Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X140e or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X140e

Average customer rating:
3.862 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
23 of 29(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X140e
Review 1 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Solid and great computer

Date: November 19, 2014
"Recently purchased this computer and so far I am really enjoying it. It is nice and compact, as well as very light! The only thing that bothers me is the screen bezel. There is just a little too much extra around black bezel around the screen. Wish the screen was a little more like the X230. But everything else on it is amazing! Performance, keyboard, track pad. I would definitely recommend this computer to anyone looking for a reliable, compact, and lightweight machine."
Review 2 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

2nd time's a charmer

Date: November 9, 2014
"I returned the first X140E when the keyboard failed and received credit and excellent customer service.
Not to give up this time I ordered thru a reseller instead of Lenovo outlet. The X140e came in with more memory and setup for windows7pro. It runs llike a charm and i am quiet happy with its performance. Small compact and powerful I will be ordered 4 more after testing this month.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Function over form

Date: November 7, 2014
"This is my first computer, and I couldn't be more happy with it. While it won't win any beauty contest since it is a thinkpad, it does survive the harsh side of life. At this price point, most laptops have sub-par build construction, but not this one. The APU a4-5000 processor really does impress me; it plays league annd saints row the third well... while only using 15 watts. It has a solid battery life; I can get at least 10 hours each day. Much to my delight, this laptop is easily upgradable and servicable. I highly recommend it for school or other work away from an outlet."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointing

Date: November 6, 2014
"Worst laptop that I have ever owned. Thought it would be good value, but you really get what you pay for. The startup time is painfully slow and makes it practically unusable for about 5 minutes. This laptop easily breaks and is not easily repaired. The AMD processor is a huge let down and struggles to open programs like Microsoft Word and Google Chrome. Programs often start to become unresponsive and crash. There is also an annoying and useless light on the back that lights up when the wireless is active. This laptop is made almost entirely of plastic and feels extremely cheap. I would not recommend this laptop for anything as is irritates ever user that attempts to make it run. Lenovo should discontinue this laptop and focus on products that work well, but aren't terribly expensive."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Truly disappointed.

Date: October 28, 2014
"I received the unit after a week waiting.I was quite pleased when I opened the box and set the machine up and ran it. I was not pleased when I found out how slow this unit is. I have ordered more memory for it and expect that to speed things up some. Unfortunately the second day I had it the keyboard stopped working and now I have to send it back to the plant to have it fixed. The only reason I'm doing this is because I have already loaded all my software on it. I also found out that if I return for credit I have to pay them 15% for the restock return which is out of the question.
I will make the best of a truly disappointing product. since I've always used ThinkPads I found this really disappointing.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

EXCELLENT LAPTOP

Date: October 23, 2014
"Purchased for my wife with upgrades, AMD A4-5000 2mg cache, 1.5 ghz, 8gb of ram and a 500 gb 7200 rpm hd. 2x2 wireless/BT with windows 7 professional. Boot up time was 1 min. Cloned the hd to a crucial 512 ssd and installed it with no issues. Boot time is 27 seconds now!! The track pad and buttons are very responsive. The display is fine good color. Really like the size and weight. Very portable and great in bed!! The lenovo utility program is a nice feature to keep everything up to date and running great. It's processor is fast enought for what i use it for. The only thin missing is a back lit keyboard.(reason for 4 stars) A solid unit for the price IMO."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Think pad x14oe

Date: October 22, 2014
"So far so good. It's used for home school by kids. Very user friendly for them and great for little hands. I think the size is great for kids. So far seems to function with no problems.I would recommends this computer to others especially parents with young children."
Review 8 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A good choice

Date: October 11, 2014
"I needed a replacement for my Lenovo x100e and the x140e was recommended. My only complaint is the size....the old x100e was smaller but the new one has the battery in a different location so it is about 2 1/2" longer from front to back. I preferred the old size - was much easier to travel with. Also preferred the location of the power cord on the old one (back) as opposed to the new one (side). The absence of the two front toggles is taking some getting used to. But the touch pad does have a right and left click at the front, so it is only a matter of time before I get proficient at it. The feel of the Lenovo touch pad is great - the best I have ever found and the reason I have stayed with Lenovo for years (I had 3 full size ThinkPads prior to the x100e). The x140e is much faster than my old one, more memory and the same reliability that I've grown so accustomed to."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

slow and locked

Date: October 5, 2014
"poor performance with 4gb of ram and an SSD, speeds more comparable to to an intel core 2 duo at 1.8ghz from back in the day, youtube videos at 720p stutter when played via a 60mbps wired connection, and to top it all off, these "geniuses" put a whitelist on allowed wireless cards, meaning that you can not upgrade to a known good card unless they say it's allowed, on YOUR machine. never buying from lenovo again."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

X140e - Decent Value

Date: October 4, 2014
"Pros: inexpensive (esp. through Lenovo Outlet); small; well equipped (good disk space, memory, sufficient USB ports, VGA port)
Cons: Slow!
I bought this as a second laptop that I could dedicate to preparing and displaying lecture notes, i.e. it's used for word processing and preparing and displaying simple presentations. It's perfect for that. The CPU is not sufficient for more demanding things like image processing. I haven't tried streaming video, so I can't comment on the power of the graphics system.
It has a small footprint, but it's a bit thick and certainly heavier than pricier alternatives. Battery life is good."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Slow, often jams up

Date: September 27, 2014
"I sent the laptop back to Lenovo. It was far too slow. It often jammed up."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

I should have paid more attention

Date: September 26, 2014
"I'm sure the machine will serve my needs, but I wish I'd paid more attention. I bought it in a hurry. The keyboard is small for me and the screen. Without magnifying glasses I have trouble. And frankly, it seems slower than my old XP machine."
Review 13 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice, but could be underpowered for your use

Date: August 29, 2014
"Noticeably not fast even with fast processor - but that can be okay. However, I bought it to use with two 24 inch monitors and the usb 3 dock. That overwhelmed it, even just sitting there it used a lot of CPU, more importantly the wireless speed dropped to unacceptable rates when the external monitors were connected (no impact on hard wire speed). Returned the computer."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeH

Great portable laptop that runs all day

Date: August 27, 2014
"I have been in love with ThinkPads since the late 90's, the industrial design, the ruggedness, the fantastic keyboard and the pointing stick. The X140e that I recently bought gives me all of that in a small package that I can easily whip out wherever I am and start working with excellent battery life. I work on the go, I don't sit at a desk, so it's important that I can quickly pick up where I left off. I have owned and used various tablets but none give me the ability to run all the applications I need and to touch type. Even though the X140e was designed for the educational market it feels so much like my X230T and helps me get my work done."
Review 15 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bjorg

Sturdy and well-designed

Date: August 18, 2014
"I purchased this computer with 4gb of ram and the better of the AMD processors. As is expected of Thinkpads, the body feels rather sturdy, and the keyboard is downright amazing; there is that crisp and constant amount of pressure required to push down the keys that is just about perfect, and the keys are spaced excellently. I have big hands and this is by far the best keyboard I have used. The battery fits snugly into the back, and the lid doesn't bend. The monitor isn't bad. It does an excellent job at reducing glare, and while not the most vivid screen, it is still good. The BIOS is chock full of options, and the rest of the Lenovo software is likewise full of options and features, and good ones at that. The trackpoint and pad drivers are in the same boat. With the chiral scrolling feature the small size of the mouse pad is not debilitating. I never had used an AMD processor before, but am now impressed. It is not meant for gaming but it is more than sufficient for me as a student."
Review 16 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SonoranLady

Not what I expected

Date: July 25, 2014
"Very Heavy to carry around. I have to take this thing out when I visit my patients in their homes. It's like carrying a tone of dead weight. I will return it."
Review 17 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ggreer

Decent hardware, bad software

Date: July 23, 2014
"The laptop is quite solidly built. Internal components such as the memory and hard drive are easily upgradable. After buying it, I bumped the RAM up to 8GB and replaced the hard drive with an Intel SSD.
My troubles came when I tried to use the Lenovo-provided copy of Windows. Some of the bundled software was rather annoying, but the worst bit was that the laptop would randomly lock-up for minutes at a time. Booting took hours. Restoring had no effect.
I ended up erasing everything on the drive and installing a retail copy of Windows 8.1 Pro. Since then, I haven't had any issues.
Minor gripes:
There is a printscreen key between right ctrl and alt.
The microphone is on the palm rest.
There were three stickers on the laptop when I bought it. You don't see Apple putting stickers on their laptops. It's ugly.
There are three LEDs that are always on: Two red LEDs in the Thinkpad logos and one huge green LED on the top. I covered them with black nail polish."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nubz

Great Buy

Date: July 14, 2014
"Love my machine! Can't see myself being disappointed any time soon
A bit slow right after start up, but it picks right up after a minute."
Review 19 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDJR

10-4

Date: June 30, 2014
"Pros: Solid piece that fires up quickly with a sturdy rubber bumper around the display for additional protection. The black mat finish is kind in that finger prints and smudges are not very noticeable after handling. For old tech the vga port is a plus. No frills, bells and whistles but perfect for the business road warrior. Cons: No light indicators when booting up nor on the ac adapter to confirm charging. No backlit keyboard.
Overall: A Big 10-4 for the ThinkPad X140e.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dougm

Great Laptop

Date: June 18, 2014
"Have been a Thinkpad user for about 15 years. Bought this machine to replace a Lenovo Netbook which I loved for its size. It far surpasses that machine which I loved, battery life is equivalent to ThinkPad Android tablet. Love to have the the red Thinkpad joystick back, have missed. Bought it with the AMD 5000 processor and 4gb of memory. Was a little concerned about AMD over Intel but that has gone away. Only problems are with Windows 8.1, that is not Lenovo's fault they tried to fix it with a start menu called Pokki, not the greatest but better that MS's solution. Price is great, highly recommended."