Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
2.9 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
4 of 10(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
anders

Redesign Fail

Date: June 6, 2014
"After starting to listen more to the community on their design blogs, this: a totally broken keyboard layout and the end of the trackpoint. Where's the so boldly worn pride for the traditional strengths of a Thinkpad? One would think that they would not just destroy their flagship model's fame that lightheartedly :( Living on a tight budget, I was ready to fork out the premium price - but this keyboard is simply unusable for my workflow and thus it's forcing me to look elsewhere, probably finally giving in to the apple."
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enek

Fantastic Piece of Hardware

Date: June 2, 2014
"I'm an executive that travels a lot. This laptop is fantastic!
When I compared the technical specs to other ultra books it was the best hardware to suit my needs.
I'm more than happy with the purchase. Reliable hardware, incredible screen and I'm very happy with the keyboard layout.
I've never owned a previous thinkpad but I have no issues with the trackpad or trackpoint. Both work as I would expect. The previous versions must have been really something out of this world to deserve such negative reviews..."
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OldCarbonX

I wait with my uppgrade

Date: May 29, 2014
"I have first Carbon X machines and I was planning to upgrade, because of better screen and performance. Thank God I read these reviews and noticed that new track point design. I can only see it being a disaster.
Being Lenovo user for ages and loving that little red dot there, I can only hope that they correct this mistake and put buttons back. At least let people choose, which they prefer."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jetsetr

You will love it or hate it

Date: May 24, 2014
"As an executive who travels a lot, the X1 Carbon is perfect for me. Lightweight, fast, quiet and the battery life really is incredible (easily 10 hours of use between charges on my last trip). It also comes with a much larger screen compared to other computers at this weight. The clickable trackpad will take some getting use to, and I can't argue with the other negative comments on this point. That being said, I'm willing to adjust to it given the overall awesome performance of this machine."
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
zarpanzur

I feel like I am being dumbed down.....

Date: May 22, 2014
"The trackpad is just awful. Separate left and right click buttons just work and are the best, not like the trackpad on this and any new lenovo product. With Windows 8 and the removal of dedicated left and right buttons and having one large trackpad that clicks, I feel like I am being dumbed down and forced to not use any right click functions, just like apple products. Might as well buy an Apple product now because it is superior in its design/functionality. I hope they bring back the left and right click buttons sometime in the future. Also, the new keyboard starting from the Tx30 series is just awful. The last thinkpad to have a good keyboard was the T420. Why mess with a good thing lenovo? Change just for the sake of it? Pass on Lenovo products for now...."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Muramas

Awful redeisn

Date: April 25, 2014
"I really don’t know what Lenovo was trying for here but it turned out to be a clash of awful.
- The touchpad is really unreliable and very difficult to right click. I have not figured out why it is raised yet because it makes it awkward.
- The keyboard resign makes no sense and removes features that I use like insert, print screen etc and make it difficult to use ones like the F keys.
- Lenovo increased the screen resolution which makes everything look really odd sized because if left to the normal scaling it is super small but with the increased scaling everything is mixed of being too small with giant clunky boxes. Doing things like remote desktop is almost impossible because the remote machine doesn't have DPI scaling.
Just pass on this one…
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JayMTL

All around awesome machine

Date: April 24, 2014
"Super lightweight, superb performance, amazing battery life, just a touch pricy.
The trackpad is awesome. Yes, it is different from the traditional IBM old school trackpad, but it works beautifully. and come on, what are you doing even using it when you have a touch screen? Absolutely awesome!"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Itai

Superb Screen - Poor Inteface

Date: April 14, 2014
"The X1 Carbon is so light for its size and the screen is simply superb.
The laptop is very fast to start. The built-in graphics is not great and I've had to disable things like Desktop Composition to make it usable.
Despite the lack of an SDXC card slot which I miss, the most serious issue is with the 'mouse' buttons which are actually integrated into the trackpad. The middle one is very hard to click and the whole trackpad goes down on each click, so something I end up doing things accidentally.
Compared to other ultra-books, I would still buy this one yet I hope that when it's time to replace it, Lenovo will fix the buttons and squeeze an SDXC card slot."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Zone
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8

Useless Tracking Point

Date: March 29, 2014
"After a loyal Thinkpad user for 15 years, I have to say Lenovo finally screwed up this brand by making a useless tracking point. I mean Come On! If you design a tracking point please make sure it can be used properly. I will stay away from this brand if it cannot be changed."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
catherine
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Pentium Dual Core
Memory:4 GB or more

tracking point disaster

Date: March 12, 2014
Cons: Keyboard/peripherals
"On the 2014 models, Lenovo's last remaining competitive advantage over Apple and others--its red tracking point--has effectively become unusable. The older models offered separate clickers for tracking point users. On the 2014 models, tracking point users must over extend their thumb to reach down to the only clickers available: those of the main track pad, which are harder and located lower down on the keyboard. After 2 weeks of this, I had recurring thumb pain. I returned my Lenovo, kissed my dear tracking point goodbye and got used to my new Apple..."