Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.374 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
16
47 of 91(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U530 Touch
Review 1 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Exterior Chasis -LCD

Date: February 13, 2015
" Problem with the exterior hinge coming detached from key board to LCD. Multiple issues. "
Review 2 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Screen tremors

Date: February 11, 2015
" Recently, the screen on my laptop has started "tremoring" after I close the lid and open it again. It is a huge concern for me because I just started using it. The only way to stop the tremors and be able to use the computer is to manually shut it down because it doesn't even allow me to move my mouse. I am hoping this will not reduce the lifetime of my laptop. "
Review 3 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Too many complications

Date: January 30, 2015
" I bought this laptop intending to keep it through my four years of college but not even 1 month in I can see that will not be happening. The speakers like to go in and out, sometimes to register that i'm using headphones I have to restart the whole computer and from time to time playing music sounds like scratching a record over and over. It does have great features like it's battery life and some other cool stuff but that does not make it any less annoying sometimes. My friend has the yoga and hasn't expressed any of these concerns so everything but this model works fine I guess. "
Review 4 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

ANOTHER BROKEN HINGE

Date: January 29, 2015
" For the price I paid for this laptop, it really should have lasted more that 6 MONTHS. The hinge no longer closes and I had to send it in for repair. They are out of the necessary parts and I will not receive my laptop for over a month. I will never buy another Lenovo product. Very disappointed in the quality. "
Review 5 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

FATAL FLAW

Date: January 20, 2015
" I've had this for 2 months.
I'm not going to go into the 'special features' of this thing.
Its fatal flaw is the keyboard design. The keys must have some grooves to give grip, but not too much. It must be positioned over the circuits that register the hits to respond promptly and accurately.
The keys are too smooth, and the keys are awkwardly positioned, missing every 1/4 hits on average. This is probably because you need to hit each key with a considerable amount of force for it to register. I have to keep my fingers on the key maybe a 1/2-1 full second longer. Moreover, the spacing between each key, the 'travel', is too wide. I used to type 60/min. on my old latop' now I barely get 20. 60 is acceptable for a college student; 20 is not. I seem to correcting every other word I type, whether it's because a letter was missing, or I accidentally hit a key.
If I'd known about the keyboard in advance, I'd never have bought it. Killing my productivity (typing) is a deal-breaker. "
Review 6 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

versatility!

Date: January 20, 2015
" I love the versatility of this machine. I can choose to use the keyboard or the touchscreen. It's also lightweight and slim, so it's easy to carry around. Battery life is decent, too.
The graphics are good as well.
I'm happy that I went with a Lenovo this time. I've had it for a couple of months now and I'm very happy with it. "
Review 7 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop, decent value

Date: January 20, 2015
" I bought this laptop a couple months ago and thus far have really enjoyed it. I wanted a laptop with an Intel core I7 processor and most were out of my price range. This one was, though still a bit pricey, was within my budget and so far I have been more than satisfied with its processing power, graphics, and overall performance. "
Review 8 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Good choice amongst the competition

Date: January 20, 2015
" I have been very happy with my purchase with one exception. While still under factory warranty the system crashed on me and had to be sent back to the manufacturer and have the motherboard wiped clean and Windows was reinstalled so all of my data was lost and it was very inconvenient. "
Review 9 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Purchase Ever: Faulty Hinges

Date: January 5, 2015
" I purchased this laptop to use at college. Meaning it would be used daily. Before buying this laptop I did thorough research, I needed something reliable. I couldn’t find any issues.
Then that changed. I owned this laptop for 2 months and it broke. I used it strictly in my dorm at my desk. The hinge is faulty. It separated from the main display and if you would try to open of close it, the problem would worsen. Eventually the display itself would have broken if I hadn’t I stopped using it.
In order to repair this hinge I had to send it in. But this problem isn't covered under standard warranty. Therefore, the repair would have cost me an additional $269. The problem is clearly a manufacturing defect. I also feel that Lenovo should fix this issue. Post-break I discovered the other reviews about this product. Thousands say the same thing: faulty hinges and bad service.I was thoroughly disappointed with the laptop and Lenovo. I will not be making another purchase through Lenovo.
"
Review 10 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost Perfect

Date: January 5, 2015
" Love my computer, but it only has a few small problems. First, the screen isn't very bright and reflects a good amount of light, making it hard to see at times. Second, the touchpad isnt the best. Other than that, the computers awesome! "
Review 11 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Product

Date: January 5, 2015
" Pros: Excellent design, a powerful laptop for computing, I run heavy applications such as MATLAB and works good. FHD looks great and the touch works perfect. keypad works pretty fine as well as the Motion control.
Cons: The overall product is good but the battery is not promised to stay for long duration as given in the specifications, it hardly stays for about 3 to 4 hours of continuous usage. The outer package is not strong as it bends if you put even a little force on it. "
Review 12 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

u530 outstanding computer

Date: January 5, 2015
" easy to use. price was great. very light weight "
Review 13 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

hinge defect

Date: December 31, 2014
" I purcheased this laptop from bestbuy 3 months ago. It was a great laptop untill I opened it and the hinge completely broke. This was due to no fault of my own. The problem seems to be the the extremely cheap hinge. "
Review 14 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Anton

Date: December 28, 2014
" it has been a month since i own Lenovo u530, it is year 2014 and I paid a $1,300 for a laptop that has a camera worst than a vision of a blind person ... if you know what I mean! i7, 8gb of ram 1tb hdd with 16gb ssd, it is taking more than 2minutes for the system to booth ... my 2005 HP its faster than that! and my 4 year old iMac starts up in less than a minute ...!!! what the actual heck! this is my first ever bad review of a product of any kind that I've written! wow "
Review 15 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

READ BEFORE BUYING!

Date: December 17, 2014
" I'm sad. I really wanted this computer to work out... but first off, I feel cheated, and second off, I can't have internet speeds cut by 1/5th. Read on for more information.
Up to 10 hours battery life IF YOU DON'T USE THE COMPUTER! I'm getting 3.5 hours. That is not what I expected, I'd be OK with say 5h to start with. Or change the info on the website. Also, the information is hidden on the website. 6 h of full HD playback? Hahaha. What a joke.
Also, I called customer service about this and they kept repeating "up to". Sure, up to, but again 3.5 hours is a joke. Advertise real battery life, with moderate web surfing or something.
Another issue: plugged into my ethernet adapter I am getting 20 Mbps speeds, whereas my thinkpad gets 100 Mbps. "It all depends on the hardware" Sure, but really, that's even a possibility nowadays? Also, where are the hardware specs? I didn't buy an i7 computer to get one fifth of the internet speed that I have available.
I'm returning this. "
Review 16 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Hinge Issue

Date: December 15, 2014
" I really wish I had read the reviews in more detail before I purchased this laptop. After two days of use, my hard drive malfunctioned. After one month I had the hinge issue. When I called support they tried to tell me I damaged it. I sent them a picture and then the supervisor agreed that it was nothing I did. My feeling is that this laptop is too wide and heavy for how they have put it together... I have a feeling this is going to become an expensive desktop replacement. I worked for IBM for 15 years, so I trusted the Thinkpad/Ideapad brand... I use this laptop to travel for work.. now I don't trust it all "
Review 17 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Problems

Date: December 10, 2014
" I switched to this computer after using Macs for several yeas. I have to say the build quality of this machine is pretty bad. Two months in and the hinge cracked my screen due to a loose screw. Once I got it back the left mouse seemed to be broken. It would still work but it would require an extra push to get the left mouse to click. It would go halfway down and stop and then you would have to push harder for it to actually click. Super annoying. I sent it in again and got it back just to find that the issue was not fixed. Granted it is a small issue but the fact that I spent close to $1000 on this computer just to have this many problems in the first four months has gotten me really aggravated. I would not recommend a Lenovo product to anyone until someone or something can change my mind. "
Review 18 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst $ ever spent

Date: December 2, 2014
" I have only had this model for less than 3 month and despite keeping it in perfect condition with the plastic still on so not even a fingerprint gets on it, the infamous hinge problem I now see in so many reviews arose. The left hinge became stuck in the closed position and ripped right out of the laptop when I attempted a routine opening. This model has very basic manufacturing issues that needs to addressed as this is not an isolated incident. And the manufacturers warranty dictates that I've got to send my laptop in at my own expense rather than being sent a box like any normal manufacturer would. Bad product + bad service, I would not recommend this to anyone. "
Review 19 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Cost x Benefit

Date: December 1, 2014
" Nowadays everybody knows that sometimes we pay more for an old brand than its quality. Lenovo bring to us an high quality product with strong specifications (to its price), and one thing that I need to say is: with these specifications you will spent maybe 250 dollars more in a Dell, Toshiba, Samsung etc... So I recommend. "
Review 20 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst thing ever

Date: November 28, 2014
" im a big computer nerd and ihave had to rest this computer about 4 times now. "