Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo Lenovo U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
2.93 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (156 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
24
3 stars
24
2 stars
29
1 star
41
63 of 155(41%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo U530 Touch
Review 1 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton, CA, United States

Hinge problems

Date: February 8, 2016
" This model has hinge problem, dont buy this product as once warranty expires you are out of luck. "
Review 2 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick, NJ, United States

Awesome

Date: February 2, 2016
" Bought this last year and it's hands down the best laptop under $1000 "
Review 3 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bristol, TN, United States

Get an Ideapad

Date: January 9, 2016
" I have had my Lenovo U530 Ideapad for at least two years now. I have had no hardware or software issues during this time. My only complaints are more cosmetic. The slick black finish around the keyboard shows body oils too much so I will look for a silver finish next time. The seam where the upper and lower decks come together sometimes pinches or pulls hairs. Other than these minor gripes I love my laptop. I probably would have liked the fully convertible yoga models a bit more but a very reliable laptop. I am glad i chose the solid state drive combo, the back lit keyboard is a must for me, touch screen, Intel I5 processor all make for a great product. "
Review 4 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hinge Problem

Date: January 7, 2016
" I have had this laptop for a year and a half and then the hinge had a problem and never worked the same when opening or closing the laptop. It's a great laptop and is fast but the hinge was a large problem. Also it's kind of big. "
Review 5 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Slidell, LA, United States

Loved it until

Date: December 12, 2015
" Loved it until the windows 10 which lead to the loss of a few of the features I purchased the U530. I would have choose a different model had this information been provided before purchase. "
Review 6 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN, United States

Don't Buy..

Date: December 2, 2015
" Great laptop however, you do not want to deal with the hinge issues that this laptop has. A lot of models have had this issue and I wouldn't buy it again. "
Review 7 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

broken hinge, performance is good though

Date: November 30, 2015
" Like many others, the cheap plastic left hinge on this product broke, prying up the bottom left corner of my screen. When I opened it in an attempt to check out the hinge, I discovered that it is integrated into the LCD module, so the entire top of the laptop would need to be replaced just to fix this one issue. No point it making a computer with good hardware and a ton of fancy features if the build quality is so terrible it won't hold together. Do yourself a favor and buy anything else besides this computer. "
Response from Lenovo:By Lenovo StaffLenovo.comDecember 1, 2015
Hi there,

Thank you for your comments. We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your U530 Touch. Please visit Technical Support for assistance: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/.

Thanks!
Response from Lenovo:By Lenovo StaffLenovo.comDecember 1, 2015
Hi there,

Thank you for your comments. We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your U530 Touch. Please visit Technical Support for assistance: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/.

Thanks!
Review 8 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arlington, TX, United States

Very Very Disappointed

Date: November 19, 2015
" I originally bought this laptop for college, the i7 processor with long battery life seemed very appealing for students. I am an engineer, I cannot code with this because it takes a long time to compile, been that way since the day I bought my laptop. Cannot play games because games lag (Yes, game required specs have been checked and they are well within this computer's bounds), can't even work on this because the screen shuts down and comes back on and flickers for no reason. The sound card keeps crashing almost on a daily basis causing every other unsaved work in this computer to be lost in the process of manually restarting it! The trackpad stops working every now and then and I had to resort to buying a mouse and use that as I have to get my school work done. My friend's Dell with an i3 processor and my other friends HP with an i5 processor can do things that this machine can only dream of I have the in-home warranty service but I am sure when someone will come to fix the computer, the computer won't act up at that time leading to the technician telling me that there is absolutely no problem. I have even made videos to show how the computer messes up every time! Over the summer I work as a Tech in a electronics store where I got to play with laptops of almost every brand and I can say IDEAPAD = RUN! "
Response from Lenovo:By Lenovo StaffLenovo.comNovember 23, 2015
Hi there,

We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your U530 Touch. Please visit Technical Support for assistance: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/.
Review 9 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Can't add more memory, only 1 slot for 8GB

Date: November 10, 2015
" Why have a quad core, when you can't have more than 8GB?! "
Review 10 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oskaloosa, IA, United States

Used maybe 10 times in last year and dead!

Date: November 8, 2015
" I bought this laptop for my wife last year and she doesn't use it much. It has by far been the worst laptop I have ever bought. I purchase a lot of laptops too! She literally used this laptop maybe 10 times in the last year and here we are just outside the warranty. DO NOT BUY ANY LAPTOP FROM LENOVO! Trust me you will thank me. "
Response from Lenovo:By Lenovo StaffLenovo.comNovember 12, 2015
Hi there,

We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your U530 Touch. Please visit Technical Support for assistance: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/.
Review 11 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL, United States

NOT BAD

Date: November 7, 2015
" i got this product 1 month ago and i am happy with its perfomance but the battery life is not good and if i watch videos the max time i get is 2 hours plus the charger heats up very quickly. the performance is really good and the windows open up fast. "
Response from Lenovo:By Lenovo StaffLenovoNovember 7, 2015
Hi there,
We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your U530 Touch. Please visit Technical Support for assistance: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/.
Review 12 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA

Please Don't Buy This Laptop

Date: October 30, 2015
" Please seriously, don't buy this laptop. The hinge will break on you within 6 months of buying it. After fixing the hinge myself, the entire case is now coming apart after less than a year. I've had much cheaper computers withstand much more abuse for years. "
Response from Lenovo:By Lenovo StaffLenovo.comNovember 5, 2015
Hi there,
We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your U530 Touch. Please visit Technical Support for assistance: http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/.
Review 13 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elkridge, MD, United States

excellent machine

Date: October 25, 2015
" Sturdy and efficient machine that works very well for my home business. The price is competitive "
Review 14 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Buy

Date: October 9, 2015
" Don't waste your money on Lenvo laptops.
The U530 is the second laptop I have purchased where the hinge breaks making the laptops useless
. "
Review 15 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great computer but beware mechanical failure

Date: October 8, 2015
" This computer has wonderful features and is a great deal.
However, it has a potential mechanical failure - the hinge mechanism - that could lead to damage of the screen. The parts ETA for screen replacement was over 2 months in Sep 2015, indicating limited support for this product.
Customer support was ultimately really great in resolving the issue, and I'm able to type this from a Lenovo laptop.
In short this product is solid technically. Given the point of failure (and the fact that this has been consistent for others) I would recommend against buying this specific product, or at the very least making sure to get an extended warranty. "
Review 16 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what expected from Lenovo!

Date: October 4, 2015
" Computer is slower than my older Lenovo! Can't believe the performance. "
Review 17 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

What is this?????

Date: September 28, 2015
" I got this laptop about a month ago, and the hinges are broken, and 10 hour battery???? More like 10 minutes! This is a very heavy, non portable computer because of it's weight. I use this about 5 hours a day at school and the battery dies in the middle of my first class even after being fully charged. 3 of the keys have came off, touchscreen is defective, and in fact, I went to purchase a new one of this exact model but same things happened within a week! Now this my friends, is a terrible quality computer, which was just slopped together- waste of almost 800 dollars. "
Review 18 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

That hinge

Date: September 22, 2015
" Was a great laptop but after 6 months the hinge started to act funny and it ended up resulting to a big crack on the left side of my screen. The laptop however was awesome before that. I found out that this is a common problem with the model I guess some work could be done on design. I was sad to part from the laptop and frankly wasn't impressed by how long it took for the warranty team to help me out. Its a great laptop but I wouldn't recommend you buy it unless you are ok with it breaking within a year. "
Review 19 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for a laptop

Date: September 7, 2015
" It was what I needed. It is fast and easy to use. I updated to Windows 10 and had no trouble. It is heavier than I expected. I didn't notice it had no CD slot. I can't complain because it works fine. I always buy Lenovo and love the products. Wouldn't buy any other brand. "
Review 20 for Lenovo U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Annoying + Inconsistent Product

Date: September 3, 2015
" Do not buy this product. I have owned it a little over 1 year and am frequently disappointed and frustrated with it.
- The battery often lasts less than an hour and a half on a full charge.
- Start up/shut down time often lasts several minutes.
- I have found little to no need/use for the touch screen other than making the screen harder to see with smudge marks all over it.
- Simple actions like opening a standard document folder often fails and does absolutely nothing..
It took me 15 minutes to get the computer to function correctly even to get online to write this review.
I unfortunately will not use Lenovo in the future because of my experience with this product. "