Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
12
41 of 76(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U530 Touch
Review 1 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Hinge Issue

Date: December 15, 2014
" I really wish I had read the reviews in more detail before I purchased this laptop. After two days of use, my hard drive malfunctioned. After one month I had the hinge issue. When I called support they tried to tell me I damaged it. I sent them a picture and then the supervisor agreed that it was nothing I did. My feeling is that this laptop is too wide and heavy for how they have put it together... I have a feeling this is going to become an expensive desktop replacement. I worked for IBM for 15 years, so I trusted the Thinkpad/Ideapad brand... I use this laptop to travel for work.. now I don't trust it all "
Review 2 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Problems

Date: December 10, 2014
" I switched to this computer after using Macs for several yeas. I have to say the build quality of this machine is pretty bad. Two months in and the hinge cracked my screen due to a loose screw. Once I got it back the left mouse seemed to be broken. It would still work but it would require an extra push to get the left mouse to click. It would go halfway down and stop and then you would have to push harder for it to actually click. Super annoying. I sent it in again and got it back just to find that the issue was not fixed. Granted it is a small issue but the fact that I spent close to $1000 on this computer just to have this many problems in the first four months has gotten me really aggravated. I would not recommend a Lenovo product to anyone until someone or something can change my mind. "
Review 3 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst $ ever spent

Date: December 2, 2014
" I have only had this model for less than 3 month and despite keeping it in perfect condition with the plastic still on so not even a fingerprint gets on it, the infamous hinge problem I now see in so many reviews arose. The left hinge became stuck in the closed position and ripped right out of the laptop when I attempted a routine opening. This model has very basic manufacturing issues that needs to addressed as this is not an isolated incident. And the manufacturers warranty dictates that I've got to send my laptop in at my own expense rather than being sent a box like any normal manufacturer would. Bad product + bad service, I would not recommend this to anyone. "
Review 4 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Cost x Benefit

Date: December 1, 2014
" Nowadays everybody knows that sometimes we pay more for an old brand than its quality. Lenovo bring to us an high quality product with strong specifications (to its price), and one thing that I need to say is: with these specifications you will spent maybe 250 dollars more in a Dell, Toshiba, Samsung etc... So I recommend. "
Review 5 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst thing ever

Date: November 28, 2014
" im a big computer nerd and ihave had to rest this computer about 4 times now. "
Review 6 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Poor Build Quality & Bad Warranty Servicing

Date: November 27, 2014
" Within 3 months of getting this laptop, the fan started making mechanical noise.
Within 6 months, there is a crack developing in the area near the hinge.
When I called a technician for help with repairing the issues I was asked to mail the laptop to a location in Texas and I am expected to survive without a laptop for 10 business days which is very difficult for a student.
"
Review 7 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Quality

Date: November 25, 2014
" I would have given it all 5 stars if the hand motion works on third party apps like magazine app Zinio.
Everything else great! I made sure I got i7 with 8gb ram, 500gb hybrid hdd to be sure it will last me at least 4 years. I got a full 3 year service at home warranty also. I got the black Friday deal then the 10% discover cash back. I believe I'm set! "
Review 8 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Quality, Some errors

Date: November 18, 2014
" As of writing this article, I have personally found this model to be highly efficent and surpirior to tohers.
The 8 GB of RAM helps the computer run super smooth, and the visuals are great.
But there is one huge glaring problem.
The hinge of this product is notoriously faulty, as evidenced by the many reviews complaining about it.
As for me, I happily used my model for less then six months before my right hinge popped out of it's setting. I am unable to close or move my laptop screen, and I am also able to completely remove the black protective cover that conceals the hinge mechanism. I did not drop or even hit my laptop off of anything that would have led to possible hinge problems.
This model is overall very good however, and I would recommend it for those looking for a HP Envy- level laptop that has superior performance. Just be aware of the hinge issues and take steps to prevent any possible breakage. "
Review 9 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Upsetting

Date: November 11, 2014
" I first ordered this laptop and the wifi card did not work so I had to return it and I thought the one that I got was just an unfortunate dud! When I got the next one the wifi card worked but the build quality is terrible. There such a huge gap between the cheap plastic outside cover and the the keyboard panel that you could see inside the laptop! So mad! "
Review 10 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

One of the best I have bought!

Date: November 9, 2014
" Best product by Lenovo so far for me. I would love to actually keep this. This device had a issue with Windows 8.1 and crashed after performing updates. I called Lenovo customer service and they provided instructions on how it works. The support is really friendly and a added value for there products. With it being a local business in my area I have to support them with buying. I still own a excellent tablet from this business. I am going to buy a Apple Mac because of the continued problems with Windows "
Review 11 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Hinge problem

Date: November 8, 2014
" The hinge on the left got popped out as soon as I opened the screen. "
Review 12 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

It's been a Struggle

Date: October 21, 2014
" My review may be unfair since my constant crashing problems may have more to do with my using Open Office, than with the computer. Other computing elements seem OK.
Dislike the keyboard. Frequently it does not recognize a keystroke and other times it loads extra letters.
I'm trying so hard to like it, but it has been frustrating. "
Review 13 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

IT Executive

Date: October 16, 2014
" I have had every laptop on the market and I keep coming back to Lenovo. I was just in a large Electronics Retail store and talking to the HP rep and found it funny that he also says Lenovo makes the best laptops on the market. I use this laptop as one of three I use for business daily. It travels with me everywhere and links into my servers, databases and internal systems perfectly. It's fast, reliable and their technology on keyboards is second to none! For the reviews below stating it's not the ThinkPad talk to some people that know computers. There's a reason Lenovo won't offer corporate discounts on the IdeaPad like they do on the ThinkPad's. This is a fantastic Business machine and perfect for the kids heading to college. It'll get you through multiple degree's. I have over 500 consultants working for me and they will all be getting a Lenovo as their next laptop. "
Review 14 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad Keypoard and bad performance

Date: October 15, 2014
" I am big fan of the IBM thinkpads , I decided to switch and buy this new ideapad and was very disappointed. When you start typing on the keyboard it gets erratic and the touch pad is useless as it does not react properly. I decided to update the BIOS after few months of having the laptop and it got rid of the OS and became unbootable so I had to send it for repair...Lenovo support was good but I was disappointed that a brand new laptop like this did not perform to my expectation I should have stayed with the Thinkpad T series "
Review 15 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

So far I am loving this computer

Date: October 14, 2014
" I also went from an HP ENVY, which I bought brand new and had to exchange three times because of dead pixels on the screen. Three different computers with the same issue, then I decided to get this computer. So far I am very satisfied with this and don't think I am going to exchange it. "
Review 16 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Atrocious reliability - AVOID

Date: October 14, 2014
" I've used this laptop for about 2 months now for law school and I'm one of the few people on this planet that actually likes Windows 8.1. But it just died on me for no good reason.
I'll start by saying my u530 touch worked okay out of the box. It was a little glitchy here and there. But that's what you expect from a Windows machine nowadays. It's part of the charm (the trackpad stops working often, it loses wifi connection, the viewing angles are terrible, etc). It needs regular attention, and several restarts daily. I was annoyed, but okay with that.
Alas, the charm has worn off now that it literally will not turn back on after I shut it down two hours ago. It's not low on battery life... It's plugged in.
I've treated this laptop with supreme care for these two months. It usually just sits on my desk (I use a tablet for notetaking in class). And now it refuses to turn on.
My u530 touch is caput. And so is my faith in Lenovo. Wish me luck with customer service tomorrow... "
Review 17 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

hinge problem

Date: October 12, 2014
" This computer had the hing break on the right hand side after only 4 months of light use. Sent back and filled out the form truthfully saying it was not an accident. When they got it they wanted to charge me $268 dollars to fix. Then I pointed out that I had purchased accident protection and to fix my computer. I have had two issues since purchase. They are not customer focused. I have noticed the hinge is a real issue for a number of people. "
Review 18 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Laptop

Date: October 6, 2014
" i bought this laptop and i absolutely love it...it is fast and reliable. Instant on from sleep in great. "
Review 19 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

First Year University Student

Date: October 2, 2014
" I am a recently graduated HS student, going into my first year of university. I wanted a new laptop, and have heard a lot of great reviews from people who have taken my course with a Lenovo.
Pros:
-Very quick boot, great if you're late to class and need to start quick
-Solid build, a full metal case has kept it well protected in my bag among all my text books
-Touch screen is a great feature for scrolling through documents
-The back lit keyboard is great in a dark lecture hall
-Graphics card is great for some photo editing, and games on the side
Cons:
-Keyboard takes some getting used to. If you ship to Canada from the site you get the French-Canadian keyboard
-Multi-tasking slows down very quickly running multiple applications
-Heats up very quickly while running some games (bottom of the laptop is very hot!)
-Trackpad is very annoying trying to click and drag (use a mouse)
-A lot of bloat-ware
Overall: Great product! Will last me the rest of school for sure! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A Great Laptop!

Date: September 29, 2014
" I love it! It's slim and sleek. Takes a month to be delivered though. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.