Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X140e or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X140e

Average customer rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X140e
Review 1 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bjorg

Sturdy and well-designed

Date: August 18, 2014
"I purchased this computer with 4gb of ram and the better of the AMD processors. As is expected of Thinkpads, the body feels rather sturdy, and the keyboard is downright amazing; there is that crisp and constant amount of pressure required to push down the keys that is just about perfect, and the keys are spaced excellently. I have big hands and this is by far the best keyboard I have used. The battery fits snugly into the back, and the lid doesn't bend. The monitor isn't bad. It does an excellent job at reducing glare, and while not the most vivid screen, it is still good. The BIOS is chock full of options, and the rest of the Lenovo software is likewise full of options and features, and good ones at that. The trackpoint and pad drivers are in the same boat. With the chiral scrolling feature the small size of the mouse pad is not debilitating. I never had used an AMD processor before, but am now impressed. It is not meant for gaming but it is more than sufficient for me as a student."
Review 2 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SonoranLady

Not what I expected

Date: July 25, 2014
"Very Heavy to carry around. I have to take this thing out when I visit my patients in their homes. It's like carrying a tone of dead weight. I will return it."
Review 3 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ggreer

Decent hardware, bad software

Date: July 23, 2014
"The laptop is quite solidly built. Internal components such as the memory and hard drive are easily upgradable. After buying it, I bumped the RAM up to 8GB and replaced the hard drive with an Intel SSD.
My troubles came when I tried to use the Lenovo-provided copy of Windows. Some of the bundled software was rather annoying, but the worst bit was that the laptop would randomly lock-up for minutes at a time. Booting took hours. Restoring had no effect.
I ended up erasing everything on the drive and installing a retail copy of Windows 8.1 Pro. Since then, I haven't had any issues.
Minor gripes:
There is a printscreen key between right ctrl and alt.
The microphone is on the palm rest.
There were three stickers on the laptop when I bought it. You don't see Apple putting stickers on their laptops. It's ugly.
There are three LEDs that are always on: Two red LEDs in the Thinkpad logos and one huge green LED on the top. I covered them with black nail polish."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nubz

Great Buy

Date: July 14, 2014
"Love my machine! Can't see myself being disappointed any time soon
A bit slow right after start up, but it picks right up after a minute."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDJR

10-4

Date: June 30, 2014
"Pros: Solid piece that fires up quickly with a sturdy rubber bumper around the display for additional protection. The black mat finish is kind in that finger prints and smudges are not very noticeable after handling. For old tech the vga port is a plus. No frills, bells and whistles but perfect for the business road warrior. Cons: No light indicators when booting up nor on the ac adapter to confirm charging. No backlit keyboard.
Overall: A Big 10-4 for the ThinkPad X140e.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dougm

Great Laptop

Date: June 18, 2014
"Have been a Thinkpad user for about 15 years. Bought this machine to replace a Lenovo Netbook which I loved for its size. It far surpasses that machine which I loved, battery life is equivalent to ThinkPad Android tablet. Love to have the the red Thinkpad joystick back, have missed. Bought it with the AMD 5000 processor and 4gb of memory. Was a little concerned about AMD over Intel but that has gone away. Only problems are with Windows 8.1, that is not Lenovo's fault they tried to fix it with a start menu called Pokki, not the greatest but better that MS's solution. Price is great, highly recommended."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie

Great computer for travel

Date: June 10, 2014
"This computer is light, has a long lasting battery and a wonderful keyboard, for someone with small hands."
Review 8 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Emmet

Worst purchase

Date: June 8, 2014
"I wish I had checked this out before buying. Runs slow and the Windows 8.1 is a leap backwards."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
unknown

X140 E

Date: June 7, 2014
"Value was less then expected for the price paid for the unit. The sale price of $407 would be a good value but we paid over $670 for it. Also, hard drive is very slow. It should have had SSD 250 GB with it. I considered this option when we purchased it but your cost was 2-3 higher then purchasing one and installing it ourself. Overall quality of unit is good."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
steve

Great hardware

Date: May 11, 2014
"Pros: You get a lot of power for the price in a laptop that's made to take abuse. I bought this to go backpacking for 2 months in Asia. It has been through a backpack in storms, kicked under airplane seats, and dropped and all sorts of things. It is thicker and bulkier than a lot of other 11.6in laptops, but much more durable.
The GPU is enough for some light gaming like LoL. The CPU is good enough. 7200rpm HD means faster loading.
The laptop is very serviceable. A few screws and you have access to everything, which is another blessing for an 11.6 device.
Cons: The screen is just a regular TN panel, which means bad colors, blacks, viewing angles. I would have gladly spent another $100 to get an IPS screen instead of TN if it were an option.
A4-5000 upgrade strongly recommended."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ikhider

Surpassing Mobile Laptop

Date: April 10, 2014
"The AMD powered X140E straddles the line between laptop and netbook, giving the best of both. Long battery life, light and portable, roomy hard drive, RAM capacity at 8 gigs-this is the best laptop I have used. The graphics processor enables me to run Adobe Creative Cloud, including Premiere Pro, without a hiccup. Boot times and launch may take longer, but that is what you get with an ultra-portable CPU. Linux and BSD distros run like the wind on this thing though, probably has to do with the OS. Nice, comfy keyboard and screen size. The touch pad is a bit annoying when typing, it would be nice to disable when writing long documents. Otherwise, a surpassing machine at an unbelievable price."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Praveen
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Best small laptop at this price.

Date: March 10, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
"I bought the AMD model with the A4-5000 Processor and 2GB RAM. Replaced the hard drive with a Samsung Evo SSD, and added a 4 GB stick (RAM).. has 2 DIMMs, unlike most small laptops in this range. Works great with Windows 7 pro (came pre-installed). I wanted a matte screen and I get that here.
I bought this for productivity, not games and the performance is excellent. Will be adding an external USB DVD burner and that completes what I need.
I looked across Asus, HP, Dell and Acer, and finally settled on this one. This Thinkpad retains the build quality of the original IBM Thinkpads. Highly recommended if you need a lightweight small screen machine (and if you can build the configuration I have).
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crunchbanger
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Great little Laptop

Date: March 6, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Support, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: Display performance
"I'm running Crunchbang on my ThinkPad right now and didn't have any trouble getting it to work. The WiFi needed a driver but it was easily found on the repository in a few seconds. In my experience Linux support on laptops doesn't mean that everything works 100% after the install but that you actually can get everything to work.
Anyway... it's a great little laptop, very portable and sturdy at the expense of being noticeably heavier than similar sized laptops. The display isn't quite as sharp as I'd like and while the speakers are serviceable if you feel like rocking out to Motley Crue you'd best pack some headphones. Lastly what I really do LOVE about this laptop is that unlike many laptops now you can easily pop off the back panel and perform upgrades or repairs."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wole
Owned Product:Just got it
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Ubuntu 13-10desktopamd 64bit works some tweak

Date: February 28, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Warranty, Support, Weight, Included Software, Software compatibility
"I partly agree with the previous buyer, my choice of this purchase was the press coverage of Ubuntu working well with this laptop.
Here is how to get it to work with a little work.
1. I used unetboot to create an USB bootable stick of Ubuntu-13-10-desktop-amd64.iso
2. When booting press F12 so that you have selection to boot via stick
3. I had my laptop connected to RJ45 to internet
4. During install I checked "install third party packages"
5. After installl the laptop started with a message indicating "The system is running in low-graphics mode"
6. This exited to the terminal.
7. After quick google search this command fixed the issue after I did a apt-get upgrade
"sudo apt-get install fglrx"
I am writing this review using X on Ubuntu using the laptop.
Good luck."
Review 15 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:AMD
Memory:4 GB or more

Great small laptop

Date: January 2, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Durability, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance
"I purchased this laptop with the A4-5000 cpu and it is incredibly fast for a small size laptop. This is my first ThinkPad and I am very impressed with the build quality. Also this machine has 2 usb 3.0, VGA, HDMI, and an Ethernet port, things rarely found on a laptop this size.
The only disappointments I have are the Ethernet port is a 10/100 rather than gigabit and there is no option for a solid state drive yet.
Overall this is a great laptop for the price.
"