Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Average customer rating:
3.753 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
8
51 of 73(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 21 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tikimom
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Yet

Date: March 26, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
" Bought the X230 last August to replace my several-year-old X200, which in turn had replaced some older model! I'm a satisfied Lenovo customer, obviously. I use it primarily for business applications and lots of online activity. Quite speedy with outstanding battery life (9-cell battery). Compact size and solid construction make it ideal for travel. The new keyboard style has won me over - my old machine with its IBM style keyboard now seems klunky and clattery. The little red trackpoint is one of my favorite Thinkpad features - hope they never, ever, do away with this option. Can't comment on Lenovo support because I've never had to contact them--which is a testament to the quality of the product. "
Review 22 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chun
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

good except for touchpad

Date: March 26, 2013
Pros: overall quality
Cons: touchpad
" I've been a thinkpad user for a long time. With my latest purchase of x230, I'm satisfied with everything else except for the touch pad. I had to buy 4 units for my company and every single one has a touch pad that takes too much pressure to press. If Lenovo can have x230 with the touchpad of other models, I would have a perfect laptop for work! "
Review 23 for
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DenverGirl
Owned Product:7-12 months

Choose Another Laptop

Date: March 15, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Processor, track pad
" Really disappointed in this choice. ThinkPad is known to be a great computer, but the x230 did not meet that reputation. The track pad often double-clicks and has a difficult time understanding if you're on the right or left side (right-handed people beware). Also, it needs a memory boost, so plan to upgrade that.
Pros - really long battery lift and pretty portable, lightweight, clear screen "
Review 24 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
howdoesitmatter
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Highly satisfied

Date: March 4, 2013
" I upgraded from the antiquated R series to X230. I am very impressed with the design as well as the performance of the laptop. I was wary of the redesigned keyboard. However, my misgivings were dispelled quickly. Overall, this laptop matched my expectations on every count. "
Review 25 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PHBobby
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Does the job, excellent value

Date: February 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Storage
" I've had this machine for about four months, enough time to know if I want to return it. This is a very good machine. Not spectacular at anything, but dependable at pretty much everything I want it to do. Want to do hardcore gaming? Get an Asus, or better yet, build a desktop unit (which I did). Want an ultrabook? Then shell out the extra coin. Don't whine about an econo lap that wasn't designed for that purpose. Yeah, the pad takes a bit of getting used to, but I found it relatively quick to get the hang of. And the RAM and HD are easily swapped (I upgraded to SSD, makes a huge difference booting). For most purposes, however, the unit is as good as you will find for the price. "
Review 26 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Avic
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

The touchpad is terrible

Date: February 14, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory
Cons: Display resolution, touchpad
" Have been using Thinkpads for 15 years... replaced my T430 with X230 because of the lightness and mobility requirement.
The touchpad is pretty much unusable. I dont know if its the ripples on it or what, but one cannot use it reliably. It was fine on the T430 and other 14" laptops. The joystick works fine, but I really wanted to use the touchpad. Maybe a smooth glass surface would work better? "
Review 27 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cdog
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i5

Perfect for heavy duty computing

Date: January 29, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Support, Software compatibility, Memory, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Durability
" I bought it for fast, efficient processing in Linux (I am a science academic) while still being portable. It does all I expected and more, the best laptop I ever owned. Many people don't like the keyboard but I personally found it to be great. The battery life is great, the longest I have experienced on a laptop. It is also extremely portable.
The only downside was the harddrive crashed after only six months, although it was fixed under warranty. A reminder to everyone - back up your work!
"
Review 28 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZMAN
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best laptop ever

Date: January 2, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
" This is the best laptop ever. Forget about Apple, Sony, Dell, HP etc. This little thing's performances can be comparable to a powerful desktop. The stock memory is DDR 1600, but can accept DDR 1866 to boot the performances. I like the full voltage processors. "
Review 29 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alexgeorge
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

An awesome machine

Date: December 31, 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty
" The best Lenovo I have ever had.
I have been a Lenovo fan since 2006 and have a Lenovo X201 as well. But the X230 is an amazing machine.
The keyboard is so smooth, finger friendly that you would love to type for hours.
I got a 9-cell battery, which runs for at least 12 hours. This is especially useful since I fly to Europe quite often and do a lot of work en route.
The monitor, which is a HD premium, is very sharp and bright and you never get tired.
The processor is also very fast and I really enjoy working with machine. I definitely recommend it for those who want a fast, powerful machine with long battery life.
The best of 12.5 inch Thinkpads so far.
Good job Lenovo. "
Review 30 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tipsey
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid Matte screen performer

Date: December 23, 2012
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Display performance, trackpad
" Looking for a mobile powerhouse used to run virtual machines and development work? Look no further, this solid laptop will please more advanced users. Relatively light and small without too much compromises. Opt for the extended battery as this will make it more useful and productive. Only negative is the trackpad where it should be like Apple's product. No complaints with the new keyboard design as the concave feel produces firm typing. Can max out memory to 16 GB and has mSata drive slot. "
Review 31 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sonicxml
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

decided to return it

Date: December 18, 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Support, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
" Got one with i5-3210M processor, updated to IPS screen. Nice model, light and portable enough, trying to live with the new system which was quite confusing at the beginning. Liked the keyboard before I found the up arrow was not functioning well. Then I found the frame of the screen didn't contact with the screen closely - not sure if this is the design, but I think dust will come into the machine from that large cleft. Decided to return it, might reorder if those flaws are just bad luck. "
Review 32 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ChanzVonEu
Location:Europe
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Dissapointed :(

Date: December 14, 2012
Pros: Processor, Included software, Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, touchpad
" I've this 'thing' only few days, but it's terrible piece of HW.
I am using Liniux, so I am glad to have it without any preinstalled OS (specially stup* Windows).
Everything in X is new - not improved in comparison to old t400, just new.
Fn keys, kb layout, heavy long-life battery and the worse thing: touchpad!
Touchpad is small and it's simple ugly!
Pure buttons on touchpad are ~3mm from front of laptop, if you touch button ~4mm from bottom, it acts as SW touchpad - so it move cursor!!!!!! So in case you used to work with touchpad, forget it here! It's really annoying! Only solution would be to disable HW buttons only & use e.g. 3 fingers or so (in case you want dedicate 2 fingers for scroll function only). Well - sad is you can on/off touchpad incl. buttons only - not separatelly!
"
Review 33 for
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
krkruel
Location:WI
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Don't Buy if interested in audio!!!

Date: December 13, 2012
Cons: Support, Included Software, Software compatibility
" The laptop was working great until the latest update by Lenovo, now the Dolby Audio Driver dosent work. Lenovo Support said the Dolby driver needs to be removed and the problem will go away. WOW, wonder if Dolby knows that Lenovo is telling customers to remove software I am sure Dolby paid for. "
Review 34 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AB12
Location:Dresden, Germany
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

CoreI7 8G

Date: November 26, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory
" The computing performance are as expected very good. The general design is rather good and robust but some details should be improved. The trackpad is too small and not very confortable for an intensive usage. The Ac/Dc transformer is too eavy and not practical to pack. If with an extended battery the mobility is rather good, it is at the expense of the design... a kind of cancer at the back of your laptop. "
Review 35 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HYG2012
Location:New City, NY
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The Best Ever

Date: November 25, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
" I've owned dozens of Laptops. This is the best of the best. My biggest problem is having no desire to purchase an iPad. The X230 is light weight and does everything. It's portability is great. It's keyboard is great. It is lightning fast. It's the best laptop I have ever owned. "
Review 36 for
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peter44
Location:New York
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Low resolution screen is a deal breaker

Date: November 16, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Display resolution
" Everything is great about this laptop... except LOW RESOLUTION SCREEN. What's wrong with laptop manufacturers these days? Technology is there yet perfectly good machines have display resolution of a laptop from 2000. I will not buy another laptop before they start putting in high resolution screens. And what is that gimmick with
"HD Screens". I am personally not watching any video son a laptop. I WORK ON LAPTOP. Please make it an option - a HIGH RESOLUTION SCREEN (1600x900, 1920x1080).
"
Review 37 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zenit
Location:VA, USA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid Traditional Ultraportable

Date: November 10, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: trackpad
" Pros: Very good build quality, magnesium structure, metal hinges, runs cool, bright and sharp IPS display, tactile keyboard, lightweight, good battery life.
Cons: Poor trackpad (most people buying these will use the trackpoint anyways) Only 1336x768 resolution.
Other: Battery Latch design is made to have some looseness to it, does not interfere in operation.
I have owned an x230 for 4 months, and it has not given me any problems. The hardware is rock solid and makes many other Windows laptops look cheaply built. Compares well with the Macbook Air and other Ultrabooks, a member of a dying breed of full-power no compromise ultra-portables.
The battery life is very good, I get 4-6 hours out of it with normal usage. Can be squeezed to 7-8 hours.
Purchased on sale for $712
Specs:
Core i5 2.5ghz, 4gb DDR3, 7200rpm 320gb HDD, Intel Wifi, IPS screen, 6 cell battery
"
Review 38 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jnfb79
Location:PORTLAND OR
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The best business partners

Date: November 8, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Warranty
" ThinkPad X230 Tablet is a classic, was China's Lenovo acquisition, but its still lasted IBM excellent genes, and given a new life, is a business are essential partners. Worth each black fans collection. "
Review 39 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leewave
Location:Piscataway, NJ
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent notebook to have

Date: November 6, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Video card
" I love this notebook the first time I saw it. It's so cool. The size is exactly for mobile bussiness. The resolution is very high. The model is very reliable and the power battery can work up to 8 hours continuously!!!! X230 is the only thing that is power on during the Sandy hurricane. Stongly recommend to all of you!! "
Review 40 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tampageek
Location:tampa,fl
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop

Date: October 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility
Cons: none so far
" I wasn't sure how the x230 would stack up against my Macbook Pro, but this little machine did not disappoint. It's light, fast and love the keyboard.
The display upgrade is well worth it - and this is the first PC I have ever owned where the WiDi worked right out of the box with my Push2TV box.
There are no compatibility problems as with my Mac, which is nice for a change. I am also glad to have 3 USB ports.
Added Corsair Vengeance Ram upgrade and Samsung 830 SSD with ease.
This is my 3rd Thinkpad and would recommend the x230 to anyone looking for a reasonably priced laptop with all the power and features you need. "