Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X1 Carbon or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Average customer rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
11
68 of 94(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
Review 1 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good value purchase

Date: September 1, 2015
" Product is easy to use. Lightweight and slim for travel. Good wifi response. Quiet. Screen is clear and bright. Good battery power. Keyboard is very user friendly. Feel and look as good as Apple.
Some of my screen font sizes for lettering on charts are small but still ok to visualize. The fingerprint entry is a bit frustrating to use and not consistently responsive. I usually have to sign in pw.
Overall an excellent product. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent compatibility, but not the prettiest

Date: September 1, 2015
" I've now owned two other recent-model (other-brand) ultrabooks and now the ThinkPad X1 Carbon. My one gripe about the X1 is the plastic-y body. It collects body oils which make it look older than it is. Some of the others out there come wrapped in a metal body which wipes clean easily keeping them looking newer longer.
On the plus side, the X1 has easily the best keyboard available in this form factor, and the hardware is well-supported by Linux making it much easier to setup. Additionally, the battery life is down-right amazing. It's entirely possible to go through a real workday and not need to charge at all. However, if you *do* need to charge, the robust power connector feels solid; I don't have many concerns about it breaking if it should be treated poorly by my three girls (a problem I've had with others brands in the past) "
Review 3 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I have had nothing but problems with this machine

Date: August 31, 2015
" Light weight? Yes.
Upgradeable memory? No (proprietary chip that maxes out at 256)
Working OS? No. Win 7 Pro has been a nightmare and I have spent countless hours working with Microsoft to resolve
Happy owner? Not even close. I am so sorry I bought this machine.
Next time? Buy a Surface or MacBook Air and run a VM "
Review 4 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Computer with a few flows

Date: August 31, 2015
" Performance is very good, though I wonder whether the return on this expensive investment is justified. I like the computer, with only two issues, the length could have been cut by 1.5 inches and the display locked to the key board section when the computer is closed (a bit wobbly when closed). The accessories specific to X1 Carbon are also limited. Need a classy leather sleeve, but can't find one. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's fantastic after you fix two things

Date: August 30, 2015
" Once you fix the wifi settings and display calibration, it's great.
Out of the box, the wifi stops working almost immediately. You have to go to advance settings, change to B only, then switch it back to ABG. Your wifi problems are now gone, even after a reboot.
The display isn't calibrated. Use the Display Color Calibration in Windows 10 to fix it.
In outlook, turn off touch mode in the upper left and you'll get more on the screen.
I love the touch screen. Didn't think I'd use it but use it all the time.
I wish I could have bought 16G of RAM because I like a lot of headroom and my desktop is typically above 8G. That's the one misfeature of this system.
Be careful if you order a pre-configured unit on Amazon... it may lack features like WWAN and the 4:1 card reader.
USB sockets are VERY tight.
battery probably won't last more than 4 hours in avg usage
Touchpad is great. You can press down on it and there is an area in lower right for right button press. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

More disappointed by the day

Date: August 28, 2015
" I custom ordered an X1 Carbon, loaded (I thought). It got here and was missing a couple of key components. It took 4 times of trying to get the order to go through on the server, and apparently, the time it went through, I had not rechecked all the correct boxes for the 4th time. Yuck. I tried to fill out a survey after receiving - it would not go through. It doesn't not consistently do anything right. Sometimes wifi works, sometimes not. Mouse pad? Maybe, maybe not. The up/down arrows? Good luck. The adaptive function bar across the top? When you're typing numbers, and accidentally hover a finger over a function, the whole display changes, so frustrating. I've had other brands, and as soon as I can find something to do with this Lenovo, I will go back to one of those. I do NOT recommend. Maybe I got a lemon?? I don't know, but I won't buy another Lenovo. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop; but subpar expectation and badrepair

Date: August 28, 2015
" The X1 Carbon gets the job done. It is thin, light, portable, and the screen resolution isn't any deal unless you care about that component very much. For productivity and you want a ThinkPad, the X1 Carbon is the way to go. It's fast obviously. The price is a little steep in contrast to other laptops, which is why I considered the laptop an overall good buy based on solid performance but it's not that fast. I had about eight tabs opened, yet it still freezes for a second in the first month of running a new laptop for a 8gb memory laptop. None of them had video - all tabs were sports and news and social media websites. Strange, but it's not the biggest deal and it's faster than my previous laptop at least. However, when one component was not working and sent in for warranty, computer came back with the upper part screen NOT properly closing and opening few centimeters every single time, which is a huge disappointment for the price I paid for a computer I have only owned for two weeks. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Addition to Lenovo's Family

Date: August 28, 2015
" I have been working with Thinkpads for close to five years now and this is easily the finest upgrade Lenovo has made to it's IBM acquisition.
It's light, fast, feels good on the fingers and Windows 10 is hiccup-free for me thus far.
I enjoy the screen size and the lack of a large bezel. The quality of the screen is also bar none - everything looks crisp and even, and since I do a lot of photo editing and music production, I depend on fitting a lot of information into a small screen and this one does the job perfectly.
No complaints - A+++ "
Review 9 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Far, So Good.

Date: August 27, 2015
" Been using it for two weeks and had no problems (not even issues) with it. Went all the way with various accessories and it is definitely capable of replacing my "desktop" PC if necessary. This thing just flies; after using a ThinkPad t61 for more than seven years, the X1 is a most worthy successor. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Liteweight Professional Machine

Date: August 27, 2015
" Quality built
Screen Resolution Superb
Processing times are great
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

X1 Carbon 3rd Generation

Date: August 27, 2015
" I've been using an X1 daily for 2 years, just sold my 2nd Generation model and purchased the 3rd Generation for the faster processor and new keyboard. I must say Lenovo got it right on this model. The speed, size and weight are just right for daily carry and a full desktop replacement. The keyboard is even better than before as a spend hours a day making this a critical part of my increased productivity. The screen is bright and using a bit of a hybrid technique between the keyboard, mouse and touchscreen my speed of input has increased. This laptop is my number one working tool as a network consultant and technician. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SHIPMENT DISAPPOINT

Date: August 26, 2015
" -The first thing i see; all the screws under laptop has screwdriver print. You can see easily. After configuration it looks like 1 STUPID tehcnician who doesnt love his job and who doesnt take care of How much USD I PAID, he just closed and used force to leave this prints.
- Second issue; There was a gap on screen case where connected to the main base. I used a little force to close the gap and it closed.
For a LENOVO Laptop Paid 2050 $ This is unacceptable.
I dont blaime Quality of Product. It looks wonderfull and we know what Think Pad is.
You are going a well known restaurant to eat very good dinner and 1 stupid cook turns your night in nightmare with servicing. He does not care how many people working in restaurant for a good quality meal and service.
I REALLY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE QUALITY OF WORKMANSHIP.
This is what I feel about my 2050 USD ThinkPad.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Think Pad Yet

Date: August 26, 2015
" Have had Think Pads since 1995; the new X-1 with Windows 10 operating system is the best ever in my opinion. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In love

Date: August 19, 2015
" this is a amazing machine love it "
Review 15 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice computer. Unfortunately.

Date: August 18, 2015
" The display could be brighter. Otherwise, I have no complaints. It is well built and light. Overpriced, though. Try and sell one used and people will laugh when you ask even 2/3rds of the price. However, They advertise "next day business warranty." Because I am highly reliant on the unit for my work, I purchased this. However, a key has come loose and requires replacement. Guess what? The part is on "back order" and Lenovo won't do a thing for me. No discount on warranty; nothing. It's now been 18 days. I was told that "next day business" doesn't take into account stock of parts. Nice try. Last Lenovo I will ever purchase. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Stay Away

Date: August 17, 2015
" Bought the laptop last year and the motherboard crashed twice. The first time it crashed, I started getting symptoms a few days before. When I go to power on the laptop, the lights would flash and then nothing would turn on. The next day it worked, and the following...it didn't. I called tech support, which was really good to get a box to me to ship it to them next day. The turnaround was about a week or so.
A month ago, it failed again. Called tech support and they sent out another box. After a week with no communication, decided to call to find a status. I was told that over 400 motherboards are on backorder, and they were only getting another 200 in the month of August. I asked about getting a replacement, and got the run around. I've been playing phone tag with the rep for almost a week, and he won't return my call. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The 3rd Generation X1 Carbon is best yet!

Date: August 17, 2015
" I owned the 2nd Generation X1 Carbon and had so many issues with it. First, the display bezel was coming unglued or snapped which allowed dirt in between the bezel and LCD. And two, the Function Key row was a gimmick I never liked and had issues because of device drivers.
In the 3rd Generation X1 - they learned their lesson - no more gimmicks and the LCD display is perfect. No complaints. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Do what it's supposed to

Date: August 12, 2015
" I've been so used to Dell's Latitudes, as I have been using it for years(those things are built to last!). using the X1 Carbon is something refreshing and i would say one fine machine. It's quick and boot up fast, light and great for business travels. bright and sharp display, high screen resolution(much more than expected). the things I do not like about it is when waking on LAN seems to take longer than usual, and only 2 USB ports, Well I guess that's what the dock is for! And why remove the integrated Dock port? I think it have enough room in there to accomodate it. but I guess, that's why it is an ultrabook. Otherwise, it is one decent machine. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Computer

Date: August 4, 2015
" I have had my X1 Carbon for almost a year and consider it the best laptop I have ever owned. It is very light with a quick startup. The only mistake I made in purchasing my X1 was with the solid state drive which I undersized and wish that I had gotten the larger drive. Other than that, a really terrific computer! "
Review 20 for ThinkPad X1 Carbon
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pure Awesomeness

Date: August 3, 2015
" I just transitioned from a Dell XPS 12 (which was a very good computer) to the Lenovo X1 Carbon Gen3 and I have been very impressed!
Pros;
-The build quality of the X1 is excellent;
-Size to weight ratio is fantastic;
-Keyboard is pure pleasure (no flex and a good key travel);
-Accessories are great (Onelink);
Cons;
-Screen brightness could have been better;
-No SD card (this can be an issue for some but not me);
-Lenovo should have put a full 360deg hinge on this;
-Too much bloatware loaded on this PC from the factory.
This is by far one of the best ultrabooks I have purchased and think Lenovo did an awesome job on the development of the X1. "