Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (165 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
28
3 stars
28
2 stars
23
1 star
36
82 of 165(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

The worst thinkpad in 14 years

Date: October 19, 2014
"I've been using Thinkpads since 2000. The trackpoint is the single biggest benefit to efficiency for anyone who can use them. This X1 is terrible.
First is the awful trackpad. I don't use it. Never have. Now they've gotten rid of the buttons for the trackpoint, and made all the buttons part of a giant, noisy, un-sensitive trackpad. I find myself accidentally "right clicking". I can't use the computer while my wife is asleep, since you have to slam a large, noisy pad down instead of three nice, quiet, small buttons. horrible.
Second is the adaptive keyboard. This thing would be very useful if they had it above the F keys. But unfortunately, it replaces the F keys. So, if you're used to F5 refresh, alt F4 close, etc. you're out of luck unless you turn it off. Even then, you lose the haptic feedback, which makes it difficult. Terrible.
Lastly - why move delete? I reprogrammed delete to backspace, so I didn't accidentally delete what I'd already written. Now I don't have a delete key."
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Too advanced for the operating system

Date: October 19, 2014
"The machine is basically good. Mine has had problems where it has been returned twice (first time operating system problems we could not fix remotely and secondly, just this week, for replacement of the system board ) In addition, the solid state hard drive was replaced and this was a case where the part was sent to me and I did the repair. (this is not advised for a novice as the hard drive was not formatted and the operating system needed to be installed along with the new drivers)
I have owned nothing but IBM/Lenovo laptops since their introduction in 1992 and will probably not get anything but a Lenovo. At this point, I would not buy the Carbon X1 with the UHD touch screen as the scaling does not work for the ultra high resolution and unless you have x-ray vision, reading menus of programs like Adobe's Photoshop are next to impossible. When the scaling is corrected, it will be a great computer, but not until then. I just hope happens while I still own it.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very innovative ultrabook!

Date: October 18, 2014
"I am in love with what Lenovo has done with this ultrabook. Allow me to list the ways that I love thee:
1. The form factor and weight are thin and light, but not cheap and fragile
2. The display resolution and quality is very good (I went with high res, non-touch, IPS)
3. The keyboard tactile feel is spot-on and I actually love the placement of the delete, home/end, and page up/down keys. They are logically in context with other keys on the keyboard.
4. The dynamic function key row is very useful and works great
5. Performance and battery life are the perfect balance.
6. THANK YOU for not soldering the SSD to the motherboard - I appreciate the ability to expand.
As one can always improve, I think the one weak area of this laptop is the touchpad. It's not bad, but it is not as well executed as that fruit company does it. It's a good try, but it's not there yet.
Overall, this is the best ultrabook I have every laid my hands on."
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Clunkpad

Date: October 16, 2014
"If you're a trackpoint user, the X1 Carbon is not for you. I ended up buying the Thinkpad Bluetooth Keyboard for everyday use. There should be an option for a smaller trackpad with physical trackpoint buttons.
It's like Lenovo is trying to push users to not use the trackpoint anymore. Sad, very sad..."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good Performance, Poor Design

Date: October 16, 2014
"I have the original X1 and now I have tried the X1 Carbon. The original X1 already had keyboard/mousepad design that was prone to accidental miscues that would make your cursor move unexpectedly and cause mistyping (a particular annoyance if you type documents longer than an e-mail or PPT slide). The new design, with an even larger mousepad, magnifies that problem. (Wish there was a way to turn off the mousepad, but keep the mouse buttons active!... at least then I could continue to use the joystick mouse control in the keyboard.) Plus, there is the new design feature of the function key scroll, which is "Uncommonly Un-intuitive" and actually increases the number of steps needed to take a function, especially if you speed past those that you want. The X1 Carbon machine itself is great. But the keyboard design flaws overshadow its performance benefits... after all, without the ability to properly with the machine, it doesn't matter whether the machine is good or not."
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo Has Arrived

Date: October 16, 2014
"My wife and I decided to upgrade our laptops.
I upgraded my trusty Fujitsu to Lenovo X1.
My wife upgraded her Dell to Dell 7000 series.
She liked my Lenovo so much that she took it from me and I am returning her Dell and ordering another Lenovo X1.
Pros. Light, Fast, Clearer, cool running and battery life longer than my latest iPad retina display."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Almost perfect laptop with amazing speed + weight

Date: October 15, 2014
"the performance, weight, and thickness of this laptop is amazing. this is the true, next-generation style of laptops with the adaptive keyboard, camera gestures, and voice control. this is my first lenovo laptop, but i am not dissapointed. i get around 6 hours of battery life per charge, with another 3 with power saver mode activated. it is extremely impressive how it charges in 30 minutes. I had a few problems at the start, but almost all of them were software-related issues.
one of the issues were that the fingerprint reader stopped working 3 times and it was actually pretty hard to fix at first, but i paid for a 1-year subscription to premium support and they fixed the problem for me. i also had a problem with the mouse cursor dissapearing on the screen, and that was such a problem that it was the reason i paid for premium support for a year. I always have, still are, and always will be a lenovo fan.
THE TOTAL MONEY I HAVE SPENT ON THIS LAPTOP IS $2200
but worth it ;)
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

I Like It

Date: October 15, 2014
"The X1 Carbon is a very nice Touch Screen Laptop. Love how thin and light it is. Took only a few days to tweak settings/get used to keyboard changes (especially non-button Adaptive Keyboard) & touch pad (can be a little sensitive). Also needed to adjust to the screen colors as same photo, etc. looks different on X1 than on my ThinkPad T530; not that one is worse than the other but just different. Only downside (and reason I did not rate it a 5), is that I have 16GB RAM in my T530 and X1 max RAM is only 8GB and there is a noticeably slower performance when working with Excel. Also not fond of USB ports positioned in middle of each side. Cords sticking out get annoying especially if you use a mouse. Angle connectors help but Laptop so thin that they kept bottom propped up. OneLink Port Dock hooks up to power slot near back so its cord is more out of the way and you have just a single cord to detach for picking it up to go. And there are times when you do need/want more than 2 USB ports."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst business Laptop Ive ever had

Date: October 15, 2014
"The company I work for started to buy these for people that traveled more than average. Ohh my what a what a mistake. Don't get me wrong the portability is great. My briefcase is much lighter and makes traveling in airports much easier. However when I get to my customer I need the laptop to work and it is hit or miss with this machine. All of my co-workers that have these have experienced some form of issues. Mine is Screen went out after 3 months, continual crashing and lock-ups. Co-workers computers have had Hard drive failures, mouse pad issues and the worse was a mother board went out after one month. Take my advise and co-workers advise. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT!"
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Dear Lenovo: Stop messing with keyboard layout!

Date: October 10, 2014
"Received X1 Carbon as a replacement for x220 for work - was looking forward to getting it (backordered) until I opened it up for the first time and realized I've made a poor decision. I travel frequently and needed something small and light, but this is bit ridiculous.
They changed around some of the most frequently used keys like backspace, caps lock ESC keys! caps lock is now split into home/end keys, pressing shift key twice too fast (ex. typing acronyms that have lower case the middle fast) will lock in CAPSLOCK?! more frustrating is now backspace is split in half to be used as both backspace/delete. Thanks Lenovo for making this extremely frustrating for me to use. I will never buy Lenovo as my personal PC."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo X1 Carbon

Date: October 8, 2014
"I have only had the computer for 2 weeks so I cannot give it 5 Stars on everything yet...but so far it is a great computer. Price was a bit high, but if it does what I expect it to do it will be worth it.
The battery life has really surprised me. It is much, much longer per charge than I ever expected.
The Lenovo website was Excellent to use as a build tool and I am very, very happy so far."
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect Machine

Date: October 7, 2014
"I bought this loaded (i7, 8 gb, 512 gb SSD) used for work and to fly various planes in X-Plane. It works great! The Pro dock allowed me to connect to my 27"monitor, external hard drive and various USB requirements. I am very satisfied with the Carbon X1."
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Huge step back from original ThinkPad

Date: October 7, 2014
"I just got the top of the line Carbon X1 (w/o touch) and I have to say I'm really not impressed. The most annoying anti-features are:
1) No real buttons on the touch pad
2) Moving around Home/End Backspace/Delete on the keyboard (luckily it's easy to remap buttons b/c this layout is just braindead)
3) Low profile touch point make navigation challenging
4) Adaptive function key row is just annoying
On the plus side, the form factor and screen seem pretty convincing."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfectly designed

Date: October 3, 2014
"I've had my Ultrabook for several months now and love it. It's light weight, cool to the touch and lightening fast. The keyboard took a little to get used to but once I let myself get into it the design and performance are amazing. After reading some of the earlier reviews I expected much less. I guess I'm a child using the a touch pad for the first time because it's the best I've ever used. I suggest when you buy one read the manual and apply the features as intended. I could go on but I think you get my drift.
By the way, I'm a Transportation Exec. I design and write all my dispatch and delivery programs.
Enjoy,
Mike
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

ThinkPad destroyed

Date: October 2, 2014
"Horrible: junk keyboard, what a mouse/pad - no buttons ? , unreliable, junk plastic, , display, plastic body, etc... JUNK JUNK"
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Machine is an amazing for the others in the market

Date: October 2, 2014
"The only problem in this machine are the some drivers needs to be fixed for ever from the software department in Thinkpad line.
I wish they can fix all problem as soon as that they can make all customers happy with their purchase."
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Strong machine, but keyboard layout is awful

Date: September 28, 2014
"The combination of 8 GB memory, i7 processor and 256 GB SSD drive creates a monstress machine in terms of processing power.
However, keyboard layout is terrible. Not having a [Insert] key is a very poor choice. Not having dedicated mouse button is a poort choice."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Sexy Beast with a big mole!

Date: September 24, 2014
"After 9 years it was time to let go of my W500. I knew I wanted another ThinkPad and my Tech guy has a Gen 1 X1 and raved about it, so I bought the Gen 2 model.
It is an amazing machine: slim design, long battery life, lightweight, and the Thinkpad name. However, I feel like I am dating a supermodel with a big mole on the side of her face. You can't help but stare it all of the time and it takes away from the rest of her beauty. The mole of course is the backspace/delete keys. What were they thinking? I hope I am able to adapt over time, otherwise it will take away from the rest of this beauty."
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Touch pad design is frustrating

Date: September 21, 2014
"Lenovo converted to the button-less touch pad. I have both a T430S (still has buttons) and the X1. I like the T430S way better, primarily because of the buttons. Don't overlook how frustrated you will be with the touchpad -- it's a really big deal. Everyone in the company is using external mouse. Who needs that?!
I also don't like the rubberized exterior of the plastic case, as it shows fingerprints.
Keyboard is great EXCEPT the touchpad!!!
The case of the X1 doesn't seem durable, I like the T series much better. The thinner unit isn't worth the flimsy feel."
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Decent, but not great, many problems

Date: September 18, 2014
"We've recently standardized our company on these laptops. I work IT for the company, so I see it all. Of the many new laptops we've sent to our users (well over 40 by now) almost half had to be replaced due to hardware issues. Also prepare to have an army of dongles and a USB hub with you at all times, as this unit only has 2 USB ports, and needs one of them with a dongle just to get ethernet internet access. That, and the internet dongle frequently loses connectivity. There were many software issues as well. So much so that when it came time to replace MY laptop, I broke with the standard and got myself a T430. Heavier, but way more reliable in any situation, and more powerful too."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.