Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X140e or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X140e

Average customer rating:
3.985 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
55 of 66(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X140e
Review 1 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect

Date: June 19, 2015
" I have owned an X120e for several years, but I wanted a little more storage space and speed, so when I had a chance, I grabbed an X140e, and I'm very, very happy with it. The A4 quad-core processor is very fast, and I've been able to squeeze 8 hours of use out of the battery. This is a portable to be proud of.
I upgraded the memory and the hard drive (to 8GB and an SSD) and just like the X120e, the X140e is a pleasure to work on. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Why sell it with a 2G RAM as base

Date: May 20, 2015
" I don't understand as to why a big company as Lenovo sells a laptap at $5k+ with a 2G RAM? Result, it's freaking slow. The slowness prevents even the simple basic configuration of the machine. Levono tech support couldn't tell why the machine is slow. After doing research in Google I understood that I had to purchase additional 4G RAM. After which, it became a normal laptop. Conclusion: Lenovo stops selling this machine with basic 2G RAM, the minimun 4 G. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Ease of set up

Date: April 2, 2015
" Being a ham radio operator, I was concerned that I might have difficulty setting up the 140xe with some specialized programs I've used for years.
Not one problem with this. All works fine. Plenty of power in the machine for future apps. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Not recommended

Date: March 30, 2015
" Our school purchased around 80 of these laptops as part of a new program and these computers are good for that; Photoshop, Dreamweaver, etc. However, I would CERTAINLY NOT recommend to a person looking to purchase their own personal laptop. You shouldn't even be on this site. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

second think pad laptop

Date: January 18, 2015
" I buy a lenove think pad x140e it is good machine and good battry but its cds of window 8.1 are not working and no one can claim about its cds i bought it for windows 8.1 . but here in Tehran this company is not giving me it correct cds for windows 8.1.over all it is good laptop "
Review 6 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Night and day upgrade from x120e

Date: January 15, 2015
" ....wasn't sure if moving from older x120e to the x140e would be worthwhile, but am beyond pleased. Easily twice as fast (I also upgraded from Samsunbg 830 SSD in older system to 850 in the x140e) and went for the 8 gigs of RAM. Battery life also up from tops of four to seven or eight hours.
Major, major improvement and outstanding value. Only quibble is would have liked a bit thinner/lighter system, but overall super pleased. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo X140e laptop Model: 20BLS00400

Date: January 12, 2015
" This is about:
Lenovo Thinkpad X140e 11.6" AMD A4-5000 Quad 8GB 500GB 7200rpm Windows 7 Pro Best Student & Business Ultrabook Laptop Computer
I've been using this machine for 2 weeks now, it's quick with the 8 GB of ram, multitasks well.
Setup was easy, registration with Lenovo online almost automatic.
Little or no junk software comes on it, save the Lenovo utilities which are actually good.
It's heavy for a small laptop, but feels well made, rugged.
Have to wait to see how it does over time. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

best netbook available, but still lacking

Date: January 5, 2015
" I wanted a netbook with an isometric pointing device, there is no other choice. Thankfully like it's former siblings this still has ultranav with actual buttons. It lacks a backlit keyboard & thinklight. Previously owned x-series netbooks & the battery life on this is fantastic compared. Sturdy, easy to service (upgrade memory/storage). Good options for expansion through ports & connectivity. Pre-installed software is an anchor. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo X140e computer review

Date: January 5, 2015
" It is an okay laptop, but not all that I wanted in a computer. The computer/laptop is kind of basic, it does not have a CD drive, it is not a very light weight those are the things that I disapprove of in the computer I have now. Otherwise, it is just fine. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Needs a CD drive

Date: January 5, 2015
" I can't say that I was completely satisfied with this product as it came with a CD but there is not a CD drive in the thinkpad. I had no way of viewing the CD. I will have to purchase an external CD drive which is more money I do not exactly have to invest in this piece of equipment in order for it to meet all of my needs "
Review 11 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

My First ThinkPad

Date: December 31, 2014
" Bought this on sale as I wasn't sure I'd like a smaller notebook style laptop. Very impressed by the construction , features and performance of the X140e. It doesn't have a DVD/CD drive but I bought an external one so I could upgrade to Windows 8.1 (Lenovo included the Win8.1 discs). This is fast becoming my preferred laptop especially for travel. I prefer the X140e over my larger laptop and any of my other tablets--more RAM, hard drive capacity, USB ports, etc. Yes a little heavier than a tablet but worth the extra weight for additional features. Lenovo may have gained another loyal customer. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

X140E

Date: December 30, 2014
" This laptop is fantastic overall, quite fast for multitasking, even though the processor is not that fast, the RAM upgrade sure makes a big impact on performance.
Battery is great so far, withstanding quite a few hours, between 1 to 3 charges a day should be fine for a long time, hopefully. The keyboard is not excellent, but it works well, but the touch-pad is quite shabby.
The display is amazing, but the graphics card is not fitted for most graphic demanding games or applications such as heavy image and video editing, but HD videos play smooth. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Slow Performance

Date: December 27, 2014
" I bought the base model without any enhancements. Unfortunately the performance was extremely slow. I tried updating Windows and removing a lot of preloaded software. Plan on returning this - very disappointed. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great value for the money

Date: December 25, 2014
" Very satisfied with the keyboard layout and feel which was a very important factor in my laptop buying decision. Win 7 pre-installed was a plus since I have no desire to use Win 8 on a laptop. Screen resolution is not the highest but I don't game or watch videos so this was not important to me. After adding an SSD the boot-up and responsiveness improved considerably. I also plan to add another 4GB memory stick soon. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best laptop for the money

Date: December 23, 2014
" I wanted a lightweight 11.7" laptop with Win 7 to replace my HP Pavilion. The Lenovo Thinkpad came loaded with Win 7, plus it included a disc for
Win 8 should I ever have a moment of temporary insanity. The entire laptop feels very sturdy. It is built like a tank. The screen looks good. The processor is fast. I ordered the max of 8 GB of memory which was cheap. The laptop comes with Norton Security installed so the user does not immediately have to download an anti-virus. But then Norton begs for attention until you are ready to shoot it. This laptop does not have a DVD player which makes it lighter and less expensive. That may be important to people who want to watch movies frequently. I only load three programs for which I have the disc and do not want to pay for the updated copy on the web. So I used Amazon's basic external hard drive to load my programs quickly and easily. The laptop was fast and easy to set up and came with a power cord. This was a good deal.
"
Review 16 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice compact machine with a few flaws

Date: December 22, 2014
" I was thinking about buying a Chrome Book but decided to go with the X140e because I've had good luck with Windows 7 and wanted to stick with it. The computer came with Windows 8.1 disks but I don't plan to use them.
I purchased the X140e from one of Amazon's partners. Very little literature came with the computer and some of the features are left over from whoever the previous user was. The language that popped up on the screen was Hebrew. If you're thinking about buying the X140e I'd recommend that you get it directly from Lenovo.
As a freelance writer I find the X140e to be the perfect size to carry with me. The keyboard is larger than I expected.
I guess I didn't read the promotion copy carefully enough because I thought the X140e had a USB port and I could do conventional copying. Cloud copying may well be the way things will go in the future but I'm not comfortable with it. I'm still using my old computer and copier when I need to print something. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

First Leveno!

Date: December 22, 2014
" I was looking for a small rather powerful laptop, I found this one and liked all it had to offer! Iv only ever had Dells so I wanted to venture out from that for this laptop. Overall I'm very impressed and very pleased! "
Review 18 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

perfect for my needs

Date: December 22, 2014
" I am replacing another notebook and this is much better. The keyboard is easy to use. I am not a fast typist and never the less can do a good job. My only issue is with the software it comes with. I don't use the MSN page, it is a nuisance... "
Review 19 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

excelent ultrabook

Date: December 17, 2014
" I buy this ultrabook for my two son. This computer came with Windows 7 pro preinstalled and W8.1 pro Cd recovery media. I have problem installing the W8.1 pro recovery media, this disk have a problem in a c:\swwork\dwwork.cmd script file, this problem make unusable the OS Windows 8.1 pro. Please revise this CD's to resolve them. I resolve with a manual patch that I have analyzed in the script. After this I installed w8.1 pro in this book and work great !!!. the notebook work fine, the graphic card is not the best but function well. in general terms this notebook is wanderful, is compact, strong. The battery have up 8 hours of continue use this is great for an student.
I recoment this ultrabook.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Best netbook

Date: December 17, 2014
" Hard to beat for the money. "