Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
3.191 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (147 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
23
3 stars
25
2 stars
19
1 star
34
73 of 147(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Decent, but not great, many problems

Date: September 18, 2014
"We've recently standardized our company on these laptops. I work IT for the company, so I see it all. Of the many new laptops we've sent to our users (well over 40 by now) almost half had to be replaced due to hardware issues. Also prepare to have an army of dongles and a USB hub with you at all times, as this unit only has 2 USB ports, and needs one of them with a dongle just to get ethernet internet access. That, and the internet dongle frequently loses connectivity. There were many software issues as well. So much so that when it came time to replace MY laptop, I broke with the standard and got myself a T430. Heavier, but way more reliable in any situation, and more powerful too."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect Machine

Date: September 17, 2014
"This machine is the bee's knees. I am a 4th year business student so I was looking for a compact machine with a longer battery life to keep me occupied at school. I am also an avid outdoors person and am always sliding down hills, paddling rivers, or trekking the rockies with a camera or two. This ultrabook has had no issue dealing with video editing on the dash of my truck.
Overall I have really enjoyed my experience, a few of the lenovo apps that pop up were irritating, that is until I spent 10 seconds reading the window to check the "do not show this message again" box.
The keyboard is awesome, enough said.
I have yet to try multiple displays, or any stressful gaming on her yet but you can easily spend 10 mins on youtube searching stress testing of this device.
Lastly, too anybody considering purchasing this book, do it. And if you are worried about a clunky old thinkpad look, she looks sharp. An ultrabook you can take out on the town and show off."
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

2 steps back for Thinkpad

Date: September 16, 2014
"I have been using the 2014 X1 Carbon in the full options version for 6 weeks now, but I am sending it back, and I will try to find a T420s like I had. Screen is superb, weight is a relief, touch a a pre, but I miss a decent keyboard. The touch strip and the proprietary layout of the keyboard, and the lack of real keys for sound adjustment makes the X1 hardly usable for professionals. The keyless touchpad may be usable for children who have never used a proper touchpad. I will move back to an old Thinkpad. Pity, Lenovo."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Fantastic Computer!

Date: September 15, 2014
"I am a new student in a doctoral program and needed to upgrade to a new computer. My previous computer was a windows 7 ASUS and I absolutely loved it so I was a little hesitant to purchase from a different brand and operating system. But, boy, am I glad I did! This has been the best computer I have ever used! It's super light and incredibly durable. I've loved all the programs and features. The keyboard takes a little getting used to but, overall, its extremely comfortable. I'e had one minor breakdown (others say they've had a similar problem) but, even with my limited computer knowledge, I was able to fix it without any problems (it's also never happened again)."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

the keyboard rendered it unacceptable

Date: September 14, 2014
"Seriously, they should just send whoever came up with the keyboard packing.
It's a good machine. My first one was DOA. Service was good. Replacement has a bad pixel.
The keyboard!! I thought it's not a problem, but was I wrong! It's not anything revolutionary. Calling it gimmick is a compliment. Even the execution of this gimmick is lacking. The software doesn't work well. Sometimes the F keys get stuck in a mode. And you can only set preset layouts makes it fairly useless, so I just force it to stick to the Function keys, but now it's harder to access the aux functions.
Finally, changing some of the key layouts is problematic because every other keyboard around is the old format, so muscle memory gets very confused.
Today I have an editing program that got stuck in replace mode, and I can't find the insert key to change it. OH, WTF!!!
I would return this in a heartbeat if I could."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Dell Latitude

Date: September 12, 2014
"Dell's incorporated the old Thinkpad features... Bye bye my old friend...."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Don't waste your money on SSD Self Encrypt. Drive

Date: September 12, 2014
"Just bought a new X1 Carbon Touch screen with and Intel SSD Self Encrypting Drive.
Unfortunately the lenovo image ships with the feature (edrive) disabled. The only way to enable the feature is to re-install Windows 8.1 pro with a non-lenovo Windows image (not supplied). If you did have the software available and the expertise, this would easily take at least about a day to perform.
Greatly disappointed as, the security is required as the laptop will be used in the medical profession. Guess I will have to revert to software encryption :("
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Would be nice, if not defective

Date: September 12, 2014
"after long research I've got my X1C. I found really good screen, light weight, good performance, touch-pad not so annoying as other said and best keyboard.
But screen start blinking after 10 min. of using and laptop goes to service for a month. I found lots of messages on forums with problem like this, I think lenovo should to do something about it.
Also function adaptive keyboard gets me really angry, I hope I'll be able to reprogram it"
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Good and Bad

Date: September 10, 2014
"The good - its nice and light and the keyboard is excellent. The solid state hard drive makes it fast to boot up. The screen is a nice size and makes working easy on the eyes. The battery charges really quickly in under an hr. Their helpline is fantastic and service is brilliant, well worth the onsite coverage.
The bad - the battery life sucks, 3 hours tops which is a problem on transatlantic flights. The laptop gets very hot when you work a lot on it, Mine is not two years old and I have had to replace both the screen and the fan. The tracker pad is not as nice as the old IBM thinkpad I use a Wifi mouse now as its just too annoying. The battery is built in so you cannot switch it out as you could in the old IBM thinkpads. I wish I could buy a spare battery that I could switch out for when I need longer battery life. There is not always a working power socket on planes in economy class."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Carbon X1

Date: September 7, 2014
"I bought this loaded (i7, 8 gb, 512 gb SSD) and PRO Dock to replace my PC that I used for work and to fly various planes in X-Plane.
It works great! The Pro dock allowed me to connect to my 27"monitor, external hard drive and various USB requirements. I am very satisfied with the Carbon X1."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Reliabilty issues

Date: September 5, 2014
"Many complain about the keyboard layout of this laptop or the lack of physical touchpad buttons. However, there seem to be more serious issues than that. I have purchased this laptop (top specs) hoping for the traditional reliability/durability of the thinkpad line. My x1 died within the first hours of use (endless boot loop). This is now a known issue, as indicated in lenovo forums and several comments on this board. Not something I am willing to deal with when my productivity at work relies on having a functioning machine."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Service

Date: August 29, 2014
"I searched for a light weight laptop for my wife and she loved the X1. I didn't like the Win 8 OS as it seems whatever one wants to do one has to navigate over cow paths. Anyway, one day she tried to open her X1 on a counter with one hand and one hinge just got all twisted, popped out and the side edge of the display appear delaminated with LED light leaking out. As the unit is still under warranty, Lenovo shipped a packing box and I shipped it back on a Thursday afternoon and was surprised to receive the same box back around 10 AM the next Tuesday. Lenovo replaced the screen and checked out the functionality. My wife now thinks the unit is too delicate and shelled out more money to get a two year warranty. I wouldn't mind getting an X1 myself when Win 9 comes out and they upgrade the SSD to 256 GB or higher."
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Do not buy! Worst purchase ever

Date: August 29, 2014
"I was attracted to X1 Carbon mainly for it's size and what I thought would be peak performance. With an I7 and a solid state HDD you would think it be blazing. My old T410s runs circle around this. It is very slow. However, my top reason for writing this review is the "new and improved" track point. Totally useless and frustrating. They even sent me a video to help explain how to use it. It didn't help. The right, center and left click are incorporated into one button. Where you click on this pad is supposed to determine which button you pressed. I've tried clicking every where and it seems the pad has a mind of its own. Please take this review to heart as I have been using luggable, portable and laptops since they were invented. Thank goodness I kept my 5 year old T410s."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great product with some issues

Date: August 28, 2014
"i have been using my ThinkPad X1 for 1 year now. i love it for the most part. but there are some issues.
pros.
it makes you feel important! not sure if its just me or mostly people think so. when i carry it around the office. it makes me feel that i am getting the best of the best in business laptop
i also love the thin and light features.
the key board feels great!
the audio quality of video call is great.
cons.
i dropped it several times on hard floors. but its still holding up pretty well.
battery start to deteriorate over 1 year of use. and i don't have an option to buy another battery to replace.
the product get over heated on the bottom in some occasions.
the finger print reader makes the resume very slow. however, its convenient to swipe your finger rather than typing. (i can get into the system faster by typing)
in summary, i like my X1 and i would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a solid business laptop
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SolidPro

Still the Best Mix of Power & Portability

Date: August 24, 2014
"I was a bit hesitant at first, based on the reviews about the odd keyboard layout and a brief experience with a first gen Carbon that I found the trackpad to be quite hard to use. However after receiving a new X1 and putting it to the test over the past few weeks, I absolutely love it.
Yes, the keyboard layout takes some getting used to. I do not find it to be a major inconvenience and am adapting quite well. The function keys have yet to prove confusing and so far I like how they're presented.
The keyboard is so quiet and nice to the touch; I can use it with my wife sleeping right next to me and it doesn't make a sound.
I've had my handful of ultra-portables and this one by far is both light and sturdy. While I had a Samsung that may have been slightly lighter, I was always worried about it's fragility whereas the X1 feels solid all around.
So far I'm loving this laptop and have zero regrets other than not being able to use it at work (since it's my personal purchase)!"
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Matt

Finally died after a slow, painful twilight

Date: August 22, 2014
"I loved this computer for the first year I had it. It was light, powerful and nearly perfect. Unfortunately the problems started just after the end of the first year and seemed to be entirely because of the carbon body.
First a gap appeared between the bezel and the screen. Not a huge problem, but worrying.
Then suddenly the screen would blank out when I opened the laptop. If you pressed on the right side the screen it would come back. It slowly became worse until I could only use the computer once every fifth boot or so and I had to have it fixed. The cables in the right hinge had worn a break in them.
Shortly after fixing it, the cables developed the same problem. Shortly after that, the screen wouldn't display bright enough to actually see anything most of the time. And yesterday it seems like the laptop had enough flex in the screen (while it was closed) to crack the LCD.
I think all of these problems are because of the flexibility of the carbon fiber case and poor testing.
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jimmy

Love this laptop

Date: August 17, 2014
"Just got my new thinkpad. I7%2C 8gb%2C 128gb%2C W7. Awesome machine works like a dream. Only little downfall%2C I purchased It with win7 and didnt get a recovery cd. Ill just make one myself. %0D%0AGreat product%2C exactly as advertised. Thanks Lenovo%2C you just won yourself a new customer."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
newbie

Lenovo X1 Carbon

Date: August 12, 2014
"Very thin and light, but also very sturdy. Fast. No problems so far either.
A note about the keyboard.. There's been quite a bit of controversy regarding its new setup. Personally I have no qualms about it. It'll ultimately depend on your own preferences, and how/what you type. I seldom use caps lock or the tilde, so those changes don't affect me at all. The shrunken backspace key also makes no difference to me, because even on a regular keyboard I don't touch that side of the backspace key. Lastly, the clicky-ness of the whole clickpad isn't bad. It's actually kind of nice. Especially for those who predominantly tap-to-click, this will just be a regular clickpad, only with slightly more travel when you do click down. The click is also pretty quiet.
If possible, try the keyboard out before buying, as it is an expensive machine. But depending on how/what you type, the changes could make no difference to you at all. Personally, I'm thrilled about this laptop."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
x1user

Light weight but not recommended

Date: August 10, 2014
"X1 carbon has a very light weight. However, the keyboard experience is so different (they changed the layout with the adaptive keyboard feature). The rubber stand on the back came off easily after few months, Lenovo could not even send the replacement part if not in the protection plan."
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anthomas

UNUSABLE (re: 2014 X1's Keyboard & Trackpoint)

Date: August 7, 2014
"Beware, F1 - F12 function key, and TrackPoint, users.
There are no dedicated F1, F2... F12 keys. I use these keys often, and since my X1 2014 purchase, my productivity has been utterly *CRIPPLED*. Every single time I need to press {F2} to rename my file, I have to look at my keyboard to find out if the "Adaptive Keyboard" is in the right setting. So often have I instead hit UNMUTE.
There are no Left/Middle/Right mouse buttons for the TrackPoint device. They removed the dedicated TrackPoint mouse buttons! Instead you have to slam down hard on the Touchpad, which will often move your cursor in the process. Only then will you perhaps hit the corresponding L/M/R button on the touchpad. Maybe. For me it's about 33% of the time.
All I wanted was the X1 2012, but with the 4 hour battery life.
Instead I now own an anti-productive Frankenstein of what used to be a noble line of ThinkPads. -Tom (A Thinkpad lover since 2000, A20, T20, E520, X1.)"