Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X140e or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X140e

Average customer rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
20 of 24(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X140e
Review 1 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

EXCELLENT LAPTOP

Date: October 23, 2014
"Purchased for my wife with upgrades, AMD A4-5000 2mg cache, 1.5 ghz, 8gb of ram and a 500 gb 7200 rpm hd. 2x2 wireless/BT with windows 7 professional. Boot up time was 1 min. Cloned the hd to a crucial 512 ssd and installed it with no issues. Boot time is 27 seconds now!! The track pad and buttons are very responsive. The display is fine good color. Really like the size and weight. Very portable and great in bed!! The lenovo utility program is a nice feature to keep everything up to date and running great. It's processor is fast enought for what i use it for. The only thin missing is a back lit keyboard.(reason for 4 stars) A solid unit for the price IMO."
Review 2 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Think pad x14oe

Date: October 22, 2014
"So far so good. It's used for home school by kids. Very user friendly for them and great for little hands. I think the size is great for kids. So far seems to function with no problems.I would recommends this computer to others especially parents with young children."
Review 3 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A good choice

Date: October 11, 2014
"I needed a replacement for my Lenovo x100e and the x140e was recommended. My only complaint is the size....the old x100e was smaller but the new one has the battery in a different location so it is about 2 1/2" longer from front to back. I preferred the old size - was much easier to travel with. Also preferred the location of the power cord on the old one (back) as opposed to the new one (side). The absence of the two front toggles is taking some getting used to. But the touch pad does have a right and left click at the front, so it is only a matter of time before I get proficient at it. The feel of the Lenovo touch pad is great - the best I have ever found and the reason I have stayed with Lenovo for years (I had 3 full size ThinkPads prior to the x100e). The x140e is much faster than my old one, more memory and the same reliability that I've grown so accustomed to."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

slow and locked

Date: October 5, 2014
"poor performance with 4gb of ram and an SSD, speeds more comparable to to an intel core 2 duo at 1.8ghz from back in the day, youtube videos at 720p stutter when played via a 60mbps wired connection, and to top it all off, these "geniuses" put a whitelist on allowed wireless cards, meaning that you can not upgrade to a known good card unless they say it's allowed, on YOUR machine. never buying from lenovo again."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

X140e - Decent Value

Date: October 4, 2014
"Pros: inexpensive (esp. through Lenovo Outlet); small; well equipped (good disk space, memory, sufficient USB ports, VGA port)
Cons: Slow!
I bought this as a second laptop that I could dedicate to preparing and displaying lecture notes, i.e. it's used for word processing and preparing and displaying simple presentations. It's perfect for that. The CPU is not sufficient for more demanding things like image processing. I haven't tried streaming video, so I can't comment on the power of the graphics system.
It has a small footprint, but it's a bit thick and certainly heavier than pricier alternatives. Battery life is good."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Slow, often jams up

Date: September 27, 2014
"I sent the laptop back to Lenovo. It was far too slow. It often jammed up."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

I should have paid more attention

Date: September 26, 2014
"I'm sure the machine will serve my needs, but I wish I'd paid more attention. I bought it in a hurry. The keyboard is small for me and the screen. Without magnifying glasses I have trouble. And frankly, it seems slower than my old XP machine."
Review 8 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Nice, but could be underpowered for your use

Date: August 29, 2014
"Noticeably not fast even with fast processor - but that can be okay. However, I bought it to use with two 24 inch monitors and the usb 3 dock. That overwhelmed it, even just sitting there it used a lot of CPU, more importantly the wireless speed dropped to unacceptable rates when the external monitors were connected (no impact on hard wire speed). Returned the computer."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeH

Great portable laptop that runs all day

Date: August 27, 2014
"I have been in love with ThinkPads since the late 90's, the industrial design, the ruggedness, the fantastic keyboard and the pointing stick. The X140e that I recently bought gives me all of that in a small package that I can easily whip out wherever I am and start working with excellent battery life. I work on the go, I don't sit at a desk, so it's important that I can quickly pick up where I left off. I have owned and used various tablets but none give me the ability to run all the applications I need and to touch type. Even though the X140e was designed for the educational market it feels so much like my X230T and helps me get my work done."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bjorg

Sturdy and well-designed

Date: August 18, 2014
"I purchased this computer with 4gb of ram and the better of the AMD processors. As is expected of Thinkpads, the body feels rather sturdy, and the keyboard is downright amazing; there is that crisp and constant amount of pressure required to push down the keys that is just about perfect, and the keys are spaced excellently. I have big hands and this is by far the best keyboard I have used. The battery fits snugly into the back, and the lid doesn't bend. The monitor isn't bad. It does an excellent job at reducing glare, and while not the most vivid screen, it is still good. The BIOS is chock full of options, and the rest of the Lenovo software is likewise full of options and features, and good ones at that. The trackpoint and pad drivers are in the same boat. With the chiral scrolling feature the small size of the mouse pad is not debilitating. I never had used an AMD processor before, but am now impressed. It is not meant for gaming but it is more than sufficient for me as a student."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SonoranLady

Not what I expected

Date: July 25, 2014
"Very Heavy to carry around. I have to take this thing out when I visit my patients in their homes. It's like carrying a tone of dead weight. I will return it."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ggreer

Decent hardware, bad software

Date: July 23, 2014
"The laptop is quite solidly built. Internal components such as the memory and hard drive are easily upgradable. After buying it, I bumped the RAM up to 8GB and replaced the hard drive with an Intel SSD.
My troubles came when I tried to use the Lenovo-provided copy of Windows. Some of the bundled software was rather annoying, but the worst bit was that the laptop would randomly lock-up for minutes at a time. Booting took hours. Restoring had no effect.
I ended up erasing everything on the drive and installing a retail copy of Windows 8.1 Pro. Since then, I haven't had any issues.
Minor gripes:
There is a printscreen key between right ctrl and alt.
The microphone is on the palm rest.
There were three stickers on the laptop when I bought it. You don't see Apple putting stickers on their laptops. It's ugly.
There are three LEDs that are always on: Two red LEDs in the Thinkpad logos and one huge green LED on the top. I covered them with black nail polish."
Review 13 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nubz

Great Buy

Date: July 14, 2014
"Love my machine! Can't see myself being disappointed any time soon
A bit slow right after start up, but it picks right up after a minute."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDJR

10-4

Date: June 30, 2014
"Pros: Solid piece that fires up quickly with a sturdy rubber bumper around the display for additional protection. The black mat finish is kind in that finger prints and smudges are not very noticeable after handling. For old tech the vga port is a plus. No frills, bells and whistles but perfect for the business road warrior. Cons: No light indicators when booting up nor on the ac adapter to confirm charging. No backlit keyboard.
Overall: A Big 10-4 for the ThinkPad X140e.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dougm

Great Laptop

Date: June 18, 2014
"Have been a Thinkpad user for about 15 years. Bought this machine to replace a Lenovo Netbook which I loved for its size. It far surpasses that machine which I loved, battery life is equivalent to ThinkPad Android tablet. Love to have the the red Thinkpad joystick back, have missed. Bought it with the AMD 5000 processor and 4gb of memory. Was a little concerned about AMD over Intel but that has gone away. Only problems are with Windows 8.1, that is not Lenovo's fault they tried to fix it with a start menu called Pokki, not the greatest but better that MS's solution. Price is great, highly recommended."
Review 16 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie

Great computer for travel

Date: June 10, 2014
"This computer is light, has a long lasting battery and a wonderful keyboard, for someone with small hands."
Review 17 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Emmet

Worst purchase

Date: June 8, 2014
"I wish I had checked this out before buying. Runs slow and the Windows 8.1 is a leap backwards."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
unknown

X140 E

Date: June 7, 2014
"Value was less then expected for the price paid for the unit. The sale price of $407 would be a good value but we paid over $670 for it. Also, hard drive is very slow. It should have had SSD 250 GB with it. I considered this option when we purchased it but your cost was 2-3 higher then purchasing one and installing it ourself. Overall quality of unit is good."
Review 19 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
steve

Great hardware

Date: May 11, 2014
"Pros: You get a lot of power for the price in a laptop that's made to take abuse. I bought this to go backpacking for 2 months in Asia. It has been through a backpack in storms, kicked under airplane seats, and dropped and all sorts of things. It is thicker and bulkier than a lot of other 11.6in laptops, but much more durable.
The GPU is enough for some light gaming like LoL. The CPU is good enough. 7200rpm HD means faster loading.
The laptop is very serviceable. A few screws and you have access to everything, which is another blessing for an 11.6 device.
Cons: The screen is just a regular TN panel, which means bad colors, blacks, viewing angles. I would have gladly spent another $100 to get an IPS screen instead of TN if it were an option.
A4-5000 upgrade strongly recommended."
Review 20 for ThinkPad X140e
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ikhider

Surpassing Mobile Laptop

Date: April 10, 2014
"The AMD powered X140E straddles the line between laptop and netbook, giving the best of both. Long battery life, light and portable, roomy hard drive, RAM capacity at 8 gigs-this is the best laptop I have used. The graphics processor enables me to run Adobe Creative Cloud, including Premiere Pro, without a hiccup. Boot times and launch may take longer, but that is what you get with an ultra-portable CPU. Linux and BSD distros run like the wind on this thing though, probably has to do with the OS. Nice, comfy keyboard and screen size. The touch pad is a bit annoying when typing, it would be nice to disable when writing long documents. Otherwise, a surpassing machine at an unbelievable price."