Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
3.192 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (182 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
29
3 stars
31
2 stars
26
1 star
40
88 of 182(48%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad design of touchpad

Date: November 20, 2014
"I don't understand why this laptop doesn't have the traditional three-key touchpad. This new design of touchpad makes mis-operation much much easier and much more frequent! The "middle key" is not very sensitive, and is often mis-recognized as the left key when I press it. I frequently mis-move a file when I just want to scroll down! This touchpad design is a huge drawback and makes this laptop not worth the money I spent on it. I am very disappointed at this "innovation" on touchpad design! I just want the traditional touchpad back!"
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best ultrabook

Date: November 19, 2014
"I study in computer science and I can easily say that this is the best laptop I have ever used. It's not a gaming laptop in any way, but it gets the job done for all the programs I code. Keyboard is excellent, though it took me about 1 week to get used to it. Screen is gorgeous. Some have said that the trackpad is bad, but it is one of the most fluid trackpads I have ever used on a laptop. Only bummer is the lack of buttons at the top to use more easily with the trackpoint. Battery life is between 6-8 hours, it depends of what I do and it really does charge 80% in less than an hour. The laptop is also beautiful and it is extremely light."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Wonderful machine

Date: November 17, 2014
"I tried a MacBook Pro first, and traded it for this. What a difference! This one is lighter, probably tougher, faster, has a better keyboard, a trackpoint, etc., etc. The only thing I don't like is the Adaptive Keyboard, and I have given it a couple of months. I also find the touchscreen useless. It has Windows 8.1, but I have set it up to work like Windows 7, which I prefer.
Otherwise, it's terrific!"
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best laptop I've had yet

Date: November 17, 2014
"I use this for work and got the larger SSD and 8GB RAM. I connect through the dock to dual monitors, and it works flawlessly so far. Super lightweight but sturdy, and much faster than any I've used before. Can't speak to gaming as I don't do much, but for everything else I'd recommend it."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Simply Outstanding

Date: November 14, 2014
"Nicest laptop I've ever used. It's light, thin, good battery life, large display, lightning fast start up and shut down. It is a flawless business tool that puts my Apple MacBook Air and MacBook Pro to shame. All my colleagues want one."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good deal

Date: November 14, 2014
"So far so good , no complains.
Meets my requirement.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Carbon X1 is a great mobile laptop

Date: November 12, 2014
"Although there are a lot of negative comments regarding the keyboard, I found that after a week or so I adjusted to the changes with no issue. I would not make that part of my yes / no decision. Instead I would focus on the touch screen, no moving parts, speed, portability, and overall friendly usability features. I have a 256k hard drive which is less than half full because I store everything in the cloud. Now that I have used and seen this technology, I don't believe I could go back to older ThinkPad technologies."
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bad Screen

Date: November 10, 2014
"I've owned a Thinkpad X1 Carbon for less than two years, and the screen has already died three times. Although I have no complaints about the computer's processing or overall performance, a laptop with such a fragile screen is unreasonable. I certainly would not recommend this laptop to anyone who frequently carries their computer with them to work, to school, or while traveling."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

My last think pad - NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

Date: November 9, 2014
"It looked great for the un boxing experience. Nice, sleek, thin, nice big screen.
BUT WHAT HAPPEN TO THE KEY BOARD... 1) Delete and back keys were inverted, 2) no more CAP, and many small changes which makes the usage of the keyboard very unpleasant. 3) removed the physical entire last raw of keys (FN 1 ...) making almost impossible to use the laptop for excel formula.
BUT WHAT HAPPEN TO THE TRACK POINT? impossible to use it... Now. I need to carry a external mouse all the time...thanks for the "hyper portability"
BUT WHAT HAPPEN TO THE BATTERY ...less that 4 hours...
BUT WHAT HAPPEN TO THE CONNECTIVITY? Only 2 USB , no memory slot?
BUT WHAT HAPPEN TO THE SPEED? This laptop is slower than my 3 years old one...
Touch screen not in use for business
Not dock station (only a kind of tower available)
CHOOSE SOMETHING ELSE... IF I COULD I WOULD HAVE RETURNED IT... BUT TRY TO DO SUCH THING IN A LARGE COMPANY...
I AM STUCK WITH THIS MACHINE FOR 3 years...."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Aspect Ratio

Date: November 9, 2014
"Stop using 16:9 for anything else besides TV sets. Why do I have to buy the over-priced apples, just because they provide better aspect ratios?"
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

5 star concept, 1 star reality

Date: November 8, 2014
"This is the sixth ThinkPad I've owned and the only one I've been dissatisfied with. Had the features worked as touted, it would be a great computer and I would have given it 5 stars. Even before purchase, there were problems. Many but not all of the salesfolks and tech support staff dishonest and/or incompetent. The machine arrived nearly dead on arrival. They fixed the fan fairly quickly. Shortly thereafter, the motherboard died. Most of the unique characters (funny connectors, quirky keyboard) are something understandable from an engineering viewpoint and I have gotten used to. Many of the features don't work together well and conflict, many of the pre-loaded apps don't work properly. I requested updated drivers for the external DVD drive due to possible conflicts with Win8.1 and am in the midst of a service request to replace the drive. It seems to me like this machine is characterized by great individual parts put together with duct tape and chewing gum."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Give me back my buttons

Date: November 8, 2014
"Stop trying to copy apple and give me the business laptop i need, the trackpoint and durability are the 2 reasons people buy thinkpads, keep the buttons on the trackpoint, or at least have an option to keep them"
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Returned for very specific reasons

Date: November 6, 2014
"I was looking for an upgrade from my beloved X220 which still runs fantastically and holds up as far as performance; but wanted more screen real estate (specifically higher resolution) and 4G LTE integrated mobile broadband. Bottom line: the X1 has fantastic performance, a wonderful form factor, is built rock solid, has all the most current connectivity, and an excellent screen. However, using the keyboard and touchpad was one of the most infuriating experiences I've ever had with technology. The subtle changes to the position of the "Delete" and "Backspace" buttons, the lack of a caps lock, and most significantly the adaptable top row of touch-sensitive buttons simply ruin any kind of reliable typing. As careful as possible, I still found myself unintentionally switching the laptop to airplane mode, turning on caps lock, dropping screen brightness to lowest, and pressing escape - all while simply trying to type. It was readily returned and I'm sticking with my X220."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

trackpad is terrible

Date: November 3, 2014
"Recently purchased this unit.
Pros:
Construction seemed good
Fast
Relatively lightweight
Non-glare screen
Cons:
Trackpad is clunky, inexact, and even with downloading the newest firmware, basically unusable
Screen brightness just barely adequate at highest level
Verdict: If you are never going to use the trackpad, you might want to consider this unit. For me it was a dealbreaker and I returned it."
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

how do you right click using x1 carbon touchpad?

Date: November 1, 2014
"god save me from this laptop.....I am forced to use it otherwise I would have returned it by now. Did someone in the design team even consider that people actually use the touch pad. clicking left is hard on the 'brilliant' newly designed touch pad but right click is darn near impossible. I will drop a whole mug of coffee on it soon and ask IT to not give me X1 carbon as replacement."
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad throw out its heritage

Date: October 29, 2014
"Pros: Specs
Cons: New contol (touchpad & adaptive keybord)
I'm a ThinkPad fan since those times when it belongs to IBM. What I can say is that the new generation it's not ThinkPad anymore. The new controls is not intuitive fast and precise for professional use. Neither adaptive keybord nor the new touchpad without dedicated trackpoint's functional keys.
I try to use it for two month but can't adapt and finaly sold it.
Please Lenovo fire those people who are responcible for these "improvements". I really hope that you admit your mistakes and will bring back ThinkPad's heritage to a new generation.
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed with battery life

Date: October 20, 2014
"I purchased X1 for its battery life and smaller size/weight. I changed from a Lenovo T510. The X1 battery life was initially great as I could work at a client without trying to locate an electric outlet. I've installed two programs onto PC since I purchased (tax and payroll programs), and now eight months into using the X1, I am lucky if I can get 3.5 to 4 hours on a battery charge.
I love the speed at which the X1 boots up, and I especially like that the X1 is lightweight.
Knowing what I know now, I probably wouldn't have spent the money on a PC as expensive as the X1 with the performance I'm receiving."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

The worst thinkpad in 14 years

Date: October 19, 2014
"I've been using Thinkpads since 2000. The trackpoint is the single biggest benefit to efficiency for anyone who can use them. This X1 is terrible.
First is the awful trackpad. I don't use it. Never have. Now they've gotten rid of the buttons for the trackpoint, and made all the buttons part of a giant, noisy, un-sensitive trackpad. I find myself accidentally "right clicking". I can't use the computer while my wife is asleep, since you have to slam a large, noisy pad down instead of three nice, quiet, small buttons. horrible.
Second is the adaptive keyboard. This thing would be very useful if they had it above the F keys. But unfortunately, it replaces the F keys. So, if you're used to F5 refresh, alt F4 close, etc. you're out of luck unless you turn it off. Even then, you lose the haptic feedback, which makes it difficult. Terrible.
Lastly - why move delete? I reprogrammed delete to backspace, so I didn't accidentally delete what I'd already written. Now I don't have a delete key."
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Too advanced for the operating system

Date: October 19, 2014
"The machine is basically good. Mine has had problems where it has been returned twice (first time operating system problems we could not fix remotely and secondly, just this week, for replacement of the system board ) In addition, the solid state hard drive was replaced and this was a case where the part was sent to me and I did the repair. (this is not advised for a novice as the hard drive was not formatted and the operating system needed to be installed along with the new drivers)
I have owned nothing but IBM/Lenovo laptops since their introduction in 1992 and will probably not get anything but a Lenovo. At this point, I would not buy the Carbon X1 with the UHD touch screen as the scaling does not work for the ultra high resolution and unless you have x-ray vision, reading menus of programs like Adobe's Photoshop are next to impossible. When the scaling is corrected, it will be a great computer, but not until then. I just hope happens while I still own it.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very innovative ultrabook!

Date: October 18, 2014
"I am in love with what Lenovo has done with this ultrabook. Allow me to list the ways that I love thee:
1. The form factor and weight are thin and light, but not cheap and fragile
2. The display resolution and quality is very good (I went with high res, non-touch, IPS)
3. The keyboard tactile feel is spot-on and I actually love the placement of the delete, home/end, and page up/down keys. They are logically in context with other keys on the keyboard.
4. The dynamic function key row is very useful and works great
5. Performance and battery life are the perfect balance.
6. THANK YOU for not soldering the SSD to the motherboard - I appreciate the ability to expand.
As one can always improve, I think the one weak area of this laptop is the touchpad. It's not bad, but it is not as well executed as that fruit company does it. It's a good try, but it's not there yet.
Overall, this is the best ultrabook I have every laid my hands on."