solution has been using a wireless mouse. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Decent Laptop

Date: November 7, 2014
" I am over all pleased with the machine, however, the plastic feels decidedly cheap. So the whole of the laptop whenever you grab it, feels as though it will break. Cheap plastic does not equate to a quality product. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

for work

Date: November 2, 2014
" excellent voice recognition and great speed "
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

E540 Review

Date: November 1, 2014
" Only problem is the mouse pad is a little loud and awkward. Other than that it's a fantastic computer. Runs fast, and performs above my standards. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

awsome computer

Date: November 1, 2014
" lenov did fix my laptop its a very awsome "
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Computer I've owned!

Date: October 30, 2014
" I used to have a macbook air, but it was time for a new laptop. I wanted something affordable but has a good base processor. I got the fastest i5 Lenovo offered. I added an 8gb ram stick, and I installed a Samsung SSD (only 120gb) but I don't need anymore Drive space. But after computer cost and the two upgrades that came out to be less than $850. This setup with Norton 360 runs so smooth and quick. My Girlfriend got mad at her Mac because my computer is so much faster than hers, haha but, Seriously this is a great bargain that can be made into a super fast laptop with just a few additions. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Computer In The World!!!!!!!!!!

Date: October 24, 2014
" This computer was a gift from a family friend, and it is such a excellent computer , I LOVE IT!!!!!!. i would have never thought to buy a computer from Lenovo , but now I'm buy one for each of my three kids to use for Christmas . This computer is truly the best computer EVER!!!!!!!! "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent computer

Date: October 16, 2014
" I have had an E540 for 5 weeks now and very pleased with its performance. Two minor annoyances - the control key is no longer in the lower left corner, which takes some getting used to and the computer (Win 7 Pro) drops the wifi connection if left on and unused for an hour or two. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

E540 delivers most of what I wanted

Date: October 6, 2014
" I needed to upgrade from a Lenovo W700ds, because of memory and disk space limitations. The E540 did remove those. I wish that a 17" screen were still available. My only two complaints so far: First, Windows 8.1 takes a LOT of getting used to for a user who is accustomed to Windows desktop applications. The touch screen works OK, but it is easy to get lost trying to navigate between the "old" (Windows 7) style and the new 8.1 style. I wish Microsoft would release an OS that is comfortable for previous W7 users. Second, the E540 does NOT have thumb buttons for the trackpoint. You have to press in the right place (far enough to the left or right) on the pad. I believe this is a major design error because it slows down the user a lot. RESTORE the trackpoint buttons!! "
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice but...

Date: September 23, 2014
" The E540 came on time and properly configured. The touch pad is much bigger than on previous laptops but the buttons are all missing... now you have to click on the touch pad (even if you are using the trackpoint... which I do.) The technique of clicking right, left, etc is cumbersome.
The E540 does NOT have a disk activity indicator. This is a disaster for me. Even though it is a relatively fast machine, there are times which I can detect no activity and get very frustrated thinking that the click has not taken or that the program is not starting up.
I also noticed that there is a gaping hole on the side of the computer. I guess it was supposed to contain a PCI card or something. It would have been nice if Lenovo would have put a cover there.
The DVD seems to be rather flimsy but it works and it seems to be an FRU so, if it dies, I'll just replace the sucker.
The keyboard is not as comfortable as the old thinkpads. I favor the traackpoint on older machines. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharon

disappointed

Date: August 14, 2014
" I spent a considerable amount of time researching laptops and had the option buying a Sony for much less. However, I went with the Thinkpad based on an older version that I had and loved. Unfortunatey, the E540 is a huge disappointment. Terrible track pad that is noisy with each click... sounds cheap and clunky and the left and right buttons are not responsive. I can only functionally use it when I plug in a mouse. The red pointer is of no use since it does not respond well to the right and left buttons. I am going to give this one to my mother since she always uses a plug in mouse and I will be looking for a different brand. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.