Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

ThinkPad X1 Carbon 3rd Generation

Average customer rating:
3.877 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 242
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (244 reviews)
5 stars
120
4 stars
55
3 stars
19
2 stars
19
1 star
31
165 of 232(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA, United States

Best Laptop Yet

Date: February 8, 2016
" I have purchased laptops since 1990s, This is the best setup for me yet. In addition to the X1 Carbon 3rd Generation, I have the Lenovo dock which is a wonderful design. I just have 1 plug to connect to my X1 and it is connected to my screens, network, keyboard and mouse.
The only issue I still have is related to the Windows 10 sleep function. When connected to the dock, the sleep function cannot be controlled. It either goes to sleep between sentences or has to be turned off completely. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bloomington, IN, United States

Lightweight, High Def, Awkward at Times

Date: February 6, 2016
" Love the lightweight build, color, screen resolution, battery life, and speaker placement and high volume capability. Very good for streaming videos. There are some issues, however, but it's difficult to place blame on only Lenovo since this model operates with Windows 10. Aside from issues with W10 OS and software, there are some smaller issues I keep running into. The keyboard has large letter keys, but this displaces some of the other buttons. So for example, the page up and down buttons are placed right next to the up and down arrow keys; I often hit "page down," which is just frustrating. Also the mouse pad's sensitivity is sort of off, no matter how much I change the settings. It just doesn't scroll the best or move the cursor as well as previous laptops I've had. Worst part of my experience is issues with shutdown options (sleep, hibernate, shutdown, restart). I must save all my work and close all programs, because the computer will not sleep (and yes, I've enabled this feature and set all the appropriate settings to "closing lid = sleep"). Instead when I close the lid, the computer shuts down. Sometimes when I want to shut down, the computer actually restarts. Some of the instructions to fix the issue say to "press the sleep button," well there's only a single button (power) unlike some other PCs, which have a power on/off button, a display on/off button, and a sleep button. The computer is very nice and works well, is very portable and durable, but these little issues keep interrupting tasks and ruining what is otherwise a positive experience, and make me wonder if it's worth the money. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD, United States

Light weight and Cool

Date: February 5, 2016
" I bought this laptop in December 2015. I like it. One problem is the power button which is little deep seated. Also, the Window 10 is not that great. Hard drive is fine, but the storage is limitation. With unwanted apps from windows 10, the storage becomes limiting. They should have 1tb SSD . "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Williamsburg, VA, United States

Works well.

Date: February 4, 2016
" I've had it for 2 weeks now, and it has been rock solid. I have the 256gb i7 version and it is quick, and responsive. I was worried about the keyboard, but it works almost as well as my old w510. The screen is great, very high resolution. Networking is good out of the box. My only complaint is no support for NVMe SSD drives. I bought a Samsung 950 pro m.2 drive as a replacement drive for the unit, but there is no support for it. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX, United States

x1 Carbon 3rd gen great on AC-useless on battery

Date: February 3, 2016
" Had for 8 months loved it...now in field with no AC-unit will not turn on. Plug into AC, now it boots and runs for hours on battery. Good desktop unit...horrible as notebook. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delray Beach, Florida, United States

Just maybe the best value in a small laptop..

Date: January 29, 2016
" Had this for over a Month... tired of a large desk top and wanted something that can run my scanner and printer and 27" monitor as well as card reader and external optical drive... with a small and portable foot print. I found it in the C1 Carbon 3rd Generation. I also bought the docking station and this is wonderful.. small and one plug removed the lap top leaving everything connected for latter use. A win/win combination. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Landrum, SC

My Third Thinkpad

Date: January 26, 2016
" I am a professional software developer. For many years, the Thinkpad has been my go to choice for my laptop. The X1 Carbon is the third one I have purchased. I still use both the other two. They don't wear out, but the technology becomes outdated as OS and tools evolve, so I delegate them to less demanding tasks. So far, my X1 has shown the same high level of quality and performance I have come to expect from a Thinkpad. I am still getting up to speed with it, but so far I am very impressed. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Peninsula

Most Painless Linux Install Ever

Date: January 26, 2016
" Those of you who *actually* know something about computing, system/network integrity, and software development will, as I did, be looking at their upcoming laptop purchase with an eye toward how well it will run Linux. As such, it pleases me to report that the ThinkPad X1 Carbon v3.0 gave me the most painless Linux installation I've ever experienced in the 20+ years I've been using the OS.
After disabling the entirely useless "Secure Boot" in the BIOS to allow the installer image to boot, I installed the "testing" version (code-named "Stretch" as of this writing) of straight Debian Linux, with the XFCE4 desktop. After downloading a few gigabytes of packages, the system rebooted to the desktop **without incident**. Seriously! Everything worked! Audio, graphics, Ethernet, WiFi, suspend/hibernate, the Webcam... Everything. Just. Worked. For a twenty year veteran of Linux accustomed to recompiling the kernel, installing drivers, and tweaking configs, this was amazingly pleasant.
The 2560-wide IPS display, to my eye, is beautiful (and no, I don't mind the teensy-weensy text). Genuine buttons on the touchpad are also very, very welcome -- vastly superior to its buttonless predecessor on the Gen 2 machine. The keyboard also has a pleasant feel, and is nearly silent. Key travel isn't quite as deep as it is on the ThinkPad T440p, but it's still quite good. The CPU fan volume is average -- no louder or software than I'm used to on other laptops -- and, given my ordinary workload, is completely off most of the time.
Unfortunately, there seems to be some interference in the audio hardware. When wearing headphones with no audio playing, I hear a faint "whooshing" noise, like wind gusting through trees. This noise appears to be unaffected by CPU, GPU, WiFi, or Bluetooth activity, nor by current volume level (!). I only notice it when I'm paying attention to it, but this kind of noise isn't in any of my other machines, and it's a disappointment.
My only real concern is with the Ethernet dongle and connector. In pursuit of making the machine ever more slim, Lenovo opted to forego a standard 8P8C (RJ-45) Ethernet jack in favor of a custom connector with included short adapter cable. I only use WiFi when there's no hardwired Ethernet available, so I'm plugging and unplugging the adapter cable quite frequently. While it's perfectly reliable now, it doesn't seem like it will be sturdy over the long term, and I'm concerned that one or two accidental tugs on the cable may ruin the connector.
Aside from those quibbles, I'm quite pleased with the machine. If you're a long-time Linux user, or even a new one, this system will offer one of the most seamless experiences you could hope to find. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carmel, CA

Great computer, but only after a few setup tricks

Date: January 20, 2016
" I wanted to get the ultimate travel computer for my daughter. She travels all over the world, usually with nothing more than a backpack. I configured this X1 by saying "yes" to almost every option. The result is a wonderful computer, but I should have said "no" to one or two options.
The main issue is the screen. I opted for the 2560x1440 touchscreen. Both were mistakes. This resolution is way too high for a 14" laptop, offering absolutely no benefit. I knew that when I ordered it, but I wanted the touchscreen. However, that too is a mistake, and I recommend you do NOT get the touchscreen. Why? Two reasons: the permanent protective covering for the screen (to make touching smoother, and make fingerprint removal easier) makes the display both dimmer and less sharp. Making it less sharp is ironic, given that the 2560x1440 is supposed to give you a crisper display.
The other problem about this resolution is getting a display that is readable. I got Windows 7 (you should avoid Windows 8 or 10, if you can -- there is no benefit to them whatsoever) and to make the main display readable, you have to set the DPI setting to "custom" and then type in 200%. Lenovo should deliver the laptop with that setting. Then, for legacy applications, you need to right-click on the icon for each app and change the "compatibility" settings, although the settings needed are different for each application. You then sometimes have to change settings within each application.
While I now wish I hadn't gotten the touchscreen, for the reasons already mentioned, the touchscreen itself does work really well. While Windows 7 only has basic touchscreen support, it is plenty good enough. I was actually surprised how well many of my older applications work with it. I have a fabulous 1990s photo viewer called ACDSee (not to be confused with its modern incarnation), and I was able to pinch, swipe, and scroll just as though the application had been designed for a touchscreen.
Another more subtle and much more difficult-to-fix issue related to the high screen resolution is the track pad (a.k.a. touch pad) and mouse. The issue has to do with double-click. A very little-known design aspect of a mouse is that whenever you double-click to start a program, you almost always "nudge" the mouse a little. Thus, the second click actually happens with the mouse in a slightly different location than the first click. There is a setting in Windows that, a decade ago, was available in the mouse settings panel that let you increase or decrease the amount of mouse movement that happens between clicks before the second click is locked out and not recognized. That setting is no longer available except through the registry. You have to change the DoubleClickHeight and DoubleClickWidth registry keys. The reason you have to do this is that the settings are in pixels, not in percent of screen height and width. The default is four pixels. On a 2560x1440 14 inch display, four pixels is not much wider than a human hair. This means that any movement at all will lock out your double click. I doubled each setting to 8 pixels and it made a HUGE difference.
I wonder how many X1 2560x1440 owners have wondered why the mouse and touchpad are so difficult to use.
In the end, it all works, and the laptop is great, but it took several days of fiddling to get it just right.
As for other parts of the laptop, it is very fast; the SSD works well; there was very little "bloatware" installed so I didn't have to spend half a day uninstalling junk, the way I do with Dell and HP notebooks. The keyboard is the best I've ever used on a notebook of this small size. I also like both key placement and having dedicated keys for Home, End, PgUp, and PgDn. Many manufacturers of smaller laptops only provide these four via a shift key. I use them a lot, and having to press the Fn shift key would really be a problem.
The speakers were a very nice surprise. They are capable of producing a reasonable volume, unlike so many other modern laptops where you can barely hear music, even with the volume turned all the way up. The sound quality is adequate, although not stunning. Wireless works well and seems to have better than average range, based on tests around the house where I know the dead spots and range limitations.
The fingerprint sensor works well, but I found that if it takes more than 3-4 "swipes" to enroll your finger, you should start over and try again. I found that when it took lots of swipes before the system accepted the fingerprint, the system also had trouble reading it. After a week of having to swipe 2-3 times when logging on, I went back to the fingerprint enrollment app and tried various ways of swiping. When I found one that made the X1 happy after only three attempts, I was able to log on with just one swipe every time. The fingerprint reader sure is a timesaver.
One problem I have had is finding a good sleeve cover. I ordered two Case Logic sleeves, one 13.3 inches wide, and the other 14 inches. One was two small (I could get the X1 into the sleeve, after about 30 seconds of fiddling, but it was way too tight). The other was too loose, with over 1.5 inches of free space at the top, and a lot on the side. The ideal case would have an internal dimension of 13.1 inches by 9 inches. I now have a VanGoddy case on order that claims to be "made" for the X1. Its specs make it sound way too small, but the people who reviewed it all says it fits great. If it works, that's great, but it is over 3x the cost of other sleeves ($40 vs. $15). However, I guess if you can afford the $$$ for an X1, you can afford an expensive sleeve. I didn't get the Lenovo sleeve because it didn't have pockets. And, for this laptop you need a case with pockets.
Why?
Well, to make the X1 small and light, Lenovo left out a few things. I knew this going in, and knew that I'd have to purchase a few aftermarket items. So, I got an SD card reader that is in the form of a thumb drive ($5). That goes into the sleeve pocket. Lenovo also didn't have room for a full-sized RJ-45 (network) connector on the thin side, so they provide a "dongle" that plugs into a small port on the laptop, and has the RJ-45 on the other end of the short cord. So, that dongle also goes into the sleeve pocket. Then, there is no CD/DVD disc drive. So I purchased a Samsung external drive ($22) that is less than 1/2 inch thick. Works great. That goes into the pocket, when needed.
I've attached a photo that shows all this stuff, laid out on a table.
I could also put the power supply in the pocket, but for many trips that won't be necessary because the battery life is so good. I've played around with various custom battery settings, but even if you use the stock settings, as long as you choose one that takes advantage of processor "throttling" you should be able to get 6-8 hours, at least, and maybe more. In addition, because the SSD has no shut down or spin up time, you can close the lid when you aren't going to use the laptop for even a minute, and not worry about having to wait for a long time until it is ready to use again.
Bottom line: this is a fabulous laptop, but you should NOT get the high resolution touchpad display. I now need to get an X1 for myself. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Hampshire, United States

Finally, my very own super-hot ultrabook!

Date: January 19, 2016
" I purchased this laptop because I had an upgraded Windows 10 laptop that I was using since the summer, and it just wasn't cutting it. The X1 Carbon has given me awesome performance, and I dropped it right into a Windows 10 demo the first few days I owned it. It has truly been almost flawless, even with Windows 10 and the frequent updates. The performance is fantastic. The retina display is dazzling. The 3D sound is very good for a laptop. It sleeps in five seconds regardless of what is running. It is shaming my desktop machine. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arbil, Erbil, Iraq

Well done and well made except !

Date: January 18, 2016
" Thanks for such amazing product, everything is looking fine and amazing(keyboard, chassis, size and shape) the only concern is the screen, I am not comfortable with and I guess it is due to brightness or resolution and scaling issue in windows, anyways it wasn't the one that I was expecting. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:China

Great!

Date: January 16, 2016
" Can not sleep can not turn off the screen occasionally! "
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:USA

Works great with Linux!

Date: January 15, 2016
" Why lenovo doesn't sell these with linux vs some spyware OS like Wind 10 is beyond me. Works flawlessly with Ubuntu and ArchLinux. Others reporting great success with BSD flavors. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Haven, CT, United States

One week review

Date: January 15, 2016
" This is an early review. Great form and feel. Everything is great now, will see how this X1 Carbon performs over the next 6 months and will post a followup. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Display screen is too annoying!

Date: January 12, 2016
" the performance is excellent but the display is very disappointing ... hard to fix the settings to get a 'normal' view whether in brightness , contrast , etc. This is despite the model the best offered and not the basic one. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN, United States

Amazing laptop

Date: January 11, 2016
" Here is how I want to describe this laptop: slim, light, beautiful, fast, powerful and RELIABLE! During my first month of owning this X1 Carbon 3r gen, I did accidentally spill a full cup of tea squarely onto the keyboard, and the laptop worked like nothing happened. At the accident, I wasn't particularly quick to use paper towel to soak away water from keyboard (probably because the laptop didn't even blink) and I actually kept using the computer before realizing 5 minute later that it probably should be shut down and make sure the laptop is complete dried. Then I shut it down and put it upside-down on paper towels for overnight. This is not to suggest you can spill water onto X1 Carbon without worry, but mine indeed worked like the spill accident never happened. I am very confident with this laptop now, and I am very pleased with this purchase. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Minnesota, United States

Best Ultrabook

Date: January 9, 2016
" Very light! I look for ultrabooks w pointing sticks. Keyboard layout is perfect except i would prefer left Fcn key were moved as it gets in way of ctrl. They keyboard was defective when received: del button didnt work. I had bought on sit 1 yr service luckily. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denmark

Nice machine but sad upgrade path

Date: January 6, 2016
" Got it a couple of months ago and the unit has perfomed great. The price is not cheap but the components work great together - and it is not even the top model.
I have yet to get the SIM card to work - and the lack of upgrade options for internal components (memory, etc.) after purchase is sad on many of these "modern" ultra books :-(
So this may lead me back to the W and T series that keep these upgrade paths available!
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC, United States

Worst Laptop I have every had...

Date: January 5, 2016
" This is the worst laptop I have ever had. I wanted to give Lenovo a chance before I bought a few laptops for my employees and I am glad I didnt buy my employees one right away. The Laptop performance is horrible. It lags way too much and takes forever to startup and wake up. I bought the one link docking station so that I can hook up two monitors and the lag when that is connected is 10 times worse. The graphics are horrible as well. I wish I could return this laptop. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Westchester, NY, United States

This is 15th Lenovo purchased

Date: January 5, 2016
" Wanted a powerful light weight PC with features I use in the office. Very comfortable with the trackpad/red button set-up.
Still working through some start-up performance issues!!
"