Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New! or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!

11.6" powerhouse, customizable & designed for durability in the rigorous K-12 education environment.

Average customer rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
4 of 8(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!
Review 1 for ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfied

Almost perfect laptop

Date: July 11, 2014
"I like the ThinkPad X131e very much. It performs quickly and well. There are three things I don't like: (1) The font size of most screens is too small making readability a challenge. I can click control + to increase readability, but not on all documents and files, (2) It didn't come with a built in CD/DVD player which was a surprise. I had to buy a separate external CD/DVD player/burner to use with it. It wasn't too expensive ($86 including tax), but it's a hassle to have to plug in an external CD/DVD player whenever I want to watch a movie or upload new software that comes on a disk. (3) The CD of software and user guide that came with the external CD/DVD player/burner was unreadable, and after countless hours on the phone, no one at Lenovo seems to be able to provide me with a replacement CD. Other than these three, everything else works great!"
Review 2 for ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GradStudent

Great Laptop for budget and portability

Date: April 24, 2014
"I have this laptop for about a month with windows 8 installed and I updated to 8.1 without problems. Did some tweaking with start-up programs and by-pass start screen to make it faster. Overall I give it 4 stars due to price, battery life, and specs. Battery life is good 7 hours average. Design is nicer than pictures on website. Specs good enough for papers, browsing, and video. It is light for me. Overall recommend this laptop. Lenovo won’t let me write a long review."
Review 3 for ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jonross

Low-quality, high-priced device

Date: April 12, 2014
"This computer is NOT a ThinkPad. It has weak hinges and no internal magnesium frame, and it's priced far too high for its features."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuck

4 ThinkPad User

Date: April 3, 2014
"Solid little computer. can feel the extra durability, no flimsy hinged lid or fear of flexing the screen. Protected by hard rubber bumpers with a full sized key board, great for such a small travel notebook. With full OS, boots up relatively fast 30 seconds, decent audio, solid WiFi. Nice USB charging port for iPhones, etc. when the laptop is turned off. With reduced processor and screen brightness settings, battery life can be up to 6 hours of use, less than 3 hours at full screen brightness and max processor. Only downside may be the weaker processor / graphics card. While this laptop works great for surfing the net, email, You Tube and streaming Netflix, you may see lag and freeze when playing back large, higher def videos files from video cameras."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Student
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo

Worst Laptop By Far

Date: March 22, 2014
"This is by far the WORST LAPTOP EVER !! My school only uses Lenovo, which I think is the worst mistake, Everything is Apple now !! But this computer is heavy, crashes 24/7 and always has problems staying on. The battery life is a Joke mine has only lasted 2 hrs at the most. Honestly it would be better of the computer wasn't made at all."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TSC123
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Bad trackpad

Date: March 11, 2014
Pros: Battery, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Software compatibility, Memory, Video card, Wireless card, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
"My company only buys Lenovo products. I am extremely satisfied with past purchases. This one needs to go back to the drawing board. The trackpad is intermittent/unresponsive. When you 'tap' nothing happens. I tapped 5-10 times on an icon and there was no 'click.' I sent it back to Lenovo twice. They swapped out the trackpad. Performance was the same. If you like to tap on the pad as opposed to using the buttons, stay away from this model. Customer service acknowledged this is a common problem. I returned it - and will order another model. Maybe I should have spent more. That being said, Lenovo customer support is the BEST in the industry. Absolutely ZERO bull through the support/returns process."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
yoyo
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:AMD

Worst Idea

Date: January 20, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Processor
Cons: Storage, Memory, Bluetooth, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display performance, Durability
"Keyboard cannot hold itself together.
Bad internet.
Blue tooth does not work.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X131e (Intel®) New!
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dylan
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Great laptop, small and robust

Date: April 24, 2013
Pros: Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality
Cons: keyboard layout, trackpad size
"Overall I love this laptop. The great things about it are its durability, very compact, and quick.
The keyboard and keys have a very solid feel to them, a bit firm but in general a pleasant feel. The computer does not get very warm which is good. The weight is a bit heavy for such a small laptop but its completely manageable and worth it for the extra robustness.
My biggest cons or things I would change are the trackpad which I think is a bit too small.
The other issue I had was the function key and control key are switched as to most normal keyboard layouts.
Besides the issues I listed above this is an awesome laptop and would highly recommend it for someone looking for a reliable and portable laptop."