Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
3.935 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
6
46 of 62(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Better than the Macbook Air

Date: June 30, 2015
" I was looking for a thin, light and powerful laptop for my small business and the X1 carbon is perfect. The keyboard is way better for typing than the MBA and the durability and build is superb.
I got a defective laptop the first time around, but Lenovo service was very good and they quickly shipped another X1. The only gripe I had was the screen looked grainy, but after I removed the protective film from the touch display, the screen looked beautiful. Also, there is this weird bend at the bottom edges of the display that you can see when it's closed. I don't know if that's part of the design, but it's something to be aware of. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo X1 Carbon Review

Date: June 26, 2015
" I have been using this laptop for 10 months now. If it were not for terrible implementation of one particular option I would probably rate this Laptop highly. The touchpad on this computer is the worst I have ever experienced. I have played with the driver versions as well as the many options but to no avail I find it not usable. I am a big advocate of touchpads and this is the first laptop where I was forced to give up and go to a portable mouse. The biggest issue with the touchpad, the cursor jumps around the screen and you find yourself typing in the wrong place. I have played with the many options and have been unable to correct the problem. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Expensive and not reliable

Date: June 25, 2015
" I like IBM products like x31, x61, T420. and i don't have any problem with regards to the performance. But when i bought x1 carbon, the reliability of the laptop was not there, cuz i just used it for 2 months, and i already replaced the motherboard twice. I'm waited 1 week before they can replaced the board, cuz the parts is not available in Singapore. no 1 to 1 replacement, only repair. I paid almost 3K for the disposable laptop. that's based of my experience. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Very good purchase

Date: June 20, 2015
" I have changed from a Macbook air to this one, great risk and investment.
It was without any doubt a great deal.
The only bad thing is that Lenovo on my country as a very bad service.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Need more RAM, 3 Type-C USBs

Date: June 16, 2015
" I have been testing this for a few months. This is almost perfect.
What is lacking: 1. 16GB RAM 2. 3 Type-C USBs
If Lenovo adds these then this would be the choice for our company next major purchase.
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Great product but one flaw

Date: June 15, 2015
" Everything is great about this laptop. I love it. Only one flaw, the connection of the two parts of the power cord is very loose. When I plug into the wall, I thought I was charging it but due to the loose connection, it was actually not charging. I have to remember to make sure the power cord is connected together everytime. This can be annoying. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

X1 Carbon Crashes every 2 weeks

Date: June 3, 2015
" I purchased X1 Carbon in Feb/2013.
It is light, small and portable, and stopped working at the first week. Blue screen and corrupted drivers. Problem persists and recurs every 2 weeks, forcing me to format the hard drive.
After 11 months crashing I returned to warranty, and I still have same problem every 2 weeks: blue screen, corrupted files, corrupted drivers or freezes for 8 minutes.
"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

An ergonomic disappointment

Date: June 1, 2015
" A loyal Thinkpad user for a decade, I have been typing away on X-series notebooks since college and through work.
This is my first time using Thinkpad's chiclet style keyboard, which I cannot advocate.
The traditional keyboard was far superior in layout (including something as simple as dedicated volume and Thinkvantage buttons) tactile feedback, and overall key design.
The new keys are flatter and narrowly spaced closer together with respect to typing surfacea, resulting in less differentiation between keys, causing diminished accuracy, on top of flat key travel.
Similarly, Trackpoint buttons are also sculpted too shallow: I persistently mistook the crucial left button with center scrolling button.
With that said, the screen is good (2560 x 1600), the body is light but expectedly solid for a Thinkpad (another key purchase factor), and so far decent performance with 8gb RAM (max option only).
Conclusion: will return laptop due to sub-par keyboard ergonomics. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

This is the best laptop for work, in this planet

Date: June 1, 2015
" Small, light and powerful.
I am a scientist, data analysis and presentation are the major priority for me and this PC. Well, it did a good job. It is as light as MacAir but tougher(I dropped it once on the floor and,bang, then as if it was nothing happened).It is definitely light and protable laptop.
And I have to say, windows have better compatiblity with scientific softwares than apple, which to me is essential.
Anyway, thumbs up to lenovo and IBM. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Reliable High-Performance Laptop

Date: May 29, 2015
" I purchased my X1 about 6 months ago and have had very few complaints. I was looking for something that was light-weight and delivered a lot of processing power and the X1 has delivered on both of those. It still runs extremely fast even after 6 months of use and loading it up with all my software and files.
My one complaint is that I'd like to see a higher end product like this come with a better quality display like the standard displays with current Macbook Air laptops. That being said, the display hasn't necessarily been an issue, I would just expect to see really high end components on an ultrabook product. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best UltraBook out there

Date: May 7, 2015
" I have been in the computer industry for over 25yrs and I learned long ago if you are going to be a road warrior that your best bet is a Thinkpad. Now my son it ready to go off to Embry-Riddle for a Bachelor’s degree in Cyber Security He wanted a more traditional UltraBook rather than a tablet type of device with a larger screen but light and not a Pizza-Box. I purchased the X1 Carbon Gen 3 model. I am truly impressed. It is light with a great keyboard and even with the multitouch screen it performs well in low and bright light. The resolution is awesome and even under high load with lots of graphics (yea he likes to play games too) the fan noise is quiet silent. With the 5th Generation i7 Broadwell processor gives great battery life and plenty of performance along with the 8GB of RAM. The SSD is super quick to boot up. The Price might seem a bit High but if you watch Lenovo’s sales you can get this for a steal. Being both thin and light this is a great road warrior machine. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase Ever

Date: May 4, 2015
" Best Laptop in the market ! "
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible Display

Date: April 26, 2015
" This computer would be close to perfect if it's display weren't absolutely horrible. The hi-res touch display is washed out, dim, and yellowish. It is nowhere near the 300 nits you'd expect on a high end laptop. Hours of trying different color calibrations made no difference. If you're coming from a machine with a truly nice display, like the x220 ips, you're going to be very disappointed. I'm not that picky about displays, but as a laptop consumer I know a really bad display when I see one. You'll see lots of reviews here by people who don't know better. That's fine if you don't know better. But if you have any experience with premium laptops, this purchase is going to make you mad. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A great product

Date: April 25, 2015
" Love everything about it except the morphing function keys. I am a big fan of using those keys while in MS Office, and would rather have the old style set up in more cramped real estate. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A Beautiful and Reliable Machine

Date: April 24, 2015
" I ordered my X1 Carbon with nearly all customizable options maxed out, save and except for the touchscreen IPS panel (as I remain a purist). I have been purchasing Macbook's for the past couple of years due to their superior build quality and reliability, while waiting for a PC that offered similar performance in a well designed, quality package. The X1 Carbon is a beautifully sleek machine that feels great to carry around. The upgraded screen provides crisp and stunning images, while the keyboard remains one of the best on the market. I was initially hesitant about the return of the physical right/left click buttons on the trackpad, but they are a life-saver! Especially when editing and writing long documents (which as a Masters student, constitutes the bulk of my use). While the price of the X1 Carbon may constitute an impediment to most, if you are able to purchase this machine and are looking for a reliable ultrabook with a premium build quality, look no further. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

The keyboard is poorly designed

Date: April 24, 2015
" The only and quite a disturbing issue with this laptop is that it's keyboard is very uncomfortable for use. For example, -pageup and -pagedown keys are right beside the arrow keys making it easy to jump to the next page on your Word document while editing. Also, the adaptive keyboard keys are very easily pressed, so while typing numbers you could frequently have a pop-up window with Adjustable Keyaboard settings, Projector connection and Airplain mode on. So the bottom line is, if you have large fingers or just not much patience - don't buy this laptop. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Worst Laptop

Date: April 24, 2015
" Battery life not good 3-4 hrs maximum, not up to 9hrs as they say.
cannot get correct text balance on different programs
mouse pad is really bad, sometimes works sometimes not.
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good purchase

Date: April 22, 2015
" The performance is excellent. However, I would have liked the old style keyboard and mouse pad buttons. Also, surprised that there was no SD card reader. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

I have x1 carbon 1st gen and 3rd gen

Date: April 22, 2015
" I have a x1 carbon 1st gen, and recently purchased the 3rd gen 2560*1440 screen non touch, 512ssd. I want to see that compared the two, the 3rd one is a great update. The chassis is well coated and very smooth. Keyboard seem has a little bit less keyboard travel than the 1st gen, but still better than MBA. When I start typing and work on the 3rd gen, it is a instant feel that the device is well built, solid as one piece, better than the 1st gen. 1st gen's keys are a little loose that the 3rd gen. The function keys are very user friendly for the windows 8.1.
The screen quality is superb. Anti-glare coating makes the screen really easy to see under sunshine or when your office has high brightness.
At first I was worried that high resolution will make the font really small. But the most of the applications have been optimized and easy to see.
I tried HP, Samsung, MBA, MBP before, the fan noise of the 3rd gen x1 carbon is quiet silent even if I run at a high load.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Thinkpad Ever!

Date: April 22, 2015
" I now have two weeks of active use on my 3rd generation X1 Carbon, an i7, 8Gb, 256Gb model. My first positive impression came with turn-on out of the box--the fastest and easiest I have experienced with a PC to date. Use then really blew me away. I love the trackpoint implementation, so much so that I turned off the pad, just don't need it. All the software I installed works fast! I'm amazed that something this size and weight can perform so well! "