Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.138 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
19
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
26
53 of 116(46%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U530 Touch
Review 1 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Would not recommend

Date: May 21, 2015
" I bought this laptop in Jan '14 and this laptop was amazing. I used this extensively for my work which involves some heavy software and it was perfect. Handled everything superbly.
Last month the right side bottom edge of the screen protruded out all of a sudden. I didn't sit on on it, step on it and I use my laptops very carefully (I still have a 6 year old Dell Inspiron that still runs great but lacks the power to run my software, hence bought this Lenovo). It was like that for a week. Then all of a sudden, the entire plastic strip on the bottom that connects the screen to the keyboard came out and the hinges broke. Just like that! I didn't know what to do and called customer care. They said my warranty was up and cannot replace it. But it could be repaired for a price of $250-$300. Checked online and came to know that this is THE most common problem for U530. Cheaply made hinges and over 1000 people had the exact same problem.
Never buying a lenovo again. "
Review 2 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Takes me back to 1985

Date: May 20, 2015
" November 18, 2014 is when I purchased this laptop. This is the worst computer. I often revert to my eight year old Dell while this Lenovo is wondering why it lost connectivity with my 50 mbps wireless.
Windows 8.1 may be part of the problem. All I know is that I've hated this computer for over six months.
Oh, another thing, restricted hinge. It begs to be broken. "
Review 3 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Read Reviews about the hinges

Date: May 19, 2015
" I really don't want to have to write anything at all right now about my laptop because it's depressing enough to have to keep using it.
When researching I read all the reviews on this particular model and thought if I was just careful, there would be no problem. Unfortunately, the right hinge broke within 4 months and I've been leaving it open without closing the lid for Weeks at a time. Imagine leaving your laptop open at nearly the same angle for Weeks, wiping dust off of the keyboard and screen every few days. Having to cradle the lid and body every time you want to move it around the house or the office. Not being able to transport it Anywhere beyond those two places because you can't Close it. I wish I had heeded the warnings of others so heed mine. DON'T get this laptop if you need it beyond 2-3 months. Please. Please consider other options. For those of you who have purchased one, return it if you still can. A broken hinge trumps Everything else this laptop has to offer
"
Review 4 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointment

Date: May 15, 2015
" My last laptop lasted 5 years, and it was also a lenovo. It was reliable in all ways, so when it was time to replace it, I naturally wanted another one just like it. I paid a thousand dollars for the U530, thinking that I'd be getting an even better machine (the last one was only about $600).
Unfortunately, this one has been glitchy and frustrating from the very beginning.
1. The touch screen will sometimes just go nuts when I open the laptop and log on, requiring me to reboot.
2. Wifi, no matter the place or strength of others' signals, is spotty at best.
3. It's slow to start.
4. I've had to tighten the screws on the back of the computer twice because of flexibility issues.
5. The touch pad has a strange double-click glitch on the right side.
Nothing has BROKEN, per se, but this machine frustrates me on a daily basis, and I can't believe I paid a thousand dollars for it. "
Review 5 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible Laptop, Hinge Broke After 6 Months

Date: May 14, 2015
" Another review about how the hinge on this laptop broke after only 6 months of use. Hardware is okay, touchpad is okay, but hinge is terrible. "
Review 6 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Awful

Date: May 12, 2015
" I purchased this laptop for college and bought the 500$ protection plan. I made a huge mistake. It rarely gets wifi, it is just a little bit faster than my 6 year old laptop, and the touch screen erratically presses everywhere and sometimes it even exits out of documents. The hinge also broke on mine (which i hear is common problem). Alas, i am stuck with this laptop for the next five years. DO NOT BUY, please, for your own mental health. NEVER buying Lenovo again. "
Review 7 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Yet another model with lenovo's faulty design

Date: May 12, 2015
" Although the features and performance look promising,Dont buy this laptop!!..
Lenovo's problem with the hinges is quite famous now .I,neglecting its bad reviews of its design, bought this laptop,and after just using it for 6 months the left hinge broke (laptop was not roughly used or anything) . Also i bought this model from US,but i am in India right now ,where its not supported for even paid service.So be careful ,even though it have international warranty,it is not supported everywhere.
Also based on the reviews from other customers, i can see it wouldn't have made much difference, as the lenovo's service specialist said it is due to the misuse of laptop.
Also in some cases ,due to unavailability of parts they have provided refund after some months of taking it to repair.
And if you are unlucky it might break just after your warranty period...by then you would have to pay about half of the total cost of your laptop to repair it..
So again saying...Dont buy it!! "
Review 8 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Faulty hinge

Date: May 11, 2015
" Lets start with the fact this laptop costs $1000. As such, I would have expectations of this laptop being pretty reliable for home use.
However within a few months the hinges (right hinge specifically) on the computer screen failed and cracked the screen when i was going to close the computer. When I tried to call the company about a warranty, it was deemed to not be regular wear. This is something I've seen other reviewers touch on as well.
Once they told me that, we decided to keep using the computer as, well, we payed $1000 for it. With the cracked screen we were evventually able to turn off the touchscreen, then hook it up to a monitor so we could use the laptop almost as a desktop. However we ran in to another problem around a month after the screen breaking. For some reason the computer would turn on, however wouldn't boot windows 8 anymore. We have tried quite a bit to try and remedy the problem, however we've been unable to and have moved on to another laptop. "
Review 9 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I love this ideapad u530 touch

Date: May 10, 2015
" hello friends i am from kathmandu Nepal,today i wanna tell you somethings that this laptop gana rock you... "
Review 10 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Hinge problem with this model

Date: April 30, 2015
" A year after I bought this laptop the hinge between the screen and the keyboard started to break. I couldn't send it in because it was just past the 1 year warranty. I never used it rough, never dropped it or anything. Now I cannot even close the lid because the hinge starts making cracking noises and the plastic attached to the bottom of the screen starts to come off. It's truly a huge disappointment because it's no longer portable. I wouldn't recommend this model to anyone. "
Review 11 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I Love my laptop

Date: April 28, 2015
" I love the features first, and the reliability. The perfomance is VERY good. I am very happy with it. Lastly, the weight is superior. I love how thin and light it is. "
Review 12 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Unless there is an updated lid design? Avoid!

Date: April 27, 2015
" I owned a U530 Touch for 5 months...till like so many others, the hinge mount detached from the lid causing the digitizer to crack. Unless this critical design flaw was addressed and I've seen no indication that it has, this model should be avoided at any cost.. The all metal shell is nice, but it's way too heavy and doesn't get near the battery life (we never got more than 5 hours, usually significantly less) to consider this an "ultrabook". The downside of that metal shell is that upgrades are a pain and the memory is soldered in to boot. It also has my single least favorite laptop keyboard. Too many compromises for style with little substance. OTH, with a little prodding, Lenovo support has been decent to me. "
Review 13 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Broken

Date: April 23, 2015
" The laptop broke where the hinges attach to the screen. It then cracked the screen which has an interesting effect on a touch screen laptop. I never took this laptop outside of my apartment and it spent most of its time as a desktop replacement. So now it is the most expensive paper weight in the world! The customer service is terrible too and didn't help me at all. I did liked the laptop before it broke though! The laptop did have a Wi-Fi problem before it broke but was fixable with a lot of time and messing around. "
Review 14 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Decent Laptop

Date: April 22, 2015
" The U530 is a fair laptop. I bought mine considerably less that the original price due to an open box return, so I am happy with what I got for the price. But it is a little fragile around the screen. The screen will flex quite a bit, and creak when opening or closing it. The battery life is also not even close to the 10 hrs that were advertised (even when just typing a word document). The lack of battery is by far the most disappointing. And the wifi card seems to forget the network every once in a while prompting a reboot. Which is a mild annoyance. If you are looking for a laptop I would look for a different lenovo model, or a different laptop if you are going to pay the full 999.99 "
Review 15 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Fatal mistake

Date: April 18, 2015
" I have requested my brother to send it to me. I received the laptop end Jan 2015. In 3 months, the hinge is broken and I am still trying to figure out how to fix it.
Windows 8.1 too has its issues. I am wondering if it is the laptop OR OS that is causing this issue of forcing me to click on/touch the screen to let me continue the work. Otherwise, it often moves out of desktop screen. "
Review 16 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad hinge design

Date: April 2, 2015
" I too had the hinge break after about 14 months of use. Would not recommend this product to anyone. "
Review 17 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

My U530 makes my life less Frustrating

Date: March 28, 2015
" This is by far the best laptop I have every used for business! It strikes the right balance of weight, performance, function, and battery life for this power user. My laptop is key to operating my business and it has to be ready and reliable at all hours of the day and night. I cannot afford any down time or technical challenges. I will be changing over all of my employee laptops to the Lenovo U500 series! One area of opportunity is to reduce the extra programs, or at least to have the ability to wipe them out. I'm not a huge company and setting up a new laptop for me or an employee takes time, which includes deleting unnecessary programs. Other than that, Love my Lenovo U530! "
Review 18 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Alright performance, TERRIBLE hinge problem

Date: March 24, 2015
" This is not a very good computer. I was a little let down by the speed of the i7 processor and the graphics card. There was regular lag when running websites, running larger programs, and trying to scroll through PDFs. Viewing angle is very narrow and brightness of the screen is sub par as well. The worst part about the computer is the terrible hinge; the screen disconnected from the rest of the computer from NORMAL use after about 5 months of very gentle use. I would avoid purchasing this computer, as I know several other people with this problem, and it is INEVITABLE, the hinge will break on you and the computer will not be usable. At some point you will need to ship the computer into Lenovo, which is a two month process at best to get it fixed or replaced. "
Review 19 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo U530

Date: March 23, 2015
" I bought this computer mainly to do music production and some video production work. I had a limited budget to deal with. I had to buy a new camera as well. Pros: Nice clean look, slim design, boots up very fast, The backlit keyboard can be switched on/off. Mine had nice features like dual hard drive. 1. SS drive and the other a large 1 TB drive. It has a i7 processor 8 GB Ram. Touchscreen. For me this computer has a lot of features of the money.
Cons: No DVD burner, I didn't realize it was an Ultrabook. No Memory slot? I may not need to, but I was upset to discover that. Overall I am happy with it. I went many years without a decent laptop to use. So far, it has worked great with software and hardware devices except for one. That is a driver issue and not Lenovo's fault. I do want to see an option to get the memory doubled, even if I have to go to an authorized dealer or send it in. I have never heard of no extra memory slots. Even my old ACER Netbook had the ability to do that!
"
Review 20 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible keyboard and Wifi

Date: March 20, 2015
" I have had my Lenovo U530 now for several months having waited a long time after ordering it direct. The keyboard is very erratic causing lots of errors. I also have a Yoga 2 Pro that does not have these issues which was the main reason for purchasing the U530. Very disappointing for a high end computer.
WiFi is another issue. Connectivity distance is very short. These are two very important issues that should be corrected for all of us who own these machines.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.