Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.653 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
6
31 of 49(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U530 Touch
Review 1 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

terrible purchase!

Date: August 30, 2014
"bought this laptop in march for $900 noticing that the screen had poor viewing angles and a creaky hinge but i decided to deal with it. as a month went by i noticed how cheaply made this laptop was. (poor viewing angles,creaky plastic hinge, keys gave no feedback and were odly placed far apart which made for a lot of typing errors and EXTREMELY poor battery life (4 hours 5 if your lucky) and unusable on power saving mode, and often very laggy) a couple months later the hinge started to pop out of place and about a week later the the left part of the screen came off the hinge by simply by lifting the screen to the open position (without it ever been dropped). i was surprised to see the screen was still working. unfortunately the returning period for this laptop had ended so i will be sending it to the repair center for a repair... waist of $900"
Review 2 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IrritatingLenovo

Very poor battery backup

Date: August 26, 2014
"My recently purchased Lenovo U530 Touch gives a battery backup of just 36 minutes, when charged fully (100%). I had purchased this laptop from the US and currently in India, but their customer care is not willing to extend any help despite of me having an international warranty supported. Never faced such issues with my earlier units purchased from Dell and Toshiba"
Review 3 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sits

Not good enough for the price

Date: August 25, 2014
"I had high hopes of this laptop, but apart from being slim, it does not justify the price tag at all.
With no option to expand on 8 GB RAM, and a very irritating screen flicker (Mostly on battery), it's a bad deal.
On top of that, sometimes it just does not start, especially when all the USB ports are in use.
I made a bad choice, I advice nobody to do so."
Review 4 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lappy483

Lenovo cut corners to make U530 Touch

Date: August 25, 2014
"On paper, this looks like a great value. Tons of features for the money. It delivers on some, but misses on key, basic aspects that make this a purchase I regret more each day after four months of use.
Pros:
-Large, high resolution screen allows you to work multiple tasks
-Fast to boot up and no problem playing videos, editing photos, or handling normal daily tasks.
Cons:
-awful keyboard has spread out keys that barely depress. very hard to get used to and I make a ton of typos.
-trackpad stops working a few times per day (I believe my drivers are up to date). It's also hard to press down on the clicker, making clicking and dragging (google maps, selecting text) a pain.
-screen is highly reflective and not very bright, making it difficult to see what you're doing in bright settings.
-Battery life doesnt come close to advertised 10 hours. I max at 3-4 with normal use. Other have complained about this too.
Amazed that Lenovo would sell comps with such a bad interface. Prob my last"
Review 5 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Harish

A Great Bargain

Date: August 17, 2014
"Pros -%0D%0A1. Great display 1920 X %0D%0A2. Windows 8.1%0D%0A3. Elegant back lit Key board%0D%0A4. Awesome sound quality.%0D%0A5. Good Touch screen%0D%0A%0D%0A%0D%0A%0D%0ACons%0D%0A1. The pointer pad is very hard and not very responsive.%0D%0A2. The laptop screen can be rotated only till 120 degrees.%0D%0A%0D%0A"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CollectiveConservation

Performs Well Falls Apart RUN AWAY!

Date: August 12, 2014
"I purchased this unit last August. Nearing the one year warranty the screen cracked when I tried to regularly open the computer from the closed position.
I sent in the unit to get fixed and this is conveniently not covered under the warranty. I was then issued a $399 fee to repair the machine despite that this resulted from normal wear and tear. The machine had never been dropped. It only had a small scratch from accidentally leaving a clip board on top of it a month after I purchased it.
I switched to Lenovo because I had heard of their amazing quality and customer service. I even authorized the purchase of 20 of these machines for our business. After this experience, Lenovo has not only lost my personal business but also the business of my company. I have already spoken to the head of our IT department and had them purchase computers from a different company.
If a computer cannot take the rigor of being opened and closed on a desk then what's the point of purchasing it?"
Review 7 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DWMDX

One Major Flaw

Date: August 6, 2014
"This is a great laptop with one major flaw. The right and left mouse buttons require a lot of force to push the buttons.
You can avoid using the keys by using the touch pad for many functions but for some functions such as excel spreadsheets its not practical or convenient.
My original order came with a defective touch pad so the right mouse key didn't work at all. Lenovo was great about replacing it with a new laptop."
Review 8 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RouterOne

Happy incoming college freshman

Date: July 16, 2014
"Purchased this in March for a HS graduation gift. My daughter wanted/needed the following for her college computer: Touchscreen, separate numeric pad, anti-glare screen. My requirements were a solid state drive or SSD/HD hybrid drive, 1920x1080 FHD LCD and the ability to get 3-4 year extended warranty with accidental damage.
This laptop (59412272) was the only one I found from anywhere that fit all of this.
The 500 GB hybrid drive boots very quickly, and wake-up from sleep is instantaneous.
The anti-glare screen is not a "matte" screen, it is still glossy, but it is better than a full glare screen that is nearly unreadable in bad lighting.
The I7 4500U is a decent processor. The "U" denotes low power processor (draws 15 watts) as opposed to the "M" processors (37 watts) or the HQ processors (47 watts). While not as fast as the others, battery life is much longer (7 hours+ measured).
My daughter recently told me "Thank you Dad, this laptop is perfect for me.""
Review 9 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DMorenfeld

This computer killed the PC for me

Date: July 13, 2014
"This computer is extremely glitchy, and after I had it taken in due touch screen issues, it came back with horrible graphics. I dont know why the picture would change after the screen was replaced, but it doesnt have the same sharpness. I am really upset that I trusted the salesman at Bestbuy on this purchase, because I am thoroughly unhappy with this product. My father in law is a computer engineer for nextest, and we were on vacation in Mexico when he used the computer - he hated it as well. I like Lenovo laptops ive previously owned, however I think I'm going to be going the route of Mac after this failure of a product!"
Review 10 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dgsjr

IdeaPad U530 Touch

Date: July 7, 2014
"I purchased the IdeaPad U530 Touch recently. It is a very good machine. The sound quality for music, videos and movies is very good. I watched a DVD and it worked well. I tried attaching headphones and enjoyed the Dolby stereo sound. The track pad is a bit annoying. I am using a wireless mouse with Bluetooth. The Bluetooth mouse works well. I have a standalone CD/DVD player and burner that connects with USB. I will try more CD's, DVD, and burner features with Nero software. The Touch screen with Windows 8.1 seems to work well. Screen quality is great.
One issue I have is it does not have an Ethernet port. It has a RJ45 port, HDMI and USB's. I will look for an Ethernet Adapter."
Review 11 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mohsen

Flicker Problem

Date: July 5, 2014
"The performance and design is good. However, the top right side of the screen is always flickering and it can be observed at dark grey color!
I during the six month that I have it, I have sent it 3 time for repair, but this flickering was not solved. I do not know whether it is a hardware problem or software!?
"
Review 12 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stur

Very big mistake for me.

Date: June 28, 2014
"I bought Lenova Yoga 2 and had problems from the time I bought it but was determined to have it work for me because I love the idea of moving from laptop to pad. But it was really temperamental. So many problems and annoyances."
Review 13 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
levovopleased352

Great Product

Date: June 23, 2014
"It's pretty expensive, but it's reliable. I haven't had any problems yet, even though people keep telling me Windows 8 will do bad things. The VAIO I bought and returned before this had less features, stopped working, and customer service was a nightmare, so I'm elated that I have not had issues with this computer."
Review 14 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PhantomLancer

Cost effective, if a little cheap

Date: June 20, 2014
"This is an Ideapad, not a Thinkpad, so it's not going to have the signature, top of the line IBM quality that you'd expect; the screen bezel is a bit too big, the screen itself could have a better resolution, the keyboard area is a bit too flexible and the battery life is not as good as advertised.
That being said, this is a very good laptop for students or people who already have a powerful desktop and want something for when you're out of the house. The shell is sturdy, the trackpad is awesome, as is the touchscreen, the Lenovo programs aren't annoying (like other brands bloatware) and serve a real, good purpose, and the laptop will produce little to no heat, even if on a soft, comfy, insulated surface. I primarily use mine (1TB memory+24gb SSD, i5 4200U, 8GB ram) for Microsoft Office and MATLAB, and this laptop has not let me down. Also, I don't get the hate for Windows 8, at least on a laptop. It's 7 with some more added features for YOUR customization (unlike OS X) and mobility.
"
Review 15 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RipperPC

You get what you pay for

Date: June 6, 2014
"The good:
*Screen is 1080p
*core i7 at a reasonable price
The bad:
Please do not treat this as another angry review.. but the build quality on U530 is pathetic,
* the keyboard and the area around the touchpad bends down at the slightest pressure. It is worse for the area next to the screen bezel - goes down by about 5mm or so under the slightest pressure.
* The screen is full hd 1080 - but the colors are washed out - the screen seems 'hazy' (not clear) - and has terrible viewing angles.
* the whole laptop feels to poorly built, and not sturdy at all.
"
Review 16 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Villanovan

Perfect for me

Date: June 5, 2014
"I wanted an entry level computer with a touchscreen. This one has been good so far. I love the back lit keyboard and all seems to be working well. There are a few issues, but nothing huge. The screen is connected to the keyboard by one large hinge, rather than two; therefore the screen is a little wobbly. This is only a problem when using the touch screen. The right hand shift key is shorter than usual, as is the back space. This is something I need to get used to. The touch pad works pretty well, although right clicking takes a lot of force and it is in front of the letter portion of the keyboard; I occasionally touch it while typing. The bottom left part of the computer, where my left wrist rests when I am typing is magnetic. All these things are minor annoyances."
Review 17 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gringo

Great performance, but not a fan of Windows 8.1

Date: May 30, 2014
"After 2 weeks, I am very happy with the performance of my new Lenovo U530, but I'm not a big fan of Window 8.1. One suggestion for the future, make it easier to open the computer. Its current design is a bit cumbersome."
Review 18 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MIsi

Be Careful!

Date: May 29, 2014
"I have a U510 and it is a total lemon. The U-series have massive problems with the keyboard and touch pad, which is behaving erratically as well as the wifi, which simply fails at random. Just google ths issue on the internet... I would never buy another Lenovo and a U-series in particular."
Review 19 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NotEd

Meh

Date: May 28, 2014
"Would have been a better unit if not for Windows 8.1"
Review 20 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HCPbanjo

Excellent replacement for dead PC

Date: May 12, 2014
"This computer does everything I need it to do I especially love the keyboard and the speed at which everything works. All my favorite sites sync perfectly. I haven't yet explored all features, but feel confident that all will go well."