Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
4.161 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
26 of 31(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The Buttons are Back!

Date: March 2, 2015
" I was worried that they would stop using the buttons on top of the mousepad. I use the trackpoint system and those buttons are essential for the trackpoint. Very excited to see its back and hopefully stays around for when I'm ready to upgrade. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

8 GB

Date: February 23, 2015
" 8 GB is available on the two faster processors. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Send more RAM

Date: February 19, 2015
" I refused to upgrade to a Gen2 with that keyless "adaptive keyboard" and the removal of the touchpoint. Glad the physical buttons have returned.
Overall, as good as the first-gen X1 model, with a much nicer feel and display. Only a few features make this a downgrade for me: not as tough (no gorilla-glass, no spill-through keyboard), no hardware wifi/bluetooth killswitch, and < 8 GB of RAM.
Seriously, if I wanted limited RAM and a touchscreen, I'd be buying a tablet, wouldn't I? "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo could de better for this price point

Date: February 17, 2015
" Pros:
- Overall touch and feel are solid and classic.
- Keyboard and trackpad are a lot improvement from Gen 2.
- LCD for touch screen model have good brightness, color is vibrant, wide view angle.
- Intel CPU gen 5 is fast, quiet, and energy efficient. I can play guild wars 2 with lowest graphic setting at stable 25-30 frame/s. Can work without charge for 8-10 hours.
Cons:
- First advertised with new faster SSD (the PCIe) but did not clarify that it is available only for the 512 GB SSD.
- The 256 GB model I ordered come equipped with 256 Toshiba M.2 with actual write speed ~100 MB/s. Actual usable space is ~220 GB, the rest is reserved with windows restoration software.
- Full of bloatware which still plague even I try the windows restoration.
- Pre-install with Norton antivirus which require subscription to work and need 800+ MB update.
- Worst of all, it suddenly died just after a week. Think its mainboard failure, still wait for repair.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

buttons

Date: February 16, 2015
" thank you for bringing back the buttons, amazing laptop "
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Product!

Date: February 15, 2015
" I had the Lenovo X1 Carbon 1st, 2nd, and 3rd gen, I sold the 1st and 2nd to get the 3rd gen, and I am really impressed! I'm glad Lenovo bought the trackpoint and physical trackpad back. That is a great improvement. Lenovo's engineering team is great, there is good cooling, and obviously great reliability since it's a Lenovo. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

NO 8GB or up memory option

Date: February 15, 2015
" NO 8GB or up memory option "
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Very disappointed

Date: February 8, 2015
" The two times I've gone to use it, it's been dead. Odd since it was fully charged a few hours before I went to use it and it was asleep. This has not been my experience with other laptops or the Surface 2. It takes days of being asleep for my other laptop and for the battery to be drained.
Also wouldn't connect to a WiFi network.
It's going back. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Awesome Laptop

Date: February 7, 2015
" I just love my new thinkpad. The best I have owned! Sleek looking, ultralight, ultrathin, blazing performance, and sturdy! What can you more expect? "
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The Best Lenovo X1 Carbon Yet!

Date: February 5, 2015
" The new X1 Carbon is fastest and lightest 14" ultra book. The design is stunning, you get a sleek carbon fiber lib, Magnesium Alloy palm rest and bottom plate. The performance is fast and efficient with the latest Intel Broadwell Processors. Check out my full review on YouTube for more info. Just search for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 2015 Review.
Thank you "
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Lightest laptop ever

Date: January 27, 2015
" I love this laptop. It is very light and durable and has the signature thinkpad keyboard, which I love. The only issues I have had with this laptop is that the ctrl button stopped working which is a huge pain. Other than that, no complaints. Superlight, 500 GB SSD drive. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Finally They get it just right

Date: January 25, 2015
" I have had all kinds of laptops in the past year. Lenovo yoga, Surface pro 3, Macbook Pro , and Yoga 14. This is by far the closest to the perfect laptop. I absolutely love the butter feel of the keyboard. It is just short of amazing for the thinness of the laptop. I have the core i5 8gb ram, 256 SSd, and Non touch QHD. It is almost perfect. I prefer it far over the other computers mentioned above. The only slight downside is that i wish the screen was 10-20% brighter with slightly better color accuracy. That would make it the best laptop on the market. With those faults aside, i still can not recommend this laptop enough. It is fast, light and just has that "corporate and reliable" feel. I am so thankful that Lenovo listened to the complaints of the 2014 edition. They were able to fix 99% of the issues i saw in that model. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Buttons are back, baby!

Date: January 21, 2015
" Just before Christmas, I received an X1 Carbon review unit. Over the last few years, I've been one of the harshest critics of the changes to the legendary ThinkPad features and felt that the X301 was the last of the great models. The Gen3 X1 Carbon has gone a long way towards changing that.
The look is typical ThinkPad - basic black, understated elegance, a serious machine. The keyboard feel is solid and responsive. The overall feel of the system is sturdy even though it is super thin and light. Battery life is excellent allowing me to use it all day before plugging back in. The screen is bright and clear. And as the title says, the buttons are back!
Is it perfect? No, indicator lights are still missing, and the function key blocks need a little more separation. But with the updates to the third version of the X1, Lenovo has a real winner!
Best of all, they listened to their customers this time. Buttons are back, and so is the ThinkPad. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

best laptop ever

Date: January 21, 2015
" I have owned both previous generations of the X1 Carbon. Generation 1 suffered from a terrible TN display, while Generation 2 had the infamous adaptive key row and missing trackpad buttons. The 2015 X1 Carbon has solved all the problems, and is now perfect. The QHD display, keyboard, trackpad, and everything else are all amazing. The X1 Carbon is expensive, but its worth every penny. It is far superior to any competitor, and I cant recommend it highly enough. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Keyboard Layout

Date: January 21, 2015
" In short - your new laptop is lighter, looks cooler and works faster but the keyboard LAYOUT & touchpad size makes me work slower. Waiting and hoping that with Gen4 you will allow me to work faster too. Please bring back the keyboard that made people "who do” work fast – keyboard layout on x201 with separate volume buttons. And if whatever reason you don't want to do it, please at least give me an option to buy one with that layout and replace it with the one that's there now. You will probably be more profitable on the keyboards alone than on the laptops.
Excellent job bringing back the physical keys on the touchpad - THANKS for listening to your customers. Just one more step and you'll master it ;).
Just to use one example i've used ALT+F4 to close windows for over a decade now I need to change to FN+ALT+F4 (Which is not a "ShortCut" but a way to brake your finger tendons).
Please, those who care about the layout, tell them; otherwise they will never know it's a problem. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

The Best Is Now Better

Date: January 20, 2015
" As an owner of a ThinkPad X1 Carbon 2nd Gen, I have been under the impression that I had the best. When Lenovo asked me to review its 2015 X1 I was thrilled. The thin, light 14-in. X1 Gen 3 has the same smooth, durable exterior as previous generations. X1’s keyboard includes a fingerprint scanner, and signature ThinkPad Trackpoint. The Prt Sc, Caps Lock, and Function keys are back instead of the adaptive row of Function keys on the previous model. Trackpad buttons have returned as well. My review unit's 5th generation Intel Core i7-5600U Broadwell processor with 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz RAM had no problem zipping along. The unit had a 512GB M.2 PCIe solid state drive. Keys on the island-style 6-row keyboard are the standard ThinkPad design. X1's non-touch 14” display had a factory-set Quad HD, 2560x1440 with WWAN. While some customers might prefer non-touch for outdoor use, I would upgrade to touch for myself. I'd rate X1 to be one of the best ultrabooks on the market so far. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

X1 gen3 - close to perfection

Date: January 20, 2015
" I have been using my gen1 X1 for years and having been waiting for a worthy upgrade - the X1 Carbon gen3l is it, love it - faster, longer battery life, quieter, better screen, somehow the keyboard feels better and trackpad buttons are back and are better than gen1. The function design is excellent, the top row controls are well labeled and the function lock makes so much more sense.
I bought the X1 gen2 and hated it, the keyboard, the trackpad, the top row function keys (useless - I always touching my mistake) and most important the lack of trackpad buttons made the laptop inoperable for me without an external mouse - I tried to use it but gave up and returned it, almost writing off Lenovo as a future supplier. Most companies don't change course when they make a radical design changes (W8), kudos to Lenovo for going back to basics we love.
Thank you Lenovo to listening to loyal customers and making the changes in design we asked for!
Thank You
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

A phenomenal successor to the carbon series

Date: January 20, 2015
" Although I really did like what they did with the gen 2 carbon, the return of the physical buttons is a fan favorite. I have the first generation and the third generation. It's just as powerful (if not more) and is thinner and lighter. It still keeps it's structural integrity however, I wouldn't have a problem throwing it on the floor and not worrying about it. In addition to that they tweaked the physical buttons making a subtle but very nice change to them. they feel the same but now you can press anywhere on them and it will feel the same. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a tough and powerful but lightweight device. It will take a beating and keep on going. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Light, durable, awesome!

Date: January 17, 2015
" This is a perfect mix of good durability, portability, and processing power for an all-in-one business machine. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointing

Date: January 17, 2015
" I have been an avid user of lenovo laptops, using X series and T series laptops. I always admired the quality, sturdiness and reliability of lenovo laptops. Everything changed after I purchased X240 and Carbon X1. After over two months of using them, I have decided to switch to another brand. The quality of keyboard, touchpad, touchscreen, battery life and everything else on those two laptops are far below than those of previous models. "