Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller

Turn your TV into an entertainment hub.

Average customer rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
Review 1 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Punkistador
Owned Product:2 years+
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium

Cannot handle video playback

Date: April 23, 2013
Cons: Display performance
"For a machine designed as a HTPC, it cannot handle its stated goal. Video playback of any kind (streaming, memory stick or HDD) is choppy, and sound often is not synchronized.
Very slow otherwise."
Review 2 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chris
Location:Bucharest, Romania
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Memory:2 GB

Good for being small

Date: November 2, 2012
Pros: Weight, Build Quality, small size
Cons: Support, Input/Output compatibility, Included Software, Software compatibility, no drivers for windows 8
"It's quite good for being so small You can hide behind the monitor.
Internet navigation is good, HD 1080p movie plays well IF drivers are configured corectly ( disabled Mosquito Noise, Denoise and ocassionally - depending omn movie codec also deblocking ).
What's bad ? A little hot and VERY VERY BAD support from Lenovo. No driver or BIOS updates in a year, speaking for Windows 7, but even worst for even for Windows 8 - wich make inacesible OEM Partition, and OKR is not working at all.
Also in some country you cannot contact Lenovo at all - only some phone numbers for ThinkPad support and nothing else.
And D2700 is no longer produced by intel.
"
Review 3 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ProPCUser

Very good cheap computer

Date: June 11, 2012
"This computer has got to be the best little thing ever. It's at a cheap, affordable price yet it can handle to much.
I normally build computers but my friend wanted a low priced computer - so I bought him this! Low power consumption makes it ideal if your simply web browsing rather than using your gaming PC. Anyhow, I am very amazed with how well this PC performs. I often find myself going round my friends to have a little play with it!
I need to get one for myself now. Recommended!"
Review 4 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User

Worst Pc purchase

Date: March 26, 2012
"I bought this just for streaming videos from my NAS and internet, nothing else nothing more. You figure my iphone can do that without a problem, so why this couldn't handle. I have 5 PC at home and this by far the worst. It's so slow it's pathetic. Videos are choppy, sound does tend to go out of sinc, and I'm not even talking about HD video, this thing can not even handle a 1.4G avi video streaming that like I said even my iphone can.
If you want an HTPC look for something else. Something with maybe at least Core i3.
"
Review 5 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JaneK

Great Kitchen Computer

Date: March 12, 2012
"I'm using the Q180 with a wall-mounted 26" television as a monitor on my desk in the kitchen. The Q180's small size is perfect; it takes up less space than the laptop that it replaced. I also like that it's quiet and unobtrusive, and the single HDMI cable is a big improvement over the VGA plus audio cable that it replaced.
The Q180's reasonable price, compact size, and adequate speed make it an excellent computer for general computing chores including checking and writing email, surfing the internet, and genealogy research."
Review 6 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HDStreamer

Can't handle HD streaming or HD movies

Date: March 4, 2012
"I've had this for about three months. It can handle 480p content both streaming and playback without too many problems.
Streaming Netflix in HD is a nightmare. It streams fine for about 10 seconds, and then the video starts getting choppy, and the audio/video go out of sync making it frustrating to watch.
Youtube seems to work fine even in 1080p, but all other streamed content fails at 1080p. The video is extremely choppy (frames are being dropped) and the audio is out of sync.
I purchase HD content from Amazon, and I download movies to the device to watch them. The audio tends to go out of sync, and the video plays 'catch up'. I'm very unhappy with this purchase."
Review 7 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dienson
Location:Westminster, CA
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Memory:4 GB or more

good, but not good on HD

Date: January 10, 2012
Pros: Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Video card, Display resolution, Display performance
"I got this Jan 5th 2012, Q180 31102CU
graphic card not strong enough for HD display, motion not smooth,
wifi is very strong
sound is nice
wireless key board good, but slow
Intel Atom Processor D2700 , if you 2 program same time, it's very slow, sometime stop or freeze
It's okie if you just want something in bed room, not require fast or smooth
HTPC not really
I use it for my kids, for they not look on my comp
"
Review 8 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DirkPitt
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:1-6 months

HTPC Q180 ..

Date: January 6, 2012
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Memory, Video card
Cons: Processor
"As a HTPC, Q180 performs well but not great. Unfortunately it won't play 1080p videos smoothly as advertised. I really don't know why Lenovo keeps advertising 1080p smooth playback for ATOM processors.. (buy a i5 processor if you want to play 1080p) I also have problems in playing 720p in programs such as VLC and etc.. (which is odd) I use XBMC's video acceleration module and XBMC plays all 720p movies smoothly on this device. If anyone has a way to improve the video performance please let us know."
Review 9 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sinigord
Location:Colorado
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

Q180 Great Little HTPC

Date: December 28, 2011
Pros: Video card, Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
"Received my Q180 (31102BU) on Dec 26, had it setup within 30 mins (it had a trial version of Macafee but no other bloatware). It has an Intel Atom D2700 Dual Core Processor running at 2.13 ghz, 4GB Ram, AMD Radeon 6450A Video Card, 500GB HD, Built in Wireless N, No Bluetooth built in, has the Recordable DVD drive piggybacked on the machine. Looks very nice silver and black, installed xbmc and once I turned on the hardware acceleration for decoding it runs super smooth with DVD or BluRay content streaming across my network. Tested out some web browsing and it seems reasonably quick, even managed to run Cityville on it. Conclusion: Very Nice Form Factor, excellent HTPC, dual core Atom fast enough for general things, and relatively cheap (under $350 on sale). Highly Recommended."
Review 10 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cobaltsoul
Location:Los Angeles
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Premium
Memory:2 GB

Little Wonder!

Date: December 25, 2011
Pros: Wireless card, Processor
Cons: Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals
"I received my Q180 on Friday 12/23. It arrived ahead of schedule and I had it up and running in minutes. It booted up quickly! It replaces my blackout fried Loud and hot 3.0GHZ Pentium D based HP Z565 MEDIA CENTER HTPC. The Q180 is quite small in comparison to my HP Z565. It is just slightly larger than a portable CD player. It is quiet, and it has a great selection of ports for it's size. I haven't tried any gaming on it yet but it has handled any video files that I have thrown its way without a hiccup (so far). First impressions? Big computer in a tiny package at a great price! I was under the impression that it had built in bluetooth but I don't think that is the case."
Review 11 for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oliverwend
Location:California
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB or more

31102bu version report

Date: December 24, 2011
Pros: Weight, Durability, Bluetooth, Processor, Memory
Cons: Storage, Video card, Included Software, Software compatibility
"Early adopter: meets expectations but would benefit from Win7Pro features, SSD and BluRay.
These features were advertised and require availability dates and assurances of upgrade paths. Inform online chat personnel
about these matters. Small offices should buy millions of these and wireless network them for cost-effective routine computing tasks. Form factor is wonderful.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for IdeaCentre Q180 Best Seller
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5