Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 of 24(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U530 Touch
Review 1 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobertInAz

Fantastic Purchase!!

Date: April 16, 2014
"I have been using the ThinkPad series at work for close to 15 years and I have great respect for the product. This purchase was for my own personal use so my requirements were going to be a little different. I researched multiple brands and found the IdeaPad U530 to come out on top in most every respect. It isn't just about the specs, but taking each out for a test drive at the store. The U530 just felt right in my hands."
Review 2 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aaron

Not bad with good features

Date: April 13, 2014
"I like this U530 so far. I actually got a refurbished one with super deal in outlet store. $535 (i7, 8MB,1920x1080,1TB). I just wanna say something that I dont like about it
1. the touch pad.If I want to slide down, it is way slower than the macbook I got 6 years ago..its not running as smoothly as I expected. Secondly, since the pad is located in the middle-left, I always getting a right click instead of left click....that is pretty annoying...
2. A lot of ppl thinking that the fan is pretty quiet and the temperature wont raise too much. Thats not always the case. I mean gamers no matter heavy or not, you will suffer a "decent" noice of the fan as well as a slightly high temperature. Thus, I'd like to say this laptop is not video game friendly at all....
"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed

Worst purchase ever

Date: April 8, 2014
"I bought its just 3 months ago and noticed that the body of this laptop is made using very low quality material. The hinge made a creaking sound everytime I opened it but unfortunately I ignored it.
Then suddenly it broke without me dropping it or applying any sort of pressure. I use my laptop so carefully that even the plastic on the hinge was still intact!
When I sent it back for repair under warranty, they said it cannot be covered and charged me half the original price of the laptop for repair!
Will not recommend such a a flimsy product to anyone.
"
Review 4 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bhammertyme

Nice Computer

Date: April 6, 2014
"This is a very nice computer but I have an issue with the design. The front of the computer has a seam that runs the entire length of the computer. Unfortunately when I use the computer I tend to get my arm hairs caught in the seam providing some unwelcomed discomfort during use."
Review 5 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IGTR
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Common Flicker Problem

Date: March 25, 2014
"I have just purchased this laptop. The performance and design is very good. HOWEVER, the screen is always flickering and it can be observed at dark grey color! It seems a hardware problem. Not recommended."
Review 6 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Daniel
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

IdeaPad U530 Touch

Date: March 23, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Included software, Wireless card, Screen size, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"This is a good laptop. However, it could have been better by adding more SSD and lowering the price. There is also no DVD tray for this laptop. The performance could have been better if it had more SSD."
Review 7 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iamsecond
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Phenomenal!

Date: March 21, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance, very sleek and stylish finish
"After a disappointed test run for a few days with an HP Envy, I decided to upgrade to Lenovo Ideapad U530 and I haven't been disappointed. As far as Windows 8, I had a computer tech install a "shell" of windows 7 which simply gives it's control features to windows 8 and it works like a charm. Start up is lightning fast and the screen resolution is crystal clear. Touch screen as well as tracking pad is responsive and the lighted keyboard is a welcomed feature for dim lit work spaces. Probably the only negative would have to be wiping down the black finished keyboard/keys/screen after each use. Even with clean, fresh dried hands, it doesn't take long to leave fingerprints all over. I still love the finish, however."
Review 8 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
familyhohoho
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great design

Date: March 20, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
"This ultrabook has everything I need:
- CPU (i7) is very fast
- crisp 15.6" 1080p screen (no longer available in Canada)
- acceptable battery life (4-5 hours active use)
- responsive touch screen
- HDMI connector
- sleek design
- Fast bootup and decent storage with Hybrid SSD
"
Review 9 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MRreview
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

No regrets! But listen this is important!

Date: March 15, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: best buy
"I love this computer because after you get used to the new feel you will not regret your decision. This computer is extremely fast and I will always love it's fuctionality. The only warning is that I do not recommend this computer if you get it from best buy due to best buy having the lowest specs possible for this computer. I love this computer but if you get it, then do what I did and purchase this product directly from Lenovo's web store. Amazing Computer! I Recommend This Computer To Everyone!!"
Review 10 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ideaman
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Powerful U530 (model: 59412272)

Date: March 1, 2014
Pros: Processor, Memory, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals
"I am satisfied with the purchase of ideapad which replaced my old Dell Inspiron E-1505 laptop.
It is thin and has no DVD drives.
The I-7 4500U Haswell processor along with the 8GB RAM performs tasks effortlessly.
The unit stays cool and so sadly, cannot use this as a space heater!
The touchscreen display is very responsive.
The one hassle I have is the keyboard. Some of the keys like shift and backspace are more narrow and so I end up hitting adjacent keys.
The 1920X1080 resolution is awesome for viewing HD movies.
The Wifi card is not dual band and so will not support 5GHz range.
"
Review 11 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FatedCb
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Really Good!

Date: February 23, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"This Laptop will do all your daily tasks with ease! Don't worry about the 1.8GHz you will do fine with that. The screen is popping and beautiful! Touchscreen response is fantastic! The battery lasts forever! The storage is vast and fast with the SSD Cache! Sleek and slim design, you'd be a fool not to love i!
Very reliable pc for what its good at!
Check out my YouTube Channel to see more on this Ultrabook PC. Just Google search FatedCb"
Review 12 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChrisK
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Solid, fast machine

Date: February 22, 2014
Pros: Weight, Processor, Build Quality, touch screen response, very quiet
Cons: touchy trackpad
"I've had my Ideapad for just over a month. I'm very pleased with it. Boot is exceptionally fast, touch screen is very responsive, love the backlit keyboard. I've experimented with voice control, and although it's more a fancy bell/whistle that I wouldn't ordinarily use, it was pretty accurate. I've used the motion-control for cooking. It's a little wonky, but was quite fun to play with. My only complaint would be the sensitivity level of the trackpad. I have to be very precise or it goes too fast. I use it a lot for scrolling and resizing, and it just flies. This machine is also extremely quiet and solidly built. I"m very happy with this Lenovo."
Review 13 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
firsttimelenovouser
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

great lenovo experience

Date: February 7, 2014
"I've had my Lenovo u530 for about 2 weeks. It's really a great machine thus far. The graphics and screen resolution are awesome. Love the touchscreen. Still getting used to Windows 8, but the learning curve is steep. Very fast processor. Very quite and does not overheat. I would definitely recommend this computer."
Review 14 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
krampuswillgetyou
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

one of the best ultrabooks in the market

Date: January 13, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality
Cons: Display resolution
"in my opinion this computer is one of the best laptops in the market with one flaw - cheap screen!!! The design is very beautiful. Almost no keyboard flex compare to previous versions of U series. I think the bottom is metal too - even apple uses plastic. Overall it is a great laptop. It could have been even better with 1080p screen ... As a customer I would not mind paying a bit more for a better screen. If it is not standard, then it should be optional for those who want it ..."
Review 15 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tony
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Ideapad U530

Date: January 8, 2014
"The keys are a real issue for me --as far as their proximity to one another as too close and even more bothersome is the amount of pressure required to complete the stroke. The right shift key is too close to up down arrow keys which invariably cause you make frequent mistakes and have to start all over again. The Windows 8 is a huge hassle on this system which does not allow you to replace it with the Windows 7. All in All I am extremely SORRY I bought this unit. Battery life is great and good quality resolution. Other than that --I'll probably give it to someone who cant afford a computer and buy something else. Shoulda done my homework and read more reviews."
Review 16 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YR1988
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Superb Laptop...... just wonderful!!!!

Date: January 4, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, sound
Cons: Warranty, Included Software, keyboard keys are a little shallow
"Its been almost two weeks since I received my U530 touch.
I bought the highest model possible for this laptop.
Finally Lenovo had the NVIDIA GeForce 730m Graphics card.
Overall an awesome, fast, responsive laptop I have had 3-5 apps running in the background including IE11, and the laptop has been always cool.
Battery- it gives about 5-6 hrs when surfing the web, listening to music, etc. but when windows is idle with WIFI OFF it gives me up to 7.30 hrs MAX, so I don’t know how Lenovo got it to 10 hrs when the laptop is on idle.
"
Review 17 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddfpackers
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Ideapad u530 Touch

Date: January 2, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals, Software compatibility
"Have had the U530 Touch for two weeks and has been a great purchase so far. Touch screen is very responsive, computer is fast, uploads videos and games with ease. We are not gamers, so the games are simple. Computer will be used mostly for school. Love the back lit keyboard. One thing that I had trouble with was the Veriface software that is supposed to log the user in with face recognition. The software wanted a password the first time accessing it. I tried using the computer login and also my Microsoft password, both to no avail. It was easy enough to disable and establish a PIN to login. Battery lasts about five hours with regular usage. Overall, very happy with this computer and would definitely recommend to others."
Review 18 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ProUser
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

All Around Awesome

Date: December 30, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
"This laptop is the best I have ever owned and one of the best I have ever used. The build quality is great looks and feels like a 15 inch macbook air. The touch screen is very responsive and at 1080p it looks great too. I7 processor and intergrated graphics perform very well. Just knocked out a session of Left For dead 2 while I was on lunch break it ran great. It will game for 2 hours mix use (youtube, netflix, web browsing) for 4 to 5 hours. In the lowest performance setting I can get 8 hours of browsing with no videos. A budget macbook pro if i ever saw one."
Review 19 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
julia
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

No Regrets.

Date: November 24, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Video card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Keyboard/peripherals
"I have version 59401453.
The battery life is fair. Less than advertised.
Upgrade to Windows 8.1 and you'll avoid a lot of problems. Delete unnecessary apps.
About twice, the mouse has randomly disappeared from the screen. After restarting, it went back to normal.
The keyboard is fine by me, but if you have bigger fingers, you may dislike it. I would switch out the keyboard if I could.
There are only 2 USB ports & I wish it had a CD drive.
Above is every flaw I could think of thus far. Otherwise, everything is great. Has a boot-up time of approx. 10 seconds, and the laptop is speedy with anything it does. Decent volume. Touchscreen is very helpful and efficient (you can disable it if you want). Great color display. Sleek. I really love this laptop and I would recommend."
Review 20 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
david
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

awesome ultrabook

Date: November 21, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Battery
"besides the inside non-replaceable battery this laptop is great!"