Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.09 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (122 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
20
3 stars
18
2 stars
23
1 star
27
54 of 122(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U530 Touch
Review 1 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Problem after problem

Date: June 16, 2015
" I purchased the best buy version of this laptop which has somewhat better specs compared to the standard lenovo ones. After about two months I encountered my first problem. The laptop would crash and freeze every 20 minutes. Fast forward a year and I have had multiple motherboard replacements and system resets (luckily I have warranty with GeekSquad and Lenovo). This laptop works well when it wasn't crashing, shutting off randomly, freezing, and failing to show any indicator lights at all. Based on other reviews it seems that the hinge is faulty but I haven't experienced this yet. As a side note the keyboard is awful and flexes way too much. I have even had unresponsive keys at points. Overall the specs seem enticing especially for a modest price, but the laptop just leads to, as the title says problem after problem. "
Review 2 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Same - Bad WiFi

Date: June 3, 2015
" Great computer: fast, pretty, solid
But...as I type this, I am hard wired - Wifi is that bad (I'm the sucker that replaced my modem and router to the best money can buy...only to find out the computer is the issue)
Lenovo, I will say has GREAT customer service, was handcuffed...if I send it back they can only replacemthe WiFi card with the ORIGINAL SPEC....so if the spec was bad....no bother
Also, weird thing if I move the computer screen alot or close and open quickly, screen bounces until Alt-Cntrl-DLT
I'm sure there are better products "
Review 3 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Absolutely Not Worth Buying

Date: June 2, 2015
" The hinge broke and now it is not portable. This is from a semester of using it in college, did not drop at any time. The broken hinge cracked the touch-screen and popped. I will never buy a Lenovo laptop again. This waste of money upsetting. "
Review 4 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Fool's Gold

Date: May 30, 2015
" In appearance, this looks like a great computer. Great Performance. Great touch screen. However, after using this labtop for only few months, right hinge of the labtop popped while I was closing the labtop lightly and my screen is cracked. I can't carry around anymore and I have to careful with the screen.
I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and I can't believe Lenovo sold this product that breaks easily. "
Review 5 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

A big disappointment

Date: May 29, 2015
" I was so excited to purchase this when I brought this for my doctoral program. I used it for 14 months and suddenly one day while opening it the screen cracked and broke. When I took it to the store to get it fixed I was told that it cannot be as Lenovo does not have the part for it. Now in the middle of my program I have to buy another one spending more money. Not expected this from Lenovo. I am surprised that they are still selling it as there are many reviews mentioning this issue. "
Review 6 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

All Around Great Laptop

Date: May 25, 2015
" Pros: Great Screen, Great Battery, Great Laptop Overall
Around November 2014, I walked into BestBuy simply to window ship and walked out with this laptop. I was a junior in high school at that point planning on buying a laptop before the end of senior year for college. I was lucky enough to find this laptop.
The battery lasts long, its slim, its fast, it runs many games on steam, though I have some problems with CS:GO, and it has a great screen. I often take the laptop to school, as I work with many documents, projects, spreadsheets, and miscellaneous work with other people. This laptop never runs out of power. The touchscreen is surprisingly more useful than I thought.
I have used this laptop to edit several videos with Adobe Premiere Pro and it runs like a dream. I'd recommend this laptop to any students. I also use Photoshop with this laptop, but have not tried Cinema4D.
Only complaint is one scratch that I am not sure how I got it. "
Review 7 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Would not recommend

Date: May 21, 2015
" I bought this laptop in Jan '14 and this laptop was amazing. I used this extensively for my work which involves some heavy software and it was perfect. Handled everything superbly.
Last month the right side bottom edge of the screen protruded out all of a sudden. I didn't sit on on it, step on it and I use my laptops very carefully (I still have a 6 year old Dell Inspiron that still runs great but lacks the power to run my software, hence bought this Lenovo). It was like that for a week. Then all of a sudden, the entire plastic strip on the bottom that connects the screen to the keyboard came out and the hinges broke. Just like that! I didn't know what to do and called customer care. They said my warranty was up and cannot replace it. But it could be repaired for a price of $250-$300. Checked online and came to know that this is THE most common problem for U530. Cheaply made hinges and over 1000 people had the exact same problem.
Never buying a lenovo again. "
Review 8 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Takes me back to 1985

Date: May 20, 2015
" November 18, 2014 is when I purchased this laptop. This is the worst computer. I often revert to my eight year old Dell while this Lenovo is wondering why it lost connectivity with my 50 mbps wireless.
Windows 8.1 may be part of the problem. All I know is that I've hated this computer for over six months.
Oh, another thing, restricted hinge. It begs to be broken. "
Review 9 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Read Reviews about the hinges

Date: May 19, 2015
" I really don't want to have to write anything at all right now about my laptop because it's depressing enough to have to keep using it.
When researching I read all the reviews on this particular model and thought if I was just careful, there would be no problem. Unfortunately, the right hinge broke within 4 months and I've been leaving it open without closing the lid for Weeks at a time. Imagine leaving your laptop open at nearly the same angle for Weeks, wiping dust off of the keyboard and screen every few days. Having to cradle the lid and body every time you want to move it around the house or the office. Not being able to transport it Anywhere beyond those two places because you can't Close it. I wish I had heeded the warnings of others so heed mine. DON'T get this laptop if you need it beyond 2-3 months. Please. Please consider other options. For those of you who have purchased one, return it if you still can. A broken hinge trumps Everything else this laptop has to offer
"
Review 10 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointment

Date: May 15, 2015
" My last laptop lasted 5 years, and it was also a lenovo. It was reliable in all ways, so when it was time to replace it, I naturally wanted another one just like it. I paid a thousand dollars for the U530, thinking that I'd be getting an even better machine (the last one was only about $600).
Unfortunately, this one has been glitchy and frustrating from the very beginning.
1. The touch screen will sometimes just go nuts when I open the laptop and log on, requiring me to reboot.
2. Wifi, no matter the place or strength of others' signals, is spotty at best.
3. It's slow to start.
4. I've had to tighten the screws on the back of the computer twice because of flexibility issues.
5. The touch pad has a strange double-click glitch on the right side.
Nothing has BROKEN, per se, but this machine frustrates me on a daily basis, and I can't believe I paid a thousand dollars for it. "
Review 11 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible Laptop, Hinge Broke After 6 Months

Date: May 14, 2015
" Another review about how the hinge on this laptop broke after only 6 months of use. Hardware is okay, touchpad is okay, but hinge is terrible. "
Review 12 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Awful

Date: May 12, 2015
" I purchased this laptop for college and bought the 500$ protection plan. I made a huge mistake. It rarely gets wifi, it is just a little bit faster than my 6 year old laptop, and the touch screen erratically presses everywhere and sometimes it even exits out of documents. The hinge also broke on mine (which i hear is common problem). Alas, i am stuck with this laptop for the next five years. DO NOT BUY, please, for your own mental health. NEVER buying Lenovo again. "
Review 13 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Yet another model with lenovo's faulty design

Date: May 12, 2015
" Although the features and performance look promising,Dont buy this laptop!!..
Lenovo's problem with the hinges is quite famous now .I,neglecting its bad reviews of its design, bought this laptop,and after just using it for 6 months the left hinge broke (laptop was not roughly used or anything) . Also i bought this model from US,but i am in India right now ,where its not supported for even paid service.So be careful ,even though it have international warranty,it is not supported everywhere.
Also based on the reviews from other customers, i can see it wouldn't have made much difference, as the lenovo's service specialist said it is due to the misuse of laptop.
Also in some cases ,due to unavailability of parts they have provided refund after some months of taking it to repair.
And if you are unlucky it might break just after your warranty period...by then you would have to pay about half of the total cost of your laptop to repair it..
So again saying...Dont buy it!! "
Review 14 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Faulty hinge

Date: May 11, 2015
" Lets start with the fact this laptop costs $1000. As such, I would have expectations of this laptop being pretty reliable for home use.
However within a few months the hinges (right hinge specifically) on the computer screen failed and cracked the screen when i was going to close the computer. When I tried to call the company about a warranty, it was deemed to not be regular wear. This is something I've seen other reviewers touch on as well.
Once they told me that, we decided to keep using the computer as, well, we payed $1000 for it. With the cracked screen we were evventually able to turn off the touchscreen, then hook it up to a monitor so we could use the laptop almost as a desktop. However we ran in to another problem around a month after the screen breaking. For some reason the computer would turn on, however wouldn't boot windows 8 anymore. We have tried quite a bit to try and remedy the problem, however we've been unable to and have moved on to another laptop. "
Review 15 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love this ideapad u530 touch

Date: May 10, 2015
" hello friends i am from kathmandu Nepal,today i wanna tell you somethings that this laptop gana rock you... "
Review 16 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Hinge problem with this model

Date: April 30, 2015
" A year after I bought this laptop the hinge between the screen and the keyboard started to break. I couldn't send it in because it was just past the 1 year warranty. I never used it rough, never dropped it or anything. Now I cannot even close the lid because the hinge starts making cracking noises and the plastic attached to the bottom of the screen starts to come off. It's truly a huge disappointment because it's no longer portable. I wouldn't recommend this model to anyone. "
Review 17 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I Love my laptop

Date: April 28, 2015
" I love the features first, and the reliability. The perfomance is VERY good. I am very happy with it. Lastly, the weight is superior. I love how thin and light it is. "
Review 18 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Unless there is an updated lid design? Avoid!

Date: April 27, 2015
" I owned a U530 Touch for 5 months...till like so many others, the hinge mount detached from the lid causing the digitizer to crack. Unless this critical design flaw was addressed and I've seen no indication that it has, this model should be avoided at any cost.. The all metal shell is nice, but it's way too heavy and doesn't get near the battery life (we never got more than 5 hours, usually significantly less) to consider this an "ultrabook". The downside of that metal shell is that upgrades are a pain and the memory is soldered in to boot. It also has my single least favorite laptop keyboard. Too many compromises for style with little substance. OTH, with a little prodding, Lenovo support has been decent to me. "
Review 19 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Broken

Date: April 23, 2015
" The laptop broke where the hinges attach to the screen. It then cracked the screen which has an interesting effect on a touch screen laptop. I never took this laptop outside of my apartment and it spent most of its time as a desktop replacement. So now it is the most expensive paper weight in the world! The customer service is terrible too and didn't help me at all. I did liked the laptop before it broke though! The laptop did have a Wi-Fi problem before it broke but was fixable with a lot of time and messing around. "
Review 20 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Decent Laptop

Date: April 22, 2015
" The U530 is a fair laptop. I bought mine considerably less that the original price due to an open box return, so I am happy with what I got for the price. But it is a little fragile around the screen. The screen will flex quite a bit, and creak when opening or closing it. The battery life is also not even close to the 10 hrs that were advertised (even when just typing a word document). The lack of battery is by far the most disappointing. And the wifi card seems to forget the network every once in a while prompting a reboot. Which is a mild annoyance. If you are looking for a laptop I would look for a different lenovo model, or a different laptop if you are going to pay the full 999.99 "