Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo Z710 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Z710

Average customer rating:
3.974 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
9
57 of 78(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Z710
Review 1 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

phenomenal

Date: January 17, 2015
" Ready to work in about 30 seconds. Lighted keyboard is something I would not give up after having it (switchable for battery savings). Blue ray r/w. Windows 8.1 is a vertical curve but doable and not the fault of the computer. Intel and NVidia graphics cards one both two interesting but way above my skill level (I do not game). Battery life is good 17" screen and lighted keyboard is a factor. Not sorry I bought it "
Review 2 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Not so good.

Date: January 14, 2015
" The web cam is worst. The quality is very bad shaky picture.Its not worth spending so much for such little quality "
Review 3 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Canadians be Careful

Date: January 9, 2015
" Good value for the price, however there is one problem I can't seem to fix. If you order from the Canadian site your system will be shipped with a bilingual keyboard. This would be OK but the left "shift" key is smaller and the "return" key is more vertical than horizontal. This configuration slowed down my typing and due to the size of the shift key I kept making mistakes. Unfortunately there is no option for a US keyboard if you buy from the Canadian site. Maybe if you call them directly they can manually make a change before the system is shipped (online there is no option).
Also the mouse pad is very sensitive even after I changed the settings. Otherwise I am pleased with the system and will have to get used to the keyboard.
They did offer a full refund however I would have to buy from the US site and with the conversion I would actually pay more. Weird this exact system was cheaper in Canadian dollars than US dollars, go figure. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

not what i expected

Date: January 7, 2015
" have had several lonovo laptops before but have to say this one has disappointed me . the battery life on this unit is horrible! it;s brand new with nothing added and off the charger it has 60 minutes of use. i wanted to use this for travelling and school work and opted for the larger screen because of vision problems, it is average in speed ,,actually about the same boot up and program opening as a 3 year old sony i still have . the battery constantly discharges even on standby off rhe charger so dont be decieved that you can leave this closed for several days . would not buy again "
Review 5 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great all around use

Date: January 6, 2015
" purchased for my photo shop elements 13,
I am a street photographer and shoot large raw files 36 mp.
Also enjoy the speed and the i7 processor....great machine
"
Review 6 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

z710 i5, 8gb ram, 1tb hd, integrated graphics

Date: January 4, 2015
" Overall a good computer, I felt with the hardware this laptop has, the performance would be better. It is no slouch, but it should be faster. Like other reviews, I had no clue how to turn on the back lit keyboard. You would think this information would either be in the packet along with the laptop or the online manual, but alas it was not. I had to find out online. The build quality is not the greatest either. The quality of the plastics used felt a little cheap. For example when typing areas around the keys flex and bend. For the money spent it gets the job done "
Review 7 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

NOT my best computer purchase!

Date: December 20, 2014
" I purchased this computer Aug 2014 when I felt my 5 yr old Dell was beginning to die. I read extensive reviews and felt this was the best product for the money. I could not get the model with a glare free screen and that has been a problem. I use IE as my web browser - it constantly hangs up and I cannot figure if it is a Microsoft problem or conflict with Lenovo addons. I had to purchase a laser mouse because the Touchpad is so erratic (all of my previous laptops have had Touchpads - never had a problem).
Some of my problem may be adjusting to W8.1. Since I have somewhat of a tech background that should not be an issue. In almost 30 years of using a computer this is the first time I have disliked a computer enough to try to find a way to return it!!
"
Review 8 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Laptop Battery Does Not Connect

Date: December 14, 2014
" The laptop itself is decent, relatively good performance for the costs, and I especially like the dedicated graphics card.
The reason for the low overall rating is that the battery is not detected. This is the original battery that came with the laptop. On install, it does not connect and will not charge. Thus, I may as well have gotten a desktop as I can't use it without being plugged in. Re-inserting it and wiggling it around a bit occasionally gains connection, but the smallest bump will disconnect it, even with both locks engaged.
I'm pursuing the warranty on this, but I don't expect much help as many other people have posted on this problem without any luck. "
Review 9 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo IdeaPad Z710

Date: December 8, 2014
" This is a personal laptop and it serves my purposes excellent so far. I have not been able to use it in it's entirety to test all the features as yet but so far it is performing fine. I think this is an excellent choice for me for the value. The large 17" screen is great and it came with nice features like plenty of usb ports and SD port for my camera. This laptop is taking the place of my desktop and has done the job well so far. "
Review 10 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Computer

Date: December 3, 2014
" Really enjoy this machine, plenty of memory which means I can open as many programs as I need. great backlit key broad that smooth and user friendly. Best Computer I could find for the price. Would surely recommend this computer for anyone that's looking for quality and value without breaking the bank. "
Review 11 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

resolution was a lie

Date: November 29, 2014
" i bought 4 of these i like but when they came the were 1800 resolution not 1900 resolution
great notebooks but they lied on resolution
"
Review 12 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Z710

Date: November 24, 2014
" Overall I have been happy with the performance of unit, but battery life has degrades substantially in the 6 months I have had it. Originally I was getting almost 3.5 hrs out of a charge, now it is down to around 1 1/2 hours. "
Review 13 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Piece of junk

Date: November 13, 2014
" Worst computer/laptop I've ever purchased. Horrible decision. Extremely slow; don't think of running more than one program at a time. Even running just Chrome is difficult on this thing. 2 months in I had a battery problem. Locks up on WOT constantly. I can't figure out if its the slow Hard Drive or the 4 GB of RAM. Can't decide if I want to put more $ in this 'computer'.
Pay to send it back to Lenovo - why it generally slow and randomly locking up? I can't imagine getting anything productive out of all that shipping and handling. "
Review 14 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Use Lenovos @ work but not good for home

Date: November 12, 2014
" Had the laptop less than a year before the battery went bad according to the Energy Manager app. No big deal I'll just buy another one. Called support after not being able to find one with the online battery finder tool. Called support. They couldn't find one either. Referred me to the spare parts department instead of transferring me or calling themselves. Found some compatible ones online. But the energy manager tool says they're unauthorized and won't allow the laptop to charge them. Now I'm wondering if the original battery was really bad or not. Or if it's a problem with the charging mechanism. "
Review 15 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

IdeaPad Z710 -- power & reliability

Date: October 17, 2014
" Purchased this laptop during a promotion. Best value in i-7 quad-core laptops since most competitors only offer the 4600U or 4500U dual core mobile chip at the same price.
Pros:
- 17" screen
- NVIDIA GeForce GT745M video card
- 1 TB HDD
- Solid construction
- Good battery life
- Good value features/price vs. competing i-7 laptops
Cons:
- Only 8GB RAM installed
- Advertised AccuType backlit keyboard missing? (no instructions to activate/deactive backlight)
- Lenovo should offer a Windows 7 downgrade option
"
Review 16 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Fantastic Purchase

Date: October 14, 2014
" The keyboard is a bit shaky when typing but not a big problem. Great laptop for the money. I will definitely buy more from Lenovo Outlet. "
Review 17 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great gaming pc

Date: October 3, 2014
" Since purchasing my z710 I've convinced my husband and friend to buy one. Tweaking the sensitivity of the touchpad is a must, the Lenovo ones are a bit sensitive, even proximity to it causes the mouse to jump. This has been an awesome purchase. I expect it to last a lot longer than some of my older pc's.
Not having a touchscreen is a must in my house, I have a Westie who thinks he needs to bump the screen constantly. "
Review 18 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Is it windows 8.1 or the PC?

Date: September 29, 2014
" There is no Start Button which is supposed to be there in 8.1. The Start Menu will not open. There are several things that just do not work. Obviously software problems but who is responsible Microsoft or Lenovo? "
Review 19 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

DO NOT BUY THIS LEMON

Date: September 26, 2014
" I BOUGHT THIS COMPUTER FOR MY BIRTHDAY AND WHEN IT FIRST CAME IT HAD 9 VIRUSES THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS TERRIBLE 15% RESTOCKING FEE FOR RETURNING A LEMON THE LAPTOP IS ALSO HEAVY AND EVEN WITHOUT THE VIRUSES AFTER THROWING $$$ IN THE TRASH IT STILL HAD LACKY PERFORMANCE SO FOR YOUR SAFETY DO NOT BUY THIS LAPTOP "
Review 20 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Good value, easy to set up

Date: September 14, 2014
" I shopped for price and functionality. The Lenovo 710 had everything I was looking for in my price range. The sales associate was very helpful to work with.
Pro's: Easy to set up. Very fast and the display is better than I expected. This is a large laptop but is not too heavy and does not generate much heat.
Con's: The touch pad is hard to get used to and the keyboard is not as good as I expected. I'm not a fan of Windows 8 but that is not a Lenovo issue other than the extra's that I'll never use. "