Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Average customer rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
8
50 of 70(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 21 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
howdoesitmatter
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Highly satisfied

Date: March 4, 2013
"I upgraded from the antiquated R series to X230. I am very impressed with the design as well as the performance of the laptop. I was wary of the redesigned keyboard. However, my misgivings were dispelled quickly. Overall, this laptop matched my expectations on every count."
Review 22 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PHBobby
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Does the job, excellent value

Date: February 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Storage
"I've had this machine for about four months, enough time to know if I want to return it. This is a very good machine. Not spectacular at anything, but dependable at pretty much everything I want it to do. Want to do hardcore gaming? Get an Asus, or better yet, build a desktop unit (which I did). Want an ultrabook? Then shell out the extra coin. Don't whine about an econo lap that wasn't designed for that purpose. Yeah, the pad takes a bit of getting used to, but I found it relatively quick to get the hang of. And the RAM and HD are easily swapped (I upgraded to SSD, makes a huge difference booting). For most purposes, however, the unit is as good as you will find for the price."
Review 23 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Avic
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

The touchpad is terrible

Date: February 14, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory
Cons: Display resolution, touchpad
"Have been using Thinkpads for 15 years... replaced my T430 with X230 because of the lightness and mobility requirement.
The touchpad is pretty much unusable. I dont know if its the ripples on it or what, but one cannot use it reliably. It was fine on the T430 and other 14" laptops. The joystick works fine, but I really wanted to use the touchpad. Maybe a smooth glass surface would work better?"
Review 24 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cdog
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i5

Perfect for heavy duty computing

Date: January 29, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Support, Software compatibility, Memory, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Durability
"I bought it for fast, efficient processing in Linux (I am a science academic) while still being portable. It does all I expected and more, the best laptop I ever owned. Many people don't like the keyboard but I personally found it to be great. The battery life is great, the longest I have experienced on a laptop. It is also extremely portable.
The only downside was the harddrive crashed after only six months, although it was fixed under warranty. A reminder to everyone - back up your work!
"
Review 25 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZMAN
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best laptop ever

Date: January 2, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
"This is the best laptop ever. Forget about Apple, Sony, Dell, HP etc. This little thing's performances can be comparable to a powerful desktop. The stock memory is DDR 1600, but can accept DDR 1866 to boot the performances. I like the full voltage processors."
Review 26 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alexgeorge
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

An awesome machine

Date: December 31, 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty
"The best Lenovo I have ever had.
I have been a Lenovo fan since 2006 and have a Lenovo X201 as well. But the X230 is an amazing machine.
The keyboard is so smooth, finger friendly that you would love to type for hours.
I got a 9-cell battery, which runs for at least 12 hours. This is especially useful since I fly to Europe quite often and do a lot of work en route.
The monitor, which is a HD premium, is very sharp and bright and you never get tired.
The processor is also very fast and I really enjoy working with machine. I definitely recommend it for those who want a fast, powerful machine with long battery life.
The best of 12.5 inch Thinkpads so far.
Good job Lenovo."
Review 27 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tipsey
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid Matte screen performer

Date: December 23, 2012
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Display performance, trackpad
"Looking for a mobile powerhouse used to run virtual machines and development work? Look no further, this solid laptop will please more advanced users. Relatively light and small without too much compromises. Opt for the extended battery as this will make it more useful and productive. Only negative is the trackpad where it should be like Apple's product. No complaints with the new keyboard design as the concave feel produces firm typing. Can max out memory to 16 GB and has mSata drive slot."
Review 28 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sonicxml
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

decided to return it

Date: December 18, 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Support, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"Got one with i5-3210M processor, updated to IPS screen. Nice model, light and portable enough, trying to live with the new system which was quite confusing at the beginning. Liked the keyboard before I found the up arrow was not functioning well. Then I found the frame of the screen didn't contact with the screen closely - not sure if this is the design, but I think dust will come into the machine from that large cleft. Decided to return it, might reorder if those flaws are just bad luck."
Review 29 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ChanzVonEu
Location:Europe
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Dissapointed :(

Date: December 14, 2012
Pros: Processor, Included software, Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, touchpad
"I've this 'thing' only few days, but it's terrible piece of HW.
I am using Liniux, so I am glad to have it without any preinstalled OS (specially stup* Windows).
Everything in X is new - not improved in comparison to old t400, just new.
Fn keys, kb layout, heavy long-life battery and the worse thing: touchpad!
Touchpad is small and it's simple ugly!
Pure buttons on touchpad are ~3mm from front of laptop, if you touch button ~4mm from bottom, it acts as SW touchpad - so it move cursor!!!!!! So in case you used to work with touchpad, forget it here! It's really annoying! Only solution would be to disable HW buttons only & use e.g. 3 fingers or so (in case you want dedicate 2 fingers for scroll function only). Well - sad is you can on/off touchpad incl. buttons only - not separatelly!
"
Review 30 for
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
krkruel
Location:WI
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Don't Buy if interested in audio!!!

Date: December 13, 2012
Cons: Support, Included Software, Software compatibility
"The laptop was working great until the latest update by Lenovo, now the Dolby Audio Driver dosent work. Lenovo Support said the Dolby driver needs to be removed and the problem will go away. WOW, wonder if Dolby knows that Lenovo is telling customers to remove software I am sure Dolby paid for."
Review 31 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AB12
Location:Dresden, Germany
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

CoreI7 8G

Date: November 26, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory
"The computing performance are as expected very good. The general design is rather good and robust but some details should be improved. The trackpad is too small and not very confortable for an intensive usage. The Ac/Dc transformer is too eavy and not practical to pack. If with an extended battery the mobility is rather good, it is at the expense of the design... a kind of cancer at the back of your laptop."
Review 32 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HYG2012
Location:New City, NY
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The Best Ever

Date: November 25, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"I've owned dozens of Laptops. This is the best of the best. My biggest problem is having no desire to purchase an iPad. The X230 is light weight and does everything. It's portability is great. It's keyboard is great. It is lightning fast. It's the best laptop I have ever owned."
Review 33 for
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peter44
Location:New York
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Low resolution screen is a deal breaker

Date: November 16, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Display resolution
"Everything is great about this laptop... except LOW RESOLUTION SCREEN. What's wrong with laptop manufacturers these days? Technology is there yet perfectly good machines have display resolution of a laptop from 2000. I will not buy another laptop before they start putting in high resolution screens. And what is that gimmick with
"HD Screens". I am personally not watching any video son a laptop. I WORK ON LAPTOP. Please make it an option - a HIGH RESOLUTION SCREEN (1600x900, 1920x1080).
"
Review 34 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zenit
Location:VA, USA
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid Traditional Ultraportable

Date: November 10, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: trackpad
"Pros: Very good build quality, magnesium structure, metal hinges, runs cool, bright and sharp IPS display, tactile keyboard, lightweight, good battery life.
Cons: Poor trackpad (most people buying these will use the trackpoint anyways) Only 1336x768 resolution.
Other: Battery Latch design is made to have some looseness to it, does not interfere in operation.
I have owned an x230 for 4 months, and it has not given me any problems. The hardware is rock solid and makes many other Windows laptops look cheaply built. Compares well with the Macbook Air and other Ultrabooks, a member of a dying breed of full-power no compromise ultra-portables.
The battery life is very good, I get 4-6 hours out of it with normal usage. Can be squeezed to 7-8 hours.
Purchased on sale for $712
Specs:
Core i5 2.5ghz, 4gb DDR3, 7200rpm 320gb HDD, Intel Wifi, IPS screen, 6 cell battery
"
Review 35 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jnfb79
Location:PORTLAND OR
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The best business partners

Date: November 8, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Warranty
"ThinkPad X230 Tablet is a classic, was China's Lenovo acquisition, but its still lasted IBM excellent genes, and given a new life, is a business are essential partners. Worth each black fans collection."
Review 36 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leewave
Location:Piscataway, NJ
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Excellent notebook to have

Date: November 6, 2012
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Battery, Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Video card
"I love this notebook the first time I saw it. It's so cool. The size is exactly for mobile bussiness. The resolution is very high. The model is very reliable and the power battery can work up to 8 hours continuously!!!! X230 is the only thing that is power on during the Sandy hurricane. Stongly recommend to all of you!!"
Review 37 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tampageek
Location:tampa,fl
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop

Date: October 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Software compatibility, Wireless card, Display performance, Input/Output compatibility
Cons: none so far
"I wasn't sure how the x230 would stack up against my Macbook Pro, but this little machine did not disappoint. It's light, fast and love the keyboard.
The display upgrade is well worth it - and this is the first PC I have ever owned where the WiDi worked right out of the box with my Push2TV box.
There are no compatibility problems as with my Mac, which is nice for a change. I am also glad to have 3 USB ports.
Added Corsair Vengeance Ram upgrade and Samsung 830 SSD with ease.
This is my 3rd Thinkpad and would recommend the x230 to anyone looking for a reasonably priced laptop with all the power and features you need."
Review 38 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MiaPerez
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:Less than a month

Most beloved features gone

Date: October 30, 2012
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, Battery, mouse
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"I've always LOVED the T and X series. That's what I have at work. Everything is GREAT, it's fast, light, reliable and especially the keyboard. I'm sure anyone who spends endless hours on typing understands how important the keyboard is. Given my love for these models, I recently upgraded and bought a X230 for personal use, hoping I will get to continue to have these great features. I opened my new X230 and started customizing when I found out the keyboard has now changed. I understand the classic keyboard has issues. For instance, keys can get stuck because crumbs are stuck behind the key and you'll have to pop them out. If that's the only thing that's changed, no problem. But the keys/features that make the most sense are gone. 1) Page UP and Page DOWN key SHOULD be in the UP and DOWN position (not LEFT and RIGHT) 2) Page Back and Forward on the browser are gone (replaced by the Page Up and Page Down button) 3) Home and End keys again are now in a Left and Right position (instead of up and down, how you normally think of home and end) 4) All the non-alphabet and non-numeric keys are so much smaller (but there is so much space on the keyboard!!!)"
Review 39 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luke
Location:Nevada
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Mobile powerhouse

Date: October 30, 2012
"This laptop is without competition in terms of build quality -- it is sturdy, lightweight, it has a fantastic backlit keyboard and a bright, beautiful IPS display. One thing I really like is how fast it awakes from sleep mode and instant-on wireless (no waiting for it to connect)...and that is with the standard HD (not an SSD).
This isn't the thinnest laptop you'll find, but it certainly is lightweight and it isn't going to take up much space in any bag or briefcase.
I consider this a mobile powerhouse because it is both highly portable and capable of some serious computing, whether for home, school, or work."
Review 40 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richard
Location:Worcester, MA
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

First thinkpad, best laptop ever owned

Date: October 27, 2012
Pros: Weight, Security Features, Durability, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Screen size, Storage, Video card, Warranty, Included Software
"Having spent 4 days with X230 I would like to say that it is the best laptop I have ever purchased. I have owned another 2 laptop, none of which is thinkpad, and I helped others purchase no less than 6 laptop, yet no one could outperform this in terms of integral performance.
I admit there may be nothing much significantly outstanding about this computer,the design is really bulky and outdated (though they say it classic), those alleged quad core processors are nothing more than double core by double thread, integrated graphics makes it underachieving on my favorite games like BF3 or MOH 2012, 320G hard drive has only limited capacity after installing a 64-bit operating system........I can keep listing things like that for the rest of this review, but I won't.
Because when those parts seemed ordinary or even underperforming are put together and if you use it to do what it is supposed to do, you will find it really superb. The body work is decently made, those aluminium and magnesium roll cage make it tough enough for catastrophic condition for other ultrabooks, it touches so comfortable that it becomes a joy to type with it. Also the weight is controlled reasonably under 1.6 kg with a 6-cell battery mounted. Balance between processing performance and battery duration is pretty good, you can achieve a duration of 3-4 hour with high performance with no much effort. Even more important, it is very open for anyone to upgrade it by DIY, it is easy on this computer to upgrade your RAM or SSD, even your are not a "enginerd" or technician.........
It is like a Mig jet fighter, nothing looks very shinny on it, but it is a killer. That's why I give it 4-star on each sub-category but 5-star on overall rating. Highly recommend this laptop. It is really a good choice if you want to buy a portable computer for daily use and 3D game occasionally...........I just love it.
"