Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.414 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
17
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
15
47 of 87(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U530 Touch
Review 1 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

FATAL FLAW

Date: January 20, 2015
" I've had this for 2 months.
I'm not going to go into the 'special features' of this thing.
Its fatal flaw is the keyboard design. The keys must have some grooves to give grip, but not too much. It must be positioned over the circuits that register the hits to respond promptly and accurately.
The keys are too smooth, and the keys are awkwardly positioned, missing every 1/4 hits on average. This is probably because you need to hit each key with a considerable amount of force for it to register. I have to keep my fingers on the key maybe a 1/2-1 full second longer. Moreover, the spacing between each key, the 'travel', is too wide. I used to type 60/min. on my old latop' now I barely get 20. 60 is acceptable for a college student; 20 is not. I seem to correcting every other word I type, whether it's because a letter was missing, or I accidentally hit a key.
If I'd known about the keyboard in advance, I'd never have bought it. Killing my productivity (typing) is a deal-breaker. "
Review 2 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

versatility!

Date: January 20, 2015
" I love the versatility of this machine. I can choose to use the keyboard or the touchscreen. It's also lightweight and slim, so it's easy to carry around. Battery life is decent, too.
The graphics are good as well.
I'm happy that I went with a Lenovo this time. I've had it for a couple of months now and I'm very happy with it. "
Review 3 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop, decent value

Date: January 20, 2015
" I bought this laptop a couple months ago and thus far have really enjoyed it. I wanted a laptop with an Intel core I7 processor and most were out of my price range. This one was, though still a bit pricey, was within my budget and so far I have been more than satisfied with its processing power, graphics, and overall performance. "
Review 4 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Good choice amongst the competition

Date: January 20, 2015
" I have been very happy with my purchase with one exception. While still under factory warranty the system crashed on me and had to be sent back to the manufacturer and have the motherboard wiped clean and Windows was reinstalled so all of my data was lost and it was very inconvenient. "
Review 5 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Purchase Ever: Faulty Hinges

Date: January 5, 2015
" I purchased this laptop to use at college. Meaning it would be used daily. Before buying this laptop I did thorough research, I needed something reliable. I couldn’t find any issues.
Then that changed. I owned this laptop for 2 months and it broke. I used it strictly in my dorm at my desk. The hinge is faulty. It separated from the main display and if you would try to open of close it, the problem would worsen. Eventually the display itself would have broken if I hadn’t I stopped using it.
In order to repair this hinge I had to send it in. But this problem isn't covered under standard warranty. Therefore, the repair would have cost me an additional $269. The problem is clearly a manufacturing defect. I also feel that Lenovo should fix this issue. Post-break I discovered the other reviews about this product. Thousands say the same thing: faulty hinges and bad service.I was thoroughly disappointed with the laptop and Lenovo. I will not be making another purchase through Lenovo.
"
Review 6 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost Perfect

Date: January 5, 2015
" Love my computer, but it only has a few small problems. First, the screen isn't very bright and reflects a good amount of light, making it hard to see at times. Second, the touchpad isnt the best. Other than that, the computers awesome! "
Review 7 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Product

Date: January 5, 2015
" Pros: Excellent design, a powerful laptop for computing, I run heavy applications such as MATLAB and works good. FHD looks great and the touch works perfect. keypad works pretty fine as well as the Motion control.
Cons: The overall product is good but the battery is not promised to stay for long duration as given in the specifications, it hardly stays for about 3 to 4 hours of continuous usage. The outer package is not strong as it bends if you put even a little force on it. "
Review 8 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

u530 outstanding computer

Date: January 5, 2015
" easy to use. price was great. very light weight "
Review 9 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

hinge defect

Date: December 31, 2014
" I purcheased this laptop from bestbuy 3 months ago. It was a great laptop untill I opened it and the hinge completely broke. This was due to no fault of my own. The problem seems to be the the extremely cheap hinge. "
Review 10 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Anton

Date: December 28, 2014
" it has been a month since i own Lenovo u530, it is year 2014 and I paid a $1,300 for a laptop that has a camera worst than a vision of a blind person ... if you know what I mean! i7, 8gb of ram 1tb hdd with 16gb ssd, it is taking more than 2minutes for the system to booth ... my 2005 HP its faster than that! and my 4 year old iMac starts up in less than a minute ...!!! what the actual heck! this is my first ever bad review of a product of any kind that I've written! wow "
Review 11 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

READ BEFORE BUYING!

Date: December 17, 2014
" I'm sad. I really wanted this computer to work out... but first off, I feel cheated, and second off, I can't have internet speeds cut by 1/5th. Read on for more information.
Up to 10 hours battery life IF YOU DON'T USE THE COMPUTER! I'm getting 3.5 hours. That is not what I expected, I'd be OK with say 5h to start with. Or change the info on the website. Also, the information is hidden on the website. 6 h of full HD playback? Hahaha. What a joke.
Also, I called customer service about this and they kept repeating "up to". Sure, up to, but again 3.5 hours is a joke. Advertise real battery life, with moderate web surfing or something.
Another issue: plugged into my ethernet adapter I am getting 20 Mbps speeds, whereas my thinkpad gets 100 Mbps. "It all depends on the hardware" Sure, but really, that's even a possibility nowadays? Also, where are the hardware specs? I didn't buy an i7 computer to get one fifth of the internet speed that I have available.
I'm returning this. "
Review 12 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Hinge Issue

Date: December 15, 2014
" I really wish I had read the reviews in more detail before I purchased this laptop. After two days of use, my hard drive malfunctioned. After one month I had the hinge issue. When I called support they tried to tell me I damaged it. I sent them a picture and then the supervisor agreed that it was nothing I did. My feeling is that this laptop is too wide and heavy for how they have put it together... I have a feeling this is going to become an expensive desktop replacement. I worked for IBM for 15 years, so I trusted the Thinkpad/Ideapad brand... I use this laptop to travel for work.. now I don't trust it all "
Review 13 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Problems

Date: December 10, 2014
" I switched to this computer after using Macs for several yeas. I have to say the build quality of this machine is pretty bad. Two months in and the hinge cracked my screen due to a loose screw. Once I got it back the left mouse seemed to be broken. It would still work but it would require an extra push to get the left mouse to click. It would go halfway down and stop and then you would have to push harder for it to actually click. Super annoying. I sent it in again and got it back just to find that the issue was not fixed. Granted it is a small issue but the fact that I spent close to $1000 on this computer just to have this many problems in the first four months has gotten me really aggravated. I would not recommend a Lenovo product to anyone until someone or something can change my mind. "
Review 14 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst $ ever spent

Date: December 2, 2014
" I have only had this model for less than 3 month and despite keeping it in perfect condition with the plastic still on so not even a fingerprint gets on it, the infamous hinge problem I now see in so many reviews arose. The left hinge became stuck in the closed position and ripped right out of the laptop when I attempted a routine opening. This model has very basic manufacturing issues that needs to addressed as this is not an isolated incident. And the manufacturers warranty dictates that I've got to send my laptop in at my own expense rather than being sent a box like any normal manufacturer would. Bad product + bad service, I would not recommend this to anyone. "
Review 15 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Cost x Benefit

Date: December 1, 2014
" Nowadays everybody knows that sometimes we pay more for an old brand than its quality. Lenovo bring to us an high quality product with strong specifications (to its price), and one thing that I need to say is: with these specifications you will spent maybe 250 dollars more in a Dell, Toshiba, Samsung etc... So I recommend. "
Review 16 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst thing ever

Date: November 28, 2014
" im a big computer nerd and ihave had to rest this computer about 4 times now. "
Review 17 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Poor Build Quality & Bad Warranty Servicing

Date: November 27, 2014
" Within 3 months of getting this laptop, the fan started making mechanical noise.
Within 6 months, there is a crack developing in the area near the hinge.
When I called a technician for help with repairing the issues I was asked to mail the laptop to a location in Texas and I am expected to survive without a laptop for 10 business days which is very difficult for a student.
"
Review 18 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Quality

Date: November 25, 2014
" I would have given it all 5 stars if the hand motion works on third party apps like magazine app Zinio.
Everything else great! I made sure I got i7 with 8gb ram, 500gb hybrid hdd to be sure it will last me at least 4 years. I got a full 3 year service at home warranty also. I got the black Friday deal then the 10% discover cash back. I believe I'm set! "
Review 19 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Quality, Some errors

Date: November 18, 2014
" As of writing this article, I have personally found this model to be highly efficent and surpirior to tohers.
The 8 GB of RAM helps the computer run super smooth, and the visuals are great.
But there is one huge glaring problem.
The hinge of this product is notoriously faulty, as evidenced by the many reviews complaining about it.
As for me, I happily used my model for less then six months before my right hinge popped out of it's setting. I am unable to close or move my laptop screen, and I am also able to completely remove the black protective cover that conceals the hinge mechanism. I did not drop or even hit my laptop off of anything that would have led to possible hinge problems.
This model is overall very good however, and I would recommend it for those looking for a HP Envy- level laptop that has superior performance. Just be aware of the hinge issues and take steps to prevent any possible breakage. "
Review 20 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Upsetting

Date: November 11, 2014
" I first ordered this laptop and the wifi card did not work so I had to return it and I thought the one that I got was just an unfortunate dud! When I got the next one the wifi card worked but the build quality is terrible. There such a huge gap between the cheap plastic outside cover and the the keyboard panel that you could see inside the laptop! So mad! "