Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo Z500 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Z500

Thin and light, affordable 15.6" multimedia laptop.

Average customer rating:
4.036 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
1
21 of 28(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Z500
Review 1 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Absolutely the most unreliable laptop ever bought

Date: October 13, 2014
" Purchased 2 of these laptops and over the course of 20 months both have been plagued by problems. Overheating, Screen dimness. Failing to boot. Motherboard replacement (twice).
While the speed, look and features are great, they mean nothing if it isn't reliable. This machine is anything but reliable.
I will never invest money in another Lenovo. "
Review 2 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

not at all good

Date: October 3, 2014
" the worst lap ever, l "
Review 3 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LenovoZ500User

Really bad

Date: July 5, 2014
" extremely bad battery life (2.5 hours average usage no games and on power saving mode) . very dim screen, low resolution and bad viewing angles. mediocre built quality. horrible flex keyboard. very heavy. software not so good. the only good thing is the laptop's performance. "
Review 4 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nonoy

The Best lappy ever

Date: April 28, 2014
" Been looking for good if not excellent laptop but i was starstruck with my Lenovo ideapad Z500...core i5 with 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD and 2 GB graphics. I can say is...outstanding! Though i found it a bit expenssive in my pocket but it's worth since i'm working as a designer. When it comes to movies, pictures and music...it is more than satisfying.
Im so thankful for the product cause it made my day all the time and until today it's still unbeatable since i bought it 2 years ago. Now, i'm upgrading it from Win8 to Win 8.1. Recommended!
"
Review 5 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AXel

Very good Pc

Date: April 16, 2014
" Powerfull, light weight and preety long batery endurance...but it has a bad, bad screen...although i love it. "
Review 6 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome notebook!!!!

Date: February 7, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, ibm lenovo
" I am using this notebook since last 5 months. It is still under warranty. I have not found a single issue with the performance, memory, display, processor or any other thing. It is working like a charm. I am very happy to buy it. I would recommend Z500 to anyone who is looking for a new laptop. "
Review 7 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SirJoot
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop

Date: January 15, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Included Software, Software compatibility
" This is a great laptop, I would really suggest getting it if you need an upgrade. The i7 inside it is a rather new Sandy Bridge processor and is really fast. It is one of the few Quad-Core Laptops I have seen.
I am a nerd and the only thing I would say that disappointed me with it is the fact that it comes with Windows 8. Overall, great laptop.
"
Review 8 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
destonic
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

One of the best budget laptops

Date: January 6, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Build Quality, Storage, sound
Cons: Battery
" One of the best budget laptops. It has really cool design, ultrabookish style with aluminium use. It performs very good for office works and even for gaming. Built in audio speakers are really cool. I really like them. Display is ordinary for budget laptops with resolution 1336x768 which is more than enough for me. It has anti glare cover which I think is very good for using it outside. Overall keyboard is very good, but seems my laptop has some problem with F letter which sometimes make noise when I press. The touchpad performance is very nice with various gestures, but it wobbles a lil bit. Overall I'm happy with my purchase. "
Review 9 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rezacloner
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop

Date: December 18, 2013
" this is a nice and useful notebook and i love it "
Review 10 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RAysheh
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good performance only

Date: December 15, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Video card, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
" to be honest the performance is great , a great CPU and memory ,
BUT , the over all design of this laptop is BAD :
1- The laptop edges do heart my hand and leave lot of marks on my skin , they are very sharp .
2- The touch pad , sound it makes very disturbing plus the performance is not good , especially when you deal with click .
3- The keyboard , OMG , small enter key and small arrow keys , Lenovo restricts me to use the multimedia keys instead of function keys "f1-f12" as default , without an option to change this.
My keyboard malfunctioned twice .
4- the drivers for windows 8 are rubbish with no updates , or even the updates make things worst for example .
do I recommend it , am sorry to say no ....
"
Review 11 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buckybronco
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop for a low price

Date: November 12, 2013
Pros: can be used as a gaming computer
" As long as you don't totally destroy this computer with high-demand games and viruses. This computer is an amazing computer. It works perfectly for me when I travel as I am a game programmer. If you are looking for one of your first computers, this is the way to go. "
Review 12 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Loher
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Disappointed so far....

Date: October 27, 2013
Cons: Storage, Wireless card, Support, Battery, Weight, Build Quality
" Where is the quality testing these days. Replacing my older dell, decided to try an idea pad. Experience so far not good. High-end machine (I7) but hard drive speed makes the machine slow. Wireless kicks off every 5 minutes, no reasonable solutions on line yet. Bug with the battery charging (Internal only...). Plugged in for days, only shows 56%. On line these are known issues, why not fix them on the units being shipped.
Hopefully an update soon with better news. Glad I got the warranty.
"
Review 13 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jacob
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

*review on i3, touchscreen, 6GB RAM*

Date: October 27, 2013
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Durability, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: speaker quality
" The Z500T is a great laptop with all the features that is comes with. The backlight keyboard and HD webcam make the laptop that little bit better compared to others like the HP SmartBook Pro or the Sony Viao. It is an absolute stunner which has a 5 hour battery life, HD webcam, i3 processor (i5 on selected models), touchscreen which is very responsive.
The down side to this laptop, is the speakers are on the underneath of the laptop, so sometimes the sound quality isn't the best!
"
Review 14 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lokk
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best purchase but

Date: October 27, 2013
" i have bought this laptop on october 8th. i fell in love with this machine but from one week i am observing that while playing music i am getting struck feel. that's the only issue i am facing rest of every thing is ok "
Review 15 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alex
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5

bad laptop, choose another one!!

Date: October 23, 2013
Pros: Weight, Memory, Screen size
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Display performance, Durability, constantly loses internet connection
" this laptop is the absolute worse when it comes to anything internet. i've had to deal with constant signal loss since day one. the wifi literally just disconnects itself, sometimes several times an hour. the only way to reconnect is to restart the entire computer which as you can imagine is a bit aggravating especially when you're watching videos or typing up a paper. and more recently, for about a week now, youtube videos wont even load at all!!!! it's not my internet connection because i have another laptop and the internet works fine on that one. and never drops the signal. this is just a bad purchase overall, save yourself the trouble and just pick another one..or you'll be stuck with this no internet having laptop, basically a virtual notebook "
Review 16 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lenovoideapadZ500user
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Laptop for the price

Date: October 5, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Memory, Video card, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software
" Pros :
1)speedy core i7 and nvidia Gt 740m
2)cool and slim design
3)input output compatibility is great
4)speakers are AWESOME
5)fair 720p web camera
6)good price for features
7)big track pad
Cons :
1) 3-4 hours battery life is low compared to many 7 hours lasting laptops
2)software and applications are very limited
3)KEYBOARD FLEX IS EXTREMELY ANNOYING
4)back can be very easily scratched
5)track pad can be better
6)sometimes the fan doesn't slow down even when letting the laptop rest without anything running on it
7)Screen quality and resolution are bad and screen is too dim
8)Slow HDD
9)can be lighter
10)build quality can be better
12)CANNOT BE PUT ON LEGS BECAUSE THE HEAT DISSIPATED GOES UNDERNEATH THE TRACK PAD AND IS REALLY HOT AND ANNOYING
"
Review 17 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
behzad
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Purchase Ever

Date: September 29, 2013
" Best Purchase Ever "
Review 18 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katz
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very Pleased

Date: September 7, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Included Software
" Lenovo has done a great job with this laptop. It operates so quietly; you don't even hear it. A lot of laptops sound like they're ready to take off...not this one. It charges in full, after less than 10%, in about 2.5 hrs. The screen is slick, and it also operates cool (temperature). The battery lasts about 4 hours with steady use, maybe a little more, though I'm sure this depends on what you're doing. Some of the software included is bloatware. The casing is plastic, but with a brushed metal appearance. It seems high quality. "
Review 19 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amit
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo IdeaPad Z500 or simply The Beast

Date: April 10, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance, great looks
" I bought Lenovo IdeaPad Z500 few days back and i am simply amazed by its looks, features, performance. I always had in mind that if i am going to buy a Laptop then it has to be Lenovo but i never knew i would get such a great value for my money. Lenovo IdeaPad Z500 has some of the best features available. 6 GB RAM so guys just do not worry about performance, Windows 8 compliments it well. 2 GB graphics card which i think is awesom. so guys if you are trying for a Laptop then go for it and do not think twice. "
Review 20 for Lenovo Z500
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
eftihis
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good performance but. . .

Date: April 9, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Build Quality, support solutions that are avaulable, cannot set f-keys to work as f-keys for windows!!
" The laptop generally is good performing but I have it 3.5 months now and I have features that stopped working like keyboard lighting and in some cases the screen brightness goes dark if i try to readjust it. The problems seems not to be important for core function but cause serious problem when you do something important. "