Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop E540 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo E540

Average customer rating:
3.815 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
2
38 of 54(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for E540
Review 1 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharon

disappointed

Date: August 14, 2014
"I spent a considerable amount of time researching laptops and had the option buying a Sony for much less. However, I went with the Thinkpad based on an older version that I had and loved. Unfortunatey, the E540 is a huge disappointment. Terrible track pad that is noisy with each click... sounds cheap and clunky and the left and right buttons are not responsive. I can only functionally use it when I plug in a mouse. The red pointer is of no use since it does not respond well to the right and left buttons. I am going to give this one to my mother since she always uses a plug in mouse and I will be looking for a different brand."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elias

ThinkPad E540 i7

Date: August 4, 2014
"I purchase this unit from the local Tiger Direct store, the first one I got came with the Right Click action defective, I went to the store and in two days I got the second one, the machine is great!, except the touch pad, it is terrible, I tried to disable it at the BIOS and did not find that option, anyway I am using an external mouse, much better control this way."
Review 3 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sambha

Lenovo (IBM) E540 i5 ThinkPad

Date: July 28, 2014
"I bought this computer online ($616.67 tax and delivered) from B&H Photo, NY. Had it delivered to a US address (Niagara Falls) $5.00 & drove back to Toronto. Declared all goods and the officer let us go, No duty, nothing.
Good so far. 2 weeks old. Use it daily.
Problems with the Wireless. Called Lenovo Support (Basically IBM). Remote controlled into my machine. Not fixed. Escalated to Level 1 support. Next day, IBM delivered a new Wireless Card (AC 7260) to my door. (Although I already tried it myself but it didn't fix). I'm a techie myself!!! Didn't tell IBM rep for warranty purposes. Next morning, an IBM rep came and installed the card. I knew it needed a driver pgm.
The IBM rep told me he was h/w guy and download the driver, and left my house.I went to Lenovo site and downloaded the driver. Looked for AC 7260 and downloaded the driver. Installed and all is working good.
Keypad button no good, there's only one like apple's. I like it 2; left and right buttons - better control.
"
Review 4 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
int3366

Best Laptop I've Bought So Far

Date: July 26, 2014
"My wife's last laptop the sound went out and some of the keys on the keyboard quit working. I did lots of research and pricing. Lenovo was rated one of the top laptop brands overall. I found a great deal on a Thinkpad E540. It had everything I wanted plus more. It did only came with 4 GB or RAM which I quickly replaced with the maximum 16 GB. The extra RAM made a fast laptop even faster. So far no problems. Did remove some of the bloatware, which wasn't too bad, I've seen lots worse on new computers. I like that it came installed with Windows 7 Pro and a disc to upgrade to Windows 8 Pro if desired. The only complaint so far is the top shows finger smudges. Neither my wife or I play games so don't know about gaming performance. For surfing the web, using office applications and general computer stuff the E540 is fast and should be able to handle anything thrown it's way."
Review 5 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jehii

light weight, but solidly built E540

Date: July 26, 2014
"ease of use and setup, well put together."
Review 6 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jerry

Awesome features but a bit sluggish

Date: July 22, 2014
"I specifically sought out Lenovo laptops that come wth Windows 7 pre-installed because Windows 8 is a disaster and I don't have the time necessary to figure out how to accomplish a task without extensive research.
The E540 is a true 64-bit architecture that is absolutely loaded with features. It is sold with Windows 7 Professional preloaded and Windows 8 CDs are also in the packaging. This model also uses an Intel i7, dual core processor which is far more reliable than the AMD version.
Everything worked right away but the performance was quite disappointing. I recognize that 64-bit Windows is considerably slower than 32-bit but this one really shocked me - just booting up takes at least 2 minutes! Of course math functions are incredibly fast but file handling is much slower than I expected.
From my perspective, this is one of the best Lenovo laptops for the money."
Review 7 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ArtG

Good Unit

Date: July 22, 2014
"I like this laptop. Only issue is the track pad with out separate left and right mouse buttons."
Review 8 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoloVC76

Excellent Features

Date: July 21, 2014
"I was happy to find a laptop that had the performance and features of the E540. I7-4th gen processor, max memory 16GB, 720 rpm hard drive, two usb3.0 plus one 2.0 connectors, a full size hdmi connector, Gigabit ethernet port, dvd-rw drive, and the option to run windows 7 0r 8 (professional). Windows 8 system installation disks included. I just ordered another one for my wife. I have had the laptop for a month with no issues."
Review 9 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lvan

Quit after a week

Date: July 20, 2014
"My new Lenovo won't start after about a week of use...is stuck in startup mode. Tech support was not able to fix it and I will have to return it. Lost a day's worth of work. My old Lenovo was fine and a real workhorse - maybe this one is just a dud."
Review 10 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sambo

Nice laptop except for the mouse pad

Date: July 20, 2014
"This is my third Lenovo product over the years. I like it except for the mouse pad which is terrible. Sometimes one tap will activate it or sometime you have to press until it clicks. It takes much more pressure to activate this mouse pad."
Review 11 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tiger

good computer

Date: July 19, 2014
"It has some nice features, is quick to respond. Has very clear photo images."
Review 12 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AAPEI

I'm a Mac person through and through.....

Date: July 17, 2014
"..and yet, at work, I'm loving this new Lenovo. Finding it quick, easy to maneuver, visually pleasing. Like it very much."
Review 13 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DCCPILOT

Some disappointments

Date: July 16, 2014
"I buy Thinkpads because I'm happy with the eraser point mouse, which this machine has, but I'm also discouraged by several changes:
- The most frustrating is the way the right and left "click buttons" are now embedded in the mouse pad. The left and right distance from center is way too far and causes me to have to twist my wrist for each use. The "push" is also clunky; too much depression required and an annoying "clunk" when it registers. Really hate this. Had I known I wouldn't have bought the machine.
- There are no lights to signify disk access, caps on numlock. The momentary screen confirmation of these keys is a poor substitute. screen Harder to know where something is executing or stalled.
I'm sorry I bought the machine."
Review 14 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bayouman

Outside case

Date: July 16, 2014
"Do u think you could mold the next model with finger holes to open cover. I use a letter opener to open the case every morning."
Review 15 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandita

So far, it's great!

Date: July 11, 2014
"Right out of the box, this was the easiest computer to open and start. Directions were very clear. Just downloaded MS Office, and all went very quickly. Only had this for one week, but everything seems to be going great."
Review 16 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jimbo

Solid performer

Date: July 5, 2014
"Solid performer. However, I don't think keyboard is backlit-searched and could find nothing to show me if it is. A backlit keyboard is a no-brainer for a laptop. Helps when working in dim light-which I do often as an insurance adjuster. Also, the Function key is right where the Control key is on all other laptops I have owned so there is re-learning on that."
Review 17 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joseph

Excellent machine

Date: July 5, 2014
"I had an E520 for a couple of years until it was dropped into water. I replaced it with the E540 and it is every bit as good as the previous one.
My only complaint is the battery charger I purchased extra that would work in the car for the E520 will not work with the E540 due to the type of connection in the ThinkPad Edges are different."
Review 18 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SMYX

BEST THAT I HAVE OWNED

Date: July 4, 2014
"Still in a learning curve, learning all the "new" features and having a few problems mainly my mistakes. But system is way faster than my old one .
So I am happy with my purchase
"
Review 19 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alom

High Quality

Date: July 3, 2014
"This laptop is excellent. It was a bit more expensive than an equivalent laptop from another company, but in my opinion it was well worth it. Build quality is excellent. It's a solid, well built laptop. There is no creaking or bending. It's stylish, and the keyboard is great. I was able to order it with a 1080p screen. All in all, I am extremely pleased with it."
Review 20 for E540
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
elvis

president

Date: July 3, 2014
"so far so good. I like it."