Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E540

Average customer rating:
3.89 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
40
3 stars
29
2 stars
5
1 star
7
93 of 127(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E540
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LENOVO THINKPAD.

Date: August 29, 2015
" GREATLY IMPRESSED TO THIS POINT. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Hard Drive Failed

Date: August 12, 2015
" I have had some difficulty with the computer being unresponsive when using Amicus Attorney, but I cannot decide if that is a hardware or software issue. The greater problem was the failure of the hard drive; it was under warranty and replaced, but it did cause me significant delay. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's ok, but....

Date: July 23, 2015
" Not the best purchase ever. It wasn't until I actually received the laptop that I discovered that it doesn't have any kind of charge status indication, other than the icon which is displayed near the system tray on the screen, i.e. it has to be switched on in order to check the state of the battery! Sorry - but that is silly, to say the least. And the mouse pad behaves like a giant key - it depresses when touched! The whole point of a mouse pad - or synaptics pad - is that it's supposed to be solid state. I've sent it back for a full refund - except that the seller won't refund my original carriage fee, nor their fee for installing extra ram when I bought it, so I'm £15 out of pocket. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ThinkPad E540 Opinion

Date: July 5, 2015
" Though I have not put it through extensive paces I am pleased with the laptop so far.
Speed at completing tasks are good (work in Excel, Access, etc.), multitasking several open windows at once causes no appreciable delay, and the touch screen is responsive, as is the keyboard enjoyable to use. I do not do photo or video processing, but visually the display is sharp and clear in its colors.
My overall impression is that this laptop is a solid choice for both home and office work.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and Easy to Use

Date: July 2, 2015
" Just started using it. Lightning fast. Has all the features I wanted in a business laptop. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not sure yet

Date: June 21, 2015
" the product is solid. I like that it sleeps and does not use any power. It keeps crashing on me but not sure if that is a windows 7 issue or this computer. I have to figure that out yet. I am going from a desk top to a laptop so there is an adjustment factor for sure on my part. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lenovo lab top

Date: June 18, 2015
" its fast, has all kinds of neat options that I'm getting used too. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

overall

Date: May 28, 2015
" seems user friendly, nice screen....I mean, I don't know how to compare....synched with my ipod easily, to transfer music. Did not need to have techs transfer all my favorites...easy to do. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Screen problems

Date: May 28, 2015
" There is a problem with the screen. Had it fixed twice. But overall very performant computer. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far, so good.

Date: May 26, 2015
" I've only had this laptop for about a week but so far I'm very happy with it. Before making this purchase I reviewed price, features and reliability of different laptops. I decided on this model because I felt it had the best mix of all for the money. I wanted the I7 processor and 8 GB of RAM, which I had to upgrade to get but I feel it was worth the few extra dollars. The Lenovo ThinkPad line has a good reputation of being reliable so I hope this one lives up to that reputation. So far I don't see any reason why it wont. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Problems with left and right track pad buttons

Date: May 26, 2015
" Overall performance of this laptop is fine, but the left and right track pad buttons don't work very well and I find I have to keep hitting them numerous times before a command is accepted. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

disappointed

Date: May 23, 2015
" Its 2nd time I have issue with E540, laptop doesn't power on. In general product is good, I like it's design, Lenovo additional software are good, keypad is comfortable, but laptop not reliable.
Another one thing, all two times I had to go to Puralator office to send the laptop to repairment center and pick it up because technical support center didn't provide Puralator with my apartment number. It was very in inconvenient and time consuming to stay in traffic jam in my way to Puralator.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

frustrated

Date: May 21, 2015
" I bought a Lenovo based on feedback from others... and I am frustrated. I am a business woman and need my computer. After spending a full day setting it all up I find out that the speakers do not work. Now I have to send my machine in and get it fixed.... and I am without the tool I need to run my business. this is not okay "
Review 14 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Future proofing

Date: May 21, 2015
" The E540 was the best value for money laptop I found, that offered good all around performance, plus being expandable so that I can have my operating system booting up in seconds!
My budget did not extend to the high resolution screen, which would of made this perfect for me.
The support I have needed in set-up has been faultless.
Regards,
K
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Laptop for Routine Work

Date: May 13, 2015
" We purchased two of these laptops for work purposes. One laptop immediately had a problem with the fingerpad scanner, which meant we had to send it back. It's very discouraging to have to send back a brand new product but we had no choice. Then the supplier didn't have the correct replacement laptop and we had to purchase the next available one which was a bit more money for faster processing speed. The replacement seems good but rocks slightly when placed on a level surface. Screen resolution is not optimal but good enough for routine work. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely Happy with the E540

Date: May 12, 2015
" If you are looking for a durable reliable machine, that allows for easy access to the components of this machine, then a thinkpad is worth a look.
The lenovo e540 is the best laptop I have had, I use it mostly for my home business, but have tested a few games on it and it runs them with ease, using the core i7.
Software is easy to upgrade with lenovo's website. I also liked the offer for lenovo's PDF software, however some may dislike the promotions part. I did refuse the norton security software.
Overall the machine has performed well since I bought it about a week ago. The wifi has been solid where ever I use it, so no issue there and I love the feel of the keyboard and the mouse. The screen is also nice and clear with the anti glare screen, which makes it easy to use literally anywhere. Even used it out in the sun on the weekend with no issue.
Overall a great machine and I sincerely recommend it to anyone. For personal or business use. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Weird

Date: May 9, 2015
" It was supposed to come with a Windows 8 cd, but it didn't. Great. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very effective and easy to use

Date: May 9, 2015
" There are a lot of features on this laptop. Definitely oriented to business. It could use a SD card reader but not essential. Photos taken on a job site have to be down-loaded by other means.
Display is great. Battery power lasts several hours.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor product

Date: May 8, 2015
" I have 4 keys that do not work. The #s lock comes on when ever it likes, on the side key pad, and the mouse pad is really user unfriendly. Over all very disappointed.
Also some instructions as to what all the top row of keys do wouldnt hurt. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad Edge E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

lenovo

Date: April 30, 2015
" Mouse pad could be redesigned better. up n down hidden scrolling thing in the middle is frustrating. I also paid extra to have the computer programmed and ready to go. But when I got it I was told by the computer to have a backup file, so after doing that I am frequently reminded that I have no space remaining. Everything is low. i need to free up space.. problem is that I just got the computer and now it's telling me to Uninstall some programs to free up space. I have no idea what programs I can delete without ruining the computer. "