Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X140e or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X140e

Average customer rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
41 of 48(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X140e
Review 1 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

excelent ultrabook

Date: December 17, 2014
" I buy this ultrabook for my two son. This computer came with Windows 7 pro preinstalled and W8.1 pro Cd recovery media. I have problem installing the W8.1 pro recovery media, this disk have a problem in a c:\swwork\dwwork.cmd script file, this problem make unusable the OS Windows 8.1 pro. Please revise this CD's to resolve them. I resolve with a manual patch that I have analyzed in the script. After this I installed w8.1 pro in this book and work great !!!. the notebook work fine, the graphic card is not the best but function well. in general terms this notebook is wanderful, is compact, strong. The battery have up 8 hours of continue use this is great for an student.
I recoment this ultrabook.
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Best netbook

Date: December 17, 2014
" Hard to beat for the money. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect for my needs

Date: December 16, 2014
" I was looking for a durable laptop with no bells and whistles. I am a court reporter who carries my machine with me pretty much everywhere I go, at the courthouse and at home. My last little laptop was great while it lasted, but I ran it into the ground with the volume of work I have to produce and the speed at which I am expected to complete it. I don't have time for computer issues. I need something that is sturdy and can keep up with me when I type and not freeze up. This laptop has been perfect so far. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

x140excellent

Date: December 15, 2014
" I've had this machine one week. Don't choke the machine with updates, just let it take them as they come. I jammed them down and had to restore to new. easy with the partition. Now everything is great. The screen is perfect for the size, keyboard feels fine. I like status lights, so this machine is lacking in that respect. Overall, I am very pleased "
Review 5 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovos X140e is a great value!

Date: December 10, 2014
" While this notebook is not as light as my Lenovo Netbook, it has a lot more to offer.It came with a great display, a 500gb hdd and 4gb of ram, so this has quite a bit more power and capacity than my old Netbook. I did, however, immediately install a second 4gb memory chip to bring it to its maximum ram capacity- doubling the ram made the speed outstanding. Lenovo should offer this model with that option- they could do so and still keep the price under $300. It is a rugged, well-built notebook. I have given it a 3 on performance for the lower memory capacity and because of the touch pad. It is my first experience with a hard plastic touch pad and I find it slow and unresponsive compared to the soft touch pad on my old netbook - this may seem picky but this kind of problem is a frustrating problem when you expect, and are used to, a sensitive touch pad. Notwithstanding, this is an outstanding value and with the extra ram, a powerhouse notebook at this price point. It won't disappoint. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

lenovo

Date: December 9, 2014
" small ,light weight,and ease of use.
would make a great gift
price is great "
Review 7 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad X140e

Date: December 8, 2014
" This was a recent purchase but it looks like an IBM clone that served me faithfully in Iraq. So under those conditions this design held up reliably for a long time. It is faster than I expected. Very good product. Actually for the price I paid, under 300.00 I was tempted to give it five but it should come with more software or a list of the best free products available without virus risk. The Norton trial is better than I remember their product being. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Adequate for my needs

Date: December 8, 2014
" The machine comes loaded with the usual anti virus program that is slow, intrusive and nearly impossible to remove completely. The processor is slow for a 2014 device. The screen font is itty bitty requiring a 125% setting to be read. The good news, inexpensive and comes with adequate memory. I only use the device as a music source using a 3rd party music software. For this, with an outboard disc player and maxed memory, the machine works fine. One annoying issue. Sometimes simply moving the cursor over a button activates it even when I have not clicked on the mouse...OH, and this thing should come with a basic wireless mouse! Best feature..lots of hard drive. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

think pad

Date: December 8, 2014
" This small computer is just what I needed for my needs. Very satisfied with its performance, and would recommend it to anyone seeking a small
laptop.
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Basic, study

Date: December 3, 2014
" Built like a tank. A little on the heavy side. Screen could be bigger- giant bezels.
Battery life is good, keyboard is fantastic. Touchpad a bit on the small side, but you get the fantastic Thinkpad pointing stick anyway.
LOVE the fullsize HDMI and VGA outputs. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Previously had x120

Date: December 1, 2014
" I had a Thinkpad x120 that was stolen, and replaced it with the x140e. I was disappointed to see that Lenovo has cheapened the X100 series a bit recently; plastic didn't seem as high quality as on the x120, touchpad is not as precise, and the charger is less robust. Overall the build quality is still pretty good, and the great keyboard was still the same. With 2gb of RAM and Windows 8, the laptop was essentially nonfunctioning. I would type a sentence into MS Word and wait 5 seconds for the text to appear, and couldn't run multiple applications; I had to restart the computer constantly because it would freeze and considered shipping the laptop back to Lenovo.
Instead I bought another 2gb stick (laptop came with 1x2gb RAM) and the difference was huge. The base-level AMD processor is still a bit of a dog, but the computer shines everywhere else. I get 6+ hours of battery life with basic usage (internet, MS Office). Overall, great little laptop for the price on Lenovo Outlet.
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

great value and performance

Date: December 1, 2014
" Had my doubts whether AMD A4 would be enough processor and pleasantly surprised. Runs very smooth and I think the 7200 rpm hard drive makes a big difference. I upgraded to 8GB Ram and could not be happier. I am running Windows 7 Pro with no problems. Once our Company moves their software to be compatible with Windows 8.1, will upgrade since the disks were included at no additional charge to upgrade. Also, I bought the Lenovo 1421 usb portable monitor and love it too- dual screens make me lots more productive. I like the keyboard on the x140e, especially the Mouse Pointer. I know a lot of people do not like it but if you give it a try for awhile, I can not / will not use the track pad on any machines any more. Once you get used to the red pointer, I would suggest you change settings to the lightest touch as it takes much less effort to move it around. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid. Right tool for the right job.

Date: December 1, 2014
" Such a solid product:
- Well constructed (rubber bump, sturdy plastic). Feels like it could survive a 10 foot drop.
- Easy to upgrade RAM, Hard Disk, and WiFi card. (Just 3 screws to pop open)
- Love the portability (size, weight, and battery life)
I purchased the quad-core (A4-5000) model, and the performance is plenty sufficient for my day-to-day activities in the office. It's probably not much of a gamer, but it does play high quality videos flawlessly.
I was able to pick this up at a sub-$300 price, and considering its upgradeability, it's better long-term investment than chromebooks/tablets near the price point. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Hey,

Date: December 1, 2014
" Thank you for the laptop for my schooling. It is a really good laptop and it gets the job done.
I wish there wasn't any sites blocked or anything like that, cause I like iTunes and would love to download it on my computer. other than that, it is a really good laptop.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Early Impressions

Date: November 29, 2014
" I have only had the Lenovo for a short time. It should travel well, my main purchase criteria. Nice keyboard. The finger pad is disappointing as it does not respond with consistency. This might prove very annoying over time. Any remedies? Not sure what to do with the Windows 8.1 enclosed disk. No instructions. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Replacement for Chromebook...

Date: November 29, 2014
" The third time I attempted to use this computer it would not post. The ThinkPad light lit up, but that was all. After consulting the documentation and attempting to troubleshoot I sent it straight back to amazon. The computer looked robust in its build quality, but I am severely disappointed. I did not love the trackpad, but I was prepared to get used to it. In hindsight, I realize even with a reputable company like Lenovo you get what you pay for. Never again. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great little machine

Date: November 29, 2014
" I bought this 11.6" ThinkPad to replace an old netbook with a 10" monitor. This is such a great improvement in every respect! The picture quality is terrific, the touchpad works well, and the keyboard seems like it's full size, not cramped at all. It's a great size for travel. I love it! "
Review 18 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Good small laptop

Date: November 26, 2014
" Pros:
Low price
Windows 7 or 8.1 Pro
Nice screen
Rugged design
Cons:
Older design
Heavy!
Small screen relative to size of case
Good rugged laptop for professional user that need low cost Windows Pro environment. When you factor in the cost of Windows the hardware is only about $70. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Just Perfect

Date: November 25, 2014
" I'm an IT professional and finding a machine with an Ethernet port in this form factor is tough. I would have paid twice what I did for for this thing. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Solid and great computer

Date: November 19, 2014
" Recently purchased this computer and so far I am really enjoying it. It is nice and compact, as well as very light! The only thing that bothers me is the screen bezel. There is just a little too much extra around black bezel around the screen. Wish the screen was a little more like the X230. But everything else on it is amazing! Performance, keyboard, track pad. I would definitely recommend this computer to anyone looking for a reliable, compact, and lightweight machine. "