Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
3.193 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (202 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
32
3 stars
35
2 stars
29
1 star
44
99 of 202(49%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Balanced Laptop

Date: December 20, 2014
" I have been using the X1 Carbon (i5 with 900 display) for a bit over a week. It has proven to be a very The battery life is OK at 6-8 hours of non-gaming use. Since I am not using it for any heaving gaming or photo-editing I am quite happy with the performance of it. I did not try to get used to the trackpad, I attached a trackball after the 2nd day of using it. I find it to be much more accurate and what I am used to using.
The 1280-900 display is more than adequate for my web, photo, text and other browsing that I do.
The build quality is quite good. It has a light feel but durable. It looks good, too.
I like it!
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Adaptive Keyboard -- HUGE MISTAKE

Date: December 19, 2014
" The adaptive keyboard ruins this otherwise wonderful machine! It's fast, reliable, light-weight, thin. I love everything about it -- except the adaptive keyboard. The adaptive keyboard is a HORRIBLE MISTAKE on the part of Lenovo. It renders high-speed data entry (involving function keys) virtually impossible. The plastic covering reflects overhead lights making it difficult to see the back-lit function keys. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Excellent portable machine

Date: December 17, 2014
" First I have to confess that I have been a Lenovo fan boy for a while. This is my fourth machine.
I bought the X1 as the ultimate portable machine. I have a W530 as the workhorse at home. The X1 offers stunning performance and it easy to slip into a briefcase. Best of all weighs under three pounds. This one is tricked out: i7, 8GB, WQHD screen, 500GB SSD. Boot up speed is dazzling. It keeps up with my W530. Keyboard feel is excellent. Some have criticized the close spacing of backspace/delete keys. Not a problem for me.
For its mission as my travel computer, this one is perfect. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Up to ThinkPad Reputation

Date: December 16, 2014
" Overall very impressed, took some time to appreciate the adaptive function row, some features are gimmicky (voice-controlled, movement-controlled); compared to MacBook Air the overall work experience is better with the X1 (MacBook Air is very good but for daily work, it has some glitches hard to fix).
Conclusion: this X1 is plus for daily work (light & powerful)
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect Machine ever

Date: December 16, 2014
" X1 is really cool. Very fast, light but still tough as previous Thinkpad products. The only thing I don't like is the missing of Caps key, double-clicking the shift key is sometimes annoying. So I also get the keyboard&mouse. In general, it's the best machine I've ever seen. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Greatest laptop I've ever had

Date: December 15, 2014
" A year after it's arrived, and it's still the best laptop I've ever had. Lightweight, super-fast, and reliable. Get one! You won't be disappointed. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

9 hours?

Date: December 12, 2014
" It show 6 hours at the first time I use it (fully charged), I can image at what situation it can last even close to "9 hours"! It is cheating! "
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad Fail

Date: December 12, 2014
" I purchased the X1 Carbon in March 2014. After owning a long sequence of ThinkPads, all in the X series, this is the first one that is a fail. The battery life is only about 1.5 hours (Internet browsing, accounting software, office software - not video or other heavy processing). The keyboard is adequate, but nothing like the solid keyboards of the past. Typing speed and accuracy are significantly degraded. The touch pad is sloppy and right/left clicks work only about half the time. Worst of all, the thing is just not reliable. The fingerprint reader failed within a few days of receipt, then mysteriously started working. Stopped working again this week. Have had multiple detection errors on the SSD. Be aware too that while the screen resolution is fabulous that many pieces of software do not support it. I have had to downscale the resolution to be able to use core tools like QuickBooks and Adobe InDesign. This is not a flaw with this machine but is something to be aware of. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Thinkpad line becomes useless due to "clickpad"

Date: December 10, 2014
" I've used nothing but Thinkpads exclusively for the past 10+ years, but if Lenovo doesn't turn around quickly, I'm going to need a new vendor. The "clickpad" makes this machine completely useless without an external mouse. This also appears to apply to the new Thinkpad W models as well. Fortunately, the X1 was provided by work and now acts as a doorstop while I continue to use my old W520. LENOVO: give me a laptop with 4k resolution, high-end i7 processor, Trackpoint, 3 real mouse buttons, Trackpad (which can be disabled), and powerful graphics processor (at least as powerful as the best of the Y-series). "
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Good, but had to send back twice

Date: December 8, 2014
" The computer is nice and lightweight, but I had to send it back twice for the same problem. The screen brightness was sporadically dimming for no reason and then would lock at the dim setting.
Also battery does not seem to be holding charge.
The laptop has a nice feel to it and is fast. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop but needs the old keyboard

Date: December 5, 2014
" I've used Thinkpads continuously for 15 or more years at work. Mostly business applications with a lot of typing. Was given the X1 Carbon last week with the "dock" and external keyboard and mouse. Works amazing and is exceptionally fast (i5 processor). I liked the Carbon so much I intended to buy my own for personal use. Today, working from home (VPN) without the benefit of an external keyboard is very frustrating! Upon reading the reviews (no buttons on the trackpad, no cap-lock key, backspace/delete keys in the wrong place, ineffective virtual function keys, etc.); I completely agree. When you bring back the old keyboard I will purchase a fully loaded i7 Carbon. In my opinion that will be the perfect high performance laptop. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Work Laptop

Date: December 3, 2014
" This laptop is super light, sexy, and easy to get everywhere. The keyboard is really nice to type on and the track pad is like a macs. fantastic. We now have 4 in the office because they rock. A little pricey, absolutely, overpriced maybe, but if you can find a coupon or deal, take it. Strong durable materials. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

No device encryption

Date: December 2, 2014
" It was not evident prior to purchase, but this expensive high-end business computer does not support Windows' device encryption (see http://windows.microsoft.com/en-sg/windows-8/using-device-encryption ). This is the kind of basic encryption that is now standard on iPhones and all the way down to a sub-$200 Android phone.
Turns out that this machine has an obsolete TPM security module (version 1.2 vs. 2) and may not supports SecureBoot and ConnectedStandby, which are requirements for disk encryption. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great for College

Date: December 2, 2014
" I was given the Carbon X1 as a gift after my old laptop finally bit the dust. It was a godsend. I love how light it is! This is actually something I don't mind having in my backpack all day. It boots up rapidly, works quickly, and is a great machine in general. The only issues I've had with it are my own personal mistakes--I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to work Caps Lock until someone showed me to double tap the shift key--and the function keys took me a while to get used to. The only real complaint I have is the lack of a number pad (I do a lot of data entry), but really, I'll live. Overall, wonderful ultrabook, would recommend it to ANY AND ALL college students. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Please fix the keyboard and trackpoint

Date: December 2, 2014
" The 2013 model was perfect. The 2014 model is a disaster. The trackpoint has no dedicated buttons, which makes it nearly impossible to use, especially if you need to right-click. Various keyboard buttons are rearranged for no good reason, and the "virtual" function key strip adds no useful functionality and makes using the function keys more difficult. I need two new laptops and would buy the 2013 model in an instant. I'm hoping, praying, that Lenovo fixes the keyboard in the next model. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

backpace and delete key and trackpad issues!

Date: November 30, 2014
" The backspace and delete keys are on the same key nect to each other on the same elongated key with is a big problems as you have to hit the each corners of the key to either backspace or delete. the previous model had a much better keyboard and key placements. Also the trackpait is diffucult to use when right clicking and seclecting text. They shoudl brin back the previous trackpad and keyboard if they cannot fix the issues.
Also the funtions keys shoudl not be touch enabled as the scrolling features locks up often. bring back the old funtion keys.
Would liek to see longer batter life. Hopefully withteh new Intel processers and version coming out in Jan 2015.
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

X1 Carbon touch is a super nice thinkpad, BUT..

Date: November 28, 2014
" BUT..?
i have owned and used thinkpads since my first 700C sometime in 1993 or thereabouts..
i currently own and use at least 15, some more than others..
SO, i feel well qualified to remark on this new X1..
this is a slick thinkpad, really a generational improvement but with a GLARING mis-step..
the new keyboard layout, the touch strip in place of function keys and the disappearance of the page forward and page back keys all work to make the X1 Carbon very difficult to use..
1. the adaptive keys strip needs some sort of tactile feedback.. even slightly brushing it will register as a keystroke.. an unintended keystroke..
2. changing the key layout is dumb..
3. the mouse keys being integrated into a large, overly wide, trackpad is counter-intuitive since a right or left click is, sometimes, interpreted as mouse movement before left or right click..
what lenovo SHOULD have done is allow the older X1 keyboard to be selected in place of this new and nearly unusable replacement..
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Bring back the function keys!

Date: November 25, 2014
" business users like me actually need real physical function keys for excel! "
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

New keyboard - no buy

Date: November 25, 2014
" I've been using thinkpads for 15 years now and X1 was the one where Lenovo crossed the red line: I'm not going to buy Thinkpad again until they revert the keyboard back. This is just nonce: you can't type on it, period. Trackpad + virtual keys is frustrating. Who needs a business laptop where typing experience was sacrificed for a trendy look? Nope, I pass. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Great laptop. Nasty HDMI output

Date: November 25, 2014
" I have had a thinkpad X1 Carbon since last Christmas. I was very thankful that Lenovo started to make a PC laptop that rivals macbook air, and even upped the ante a bit.
I do not do heavy computing or graphics... just simple UI development (Webstorm, Javascript, Angular) and PPT, Excel, Browsing etc.
Everything was great until I bought a Dell 30" ultra-def monitor. The laptop has a single HDMI port that is a total lemon. It works when it wants to. And outright refuses to when it doesn't. There isn't it one thing you can do about it.
There is nothing wrong with the monitor or cable. My work laptop T420S (Thinkpad again) has no problem. My friend's ipad air has no problem (same cable, same monitor port).
So I sent it to Lenovo for repair. They promptly repaired it and sent it back. It worked for three days. And now it stopped working again.
I am so let down by Lenovo, that my $1500 turned into a total lemon. "