Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad Edge E535 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E535

15.6" powerhouse optimized for SMB productivity & growth, AMD Quad Core APU, progressive design, multiple color and material options

Average customer rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
7 of 11(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad Edge E535
Review 1 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best value/performance

Date: November 22, 2014
" the 500gb SSD is just great-no more long waits to boot or open applications. with 16 gb of RAM no worries of running out.WIN7 Professionalis icing on the cake. All this for $899.99. Would have liked the fingerprint device but not included hence only 4 stars for features. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Frustrated w/ Machine

Date: November 12, 2014
" I've used this computer about 2 weeks. I HATE the mouse pad. I need to swipe my finger 4 times usually before my cursor moves; it's the same when trying the 2 finger swipe to scroll. Slowing down my finger movement has not made a difference.
It operates very slowly; bringing up a new screen takes much longer than my previous laptop.
I haven't got it to print correctly in 2 weeks either. It will print the top line of a form/report/check and then the rest of the page is blank. (the printer works fine with our other computers)
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RonP

Great value laptop

Date: July 24, 2014
" I added 4G Ram and it is a top performer for me and the software I use daily as a content writer and developer. No complaints. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Xnubix
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good for web surfing, but that's it

Date: February 6, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Weight, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance, Durability, screen aspect ratio
" - Screen is terrible, bad viewing angles and resolution.
- Battery lasted around two hours when new, but after a year of usage it lasts barely 20 minutes.
- The laptop is quite heavy, nothing you'd want to carry around too often.
- NO INDICATORS LIGHTS, not even numlock.
- Poor build quality (cheap plastics), much worse than old T60s (less durable, no indicators, no thinklight etc). "
Review 5 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
XCrunner9
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Horrible first laptop

Date: March 20, 2013
" This was my first laptop and I have had so many problems with it so far, having to do with the screen not working, then the display inverter going bad as well. I will never buy this computer again and would not advise people to buy it either. It is a cheap computer made by cheap people. Lenovo makes better computers than this model. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taylor
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Trinity at its finest

Date: December 19, 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display performance, amd
Cons: Display resolution, Memory, Included Software
" This laptop was purchased mainly for schoolwork, but as it turns out, an AMD A10 is capable of playing almost every game out there. I installed Steam and grabbed a lot of Source games and they all run perfectly maxed. I also used Photoshop and stuff, and the OpenCL accelleration that they A10 offers made it much faster than the Intel equivalent. This is does work and plays games equally well. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVETHIS
Location:NEW JERSEY
Owned Product:1-6 months

Great laptop

Date: December 14, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Screen size, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Support, Memory
" Ive had this for about 2 months and its the best laptop i have ever had. its a good price, good quality, and there are no cons about this. I LOVE THIS LAPTOP... "
Review 8 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
qwerty
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows XP Professional
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

best product ever

Date: November 20, 2012
Pros: Wireless card
Cons: Wireless card
" it is pretty cheap for its reliability. i love it! "
Review 9 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Terrance
Location:Milpitas, CA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Computer RUINED by a LOUSY Screen

Date: November 14, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Memory, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
" I am very familiar with computers, and I chose the Thinkpad Edge E535 based on its winning specifications: solid processing power, great battery life, highly useable feature set, and reasonable price
My Configuration:
Processor AMD A-Series A8-4500M
Operating system Windows 7 Home Premium (64 bit)
Display type 15.6" W HD (1366x768) AntiGlare, Midnight Black
Total memory 4 GB DDR3 - 1600MHz (1 DIMM)
Pointing device UltraNav with FingerPrint Reader
Hard drive 320GB Hard Disk Drive, 5400rpm
Battery 6 cell Li-Ion Battery 62WH - 75+
WiFi wireless LAN ThinkPad a/b/g/n Wireless & Bluetooth 4.0 (2x2 ABGN & BT 4.0)
The Good:
The AMD A8-4500m is a capable processor and it handled everything I threw at it from word processing to viewing HD videos online to playing some older computer games (Bioshock).
The chassis is relatively light weight and well designed, though there is a little bit of wiggle in the battery.
3x USB 3.0 ports! HDMI and VGA!
Bluetooth 4.0 and 2x2 Network Performance is great!
Some ThinkVantage Utilities such as Power Manager, Fingerprint, Airbag, etc. are very nice.
Runs cool and quiet.
62WHr battery isn't physically larger than the 48WHr one, and I got 6 hours out of a single charge with moderate to light use (note taking, web surfing, presenting).
The Bad:
Single Channel Memory default configuration. AMD APU's need dual channel memory to reach peak performance. Simply swapping the memory from 1x 4GB to 2x 2GB dramatically increased the Windows Experience Index for Graphics, from 4.1/6.1 to 6.7/6.7
5400 RPM HDD is very slow. Windows Experience Index of only 5.5
No Additional Optical Drive choices.
The Ugly:
Display is very bright and contrast is BAD. Vertical view angle is POOR. The E535's matte display is the worst display I have never seen. The combination of bright display and low contrast is the perfect combination for eyestrain and fatigue. Color accuracy and black levels are also abysmal. Since the contrast ratio is so low, shadow detail in photographcs get crushed into a gray mess, and even bright colors end up looking dull.
Conclusion:
Overall, I really wanted to like the Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E535, but the poor screen ruined this machine for me. Personally, I think the screen is the MOST IMPORTANT part of a laptop since it's a fundamental element of the user interface. If I can't stand the screen, then the other components don't begin to matter.
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fpoole
Location:Lawrence, KS
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Thinkpad Edge E535 with AMD A10-4600M

Date: October 29, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Build Quality, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Included Software, Display performance
" I have been a daily computer user for most of my life, so in that time I have encountered notebooks of many different varieties. Having used everything from Atom-based netbooks to premium MacBooks, I can say that the E535 holds its own with the best of them.
Given the slagging the review press had given AMD's first outing with the Bulldozer microarchitecture, Zambezi, I was concerned about the performance profile for the Trinity mobiles emerging this year. I have found that it performs capably in a variety of tasks at a level well above its price point, and within striking distance of the i5's territory. My main workstation is an aging dual CPU system with 8 cores, and I've found that many of the tasks I have used it for are quite happy running on half as many Trinity cores at their slightly higher clockspeed.
The build quality of the notebook is excellent, the best I've seen personally outside of unibody constructions. The keyboard is comfortable and quiet, with the perfect amount of key travel. The display panel, sadly, leaves much to be desired, with its low resolution and poor contrast levels betraying the otherwise excellent quality of the device. Why does a 768p display belong with a discrete-class GPU? The hinges on this display, however, are quite firm and the display does not move unneccesarily with my own motions.
My unit features the upgraded battery, which allows me to work for several hours away from a power socket without worry. The relatively svelte body and light weight make this an excellent choice for working on the move, at a much lower price point than any current-generation quad-core Intel mobile solution available today.
This is the best quality notebook I have used to date, exceeding the quality and usability of much more expensive equipment. Its only downfalls are down to OEM decisions such as refusal to offer SSD storage and proper resolution display panels, once again knee-capping an excellent product to favor more expensive segments with cherry-picked feature sets and Intel stickers. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad Edge E535
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ubu21
Location:Paris, France
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

very good product

Date: September 23, 2012
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Display performance
" I bought my Lenovo E535 with processor AMD A8-4500m and 8GB of RAM and overall, I feel satisfied with the product. It's fast, very quiet fans, rich sound due to Dolby system. "