Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad U530 Touch or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad U530 Touch

Average customer rating:
3.544 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
8
33 of 57(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad U530 Touch
Review 1 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A Great Laptop!

Date: September 29, 2014
"I love it! It's slim and sleek. Takes a month to be delivered though."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I returned 2 Macs and got this instead

Date: September 21, 2014
"No boring Mac operating system here. I love this computer. The Dragon assistant is terrific. The specs with this computer are the same equivalent as any Mac product. I highly recommend you purchasing this computer."
Review 3 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

This laptop is cheap

Date: September 14, 2014
"I bought this when it was on sale and I needed a laptop. Overall, the performance is really good for the price, the battery is amazing and it does not overheat.
Unfortunately, the laptop itself is kinda cheap. It makes noises, and the keyboard is the worst keyboard I used in my life. The keys are too small and you need to push hardr than on a normal keyboard.
Also, the screen brightness is nt good, you can barely see what's on the screen when you are outside on a sunny day.
I would not recommend this laptop, unless it is under $750 or so."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed

Date: September 11, 2014
"This is another review about a broken hinge .... joining the masses with a laptop that will no longer close - and all due to the fact that the hinge is attached to a thin, flimsy, brittle piece of plastic instead of metal, or at the very least a more durable plastic. I've only had it for 9 months and other than a sort of cheap, clacky keyboard, it's a pretty good all purpose computer as far as the functions go. I just find it astounding that a company would ruin a good reputation by skimping on an essential part just to save a microscopic amount of money - really short sighted. This is my first Lenovo AND my last."
Review 5 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Feature Packed, but unreliable

Date: September 11, 2014
"I purchased this computer at the end of August and began having problems with it from the outset. I'm not blaming the computer itself because I believe most of the issues stemmed from Windows 8.1, but unfortunately, it left an awful impression. This is partly why I rated the PC relatively fairly for its features. I will just list the problems I experienced due to limitations on characters in the review:
1: The infamous "limited" connection for wifi
2: Sound stopped working
3: Screen Flicker (only happened once though)
4: Difficulty typing due to keyboard layout
The internet issues were the most frustrating for me and the loss of sound was the icing on the cake. Thankfully, Best Buy offered a 15-day return policy. I shouldn't have let the salesman convince me initially to get this computer since I went in for a MBP. I ended up trading it in and paying the extra for the MBP since I couldn't imagine owning another Windows PC after this experience. I'm delighted with the Apple MBP!"
Review 6 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Internet Issues

Date: September 6, 2014
"The laptop worked well for a few months, then issues began with my wireless card. I began sporadically losing internet due to "limited access". If the wifi was turned off, all signals would disappear. The laptop could not see any wireless networks. There seems to be a breakdown of software communication between my wireless driver and the software. When i called to complain and ask what i could do to fix this. I was told that this was a software issue and would cost me an additional 150$ to fix despite the fact that my laptop was 3 months old. It was a software issue, not a hardware one. I downloaded no programs or videos illegally on this laptop. Note, doing a system restore did nothing for me. Also, these laptops take forever to ship."
Review 7 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice but lacking

Date: September 5, 2014
"I purchased this laptop to replace a Dell. After the initial setup the laptop has worked fine. However it is slow to load your profile after a reboot. I was told that it came with a dual-band wireless card. I really didn't think anything of it until I upgraded my router a couple of months after this purchase. I discovered that the wireless card operates on a single band (2.4ghz). It's really disappointing considering that it is 2014 and most devices come with dual-band wireless cards. I've been checking forums and there doesn't seem to be a card that I can buy to work with my laptop. Also the Lenovo support is cumbersome to say the least. The support software installed does not clearly state the correct name of the laptop (ie. U530 Touch). You have to have the name to easily find your computer on their support website, searching by the model number displayed on the computer did not work in my case. There also isn't a tool that will scan your computer for outdated or missing drivers."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible Product

Date: September 2, 2014
"Purchased the laptop a little over a year ago. The laptop was used sparing by my wife for web browsing and emails, nothing taxing a the system. Went to use it today after a week of not using it and it will not turn on. No LEDs flash or blink to show any kind of working life. Called customer support and they were no help at all. Told me to either find a local technician to look at it or pay them a $99.00 non-refundable diagnostic fee. Don't waste your money on a product that doesn't last longer than a year."
Review 9 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

terrible purchase!

Date: August 30, 2014
"bought this laptop in march for $900 noticing that the screen had poor viewing angles and a creaky hinge but i decided to deal with it. as a month went by i noticed how cheaply made this laptop was. (poor viewing angles,creaky plastic hinge, keys gave no feedback and were odly placed far apart which made for a lot of typing errors and EXTREMELY poor battery life (4 hours 5 if your lucky) and unusable on power saving mode, and often very laggy) a couple months later the hinge started to pop out of place and about a week later the the left part of the screen came off the hinge by simply by lifting the screen to the open position (without it ever been dropped). i was surprised to see the screen was still working. unfortunately the returning period for this laptop had ended so i will be sending it to the repair center for a repair... waist of $900"
Review 10 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IrritatingLenovo

Very poor battery backup

Date: August 26, 2014
"My recently purchased Lenovo U530 Touch gives a battery backup of just 36 minutes, when charged fully (100%). I had purchased this laptop from the US and currently in India, but their customer care is not willing to extend any help despite of me having an international warranty supported. Never faced such issues with my earlier units purchased from Dell and Toshiba"
Review 11 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sits

Not good enough for the price

Date: August 25, 2014
"I had high hopes of this laptop, but apart from being slim, it does not justify the price tag at all.
With no option to expand on 8 GB RAM, and a very irritating screen flicker (Mostly on battery), it's a bad deal.
On top of that, sometimes it just does not start, especially when all the USB ports are in use.
I made a bad choice, I advice nobody to do so."
Review 12 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lappy483

Lenovo cut corners to make U530 Touch

Date: August 25, 2014
"On paper, this looks like a great value. Tons of features for the money. It delivers on some, but misses on key, basic aspects that make this a purchase I regret more each day after four months of use.
Pros:
-Large, high resolution screen allows you to work multiple tasks
-Fast to boot up and no problem playing videos, editing photos, or handling normal daily tasks.
Cons:
-awful keyboard has spread out keys that barely depress. very hard to get used to and I make a ton of typos.
-trackpad stops working a few times per day (I believe my drivers are up to date). It's also hard to press down on the clicker, making clicking and dragging (google maps, selecting text) a pain.
-screen is highly reflective and not very bright, making it difficult to see what you're doing in bright settings.
-Battery life doesnt come close to advertised 10 hours. I max at 3-4 with normal use. Other have complained about this too.
Amazed that Lenovo would sell comps with such a bad interface. Prob my last"
Review 13 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Harish

A Great Bargain

Date: August 17, 2014
"Pros -%0D%0A1. Great display 1920 X %0D%0A2. Windows 8.1%0D%0A3. Elegant back lit Key board%0D%0A4. Awesome sound quality.%0D%0A5. Good Touch screen%0D%0A%0D%0A%0D%0A%0D%0ACons%0D%0A1. The pointer pad is very hard and not very responsive.%0D%0A2. The laptop screen can be rotated only till 120 degrees.%0D%0A%0D%0A"
Review 14 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CollectiveConservation

Performs Well Falls Apart RUN AWAY!

Date: August 12, 2014
"I purchased this unit last August. Nearing the one year warranty the screen cracked when I tried to regularly open the computer from the closed position.
I sent in the unit to get fixed and this is conveniently not covered under the warranty. I was then issued a $399 fee to repair the machine despite that this resulted from normal wear and tear. The machine had never been dropped. It only had a small scratch from accidentally leaving a clip board on top of it a month after I purchased it.
I switched to Lenovo because I had heard of their amazing quality and customer service. I even authorized the purchase of 20 of these machines for our business. After this experience, Lenovo has not only lost my personal business but also the business of my company. I have already spoken to the head of our IT department and had them purchase computers from a different company.
If a computer cannot take the rigor of being opened and closed on a desk then what's the point of purchasing it?"
Review 15 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DWMDX

One Major Flaw

Date: August 6, 2014
"This is a great laptop with one major flaw. The right and left mouse buttons require a lot of force to push the buttons.
You can avoid using the keys by using the touch pad for many functions but for some functions such as excel spreadsheets its not practical or convenient.
My original order came with a defective touch pad so the right mouse key didn't work at all. Lenovo was great about replacing it with a new laptop."
Review 16 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RouterOne

Happy incoming college freshman

Date: July 16, 2014
"Purchased this in March for a HS graduation gift. My daughter wanted/needed the following for her college computer: Touchscreen, separate numeric pad, anti-glare screen. My requirements were a solid state drive or SSD/HD hybrid drive, 1920x1080 FHD LCD and the ability to get 3-4 year extended warranty with accidental damage.
This laptop (59412272) was the only one I found from anywhere that fit all of this.
The 500 GB hybrid drive boots very quickly, and wake-up from sleep is instantaneous.
The anti-glare screen is not a "matte" screen, it is still glossy, but it is better than a full glare screen that is nearly unreadable in bad lighting.
The I7 4500U is a decent processor. The "U" denotes low power processor (draws 15 watts) as opposed to the "M" processors (37 watts) or the HQ processors (47 watts). While not as fast as the others, battery life is much longer (7 hours+ measured).
My daughter recently told me "Thank you Dad, this laptop is perfect for me.""
Review 17 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DMorenfeld

This computer killed the PC for me

Date: July 13, 2014
"This computer is extremely glitchy, and after I had it taken in due touch screen issues, it came back with horrible graphics. I dont know why the picture would change after the screen was replaced, but it doesnt have the same sharpness. I am really upset that I trusted the salesman at Bestbuy on this purchase, because I am thoroughly unhappy with this product. My father in law is a computer engineer for nextest, and we were on vacation in Mexico when he used the computer - he hated it as well. I like Lenovo laptops ive previously owned, however I think I'm going to be going the route of Mac after this failure of a product!"
Review 18 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dgsjr

IdeaPad U530 Touch

Date: July 7, 2014
"I purchased the IdeaPad U530 Touch recently. It is a very good machine. The sound quality for music, videos and movies is very good. I watched a DVD and it worked well. I tried attaching headphones and enjoyed the Dolby stereo sound. The track pad is a bit annoying. I am using a wireless mouse with Bluetooth. The Bluetooth mouse works well. I have a standalone CD/DVD player and burner that connects with USB. I will try more CD's, DVD, and burner features with Nero software. The Touch screen with Windows 8.1 seems to work well. Screen quality is great.
One issue I have is it does not have an Ethernet port. It has a RJ45 port, HDMI and USB's. I will look for an Ethernet Adapter."
Review 19 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mohsen

Flicker Problem

Date: July 5, 2014
"The performance and design is good. However, the top right side of the screen is always flickering and it can be observed at dark grey color!
I during the six month that I have it, I have sent it 3 time for repair, but this flickering was not solved. I do not know whether it is a hardware problem or software!?
"
Review 20 for IdeaPad U530 Touch
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stur

Very big mistake for me.

Date: June 28, 2014
"I bought Lenova Yoga 2 and had problems from the time I bought it but was determined to have it work for me because I love the idea of moving from laptop to pad. But it was really temperamental. So many problems and annoyances."