Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 of 20(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lightest laptop ever

Date: January 27, 2015
" I love this laptop. It is very light and durable and has the signature thinkpad keyboard, which I love. The only issues I have had with this laptop is that the ctrl button stopped working which is a huge pain. Other than that, no complaints. Superlight, 500 GB SSD drive. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Finally They get it just right

Date: January 25, 2015
" I have had all kinds of laptops in the past year. Lenovo yoga, Surface pro 3, Macbook Pro , and Yoga 14. This is by far the closest to the perfect laptop. I absolutely love the butter feel of the keyboard. It is just short of amazing for the thinness of the laptop. I have the core i5 8gb ram, 256 SSd, and Non touch QHD. It is almost perfect. I prefer it far over the other computers mentioned above. The only slight downside is that i wish the screen was 10-20% brighter with slightly better color accuracy. That would make it the best laptop on the market. With those faults aside, i still can not recommend this laptop enough. It is fast, light and just has that "corporate and reliable" feel. I am so thankful that Lenovo listened to the complaints of the 2014 edition. They were able to fix 99% of the issues i saw in that model. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Buttons are back, baby!

Date: January 21, 2015
" Just before Christmas, I received an X1 Carbon review unit. Over the last few years, I've been one of the harshest critics of the changes to the legendary ThinkPad features and felt that the X301 was the last of the great models. The Gen3 X1 Carbon has gone a long way towards changing that.
The look is typical ThinkPad - basic black, understated elegance, a serious machine. The keyboard feel is solid and responsive. The overall feel of the system is sturdy even though it is super thin and light. Battery life is excellent allowing me to use it all day before plugging back in. The screen is bright and clear. And as the title says, the buttons are back!
Is it perfect? No, indicator lights are still missing, and the function key blocks need a little more separation. But with the updates to the third version of the X1, Lenovo has a real winner!
Best of all, they listened to their customers this time. Buttons are back, and so is the ThinkPad. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

best laptop ever

Date: January 21, 2015
" I have owned both previous generations of the X1 Carbon. Generation 1 suffered from a terrible TN display, while Generation 2 had the infamous adaptive key row and missing trackpad buttons. The 2015 X1 Carbon has solved all the problems, and is now perfect. The QHD display, keyboard, trackpad, and everything else are all amazing. The X1 Carbon is expensive, but its worth every penny. It is far superior to any competitor, and I cant recommend it highly enough. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Keyboard Layout

Date: January 21, 2015
" In short - your new laptop is lighter, looks cooler and works faster but the keyboard LAYOUT & touchpad size makes me work slower. Waiting and hoping that with Gen4 you will allow me to work faster too. Please bring back the keyboard that made people "who do” work fast – keyboard layout on x201 with separate volume buttons. And if whatever reason you don't want to do it, please at least give me an option to buy one with that layout and replace it with the one that's there now. You will probably be more profitable on the keyboards alone than on the laptops.
Excellent job bringing back the physical keys on the touchpad - THANKS for listening to your customers. Just one more step and you'll master it ;).
Just to use one example i've used ALT+F4 to close windows for over a decade now I need to change to FN+ALT+F4 (Which is not a "ShortCut" but a way to brake your finger tendons).
Please, those who care about the layout, tell them; otherwise they will never know it's a problem. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The Best Is Now Better

Date: January 20, 2015
" As an owner of a ThinkPad X1 Carbon 2nd Gen, I have been under the impression that I had the best. When Lenovo asked me to review its 2015 X1 I was thrilled. The thin, light 14-in. X1 Gen 3 has the same smooth, durable exterior as previous generations. X1’s keyboard includes a fingerprint scanner, and signature ThinkPad Trackpoint. The Prt Sc, Caps Lock, and Function keys are back instead of the adaptive row of Function keys on the previous model. Trackpad buttons have returned as well. My review unit's 5th generation Intel Core i7-5600U Broadwell processor with 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz RAM had no problem zipping along. The unit had a 512GB M.2 PCIe solid state drive. Keys on the island-style 6-row keyboard are the standard ThinkPad design. X1's non-touch 14” display had a factory-set Quad HD, 2560x1440 with WWAN. While some customers might prefer non-touch for outdoor use, I would upgrade to touch for myself. I'd rate X1 to be one of the best ultrabooks on the market so far. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

X1 gen3 - close to perfection

Date: January 20, 2015
" I have been using my gen1 X1 for years and having been waiting for a worthy upgrade - the X1 Carbon gen3l is it, love it - faster, longer battery life, quieter, better screen, somehow the keyboard feels better and trackpad buttons are back and are better than gen1. The function design is excellent, the top row controls are well labeled and the function lock makes so much more sense.
I bought the X1 gen2 and hated it, the keyboard, the trackpad, the top row function keys (useless - I always touching my mistake) and most important the lack of trackpad buttons made the laptop inoperable for me without an external mouse - I tried to use it but gave up and returned it, almost writing off Lenovo as a future supplier. Most companies don't change course when they make a radical design changes (W8), kudos to Lenovo for going back to basics we love.
Thank you Lenovo to listening to loyal customers and making the changes in design we asked for!
Thank You
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A phenomenal successor to the carbon series

Date: January 20, 2015
" Although I really did like what they did with the gen 2 carbon, the return of the physical buttons is a fan favorite. I have the first generation and the third generation. It's just as powerful (if not more) and is thinner and lighter. It still keeps it's structural integrity however, I wouldn't have a problem throwing it on the floor and not worrying about it. In addition to that they tweaked the physical buttons making a subtle but very nice change to them. they feel the same but now you can press anywhere on them and it will feel the same. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a tough and powerful but lightweight device. It will take a beating and keep on going. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Light, durable, awesome!

Date: January 17, 2015
" This is a perfect mix of good durability, portability, and processing power for an all-in-one business machine. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointing

Date: January 17, 2015
" I have been an avid user of lenovo laptops, using X series and T series laptops. I always admired the quality, sturdiness and reliability of lenovo laptops. Everything changed after I purchased X240 and Carbon X1. After over two months of using them, I have decided to switch to another brand. The quality of keyboard, touchpad, touchscreen, battery life and everything else on those two laptops are far below than those of previous models. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfection of the previous X1 Carbon generations

Date: January 16, 2015
" As a owner of the previous generations of the ThinkPad X1 Carbon I am very happy to say that this is perfection.
I purchased the X1C3 with an i7-5600U 8GB RAM 3G WWAN 7265AC and 1440p non-touch.
I am excited about the keyboard and display quality. Everything you could possibly hate about the previous ThinkPad X1 Carbon generations was addressed in the new ThinkPad X1 Carbon.
Also battery life is close to 9-10 hours. Which is better than the previous 2nd generation X1 Carbon.
Performance is about 20% better versus the Haswell generation (X1C2)
I posted my complete review at this URL: http://www.thinkscopes.com/blog/2015/01/06/lenovo-thinkpad-x1-carbon-gen-3-review-2/ "
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

MB Review

Date: January 16, 2015
" Had this laptop for 2 month now, if you are looking for a handy, business use model with an excellent screen this is definitely the one for you. Below is the pros and cons:
Pros: excellent battery life, super speed charging (over 80% in less than an hr), very light, extremely durable, wonderful design and quality especially the laptop's touch and keyboard and most importantly assembled/built to perfection.
Cons: not a high performance model (avg graphic card). Not a full keyboard
Other comments: Keyboard may be confusing at the beginning but will adapt to it + easy guidelines once starting up the laptop so no worries there. I also love the functional key somewhat entertaining during procrastination.
Hope this helps! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The Gen3 X1 Carbon - A Home Run!

Date: January 15, 2015
" A month ago I received a Gen3 X1 Carbon to review. The specs are all top-of-the-line.
Other than newer-spec components, the Gen3 differs from the Gen2 in a # of significant ways:
-Fn keys replace the adaptive key row.
-Navigation key arrangement is much improved.
-TrackPoint buttons have returned!
Impressions:
-The i7+PCIe SSD combo makes this machine fly!
-The LCD is bright and crisp. No anomalies.
-Fit and finish are perfect.
-The 6-row keyboard is crisp & accurate.
-The return of the Fn keys is very welcome.
-Navigation keys are much better placed.
-Battery life suits my usage modes very well.
-I wasn't able to test the WWAN functionality.
-The #, type & placement of the ports work well for me.
Many consider the X300/301 to be the pinnacle of mobile design & functionality.
IMO, the Gen3 Carbon is a contender for taking the crown!
Bottom line: This ThinkPad is gorgeous! Lenovo has hit a grand-slam home run!
(Disclaimer: Lenovo provided the hardware. My opinions are solely mine.) "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The best Laptop I have ever handled!

Date: January 15, 2015
" I have been an IT Professional for 18 years. During that time I have worked on and with many laptops. The X1 Carbon (3rd Gen) is by far the best laptop I have ever had the pleasure of using.
The ergonomics and comfort of use on the machine is excellent. Comfortable to use on a desk or balanced on your knee in a tight spot. Its low weight means its comfortable to use in such situations and also adds to its portability.
In terms of mobility, this is a 14" ultrabook which is considerably lighter than many 11 & 12" machines I've had and it comes with a considerably longer battery life.
I have managed to make the battery on this run well over 9 hours with power left over.
Performance - the Intel Broadwell Core i7 processor with HD5500 made short work over everything I had to throw at it work wise. General day to day tasks where completed with no hesitation and graphical challenges where processed with real gusto! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Light and long

Date: January 15, 2015
" Dec 2014: X1 Carbon replaced my X60: lighter and the battery life is nirvana. Sometimes I even go to mtgs out of town without taking the brick!
I gave features 4 out of 5 because the reduction in the number of keys -- the special touch-sensitive multi-purpose keys in the top row -- makes some things harder. Strangely, plugging in headphone jack does not automatically re-direct audio from the laptop speakers to the headphones, same for pulling the jack out: in each case it is necessary to restart the audio source program to effect the change. Overall, the computer is absolutely outstanding.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The thinkpad, I was waiting for

Date: January 15, 2015
" It is nice to have the old function keys and touchpad buttons together with greater performance in a thinner box again. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Thanks for bringing back _the_ keyboard!

Date: January 14, 2015
" X1 is a super laptop. I used to have a Thinkpad T400, T410, and T420. I just switched to X1 is so light I can't believe how I was carrying my T's around with me.
The only problem with X1 was that stupid frustratingly annoying keyboard and clickpad and now they are gone!
My only wish is that there were 3 USB ports in place of 2: I need one for my portable hard drive, one for my wireless keyboard transmitter, and one for my Yubico security key. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Most agrevating....

Date: January 13, 2015
" I bought the Top of The Line Carbon X1, on the recommendation of the IT guy."Best NoteBook on the Planet"... Not
From the first day it was an agrevating experience. How many way does one need to manipulate an icon? Touch screen, touch pad, hand gestures and that red rubber thingy.
Simple tasks, like just turning it off needs multiple mouse clicks and or screen manipulation. Really? All these tiles and icons and not just one off button.
Constantly updating drivers, and Window stuff.
One complete motherboard failure.
More resets from that hidden button on the bottom than I care to count.
Then there was the "NEED TO RESET", ok fine. Everthing erased and reinstalled, nice, NOT.
FAR TOO MUCH INTEGRATION with clouds and email accounts.
I smashed it on the desk. The proof is at a local dealer if someone wants to salvage the parts of this horrible most un user friendly bit of Carbon Fiber.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5