Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.905 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
4
30 of 42(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U530 Touch
Review 1 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RouterOne

Happy incoming college freshman

Date: July 16, 2014
"Purchased this in March for a HS graduation gift. My daughter wanted/needed the following for her college computer: Touchscreen, separate numeric pad, anti-glare screen. My requirements were a solid state drive or SSD/HD hybrid drive, 1920x1080 FHD LCD and the ability to get 3-4 year extended warranty with accidental damage.
This laptop (59412272) was the only one I found from anywhere that fit all of this.
The 500 GB hybrid drive boots very quickly, and wake-up from sleep is instantaneous.
The anti-glare screen is not a "matte" screen, it is still glossy, but it is better than a full glare screen that is nearly unreadable in bad lighting.
The I7 4500U is a decent processor. The "U" denotes low power processor (draws 15 watts) as opposed to the "M" processors (37 watts) or the HQ processors (47 watts). While not as fast as the others, battery life is much longer (7 hours+ measured).
My daughter recently told me "Thank you Dad, this laptop is perfect for me.""
Review 2 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DMorenfeld

This computer killed the PC for me

Date: July 13, 2014
"This computer is extremely glitchy, and after I had it taken in due touch screen issues, it came back with horrible graphics. I dont know why the picture would change after the screen was replaced, but it doesnt have the same sharpness. I am really upset that I trusted the salesman at Bestbuy on this purchase, because I am thoroughly unhappy with this product. My father in law is a computer engineer for nextest, and we were on vacation in Mexico when he used the computer - he hated it as well. I like Lenovo laptops ive previously owned, however I think I'm going to be going the route of Mac after this failure of a product!"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dgsjr

IdeaPad U530 Touch

Date: July 7, 2014
"I purchased the IdeaPad U530 Touch recently. It is a very good machine. The sound quality for music, videos and movies is very good. I watched a DVD and it worked well. I tried attaching headphones and enjoyed the Dolby stereo sound. The track pad is a bit annoying. I am using a wireless mouse with Bluetooth. The Bluetooth mouse works well. I have a standalone CD/DVD player and burner that connects with USB. I will try more CD's, DVD, and burner features with Nero software. The Touch screen with Windows 8.1 seems to work well. Screen quality is great.
One issue I have is it does not have an Ethernet port. It has a RJ45 port, HDMI and USB's. I will look for an Ethernet Adapter."
Review 4 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mohsen

Flicker Problem

Date: July 5, 2014
"The performance and design is good. However, the top right side of the screen is always flickering and it can be observed at dark grey color!
I during the six month that I have it, I have sent it 3 time for repair, but this flickering was not solved. I do not know whether it is a hardware problem or software!?
"
Review 5 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stur

Very big mistake for me.

Date: June 28, 2014
"I bought Lenova Yoga 2 and had problems from the time I bought it but was determined to have it work for me because I love the idea of moving from laptop to pad. But it was really temperamental. So many problems and annoyances."
Review 6 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
levovopleased352

Great Product

Date: June 23, 2014
"It's pretty expensive, but it's reliable. I haven't had any problems yet, even though people keep telling me Windows 8 will do bad things. The VAIO I bought and returned before this had less features, stopped working, and customer service was a nightmare, so I'm elated that I have not had issues with this computer."
Review 7 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PhantomLancer

Cost effective, if a little cheap

Date: June 20, 2014
"This is an Ideapad, not a Thinkpad, so it's not going to have the signature, top of the line IBM quality that you'd expect; the screen bezel is a bit too big, the screen itself could have a better resolution, the keyboard area is a bit too flexible and the battery life is not as good as advertised.
That being said, this is a very good laptop for students or people who already have a powerful desktop and want something for when you're out of the house. The shell is sturdy, the trackpad is awesome, as is the touchscreen, the Lenovo programs aren't annoying (like other brands bloatware) and serve a real, good purpose, and the laptop will produce little to no heat, even if on a soft, comfy, insulated surface. I primarily use mine (1TB memory+24gb SSD, i5 4200U, 8GB ram) for Microsoft Office and MATLAB, and this laptop has not let me down. Also, I don't get the hate for Windows 8, at least on a laptop. It's 7 with some more added features for YOUR customization (unlike OS X) and mobility.
"
Review 8 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RipperPC

You get what you pay for

Date: June 6, 2014
"The good:
*Screen is 1080p
*core i7 at a reasonable price
The bad:
Please do not treat this as another angry review.. but the build quality on U530 is pathetic,
* the keyboard and the area around the touchpad bends down at the slightest pressure. It is worse for the area next to the screen bezel - goes down by about 5mm or so under the slightest pressure.
* The screen is full hd 1080 - but the colors are washed out - the screen seems 'hazy' (not clear) - and has terrible viewing angles.
* the whole laptop feels to poorly built, and not sturdy at all.
"
Review 9 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Villanovan

Perfect for me

Date: June 5, 2014
"I wanted an entry level computer with a touchscreen. This one has been good so far. I love the back lit keyboard and all seems to be working well. There are a few issues, but nothing huge. The screen is connected to the keyboard by one large hinge, rather than two; therefore the screen is a little wobbly. This is only a problem when using the touch screen. The right hand shift key is shorter than usual, as is the back space. This is something I need to get used to. The touch pad works pretty well, although right clicking takes a lot of force and it is in front of the letter portion of the keyboard; I occasionally touch it while typing. The bottom left part of the computer, where my left wrist rests when I am typing is magnetic. All these things are minor annoyances."
Review 10 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gringo

Great performance, but not a fan of Windows 8.1

Date: May 30, 2014
"After 2 weeks, I am very happy with the performance of my new Lenovo U530, but I'm not a big fan of Window 8.1. One suggestion for the future, make it easier to open the computer. Its current design is a bit cumbersome."
Review 11 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MIsi

Be Careful!

Date: May 29, 2014
"I have a U510 and it is a total lemon. The U-series have massive problems with the keyboard and touch pad, which is behaving erratically as well as the wifi, which simply fails at random. Just google ths issue on the internet... I would never buy another Lenovo and a U-series in particular."
Review 12 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NotEd

Meh

Date: May 28, 2014
"Would have been a better unit if not for Windows 8.1"
Review 13 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HCPbanjo

Excellent replacement for dead PC

Date: May 12, 2014
"This computer does everything I need it to do I especially love the keyboard and the speed at which everything works. All my favorite sites sync perfectly. I haven't yet explored all features, but feel confident that all will go well."
Review 14 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whartonite

Great for students/business

Date: May 10, 2014
"Having had this laptop for 2 months I have the following comments to make. Note that I have bought the most souped up version of this laptop so the pros and cons below refer to this specific product specification.
Pros:
- light to carry
- does not heat up even with some heavy applications running
- number pad is useful for data entry
- great design
- runs all business related apps with ease
Cons:
- battery is not as good as marketed to be
- track-pad is very clumsy, at times not very responsive. I would recommend using a mouse.
- the SSD included is a separate drive and will not speed up the boot time of your computer to SSD speeds unless you install your windows onto this drive
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amon

One big disappointment

Date: May 10, 2014
"Overall the laptop is very good: long lasting battery, fast processor, quite light (for being a 15.6"), the camera sucks on windows (but it's good with other OS).
The only disappointment with this laptop is the fact that it should have an antiglare screen, but in reality it is glossy. I've contacted the customer service and they said it looks like glossy (even though it should be antiglare). I'm thinking to place an antiglare screen protector, but I don't know if it will affect the resolution.
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DanN

Do not buy

Date: May 3, 2014
"I'm sorry to say as I had an excellent opinion about Lenovo products that this laptop is not worth the money. It might have good features but the track pad is extremely sensitive and of poor quality. The mouse pointer disappeared after 2 days of usage and although there are ways to repair it - I do not consider appropriate to have to worry about that after such a short usage time - I guess Lenovo needs to tell Microsoft to build a better operating system."
Review 17 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brad

Lenovo customer service vs U530

Date: May 1, 2014
"Pros
-Great performance for the value
-Excellent boot up time, normally around 10 seconds for me
-tons of USBs (wish they were all 3.0's)
-Great Finish - aesthetics
-keyboard feels natural, easy to type
-Excellent back-lit keyboard
Cons
-weight ... super heavy for how thin it is!!
-Huge con is the touch screen - If you want a great cheap performer than buy. If you want a computer with a touch screen, don't buy. The touch screen doesn't work 80% of the time
-the biggest con of all is Lenovo's customer service, I was transfer 14 times last time I called with no resolve. (I counted to each rep) but at least they are in America.
"
Review 18 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joejoe

great computer so far

Date: April 30, 2014
"touchscreen is useful...everything is perfect so far."
Review 19 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobertInAz

Fantastic Purchase!!

Date: April 16, 2014
"I have been using the ThinkPad series at work for close to 15 years and I have great respect for the product. This purchase was for my own personal use so my requirements were going to be a little different. I researched multiple brands and found the IdeaPad U530 to come out on top in most every respect. It isn't just about the specs, but taking each out for a test drive at the store. The U530 just felt right in my hands."
Review 20 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aaron

Not bad with good features

Date: April 13, 2014
"I like this U530 so far. I actually got a refurbished one with super deal in outlet store. $535 (i7, 8MB,1920x1080,1TB). I just wanna say something that I dont like about it
1. the touch pad.If I want to slide down, it is way slower than the macbook I got 6 years ago..its not running as smoothly as I expected. Secondly, since the pad is located in the middle-left, I always getting a right click instead of left click....that is pretty annoying...
2. A lot of ppl thinking that the fan is pretty quiet and the temperature wont raise too much. Thats not always the case. I mean gamers no matter heavy or not, you will suffer a "decent" noice of the fan as well as a slightly high temperature. Thus, I'd like to say this laptop is not video game friendly at all....
"