Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
4.189 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
31 of 37(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Step down from gen 1

Date: March 16, 2015
" I have the gen 1 and was looking forward to an upgrade that would improve on the TN screen and screen door effect that was killing me.
Negatives:
- Screen is dull. Full brightness measured at 210 NITS, not 270.
- Still a screen door effect but is partially neutralized by higher res.
- keys are mushy compared to Gen 1
- Build feels "plasticy" as opposed to gen 1. Not sure this would withstand a drop like my gen 1 has.
- "plasticy" feel is slippery. slides off my lap. Gen 1 atleast had a grippy coating.
- Upscaling makes font bigger than normal res and defeats purpose of higher res.
- no airport switch
Positives:
- Broadwell. Slightly punchier
- 10% better battery
- Rapid charge as always
- Keyboard good (but not great like gen 1. Keys dont have as much travel or pop.
- Noticably thinner and lighter than gen 1. Was not expecting this much improvement here.
All in all, if I pay 2k for a premium machine but can't read what I write, it is a fail. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Solid ThinkPad, great IPS display and keyboard

Date: March 14, 2015
" Been using T series from work for 7 years; patiently waiting for X1 carbon generations to work out their kinks; this third generation is solid, great IPS display, good keyboard layout, trackpoint, and unbelievably thin and light. Battery is OK but nothing spectacular. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A great laptop

Date: March 14, 2015
" First thing first: if you want to buy a super light laptop with great quality, fantastic keyboard & track pad, then buy this one.
The keyboard is fantastic, Clear and solid. You can type on them for hours without feeling tired. The track pad is great as well, very similar to the one on Macbook. Windows 8 supports a lot of gestures for touchpad, so it can deliver enjoyable user experience.
The only down side is the price. Well, since you are reading this, you may not care it at all.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

X1 Carbon 3rd gen - a dream come true

Date: March 10, 2015
" After almost 2 full months of using my 3rd gen X1 Carbon, I am comfortable recommending it to someone wanting a highly portable, high performance laptop.
My configuration:
i7-5600u, 8 GB Ram, WQHD non-touch graphics (2560 x 1440), 240 GB EDO SSHD (no longer available).
Applications:
MS Office ProPlus 2013
Microsoft Visual Studio 2012
Netbeans 8.X
Primary use:
Engineering software development using proprietary and free and/or open source tools.
Pros: The keyboard is comfortable, even when working for hours at a time. The keyboard backlighting is effective. Battery life has been excellent - depending on tasks, I've had it go up to 8 hrs before I've received notification that power is low. The WQHD display is very crisp. The combination of the dual core i7 and the SSHD result in performance near to a quad core i7-2760QM 2.4 GHz CPU with 16 GB RAM laptop with dedicated graphics.
Cons: CapsLock should use an LED rather than an on-screen pop-up message.
Future: dual boot to Linux "
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

First ThinkPad product.

Date: March 4, 2015
" Very well built laptop!! Light, capable, impressive processing power and battery life!
Unfortunately had an NTFS issue with the SDD drive, which in turn led to the motherboard and hard-drive being replaced and a month without my work computer. Pretty decent customer service overall. Would recommend the 4-year IBM extended warranty. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Product: X-1 Gen 3

Date: March 3, 2015
" Pros- keyboard, rapid charger, screen clarity, weight
Cons- screen could be 1/2 inch larger, high price point
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The Buttons are Back!

Date: March 2, 2015
" I was worried that they would stop using the buttons on top of the mousepad. I use the trackpoint system and those buttons are essential for the trackpoint. Very excited to see its back and hopefully stays around for when I'm ready to upgrade. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

8 GB

Date: February 23, 2015
" 8 GB is available on the two faster processors. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Send more RAM

Date: February 19, 2015
" I refused to upgrade to a Gen2 with that keyless "adaptive keyboard" and the removal of the touchpoint. Glad the physical buttons have returned.
Overall, as good as the first-gen X1 model, with a much nicer feel and display. Only a few features make this a downgrade for me: not as tough (no gorilla-glass, no spill-through keyboard), no hardware wifi/bluetooth killswitch, and < 8 GB of RAM.
Seriously, if I wanted limited RAM and a touchscreen, I'd be buying a tablet, wouldn't I? "
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo could de better for this price point

Date: February 17, 2015
" Pros:
- Overall touch and feel are solid and classic.
- Keyboard and trackpad are a lot improvement from Gen 2.
- LCD for touch screen model have good brightness, color is vibrant, wide view angle.
- Intel CPU gen 5 is fast, quiet, and energy efficient. I can play guild wars 2 with lowest graphic setting at stable 25-30 frame/s. Can work without charge for 8-10 hours.
Cons:
- First advertised with new faster SSD (the PCIe) but did not clarify that it is available only for the 512 GB SSD.
- The 256 GB model I ordered come equipped with 256 Toshiba M.2 with actual write speed ~100 MB/s. Actual usable space is ~220 GB, the rest is reserved with windows restoration software.
- Full of bloatware which still plague even I try the windows restoration.
- Pre-install with Norton antivirus which require subscription to work and need 800+ MB update.
- Worst of all, it suddenly died just after a week. Think its mainboard failure, still wait for repair.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

buttons

Date: February 16, 2015
" thank you for bringing back the buttons, amazing laptop "
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Product!

Date: February 15, 2015
" I had the Lenovo X1 Carbon 1st, 2nd, and 3rd gen, I sold the 1st and 2nd to get the 3rd gen, and I am really impressed! I'm glad Lenovo bought the trackpoint and physical trackpad back. That is a great improvement. Lenovo's engineering team is great, there is good cooling, and obviously great reliability since it's a Lenovo. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

NO 8GB or up memory option

Date: February 15, 2015
" NO 8GB or up memory option "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Very disappointed

Date: February 8, 2015
" The two times I've gone to use it, it's been dead. Odd since it was fully charged a few hours before I went to use it and it was asleep. This has not been my experience with other laptops or the Surface 2. It takes days of being asleep for my other laptop and for the battery to be drained.
Also wouldn't connect to a WiFi network.
It's going back. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Laptop

Date: February 7, 2015
" I just love my new thinkpad. The best I have owned! Sleek looking, ultralight, ultrathin, blazing performance, and sturdy! What can you more expect? "
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The Best Lenovo X1 Carbon Yet!

Date: February 5, 2015
" The new X1 Carbon is fastest and lightest 14" ultra book. The design is stunning, you get a sleek carbon fiber lib, Magnesium Alloy palm rest and bottom plate. The performance is fast and efficient with the latest Intel Broadwell Processors. Check out my full review on YouTube for more info. Just search for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 2015 Review.
Thank you "
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lightest laptop ever

Date: January 27, 2015
" I love this laptop. It is very light and durable and has the signature thinkpad keyboard, which I love. The only issues I have had with this laptop is that the ctrl button stopped working which is a huge pain. Other than that, no complaints. Superlight, 500 GB SSD drive. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Finally They get it just right

Date: January 25, 2015
" I have had all kinds of laptops in the past year. Lenovo yoga, Surface pro 3, Macbook Pro , and Yoga 14. This is by far the closest to the perfect laptop. I absolutely love the butter feel of the keyboard. It is just short of amazing for the thinness of the laptop. I have the core i5 8gb ram, 256 SSd, and Non touch QHD. It is almost perfect. I prefer it far over the other computers mentioned above. The only slight downside is that i wish the screen was 10-20% brighter with slightly better color accuracy. That would make it the best laptop on the market. With those faults aside, i still can not recommend this laptop enough. It is fast, light and just has that "corporate and reliable" feel. I am so thankful that Lenovo listened to the complaints of the 2014 edition. They were able to fix 99% of the issues i saw in that model. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Buttons are back, baby!

Date: January 21, 2015
" Just before Christmas, I received an X1 Carbon review unit. Over the last few years, I've been one of the harshest critics of the changes to the legendary ThinkPad features and felt that the X301 was the last of the great models. The Gen3 X1 Carbon has gone a long way towards changing that.
The look is typical ThinkPad - basic black, understated elegance, a serious machine. The keyboard feel is solid and responsive. The overall feel of the system is sturdy even though it is super thin and light. Battery life is excellent allowing me to use it all day before plugging back in. The screen is bright and clear. And as the title says, the buttons are back!
Is it perfect? No, indicator lights are still missing, and the function key blocks need a little more separation. But with the updates to the third version of the X1, Lenovo has a real winner!
Best of all, they listened to their customers this time. Buttons are back, and so is the ThinkPad. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

best laptop ever

Date: January 21, 2015
" I have owned both previous generations of the X1 Carbon. Generation 1 suffered from a terrible TN display, while Generation 2 had the infamous adaptive key row and missing trackpad buttons. The 2015 X1 Carbon has solved all the problems, and is now perfect. The QHD display, keyboard, trackpad, and everything else are all amazing. The X1 Carbon is expensive, but its worth every penny. It is far superior to any competitor, and I cant recommend it highly enough. "