Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
4.019 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
40 of 52(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best UltraBook out there

Date: May 7, 2015
" I have been in the computer industry for over 25yrs and I learned long ago if you are going to be a road warrior that your best bet is a Thinkpad. Now my son it ready to go off to Embry-Riddle for a Bachelor’s degree in Cyber Security He wanted a more traditional UltraBook rather than a tablet type of device with a larger screen but light and not a Pizza-Box. I purchased the X1 Carbon Gen 3 model. I am truly impressed. It is light with a great keyboard and even with the multitouch screen it performs well in low and bright light. The resolution is awesome and even under high load with lots of graphics (yea he likes to play games too) the fan noise is quiet silent. With the 5th Generation i7 Broadwell processor gives great battery life and plenty of performance along with the 8GB of RAM. The SSD is super quick to boot up. The Price might seem a bit High but if you watch Lenovo’s sales you can get this for a steal. Being both thin and light this is a great road warrior machine. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase Ever

Date: May 4, 2015
" Best Laptop in the market ! "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible Display

Date: April 26, 2015
" This computer would be close to perfect if it's display weren't absolutely horrible. The hi-res touch display is washed out, dim, and yellowish. It is nowhere near the 300 nits you'd expect on a high end laptop. Hours of trying different color calibrations made no difference. If you're coming from a machine with a truly nice display, like the x220 ips, you're going to be very disappointed. I'm not that picky about displays, but as a laptop consumer I know a really bad display when I see one. You'll see lots of reviews here by people who don't know better. That's fine if you don't know better. But if you have any experience with premium laptops, this purchase is going to make you mad. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A great product

Date: April 25, 2015
" Love everything about it except the morphing function keys. I am a big fan of using those keys while in MS Office, and would rather have the old style set up in more cramped real estate. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A Beautiful and Reliable Machine

Date: April 24, 2015
" I ordered my X1 Carbon with nearly all customizable options maxed out, save and except for the touchscreen IPS panel (as I remain a purist). I have been purchasing Macbook's for the past couple of years due to their superior build quality and reliability, while waiting for a PC that offered similar performance in a well designed, quality package. The X1 Carbon is a beautifully sleek machine that feels great to carry around. The upgraded screen provides crisp and stunning images, while the keyboard remains one of the best on the market. I was initially hesitant about the return of the physical right/left click buttons on the trackpad, but they are a life-saver! Especially when editing and writing long documents (which as a Masters student, constitutes the bulk of my use). While the price of the X1 Carbon may constitute an impediment to most, if you are able to purchase this machine and are looking for a reliable ultrabook with a premium build quality, look no further. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

The keyboard is poorly designed

Date: April 24, 2015
" The only and quite a disturbing issue with this laptop is that it's keyboard is very uncomfortable for use. For example, -pageup and -pagedown keys are right beside the arrow keys making it easy to jump to the next page on your Word document while editing. Also, the adaptive keyboard keys are very easily pressed, so while typing numbers you could frequently have a pop-up window with Adjustable Keyaboard settings, Projector connection and Airplain mode on. So the bottom line is, if you have large fingers or just not much patience - don't buy this laptop. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Laptop

Date: April 24, 2015
" Battery life not good 3-4 hrs maximum, not up to 9hrs as they say.
cannot get correct text balance on different programs
mouse pad is really bad, sometimes works sometimes not.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good purchase

Date: April 22, 2015
" The performance is excellent. However, I would have liked the old style keyboard and mouse pad buttons. Also, surprised that there was no SD card reader. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I have x1 carbon 1st gen and 3rd gen

Date: April 22, 2015
" I have a x1 carbon 1st gen, and recently purchased the 3rd gen 2560*1440 screen non touch, 512ssd. I want to see that compared the two, the 3rd one is a great update. The chassis is well coated and very smooth. Keyboard seem has a little bit less keyboard travel than the 1st gen, but still better than MBA. When I start typing and work on the 3rd gen, it is a instant feel that the device is well built, solid as one piece, better than the 1st gen. 1st gen's keys are a little loose that the 3rd gen. The function keys are very user friendly for the windows 8.1.
The screen quality is superb. Anti-glare coating makes the screen really easy to see under sunshine or when your office has high brightness.
At first I was worried that high resolution will make the font really small. But the most of the applications have been optimized and easy to see.
I tried HP, Samsung, MBA, MBP before, the fan noise of the 3rd gen x1 carbon is quiet silent even if I run at a high load.
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Thinkpad Ever!

Date: April 22, 2015
" I now have two weeks of active use on my 3rd generation X1 Carbon, an i7, 8Gb, 256Gb model. My first positive impression came with turn-on out of the box--the fastest and easiest I have experienced with a PC to date. Use then really blew me away. I love the trackpoint implementation, so much so that I turned off the pad, just don't need it. All the software I installed works fast! I'm amazed that something this size and weight can perform so well! "
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great option for anyone!

Date: April 19, 2015
" Lightweight, tremendous power and amazing portability make this computer an excellent choice for anyone seeking a new laptop. I'm still getting used to a few odd keyboard placements like no caps lock key and a strangely placed delete key, but those are small issues considering everything that's right about this computer. It's my 7th laptop over the years and by far the best one. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

WIFI Driver does not support some older WAP's

Date: April 15, 2015
" With the new Intel Dual Band AC-7275 there is a drive issue with older A/B/G WAPS. You currently unable to get a fix for this from Lenovo so your user base will report being able to see a G band WAP but not connect to it. It is a driver issue I had to get a drive form dells site and install it this fixed the problem. The Lenovo hardware support replace the Radio then point to the software team because they could not find the issue. The software team said I did not buy software support so they would help for a fee. Customer service replace the unit but still having the same issues. Just so you do not think I am another vendor here is the case information:
For Service Request: CQMM8KG
Product Line: NOTEBOOK 20BS
S/N: R90FCGF1
Transaction Date: 03272015
Intel has also knowledge this issue and said to update your WAP's which I can do local but not at every business that my users may visit. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Ugh

Date: April 9, 2015
" I was excited about this laptop because it is available with a 2560x1440 display (not quite Macbook Pro, but close). But then I figured out that I can't upgrade the RAM!?!?!? If I wanted my RAM soldered onto the motherboard, I would buy an Macbook Pro.
The Linux certifications are great, btw. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Would not buy this!

Date: April 8, 2015
" I have used this for 6 months now. The keyboard is poorly designed so that in the course of composing emails, work, the Ctrl is where most shifts are and thus the email may be partially deleted or fully. The slender size of the computer is great, but anyone can get small weight computers these days for much less! I was so excited to get this Carbon X1, and am really disappointed I paid so much for something that I have to watch so carefully where the curser is as it jumps all over the page as well. No logic to that. Just during the course of writing this review, I found it 5 sentences up without hitting anything on the keyboard! Very annoying! "
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing laptop, one serious flaw...

Date: April 7, 2015
" I got the model with the tn panel (1920x1080) and man is this thing hideous to look at coming from a normal IPS panel, the colors are washed out and the blue looks like purple, it really kills the experience for me, if you do get this laptop get the IPS display
battery life is around 7 hours web browsing, if you are just reading pdfs you can probably get the 10 hours lenovo says
laptop charges in less than an hour to 100%
Don't expect any gaming on it
Its very fast, and it is also sturdy, this thing looks like it can take a beating!
I wish I had gotten the IPS panel than this would be a 5/5 laptop "
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Step down from gen 1

Date: March 16, 2015
" I have the gen 1 and was looking forward to an upgrade that would improve on the TN screen and screen door effect that was killing me.
Negatives:
- Screen is dull. Full brightness measured at 210 NITS, not 270.
- Still a screen door effect but is partially neutralized by higher res.
- keys are mushy compared to Gen 1
- Build feels "plasticy" as opposed to gen 1. Not sure this would withstand a drop like my gen 1 has.
- "plasticy" feel is slippery. slides off my lap. Gen 1 atleast had a grippy coating.
- Upscaling makes font bigger than normal res and defeats purpose of higher res.
- no airport switch
Positives:
- Broadwell. Slightly punchier
- 10% better battery
- Rapid charge as always
- Keyboard good (but not great like gen 1. Keys dont have as much travel or pop.
- Noticably thinner and lighter than gen 1. Was not expecting this much improvement here.
All in all, if I pay 2k for a premium machine but can't read what I write, it is a fail. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid ThinkPad, great IPS display and keyboard

Date: March 14, 2015
" Been using T series from work for 7 years; patiently waiting for X1 carbon generations to work out their kinks; this third generation is solid, great IPS display, good keyboard layout, trackpoint, and unbelievably thin and light. Battery is OK but nothing spectacular. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A great laptop

Date: March 14, 2015
" First thing first: if you want to buy a super light laptop with great quality, fantastic keyboard & track pad, then buy this one.
The keyboard is fantastic, Clear and solid. You can type on them for hours without feeling tired. The track pad is great as well, very similar to the one on Macbook. Windows 8 supports a lot of gestures for touchpad, so it can deliver enjoyable user experience.
The only down side is the price. Well, since you are reading this, you may not care it at all.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

X1 Carbon 3rd gen - a dream come true

Date: March 10, 2015
" After almost 2 full months of using my 3rd gen X1 Carbon, I am comfortable recommending it to someone wanting a highly portable, high performance laptop.
My configuration:
i7-5600u, 8 GB Ram, WQHD non-touch graphics (2560 x 1440), 240 GB EDO SSHD (no longer available).
Applications:
MS Office ProPlus 2013
Microsoft Visual Studio 2012
Netbeans 8.X
Primary use:
Engineering software development using proprietary and free and/or open source tools.
Pros: The keyboard is comfortable, even when working for hours at a time. The keyboard backlighting is effective. Battery life has been excellent - depending on tasks, I've had it go up to 8 hrs before I've received notification that power is low. The WQHD display is very crisp. The combination of the dual core i7 and the SSHD result in performance near to a quad core i7-2760QM 2.4 GHz CPU with 16 GB RAM laptop with dedicated graphics.
Cons: CapsLock should use an LED rather than an on-screen pop-up message.
Future: dual boot to Linux "
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

First ThinkPad product.

Date: March 4, 2015
" Very well built laptop!! Light, capable, impressive processing power and battery life!
Unfortunately had an NTFS issue with the SDD drive, which in turn led to the motherboard and hard-drive being replaced and a month without my work computer. Pretty decent customer service overall. Would recommend the 4-year IBM extended warranty. "