Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.33 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
19
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 star
18
50 of 100(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U530 Touch
Review 1 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

My U530 makes my life less Frustrating

Date: March 28, 2015
" This is by far the best laptop I have every used for business! It strikes the right balance of weight, performance, function, and battery life for this power user. My laptop is key to operating my business and it has to be ready and reliable at all hours of the day and night. I cannot afford any down time or technical challenges. I will be changing over all of my employee laptops to the Lenovo U500 series! One area of opportunity is to reduce the extra programs, or at least to have the ability to wipe them out. I'm not a huge company and setting up a new laptop for me or an employee takes time, which includes deleting unnecessary programs. Other than that, Love my Lenovo U530! "
Review 2 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Alright performance, TERRIBLE hinge problem

Date: March 24, 2015
" This is not a very good computer. I was a little let down by the speed of the i7 processor and the graphics card. There was regular lag when running websites, running larger programs, and trying to scroll through PDFs. Viewing angle is very narrow and brightness of the screen is sub par as well. The worst part about the computer is the terrible hinge; the screen disconnected from the rest of the computer from NORMAL use after about 5 months of very gentle use. I would avoid purchasing this computer, as I know several other people with this problem, and it is INEVITABLE, the hinge will break on you and the computer will not be usable. At some point you will need to ship the computer into Lenovo, which is a two month process at best to get it fixed or replaced. "
Review 3 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo U530

Date: March 23, 2015
" I bought this computer mainly to do music production and some video production work. I had a limited budget to deal with. I had to buy a new camera as well. Pros: Nice clean look, slim design, boots up very fast, The backlit keyboard can be switched on/off. Mine had nice features like dual hard drive. 1. SS drive and the other a large 1 TB drive. It has a i7 processor 8 GB Ram. Touchscreen. For me this computer has a lot of features of the money.
Cons: No DVD burner, I didn't realize it was an Ultrabook. No Memory slot? I may not need to, but I was upset to discover that. Overall I am happy with it. I went many years without a decent laptop to use. So far, it has worked great with software and hardware devices except for one. That is a driver issue and not Lenovo's fault. I do want to see an option to get the memory doubled, even if I have to go to an authorized dealer or send it in. I have never heard of no extra memory slots. Even my old ACER Netbook had the ability to do that!
"
Review 4 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible keyboard and Wifi

Date: March 20, 2015
" I have had my Lenovo U530 now for several months having waited a long time after ordering it direct. The keyboard is very erratic causing lots of errors. I also have a Yoga 2 Pro that does not have these issues which was the main reason for purchasing the U530. Very disappointing for a high end computer.
WiFi is another issue. Connectivity distance is very short. These are two very important issues that should be corrected for all of us who own these machines.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointment by Lenovo

Date: March 19, 2015
" I have purchased this laptop a year ago, hoping for a reliable and sleek laptop to work on during my travels. What came at first sounded exactly what I imagined. However soon problems started to arise. There was the technical aspects - the hinge of the laptop started to crack and eventually broke the screen - disabling the touch function, the battery started to drain way faster than expected, the wifi module installed misbehaved on certain frequency wifi hotspots around the world, the harddrive started to be suspiciously slow. There were the software aspects - the system would not shut down properly and driver issues would force the system into a Blue screen. Trying to solve these issues through warranty with Lenovo did not go as expected either. I felt I have tried to make all the efforts I could to reach out as a customer, hoping for some understanding. Instead I was met with not so nice technical representatives who in the end did not even respond to my complaint. This was a miss. "
Review 6 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

a big mistake

Date: March 18, 2015
" my laptop is almost in 2 pieces. the build quality is not very good.. "
Review 7 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

WORST PURCHASE!!!

Date: March 17, 2015
" A hinge problem!!! The screen detached form the rest of the laptop. Not even half a year!!! Do not purchase!!!!!! "
Review 8 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

HORRIBLE! DON'T BUY!

Date: March 6, 2015
" MY SCREEN DETACHED FROM THE REST OF THE BODY, I'm a student, and I take it with me everywhere. Because it's a 15 inch I can never fit it into a smaller bag and I have to always go with a large jansport bookbag. It says it's an ultrabook, but no! It's so freakin' heavy! Haven't used it for 2 years, the screen detach one day when I was simply sitting and having it on my lap. When it detaches, the front hinge reveals to be this flimsy plastic material. When I tried to close the flap, all the internal wires popped out. When asking for engineer maintenance, they were asking for $400 with a $100 deposit. Just that can get me a durable thinkpad. DO NOT BUY!!!!! "
Review 9 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

U530's Performance & Etc.

Date: February 27, 2015
" I have been using my U530 for a month now.
CONS: There were two different occasions of brief hardware failures. The microphone gave out for no reason. I didn't have to reinstall drivers. Instead I just turned on the laptop the next day and it worked fine. The speakers stopped working and the very next day they started working again. Haven't had any hardware issues since. Simply a minor hiccup most likely caused from the all the Windows 8.1 updates.
A good amount of bloatware on the computer. Most techies suggest a clean install instead of using Lenovo's installation. I must stress that Lenovo's bloatware is not NEAR as bad as Sony's bloatware on their laptops. Dear lord.
Audio crackles. More of an OS problem than a Lenovo laptop problem.
PROS:
Affordable. out the door price $657.
The CD Drive is always the first thing to start malfunctioning on Laptops. This laptop doesn't have one. Problem solved! Buy a USB CD Drive if you have to have one.
I could go on. "
Review 10 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Exterior Chasis -LCD

Date: February 13, 2015
" Problem with the exterior hinge coming detached from key board to LCD. Multiple issues. "
Review 11 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Screen tremors

Date: February 11, 2015
" Recently, the screen on my laptop has started "tremoring" after I close the lid and open it again. It is a huge concern for me because I just started using it. The only way to stop the tremors and be able to use the computer is to manually shut it down because it doesn't even allow me to move my mouse. I am hoping this will not reduce the lifetime of my laptop. "
Review 12 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Too many complications

Date: January 30, 2015
" I bought this laptop intending to keep it through my four years of college but not even 1 month in I can see that will not be happening. The speakers like to go in and out, sometimes to register that i'm using headphones I have to restart the whole computer and from time to time playing music sounds like scratching a record over and over. It does have great features like it's battery life and some other cool stuff but that does not make it any less annoying sometimes. My friend has the yoga and hasn't expressed any of these concerns so everything but this model works fine I guess. "
Review 13 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

ANOTHER BROKEN HINGE

Date: January 29, 2015
" For the price I paid for this laptop, it really should have lasted more that 6 MONTHS. The hinge no longer closes and I had to send it in for repair. They are out of the necessary parts and I will not receive my laptop for over a month. I will never buy another Lenovo product. Very disappointed in the quality. "
Review 14 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

FATAL FLAW

Date: January 20, 2015
" I've had this for 2 months.
I'm not going to go into the 'special features' of this thing.
Its fatal flaw is the keyboard design. The keys must have some grooves to give grip, but not too much. It must be positioned over the circuits that register the hits to respond promptly and accurately.
The keys are too smooth, and the keys are awkwardly positioned, missing every 1/4 hits on average. This is probably because you need to hit each key with a considerable amount of force for it to register. I have to keep my fingers on the key maybe a 1/2-1 full second longer. Moreover, the spacing between each key, the 'travel', is too wide. I used to type 60/min. on my old latop' now I barely get 20. 60 is acceptable for a college student; 20 is not. I seem to correcting every other word I type, whether it's because a letter was missing, or I accidentally hit a key.
If I'd known about the keyboard in advance, I'd never have bought it. Killing my productivity (typing) is a deal-breaker. "
Review 15 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

versatility!

Date: January 20, 2015
" I love the versatility of this machine. I can choose to use the keyboard or the touchscreen. It's also lightweight and slim, so it's easy to carry around. Battery life is decent, too.
The graphics are good as well.
I'm happy that I went with a Lenovo this time. I've had it for a couple of months now and I'm very happy with it. "
Review 16 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop, decent value

Date: January 20, 2015
" I bought this laptop a couple months ago and thus far have really enjoyed it. I wanted a laptop with an Intel core I7 processor and most were out of my price range. This one was, though still a bit pricey, was within my budget and so far I have been more than satisfied with its processing power, graphics, and overall performance. "
Review 17 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Good choice amongst the competition

Date: January 20, 2015
" I have been very happy with my purchase with one exception. While still under factory warranty the system crashed on me and had to be sent back to the manufacturer and have the motherboard wiped clean and Windows was reinstalled so all of my data was lost and it was very inconvenient. "
Review 18 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Purchase Ever: Faulty Hinges

Date: January 5, 2015
" I purchased this laptop to use at college. Meaning it would be used daily. Before buying this laptop I did thorough research, I needed something reliable. I couldn’t find any issues.
Then that changed. I owned this laptop for 2 months and it broke. I used it strictly in my dorm at my desk. The hinge is faulty. It separated from the main display and if you would try to open of close it, the problem would worsen. Eventually the display itself would have broken if I hadn’t I stopped using it.
In order to repair this hinge I had to send it in. But this problem isn't covered under standard warranty. Therefore, the repair would have cost me an additional $269. The problem is clearly a manufacturing defect. I also feel that Lenovo should fix this issue. Post-break I discovered the other reviews about this product. Thousands say the same thing: faulty hinges and bad service.I was thoroughly disappointed with the laptop and Lenovo. I will not be making another purchase through Lenovo.
"
Review 19 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost Perfect

Date: January 5, 2015
" Love my computer, but it only has a few small problems. First, the screen isn't very bright and reflects a good amount of light, making it hard to see at times. Second, the touchpad isnt the best. Other than that, the computers awesome! "
Review 20 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Product

Date: January 5, 2015
" Pros: Excellent design, a powerful laptop for computing, I run heavy applications such as MATLAB and works good. FHD looks great and the touch works perfect. keypad works pretty fine as well as the Motion control.
Cons: The overall product is good but the battery is not promised to stay for long duration as given in the specifications, it hardly stays for about 3 to 4 hours of continuous usage. The outer package is not strong as it bends if you put even a little force on it. "