Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
2.985 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
21
3 stars
19
2 stars
25
1 star
34
56 of 134(42%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U530 Touch
Review 1 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a durable machine

Date: August 14, 2015
" My complaint is with durability. I guess I'm one of many who've had probelms with the hinges breaking apart. I saw a post on Lenovo's site saying they were covering these repairs because of a lot of complaints but when I called they refused. I took it into a local repair shop and the technician thought I had dropped based on the way it looked (top bent off an angle, framing twisted ) but it wasn't. Turned out the problem was the glue mounting the hinge to the back plate was insufficient. He said there wasn't enough of it to hold the plate in place. That he said was probably a manufacturing/design flaw. At least no parts were "broken" though the issue did stress out the monitor frame. The repair shop said that this was a frequent problem for some lenovos and had several others recently with the same problem. "
Review 2 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Hinge Broke

Date: August 10, 2015
" After one year of the most gentle use the hinge broke. For the record: I break nothing. I usually use laptops, phones ect... until the system is obsolete. I did nothing to cause it, and now I am stuck with a laptop that is a desktop because I can't move it. I can't sent it in for warranty because my life is on this laptop. So sad and disappointing. "
Review 3 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Besides a Broken Hinge, the COMPUTER WORKS!

Date: August 6, 2015
" I purchased the Lenovo in January of 2014 and have had no problems with the computer until now. Approximately two weeks ago, the hinge on my computer broke suddenly. I must also add that this was the first time I had every had a computer break in this manner.
However, with that said, I was fortunate enough to still be under a warranty through BestBuy Geek Squad; and thank GOD for that because the manufactures warranty had ended earlier this year. Unlike some of the other post, Lenovo had the parts and the computer was able to be repaired. I will be picking up the computer later today or sometime tomorrow. So, I have had an overall good experience; and I love my computer and its dual functions. "
Review 4 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

broken hinge in 8 months of use

Date: July 30, 2015
" Worst laptop ever. Hinge is a joke. They refunded my money rather than fix it - guess that means it isn't worth fixing! "
Review 5 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad screen and broken hinge

Date: July 30, 2015
" The screen dimness flickers when it moves slightly, and the hinge snapped after the first year. The graphics card is by default never in use, and once it is turned on, the computer gets very hot. "
Review 6 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this ideapad

Date: July 24, 2015
" love the versatility of this machine. I can choose to use the keyboard or the touchscreen. It's also lightweight and slim, so it's easy to carry around. Battery life is decent, too. The graphics are good as well. I'm happy that I went with a Lenovo this time. I've had it for a couple of months now and I'm very happy with it. "
Review 7 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Hinges broke in 3 months

Date: July 20, 2015
" I purchased the U530 as a college laptop. It performed extremely well as expected; however, the hinges are definitely faulty. I'm relieved (sorry for all of you who shared this misfortune) to see many more users of this product experience the same issue as I did. In less than 3 months of use with the laptop, I noticed the hinges were becoming loose: the screen and keyboard were beginning to disconnect from one another. I did not drop or damage my laptop in anyway. After reading these reviews, I'm inclined to believe the hinges are faulty, and I would definitely not recommend this product. The Lenovo U530 ran extremely fast and smooth for me with no problems, but a faulty hinge should be a deal breaker for anyone looking to purchase a laptop.
I wasn't able to send my laptop in until the school year was over and continued to use it as a desktop in my room. Hopefully, the warranty purchased with the laptop will cover a repair.
"
Review 8 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HINGES, guys!

Date: July 16, 2015
" was nice while it lasted... light, fast, pretty... but hinges broke out of the blue very soon after warranty was void. no replacement parts available for reasonable price --> total waste of money. COmputer still works well as a desktop, though. "
Review 9 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

First and Last Lenovo Experience

Date: July 15, 2015
" Looks like I wasn't the only one who is unhappy with Lenovo. I had been an HP die-hard fan ever since my first HP lasted literally almost 10 years with no hardware issues. I am actually an IT professional, so I'm well versed in the idea that if you take care of your computer, it should and can last a long time. This laptop was by far my worst experience with a laptop. the aluminum case is very poorly designed. I literally almost never travel with it, even in my own town and somehow it dents and scratches so very easily. The mousepad has this coating that is already peeling off and I use a USB mouse. Its just appalling how this thing is falling apart. I know they feel they are trying to compete with Macbooks but that is no excuse. I have seen ten year old macbooks that were better for the wear. Beyond that, the hard drive failed, conveniently just after the warranty was up. Before that it performed very poorly and overheated quite a bit. The hinges also are definitely flawed. "
Review 10 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Buy This Computer!

Date: July 14, 2015
" I have had this computer now for 6 months. I liked it at first; the interface and touch screen are nice and it is a great size and weight. But in that time, it has crashed twice to the blue screen of death requiring a complete wiping of my hard drive. The first time I was just watching Netflix and the second time I was typing a paper. I wasn't doing anything crazy with it. Now the hinge between the screen and the keyboard broke for no reason whatsoever (I didn't drop it or anything). This computer has been nothing but problems since I bought it. I would not recommend you spend your money on it. "
Review 11 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Hinge problem

Date: July 6, 2015
" 14 months seem to be the magic number for hinge problems. Loved the machine until the hinge failed and Lenovo said it does not have parts.
Not sure of what to get now.
"
Review 12 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor Quality - Multiple failures and unreliable

Date: July 6, 2015
" Purchased this unit 6 months ago and have had to send it in for warranty repair three times. First repair was for a defective mother board, second was for a hard drive failure and third for another motherboard. This is the worst quality and reliability of any electronics I have ever purchased. Each time it fails it has to be sent to a repair center and two weeks later it arrives back cleaned of all files. I do not recommend this product and would question all Lenovo products reliability since many of their products share basic components. "
Review 13 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

POOR touch screen quality and NOT great service

Date: June 30, 2015
" We bought this product in Aug.2014 in BestBuy. The touch screen/pad performed poorly from the beginning, the scrolling was the worst. We got used to this, since the overall computer performances were good. However, yesterday my screen stopped working! Since, I still have a warranty, I called the technical support. It took me 25 min. to persuade the representative to check if I can get a repair service. This check took other 10 minutes - but NO permission for repair. Why? Apparently they ran out of this LCD in their service center (probably it is that bad that they do not manufacture it anymore). So he had to forward my case to their customer service and I am waiting for an answer now. "
Review 14 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Problem after problem

Date: June 16, 2015
" I purchased the best buy version of this laptop which has somewhat better specs compared to the standard lenovo ones. After about two months I encountered my first problem. The laptop would crash and freeze every 20 minutes. Fast forward a year and I have had multiple motherboard replacements and system resets (luckily I have warranty with GeekSquad and Lenovo). This laptop works well when it wasn't crashing, shutting off randomly, freezing, and failing to show any indicator lights at all. Based on other reviews it seems that the hinge is faulty but I haven't experienced this yet. As a side note the keyboard is awful and flexes way too much. I have even had unresponsive keys at points. Overall the specs seem enticing especially for a modest price, but the laptop just leads to, as the title says problem after problem. "
Review 15 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Same - Bad WiFi

Date: June 3, 2015
" Great computer: fast, pretty, solid
But...as I type this, I am hard wired - Wifi is that bad (I'm the sucker that replaced my modem and router to the best money can buy...only to find out the computer is the issue)
Lenovo, I will say has GREAT customer service, was handcuffed...if I send it back they can only replacemthe WiFi card with the ORIGINAL SPEC....so if the spec was bad....no bother
Also, weird thing if I move the computer screen alot or close and open quickly, screen bounces until Alt-Cntrl-DLT
I'm sure there are better products "
Review 16 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Absolutely Not Worth Buying

Date: June 2, 2015
" The hinge broke and now it is not portable. This is from a semester of using it in college, did not drop at any time. The broken hinge cracked the touch-screen and popped. I will never buy a Lenovo laptop again. This waste of money upsetting. "
Review 17 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Fool's Gold

Date: May 30, 2015
" In appearance, this looks like a great computer. Great Performance. Great touch screen. However, after using this labtop for only few months, right hinge of the labtop popped while I was closing the labtop lightly and my screen is cracked. I can't carry around anymore and I have to careful with the screen.
I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and I can't believe Lenovo sold this product that breaks easily. "
Review 18 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A big disappointment

Date: May 29, 2015
" I was so excited to purchase this when I brought this for my doctoral program. I used it for 14 months and suddenly one day while opening it the screen cracked and broke. When I took it to the store to get it fixed I was told that it cannot be as Lenovo does not have the part for it. Now in the middle of my program I have to buy another one spending more money. Not expected this from Lenovo. I am surprised that they are still selling it as there are many reviews mentioning this issue. "
Review 19 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All Around Great Laptop

Date: May 25, 2015
" Pros: Great Screen, Great Battery, Great Laptop Overall
Around November 2014, I walked into BestBuy simply to window ship and walked out with this laptop. I was a junior in high school at that point planning on buying a laptop before the end of senior year for college. I was lucky enough to find this laptop.
The battery lasts long, its slim, its fast, it runs many games on steam, though I have some problems with CS:GO, and it has a great screen. I often take the laptop to school, as I work with many documents, projects, spreadsheets, and miscellaneous work with other people. This laptop never runs out of power. The touchscreen is surprisingly more useful than I thought.
I have used this laptop to edit several videos with Adobe Premiere Pro and it runs like a dream. I'd recommend this laptop to any students. I also use Photoshop with this laptop, but have not tried Cinema4D.
Only complaint is one scratch that I am not sure how I got it. "
Review 20 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Would not recommend

Date: May 21, 2015
" I bought this laptop in Jan '14 and this laptop was amazing. I used this extensively for my work which involves some heavy software and it was perfect. Handled everything superbly.
Last month the right side bottom edge of the screen protruded out all of a sudden. I didn't sit on on it, step on it and I use my laptops very carefully (I still have a 6 year old Dell Inspiron that still runs great but lacks the power to run my software, hence bought this Lenovo). It was like that for a week. Then all of a sudden, the entire plastic strip on the bottom that connects the screen to the keyboard came out and the hinges broke. Just like that! I didn't know what to do and called customer care. They said my warranty was up and cannot replace it. But it could be repaired for a price of $250-$300. Checked online and came to know that this is THE most common problem for U530. Cheaply made hinges and over 1000 people had the exact same problem.
Never buying a lenovo again. "