Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
9
40 of 70(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U530 Touch
Review 1 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Quality

Date: November 25, 2014
"I would have given it all 5 stars if the hand motion works on third party apps like magazine app Zinio.
Everything else great! I made sure I got i7 with 8gb ram, 500gb hybrid hdd to be sure it will last me at least 4 years. I got a full 3 year service at home warranty also. I got the black Friday deal then the 10% discover cash back. I believe I'm set!"
Review 2 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Quality, Some errors

Date: November 18, 2014
"As of writing this article, I have personally found this model to be highly efficent and surpirior to tohers.
The 8 GB of RAM helps the computer run super smooth, and the visuals are great.
But there is one huge glaring problem.
The hinge of this product is notoriously faulty, as evidenced by the many reviews complaining about it.
As for me, I happily used my model for less then six months before my right hinge popped out of it's setting. I am unable to close or move my laptop screen, and I am also able to completely remove the black protective cover that conceals the hinge mechanism. I did not drop or even hit my laptop off of anything that would have led to possible hinge problems.
This model is overall very good however, and I would recommend it for those looking for a HP Envy- level laptop that has superior performance. Just be aware of the hinge issues and take steps to prevent any possible breakage."
Review 3 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Upsetting

Date: November 11, 2014
"I first ordered this laptop and the wifi card did not work so I had to return it and I thought the one that I got was just an unfortunate dud! When I got the next one the wifi card worked but the build quality is terrible. There such a huge gap between the cheap plastic outside cover and the the keyboard panel that you could see inside the laptop! So mad!"
Review 4 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

One of the best I have bought!

Date: November 9, 2014
"Best product by Lenovo so far for me. I would love to actually keep this. This device had a issue with Windows 8.1 and crashed after performing updates. I called Lenovo customer service and they provided instructions on how it works. The support is really friendly and a added value for there products. With it being a local business in my area I have to support them with buying. I still own a excellent tablet from this business. I am going to buy a Apple Mac because of the continued problems with Windows"
Review 5 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Hinge problem

Date: November 8, 2014
"The hinge on the left got popped out as soon as I opened the screen."
Review 6 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

It's been a Struggle

Date: October 21, 2014
"My review may be unfair since my constant crashing problems may have more to do with my using Open Office, than with the computer. Other computing elements seem OK.
Dislike the keyboard. Frequently it does not recognize a keystroke and other times it loads extra letters.
I'm trying so hard to like it, but it has been frustrating."
Review 7 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

IT Executive

Date: October 16, 2014
"I have had every laptop on the market and I keep coming back to Lenovo. I was just in a large Electronics Retail store and talking to the HP rep and found it funny that he also says Lenovo makes the best laptops on the market. I use this laptop as one of three I use for business daily. It travels with me everywhere and links into my servers, databases and internal systems perfectly. It's fast, reliable and their technology on keyboards is second to none! For the reviews below stating it's not the ThinkPad talk to some people that know computers. There's a reason Lenovo won't offer corporate discounts on the IdeaPad like they do on the ThinkPad's. This is a fantastic Business machine and perfect for the kids heading to college. It'll get you through multiple degree's. I have over 500 consultants working for me and they will all be getting a Lenovo as their next laptop."
Review 8 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad Keypoard and bad performance

Date: October 15, 2014
"I am big fan of the IBM thinkpads , I decided to switch and buy this new ideapad and was very disappointed. When you start typing on the keyboard it gets erratic and the touch pad is useless as it does not react properly. I decided to update the BIOS after few months of having the laptop and it got rid of the OS and became unbootable so I had to send it for repair...Lenovo support was good but I was disappointed that a brand new laptop like this did not perform to my expectation I should have stayed with the Thinkpad T series"
Review 9 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

So far I am loving this computer

Date: October 14, 2014
"I also went from an HP ENVY, which I bought brand new and had to exchange three times because of dead pixels on the screen. Three different computers with the same issue, then I decided to get this computer. So far I am very satisfied with this and don't think I am going to exchange it."
Review 10 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Atrocious reliability - AVOID

Date: October 14, 2014
"I've used this laptop for about 2 months now for law school and I'm one of the few people on this planet that actually likes Windows 8.1. But it just died on me for no good reason.
I'll start by saying my u530 touch worked okay out of the box. It was a little glitchy here and there. But that's what you expect from a Windows machine nowadays. It's part of the charm (the trackpad stops working often, it loses wifi connection, the viewing angles are terrible, etc). It needs regular attention, and several restarts daily. I was annoyed, but okay with that.
Alas, the charm has worn off now that it literally will not turn back on after I shut it down two hours ago. It's not low on battery life... It's plugged in.
I've treated this laptop with supreme care for these two months. It usually just sits on my desk (I use a tablet for notetaking in class). And now it refuses to turn on.
My u530 touch is caput. And so is my faith in Lenovo. Wish me luck with customer service tomorrow..."
Review 11 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

hinge problem

Date: October 12, 2014
"This computer had the hing break on the right hand side after only 4 months of light use. Sent back and filled out the form truthfully saying it was not an accident. When they got it they wanted to charge me $268 dollars to fix. Then I pointed out that I had purchased accident protection and to fix my computer. I have had two issues since purchase. They are not customer focused. I have noticed the hinge is a real issue for a number of people."
Review 12 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Laptop

Date: October 6, 2014
"i bought this laptop and i absolutely love it...it is fast and reliable. Instant on from sleep in great."
Review 13 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

First Year University Student

Date: October 2, 2014
"I am a recently graduated HS student, going into my first year of university. I wanted a new laptop, and have heard a lot of great reviews from people who have taken my course with a Lenovo.
Pros:
-Very quick boot, great if you're late to class and need to start quick
-Solid build, a full metal case has kept it well protected in my bag among all my text books
-Touch screen is a great feature for scrolling through documents
-The back lit keyboard is great in a dark lecture hall
-Graphics card is great for some photo editing, and games on the side
Cons:
-Keyboard takes some getting used to. If you ship to Canada from the site you get the French-Canadian keyboard
-Multi-tasking slows down very quickly running multiple applications
-Heats up very quickly while running some games (bottom of the laptop is very hot!)
-Trackpad is very annoying trying to click and drag (use a mouse)
-A lot of bloat-ware
Overall: Great product! Will last me the rest of school for sure!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A Great Laptop!

Date: September 29, 2014
"I love it! It's slim and sleek. Takes a month to be delivered though."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I returned 2 Macs and got this instead

Date: September 21, 2014
"No boring Mac operating system here. I love this computer. The Dragon assistant is terrific. The specs with this computer are the same equivalent as any Mac product. I highly recommend you purchasing this computer."
Review 16 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

This laptop is cheap

Date: September 14, 2014
"I bought this when it was on sale and I needed a laptop. Overall, the performance is really good for the price, the battery is amazing and it does not overheat.
Unfortunately, the laptop itself is kinda cheap. It makes noises, and the keyboard is the worst keyboard I used in my life. The keys are too small and you need to push hardr than on a normal keyboard.
Also, the screen brightness is nt good, you can barely see what's on the screen when you are outside on a sunny day.
I would not recommend this laptop, unless it is under $750 or so."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed

Date: September 11, 2014
"This is another review about a broken hinge .... joining the masses with a laptop that will no longer close - and all due to the fact that the hinge is attached to a thin, flimsy, brittle piece of plastic instead of metal, or at the very least a more durable plastic. I've only had it for 9 months and other than a sort of cheap, clacky keyboard, it's a pretty good all purpose computer as far as the functions go. I just find it astounding that a company would ruin a good reputation by skimping on an essential part just to save a microscopic amount of money - really short sighted. This is my first Lenovo AND my last."
Review 18 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Feature Packed, but unreliable

Date: September 11, 2014
"I purchased this computer at the end of August and began having problems with it from the outset. I'm not blaming the computer itself because I believe most of the issues stemmed from Windows 8.1, but unfortunately, it left an awful impression. This is partly why I rated the PC relatively fairly for its features. I will just list the problems I experienced due to limitations on characters in the review:
1: The infamous "limited" connection for wifi
2: Sound stopped working
3: Screen Flicker (only happened once though)
4: Difficulty typing due to keyboard layout
The internet issues were the most frustrating for me and the loss of sound was the icing on the cake. Thankfully, Best Buy offered a 15-day return policy. I shouldn't have let the salesman convince me initially to get this computer since I went in for a MBP. I ended up trading it in and paying the extra for the MBP since I couldn't imagine owning another Windows PC after this experience. I'm delighted with the Apple MBP!"
Review 19 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Internet Issues

Date: September 6, 2014
"The laptop worked well for a few months, then issues began with my wireless card. I began sporadically losing internet due to "limited access". If the wifi was turned off, all signals would disappear. The laptop could not see any wireless networks. There seems to be a breakdown of software communication between my wireless driver and the software. When i called to complain and ask what i could do to fix this. I was told that this was a software issue and would cost me an additional 150$ to fix despite the fact that my laptop was 3 months old. It was a software issue, not a hardware one. I downloaded no programs or videos illegally on this laptop. Note, doing a system restore did nothing for me. Also, these laptops take forever to ship."
Review 20 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice but lacking

Date: September 5, 2014
"I purchased this laptop to replace a Dell. After the initial setup the laptop has worked fine. However it is slow to load your profile after a reboot. I was told that it came with a dual-band wireless card. I really didn't think anything of it until I upgraded my router a couple of months after this purchase. I discovered that the wireless card operates on a single band (2.4ghz). It's really disappointing considering that it is 2014 and most devices come with dual-band wireless cards. I've been checking forums and there doesn't seem to be a card that I can buy to work with my laptop. Also the Lenovo support is cumbersome to say the least. The support software installed does not clearly state the correct name of the laptop (ie. U530 Touch). You have to have the name to easily find your computer on their support website, searching by the model number displayed on the computer did not work in my case. There also isn't a tool that will scan your computer for outdated or missing drivers."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.