Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Average customer rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
9
53 of 78(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for
Review 21 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Top part frame of LED panel are easily damage

Date: June 10, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Memory, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Durability
" WE brought 10 units of this model and knowing thinkpad that they design their equipment durable enough to survive mobility. which unfortunate, this model X230 did not pass quality control. It's top part frame are easily broken if you accidentally put little pressure on the LED cover, you will notice that top outer frame will easily snap it support like toothpick. "
Review 22 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a week

heating and smell

Date: May 31, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Build Quality, Display performance
" I just bought the X230. The size, weight and speed are good. The display is so so. The audio is not very good.
The battery is wobbly. The display tilts to the left. The laptop heats up quickly and generates a strong smell.
I have another Thinkpad of the Edge series with a 15 in display. That one is very good. X230 costs much more but gives more problems. I would not recommend X230. "
Review 23 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Superb Hardware

Date: April 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Included Software, Screen size
" Like:
- IPS display, it's really worth it
- Keyboard lets me type like a demon
- Chassis, super solid and great industrial aesthetic, this is no piece of apple jewelry
- Great ventilation
- Super easy to repair/upgrade
- Works great with Ubuntu
- MSATA slot for an SSD (for Ubuntu, perhaps)
Dislike:
- 1366x768 resolution... whyyyy???
- Bloatware, including something called "Windows"
- Small-ish trackpad, I carry a mouse
- HDD
"
Review 24 for
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

a dissappointing laptop

Date: March 29, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
Cons: constant audible noise, wobbly battery, useless mouse
" I was very excited about this laptop when I first bought it, but as I used, it became very annoying for me. I especially wanted a laptop with a minimum noise emission, since I am mostly working at quiet places like libraries and I don't like listening music while working, but laptop always make some constant noise that I cannot bear. I could not figure where the noise coming from, it could be either fan or hard drive, but the constant noise just drives me crazy.
Another disappointing thing about the laptop is wobbly battery. Since this laptop is small and compact, and generally bought for carrying around purposes, I think a wobbly battery is not acceptable and make me dislike the laptop. "
Review 25 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Decent Purchase But Flimsy Keyboard

Date: March 28, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
" This machine with an mSATA SSD installed is a truly great value performer. mobility and battery life, IPS Screen, everything is just great. But with all the debate about the new keyboard, I believed the positive reviews on many sites about it. How wrong I was, the keys feels delicate , though the response is quiet good, you almost feel them wobbling a bit as you type. And to my horror a few keys came out and keep coming out. Going through lenovo forums seems I am not the only one having this issue. Not sure if its an issue with one of its keyboard suppliers, But its such a shame really for whats otherwise a best in class business machine. I wish lenovo took more care in not disappointing the legions of fans of its earlier hugely popular keyboards. "
Review 26 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Yet

Date: March 26, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
" Bought the X230 last August to replace my several-year-old X200, which in turn had replaced some older model! I'm a satisfied Lenovo customer, obviously. I use it primarily for business applications and lots of online activity. Quite speedy with outstanding battery life (9-cell battery). Compact size and solid construction make it ideal for travel. The new keyboard style has won me over - my old machine with its IBM style keyboard now seems klunky and clattery. The little red trackpoint is one of my favorite Thinkpad features - hope they never, ever, do away with this option. Can't comment on Lenovo support because I've never had to contact them--which is a testament to the quality of the product. "
Review 27 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

good except for touchpad

Date: March 26, 2013
Pros: overall quality
Cons: touchpad
" I've been a thinkpad user for a long time. With my latest purchase of x230, I'm satisfied with everything else except for the touch pad. I had to buy 4 units for my company and every single one has a touch pad that takes too much pressure to press. If Lenovo can have x230 with the touchpad of other models, I would have a perfect laptop for work! "
Review 28 for
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Owned Product:7-12 months

Choose Another Laptop

Date: March 15, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Durability, Display resolution
Cons: Memory, Processor, track pad
" Really disappointed in this choice. ThinkPad is known to be a great computer, but the x230 did not meet that reputation. The track pad often double-clicks and has a difficult time understanding if you're on the right or left side (right-handed people beware). Also, it needs a memory boost, so plan to upgrade that.
Pros - really long battery lift and pretty portable, lightweight, clear screen "
Review 29 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Highly satisfied

Date: March 4, 2013
" I upgraded from the antiquated R series to X230. I am very impressed with the design as well as the performance of the laptop. I was wary of the redesigned keyboard. However, my misgivings were dispelled quickly. Overall, this laptop matched my expectations on every count. "
Review 30 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Does the job, excellent value

Date: February 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size
Cons: Storage
" I've had this machine for about four months, enough time to know if I want to return it. This is a very good machine. Not spectacular at anything, but dependable at pretty much everything I want it to do. Want to do hardcore gaming? Get an Asus, or better yet, build a desktop unit (which I did). Want an ultrabook? Then shell out the extra coin. Don't whine about an econo lap that wasn't designed for that purpose. Yeah, the pad takes a bit of getting used to, but I found it relatively quick to get the hang of. And the RAM and HD are easily swapped (I upgraded to SSD, makes a huge difference booting). For most purposes, however, the unit is as good as you will find for the price. "
Review 31 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

The touchpad is terrible

Date: February 14, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory
Cons: Display resolution, touchpad
" Have been using Thinkpads for 15 years... replaced my T430 with X230 because of the lightness and mobility requirement.
The touchpad is pretty much unusable. I dont know if its the ripples on it or what, but one cannot use it reliably. It was fine on the T430 and other 14" laptops. The joystick works fine, but I really wanted to use the touchpad. Maybe a smooth glass surface would work better? "
Review 32 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i5

Perfect for heavy duty computing

Date: January 29, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Support, Software compatibility, Memory, Screen size, Storage
Cons: Durability
" I bought it for fast, efficient processing in Linux (I am a science academic) while still being portable. It does all I expected and more, the best laptop I ever owned. Many people don't like the keyboard but I personally found it to be great. The battery life is great, the longest I have experienced on a laptop. It is also extremely portable.
The only downside was the harddrive crashed after only six months, although it was fixed under warranty. A reminder to everyone - back up your work!
"
Review 33 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best laptop ever

Date: January 2, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Display performance
" This is the best laptop ever. Forget about Apple, Sony, Dell, HP etc. This little thing's performances can be comparable to a powerful desktop. The stock memory is DDR 1600, but can accept DDR 1866 to boot the performances. I like the full voltage processors. "
Review 34 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

An awesome machine

Date: December 31, 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Warranty
" The best Lenovo I have ever had.
I have been a Lenovo fan since 2006 and have a Lenovo X201 as well. But the X230 is an amazing machine.
The keyboard is so smooth, finger friendly that you would love to type for hours.
I got a 9-cell battery, which runs for at least 12 hours. This is especially useful since I fly to Europe quite often and do a lot of work en route.
The monitor, which is a HD premium, is very sharp and bright and you never get tired.
The processor is also very fast and I really enjoy working with machine. I definitely recommend it for those who want a fast, powerful machine with long battery life.
The best of 12.5 inch Thinkpads so far.
Good job Lenovo. "
Review 35 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid Matte screen performer

Date: December 23, 2012
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card, Display performance, trackpad
" Looking for a mobile powerhouse used to run virtual machines and development work? Look no further, this solid laptop will please more advanced users. Relatively light and small without too much compromises. Opt for the extended battery as this will make it more useful and productive. Only negative is the trackpad where it should be like Apple's product. No complaints with the new keyboard design as the concave feel produces firm typing. Can max out memory to 16 GB and has mSata drive slot. "
Review 36 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

decided to return it

Date: December 18, 2012
Pros: Battery, Weight, Support, Keyboard/peripherals
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
" Got one with i5-3210M processor, updated to IPS screen. Nice model, light and portable enough, trying to live with the new system which was quite confusing at the beginning. Liked the keyboard before I found the up arrow was not functioning well. Then I found the frame of the screen didn't contact with the screen closely - not sure if this is the design, but I think dust will come into the machine from that large cleft. Decided to return it, might reorder if those flaws are just bad luck. "
Review 37 for
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Europe
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Dissapointed :(

Date: December 14, 2012
Pros: Processor, Included software, Memory
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, touchpad
" I've this 'thing' only few days, but it's terrible piece of HW.
I am using Liniux, so I am glad to have it without any preinstalled OS (specially stup* Windows).
Everything in X is new - not improved in comparison to old t400, just new.
Fn keys, kb layout, heavy long-life battery and the worse thing: touchpad!
Touchpad is small and it's simple ugly!
Pure buttons on touchpad are ~3mm from front of laptop, if you touch button ~4mm from bottom, it acts as SW touchpad - so it move cursor!!!!!! So in case you used to work with touchpad, forget it here! It's really annoying! Only solution would be to disable HW buttons only & use e.g. 3 fingers or so (in case you want dedicate 2 fingers for scroll function only). Well - sad is you can on/off touchpad incl. buttons only - not separatelly!
"
Review 38 for
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WI
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Don't Buy if interested in audio!!!

Date: December 13, 2012
Cons: Support, Included Software, Software compatibility
" The laptop was working great until the latest update by Lenovo, now the Dolby Audio Driver dosent work. Lenovo Support said the Dolby driver needs to be removed and the problem will go away. WOW, wonder if Dolby knows that Lenovo is telling customers to remove software I am sure Dolby paid for. "
Review 39 for
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dresden, Germany
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

CoreI7 8G

Date: November 26, 2012
Pros: Warranty, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory
" The computing performance are as expected very good. The general design is rather good and robust but some details should be improved. The trackpad is too small and not very confortable for an intensive usage. The Ac/Dc transformer is too eavy and not practical to pack. If with an extended battery the mobility is rather good, it is at the expense of the design... a kind of cancer at the back of your laptop. "
Review 40 for
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New City, NY
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The Best Ever

Date: November 25, 2012
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Security Features, Durability, Software compatibility, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance, Display resolution, Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Support, Included software, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
" I've owned dozens of Laptops. This is the best of the best. My biggest problem is having no desire to purchase an iPad. The X230 is light weight and does everything. It's portability is great. It's keyboard is great. It is lightning fast. It's the best laptop I have ever owned. "