Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop Lenovo Z710 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo Lenovo Z710

Average customer rating:
3.872 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
18
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
11
60 of 86(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lenovo Z710
Review 1 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointment

Date: June 9, 2015
" My Z710 has turned out to be unreliable and awkward.
Shortly after starting to use the Z710, the machine began complaining that the original factory battery it shipped with was "unauthorized" and that it might "damage the computer" to continue using it. A few removals and re-insertions of the battery seemed to make this complaint go away... for a while.
The laptop also warns that running it on the AC adapter and leaving the battery fully charged for too long can damage it and suggested you use an obscurely named "Conservation Mode" accessible through some downloadable Lenovo tool to avoid this problem. Weirdly my Mac laptops all manage to avoid destroying their batteries and run for years without human intervention and manual babysitting.
About a year after getting the machine, a year during which it was only used very lightly, the battery now reports 98% charged, but the machine dies the moment AC power is unplugged.
I'm hesitant to risk the cost of a replacement battery. "
Review 2 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great for the price

Date: May 30, 2015
" To be able to get a laptop with FHD, Blu-Ray. 16GB Ram, 1TB HD, and a 4th Gen i7 Processor for $1000ish is an amazing buy.
The only thing is that I have had issues with hard drive failure twice. Luckily Lenovos warranty policy is pretty great, and both times all I had to do was send it in, and get a new HDD. If not for that, then an amazing PC.
"
Review 3 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad Purchase

Date: April 13, 2015
" I have had multiple problems with the battery, even after changing it on multiple occasions. leaving me with the only option of saying connected to the wall with my charger when I want to use my laptop. Also my disk driver already wont read or write CD/DVD. This laptop has given me nothing but trouble since I got it and even the "support" lines are no help whats so ever. I will never buy a lenovo again. "
Review 4 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

no backlight keyboard

Date: April 8, 2015
" apparently some of this model dont have the backlight keyboard "
Review 5 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The battery adapter is the wrong one!

Date: March 7, 2015
" I bought 2 of these laptops and they didnt even come with the right battery! When i plug the adapter to charge the laptop, it says the plug cant supply enough power. Where can i get the right adapter for the laptop from? "
Review 6 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Disappointed

Date: February 28, 2015
" Horrible battery degradation, very susceptible to viruses, always some annoying error or problem slowing down performance, raised bubble in keyboard plastic, shipping took much longer than expected. "
Review 7 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good PC, despite Windows 8

Date: February 22, 2015
" This is my second Lenovo for a reason. I enjoy the way they are built, how long they last, their warranty coverage, the customer service and one click recovery. The only downfall of this PC is Windows 8. However, once I removed as many of the nonsense "features" of the OS that I could, I began to enjoy the actual computer itself. It's very large, which I wasn't totally excited about, but I've gotten used to the screen size, resolution and the lit up keyboard, it's hard to be without them now. For how large it is I'm always shocked how light it is, and I travel easily with it. I can sit comfortably with it on my lap (albeit larger than my own hip width) and another big plus: the fan runs very quietly and you can run large programs without it getting hot and/or loud. Overall this is a great PC for someone who has a lot of various computer demands and tasks in their life. I use it for intensive office work, audio & video work, as well as everyday & entertainment uses. I'm happy! "
Review 8 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best in its Class

Date: February 12, 2015
" Affordable best 17.3 inch screen with 1 TB and MUCH MUCH MORE!!!! "
Review 9 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

phenomenal

Date: January 17, 2015
" Ready to work in about 30 seconds. Lighted keyboard is something I would not give up after having it (switchable for battery savings). Blue ray r/w. Windows 8.1 is a vertical curve but doable and not the fault of the computer. Intel and NVidia graphics cards one both two interesting but way above my skill level (I do not game). Battery life is good 17" screen and lighted keyboard is a factor. Not sorry I bought it "
Review 10 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not so good.

Date: January 14, 2015
" The web cam is worst. The quality is very bad shaky picture.Its not worth spending so much for such little quality "
Review 11 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Canadians be Careful

Date: January 9, 2015
" Good value for the price, however there is one problem I can't seem to fix. If you order from the Canadian site your system will be shipped with a bilingual keyboard. This would be OK but the left "shift" key is smaller and the "return" key is more vertical than horizontal. This configuration slowed down my typing and due to the size of the shift key I kept making mistakes. Unfortunately there is no option for a US keyboard if you buy from the Canadian site. Maybe if you call them directly they can manually make a change before the system is shipped (online there is no option).
Also the mouse pad is very sensitive even after I changed the settings. Otherwise I am pleased with the system and will have to get used to the keyboard.
They did offer a full refund however I would have to buy from the US site and with the conversion I would actually pay more. Weird this exact system was cheaper in Canadian dollars than US dollars, go figure. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not what i expected

Date: January 7, 2015
" have had several lonovo laptops before but have to say this one has disappointed me . the battery life on this unit is horrible! it;s brand new with nothing added and off the charger it has 60 minutes of use. i wanted to use this for travelling and school work and opted for the larger screen because of vision problems, it is average in speed ,,actually about the same boot up and program opening as a 3 year old sony i still have . the battery constantly discharges even on standby off rhe charger so dont be decieved that you can leave this closed for several days . would not buy again "
Review 13 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great all around use

Date: January 6, 2015
" purchased for my photo shop elements 13,
I am a street photographer and shoot large raw files 36 mp.
Also enjoy the speed and the i7 processor....great machine
"
Review 14 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

z710 i5, 8gb ram, 1tb hd, integrated graphics

Date: January 4, 2015
" Overall a good computer, I felt with the hardware this laptop has, the performance would be better. It is no slouch, but it should be faster. Like other reviews, I had no clue how to turn on the back lit keyboard. You would think this information would either be in the packet along with the laptop or the online manual, but alas it was not. I had to find out online. The build quality is not the greatest either. The quality of the plastics used felt a little cheap. For example when typing areas around the keys flex and bend. For the money spent it gets the job done "
Review 15 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

NOT my best computer purchase!

Date: December 20, 2014
" I purchased this computer Aug 2014 when I felt my 5 yr old Dell was beginning to die. I read extensive reviews and felt this was the best product for the money. I could not get the model with a glare free screen and that has been a problem. I use IE as my web browser - it constantly hangs up and I cannot figure if it is a Microsoft problem or conflict with Lenovo addons. I had to purchase a laser mouse because the Touchpad is so erratic (all of my previous laptops have had Touchpads - never had a problem).
Some of my problem may be adjusting to W8.1. Since I have somewhat of a tech background that should not be an issue. In almost 30 years of using a computer this is the first time I have disliked a computer enough to try to find a way to return it!!
"
Review 16 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Laptop Battery Does Not Connect

Date: December 14, 2014
" The laptop itself is decent, relatively good performance for the costs, and I especially like the dedicated graphics card.
The reason for the low overall rating is that the battery is not detected. This is the original battery that came with the laptop. On install, it does not connect and will not charge. Thus, I may as well have gotten a desktop as I can't use it without being plugged in. Re-inserting it and wiggling it around a bit occasionally gains connection, but the smallest bump will disconnect it, even with both locks engaged.
I'm pursuing the warranty on this, but I don't expect much help as many other people have posted on this problem without any luck. "
Review 17 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lenovo IdeaPad Z710

Date: December 8, 2014
" This is a personal laptop and it serves my purposes excellent so far. I have not been able to use it in it's entirety to test all the features as yet but so far it is performing fine. I think this is an excellent choice for me for the value. The large 17" screen is great and it came with nice features like plenty of usb ports and SD port for my camera. This laptop is taking the place of my desktop and has done the job well so far. "
Review 18 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Computer

Date: December 3, 2014
" Really enjoy this machine, plenty of memory which means I can open as many programs as I need. great backlit key broad that smooth and user friendly. Best Computer I could find for the price. Would surely recommend this computer for anyone that's looking for quality and value without breaking the bank. "
Review 19 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

resolution was a lie

Date: November 29, 2014
" i bought 4 of these i like but when they came the were 1800 resolution not 1900 resolution
great notebooks but they lied on resolution
"
Review 20 for Lenovo Z710
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Z710

Date: November 24, 2014
" Overall I have been happy with the performance of unit, but battery life has degrades substantially in the 6 months I have had it. Originally I was getting almost 3.5 hrs out of a charge, now it is down to around 1 1/2 hours. "