Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
3.878 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
9
54 of 74(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

user friendly and easy to follow

Date: July 27, 2015
" The procedures are easy to follow. It is convenient to add features and softwares. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Really a good start

Date: July 21, 2015
" I am using it for my daily work, it is awesome "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

One of the Best Laptops I have ever used

Date: July 18, 2015
" This is easily one of the best laptops I have ever given a try. The thing runs blazing fast and I was surprised with how thin and light it was. The battery life was also better than I expected. If you can afford the high price tag on this machine it is definitely worth it. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

GARBAGE

Date: July 15, 2015
" Absolute garbage!!
- Unreliable
- Cheap quality
- Horrible delays if a repair is required
Sorry for the poor review but that's how I see this product. It's a hit/miss. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very Happy with this computer.

Date: July 14, 2015
" I bought this computer from the Outlet site. I was a little nervous because it was refurbished. So far, I have been very happy with it. The Carbon X1 is light and easy to carry in a backpack. I am also very impressed with its performance and long battery life. The only negative comment I have so far is the keyboard keys show the oil from your fingers. That kinda bugs me, so I am constantly washing my hands when using it. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Good computer with some reliability issues

Date: July 13, 2015
" Upgraded CPU and 8Gb of RAM resulted in great performance, a significant improvement over my old computer. Although, the new 14'' screen is smaller than my old 13'' I like the bright and vivid colors! Great for movies.
Only issue is an assembly quality.
During 6 month of owing machine it spent ~27 days in repairs. Had to create four service cases. About to call for my fifth.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great computer

Date: July 8, 2015
" I read a lot of complains about the keyboard in the 2nd generation of the X1 carbon but it is a great keyboard. At first glance the backspace/delete together might seem like a bad idea but actually it helps while writing. Also the home/end button addition makes is easy to navigate when writing and correcting.
The computer is light, with great performance. Really satisfied.
I would recommend this PC.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Pay for what you get

Date: July 7, 2015
" I've had this laptop for about 7 months now and it has been incredible. It is not slow at all and truly reliable. Purchasing this laptop definitely hurt the wallet, but I guess that's what you get for choosing the topline and great reliability. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Horrible display

Date: July 7, 2015
" I got the touch version, I'd avoid at all cost. Mine has a white spot (not dead pixel) and backlight bleed is one the worse I've seen. If you are considering touch version, google "x1 bright white spot" before you make a purchase. I paid over 2k for the laptop and received $300 quality laptop instead. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

16GB Memory NOT Available!!?

Date: July 6, 2015
" Every thing is amazing!!! The only thing that push me to x250 is 16gb memory not available... 16gb memory is available only for x250, why...? "
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

X1 Carbon works as advertised.

Date: July 6, 2015
" This bulletin board has a tough audience. I've been using Thinkpads for too many years to count. The X1 2015 is the best model I've used.
I don't have a complaint. I am using a touch screen and its resolution is as crisp as my x220 IPS.
Don't listen to the naysayers. Go with your gut and buy this beast.
Good luck "
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Heartbreaking

Date: July 6, 2015
" Since the early 80's I've been a loyal IBM customer. I got their first laptop, their first tablet. I've bought over twenty computers never wavering from the big blue. When Lenovo took over, I went along with the change. I continued to buy laptop after laptop. And then I got the X1.
It has been the worst computer experience I have ever had. From the "ghost" who suddenly shuts programs, sends my mouse pointer rushing all around the screen, to the screen flickering and rolling horizontally then turning black, to the loose-sounding touchpad, to the left and right buttons suddenly only working as the left - all of that was in the first week.
When asked for help I got nothing useful.
This has been a profound disappointment.
For the first time in my life I will think twice before buying another Lenovo.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Better than the Macbook Air

Date: June 30, 2015
" I was looking for a thin, light and powerful laptop for my small business and the X1 carbon is perfect. The keyboard is way better for typing than the MBA and the durability and build is superb.
I got a defective laptop the first time around, but Lenovo service was very good and they quickly shipped another X1. The only gripe I had was the screen looked grainy, but after I removed the protective film from the touch display, the screen looked beautiful. Also, there is this weird bend at the bottom edges of the display that you can see when it's closed. I don't know if that's part of the design, but it's something to be aware of. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo X1 Carbon Review

Date: June 26, 2015
" I have been using this laptop for 10 months now. If it were not for terrible implementation of one particular option I would probably rate this Laptop highly. The touchpad on this computer is the worst I have ever experienced. I have played with the driver versions as well as the many options but to no avail I find it not usable. I am a big advocate of touchpads and this is the first laptop where I was forced to give up and go to a portable mouse. The biggest issue with the touchpad, the cursor jumps around the screen and you find yourself typing in the wrong place. I have played with the many options and have been unable to correct the problem. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Expensive and not reliable

Date: June 25, 2015
" I like IBM products like x31, x61, T420. and i don't have any problem with regards to the performance. But when i bought x1 carbon, the reliability of the laptop was not there, cuz i just used it for 2 months, and i already replaced the motherboard twice. I'm waited 1 week before they can replaced the board, cuz the parts is not available in Singapore. no 1 to 1 replacement, only repair. I paid almost 3K for the disposable laptop. that's based of my experience. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very good purchase

Date: June 20, 2015
" I have changed from a Macbook air to this one, great risk and investment.
It was without any doubt a great deal.
The only bad thing is that Lenovo on my country as a very bad service.
"
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Need more RAM, 3 Type-C USBs

Date: June 16, 2015
" I have been testing this for a few months. This is almost perfect.
What is lacking: 1. 16GB RAM 2. 3 Type-C USBs
If Lenovo adds these then this would be the choice for our company next major purchase.
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great product but one flaw

Date: June 15, 2015
" Everything is great about this laptop. I love it. Only one flaw, the connection of the two parts of the power cord is very loose. When I plug into the wall, I thought I was charging it but due to the loose connection, it was actually not charging. I have to remember to make sure the power cord is connected together everytime. This can be annoying. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

X1 Carbon Crashes every 2 weeks

Date: June 3, 2015
" I purchased X1 Carbon in Feb/2013.
It is light, small and portable, and stopped working at the first week. Blue screen and corrupted drivers. Problem persists and recurs every 2 weeks, forcing me to format the hard drive.
After 11 months crashing I returned to warranty, and I still have same problem every 2 weeks: blue screen, corrupted files, corrupted drivers or freezes for 8 minutes.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

An ergonomic disappointment

Date: June 1, 2015
" A loyal Thinkpad user for a decade, I have been typing away on X-series notebooks since college and through work.
This is my first time using Thinkpad's chiclet style keyboard, which I cannot advocate.
The traditional keyboard was far superior in layout (including something as simple as dedicated volume and Thinkvantage buttons) tactile feedback, and overall key design.
The new keys are flatter and narrowly spaced closer together with respect to typing surfacea, resulting in less differentiation between keys, causing diminished accuracy, on top of flat key travel.
Similarly, Trackpoint buttons are also sculpted too shallow: I persistently mistook the crucial left button with center scrolling button.
With that said, the screen is good (2560 x 1600), the body is light but expectedly solid for a Thinkpad (another key purchase factor), and so far decent performance with 8gb RAM (max option only).
Conclusion: will return laptop due to sub-par keyboard ergonomics. "