Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad X230 Tablet or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad X230 Tablet

Mobility of a tablet, power of a laptop, 12.5" multitouch 300 NIT IPS viewing, finger, pen, keyboard

Average customer rating:
3.912 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
24 of 34(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
Review 1 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lindsay764

Waste of Money

Date: July 29, 2014
"I bought this laptop to meet the engineering requirements at Virginia Tech. This is the worst purchase I have ever made. I have had the computer for a little over a year (it was purchased in June of 2013) and I have already had to send it back for repairs. It was not dropped or damaged, it just began to malfunction. The battery on the computer stopped working a week after the warranty on it expired. This computer is certainly not worth it for the money. Buy something that will last."
Review 2 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Atul

World's No 1 ThinkPad X230 Tablet

Date: July 9, 2014
"I purchased this laptop+tablet X230 and all features are unique I love this laptop and its keyboard is very nice, you will feel relax while working. Its a solid laptop and tablet features are also perfect.
So I have given overall rating to this product all 5 star *****.
Its great product by lenovo.
"
Review 3 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
M14617

avoid this machine

Date: May 29, 2014
"The Lenovo x230t promises much more than it delivers. On the plus slide, the wonderfully tactile full keyboard and crisp display are significant advantages in a competitive market. On the negative side, the Lenovo's inability to recognize and respond to desktop icons and touch inputs is bewildering. This an impressive machine until you actually try to use it.
And Lenovo tech support to end users in corporate or educational environment is totally unavailable without the permission of said corporate or educational environments.
This could have been a promising machine, but it limps badly in terms of what is delivered and what is supported.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Moto
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Had so much potential

Date: December 3, 2013
Pros: Processor, Durability, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Wireless card, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Build Quality, Screen size, touchpad
"The stylus feels amazing to use on the screen...except when you approach the edges of the screen, then it starts going crazy and acting up. The screen is already pretty small (12.5") so losing about .5-1" on every side has a significant impact on the laptops utility! In a world of touchscreen watches and smartphones, I'm not sure why Lenovo couldn't get the touchscreen right, it's really unfortunate.
Overall, I would say the laptop is hideous. It has all these seemingly unnecessary rubber pieces coming out of everywhere! Eventually these rubber things just come off...leaving a big gap.
The extra-capacity was definitely an absolute waste of money! I got 4-5hrs in the beginning but after a few months of use I barely get 2hrs, what a disappointment.
"
Review 5 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jojlfdsa
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Very decent, but has issues

Date: November 28, 2013
"So I had the opportunity to use X220t for a while before X230t is purchased. X230t is definitely smaller, more power efficient, but it has flaws over keyboard. If you're a windows 7 lover, you'd find that the new chiclet keyboard is not friendly to the Thinkpad hotkeys in the past.
Battery is about 4.75hrs for me with SSD (charge upto 80%). i5 3320m, 8GB DDR3L"
Review 6 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wanboy
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

This is perfect business combination laptop

Date: November 24, 2013
"Imagine a computer;
- Lightweight get
- Quick get
- Display can be read,
- Keyboard can be written,
- Do not use pens are also :)
- Operating system pro Let's not get the extra licenses
Lenovo does not think before is different, different makes
I've been using one for years and I count myself fortunate in the true sense. For many years and am planning to use. Current new models currently X230T lo indispensable even for me."
Review 7 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
windwaker
Owned Product:Just got it
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

well my x230 tablet came today

Date: October 31, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Screen size
"i have to say im very impressed with the quality of the tablet its able to run all my programs and games. I don't think ill buy anything else but a Lenovo thanks Lenovo team for excellent customer service and an outstanding product. I am very happy"
Review 8 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ender
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Better than expected

Date: September 30, 2013
"That was the only small (less than 14") laptop, which able to use 16GB RAM, has touch and pen support. All other parameters of the machine are ok. :) The design of the default battery is not so nice :( Works well with windows 8."
Review 9 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Daugherty1993
Owned Product:Less than a week
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great.....when it worked

Date: September 24, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Durability, Memory, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Security Features, Display performance
"Maybe I got a bad apple - or "lenovo." This product worked wonders when it was functioning correctly! I have owned many other computers, and this one caused me too much trouble too soon - within the first five days! Troubles included: not connecting to Wifi networks, trackpad didn't function 30 seconds after log in on the fifth day, poor calibration of stylus, and the display would orient itself incorrectly quite often."
Review 10 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drewsome
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Memory:4 GB or more

Perfect for a research scientist

Date: September 6, 2013
"I use it every day for work and research. Most of the time it's in "laptop" mode; sometimes hooked to a docking station and sometimes on its own. When I go out into the field I use it as a tablet to run my robots. It's perfect, fast and reliable!
The one change I'd make is to bring back separate buttons below the scratchpad instead of embedding them beneath it. But that's a relatively small quibble."
Review 11 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bertmac
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Battery stops after one year

Date: June 4, 2013
Cons: Battery
"So i bought an x230T. its the 3rth xt model i have because of my work.
although the pc is pretty ugly it does what its advertised for. With one exception Battery life. my first Lenovo x201 T stopped working with the battery within one year i got an replacement. but the same happened again. within the same time. right not as bad as the first one but i could not get more out of it then 40 min with out plugging it back in: i mean come on this laptop is advertised with 7 hour battery life. i only had that the first month so ......
Anyway i got my second Lenovo x210 T from the company i work for. This time i thought to be smart and read up on the forms how to expand battery life and i even bought a second battery to not fully stress the one that came with it.
"
Review 12 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
arwbox
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

usable but lacking

Date: May 30, 2013
Pros: Battery, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Build Quality
Cons: Storage, Video card, Display resolution, Support, Weight, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Screen size, Display performance
"The good: The keyboard is -despite the chicklet looks- very comfortable. Performance is great, once you get rid of the preinstalled crapware. The touchscreen is precise, especially when using the pen. Linux compatibility is quite good.
The not-so-good: The builtin touchpad is unusable, Palm detection plainly doesn't work, there is absolutely no precision and the surface is rippled, further distorting any cursor control. There is no usable user-visible battery indicator, which is totally annoying for presentations and the like. Display resolution is much too low, something along the lines of 1920x1200 or more would be necessary."
Review 13 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sgron
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wanted to love this but just disappointed

Date: May 21, 2013
Cons: Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Included Software, Build Quality, track pad, delivery time
"Under performance. I wanted to love this machine but there are too many problems. It started with the shipment, which took several weeks and missed its own extended delivery estimate.
Goes on to the track pad, that slips and is unresponsive to both the cursor movements and the right and left clicks. And then gets stuck thinking and comes with tons of annoying and useless software that slows down the start up. Poor battery life. The only thing I like is the keyboard, which does have a nice feel. Everything else just doesn't measure up."
Review 14 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hbahmadi
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Not good experience with this purchase

Date: May 7, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals, Storage
Cons: Battery, Weight, Screen size
"I like the design of this product. It works nice. It has good performance and features. One think I didn't like is battery life. It won't last longer than 4.5 hrs. It was said that it holds up to 8hrs battery life. The ultrabase has a lot of ports and is good to have, but you can not use it on the go. it makes the laptop really heavy.
There are some other reviews. Please read them. They have explained many things in their review.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
renau
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

My best computer to date

Date: May 4, 2013
"This is the best computer that I have up to date.
Nevertheless, I which some improvements for the future X240T :D
-Keep the VGA, wacom, capacity to replace HD (I have a 512 SSD not available otherwise)
-Either keep the 16:10 ratio, or be brave and copy the google pixel 3:2 ratio
-Try to thin the design like in the carbon X, but allow to flip the display like in X230T or twist."
Review 16 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
curv035
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Wary of Battery Life

Date: March 11, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Battery
"I have only had the x230t for about three weeks now. Overall I really like it, I purchased it for drawing, painting, and 3D sculpting.
My biggest concern to date is the battery life. I have the 9 cell battery. I realize that if I am pushing the system with something like zBrush, I shouldn't expect a long battery life (about 2 hours on average after a full charge) however even when the system sits idle on medium brightness, I only get about 4.5 hours on a full charge. My average battery life while surfing the internet is 3.5 - 4 hours. So, no matter what, I currently do not get anywhere near 8+ hours. I have recalibrated the battery and use the default energy saver settings."
Review 17 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hambone
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Very good but not great

Date: March 9, 2013
Pros: Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Memory, screen ratio
"I upgraded from the x60 which was still going strong after six years. Howver the plastic case had all been replaced a couple of times so it was time for a new computer. I am not sure why this computer does not handle Windows 8 After using all day, it does get bogged down even though I have it with max RAM and processor. I definitely agree that a computer with proportions nearer 8.5 by 11 would have been better than the wide screen after using for six weeks, I get annoyed with all the scrolling. It does not make sense for a tablet to be widescreen - look at the IPAD guys, a full function machine with those proportions would be awesome. The solid state drive is great!! Up in 1.2 min down in 12 seconds, with more than 60 Programs installed. Make 8.5 by 11 option next time guys."
Review 18 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aman
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

The most objective laptop that exists in market

Date: February 13, 2013
Pros: Processor, Memory, Storage
Cons: Display resolution, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Included Software
"The experience so far using this machine has been
amazing. There is always room for improvement, but, I would say there is no other laptop/tablet in the market that comes close to what this package has to offer. Touch screen with high resolution pen input to edit documents/pdf's and powerful processor with lots of RAM and storage is a boon for professionals on the move. More to be desired is applications/SW that better use the features this platform has to offer. Must have for the creative types and professionals.
"
Review 19 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Noah
Owned Product:7-12 months
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good with windows 8, perfect without it

Date: January 30, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Support, Durability, Memory, Bluetooth, Keyboard/peripherals, Build Quality, Storage
Cons: Included Software, Software compatibility, windows 8
"Before I upgraded, this laptop was the fastest and most reliable that I have even owned. Now, most lenovo programs don't work and it is sluggish and laggy most of the time, even though i have the i7 and 16gb of ram. Do not get windows 8 for this device!"
Review 20 for ThinkPad X230 Tablet
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alex
Owned Product:Less than a month
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Great! Except for no 4G capability.

Date: December 17, 2012
Cons: Wireless card
"Everything is great except for the fact that it doesnt support an integrated 4G WWAN adapter. I purchased the GOBI 4000 from Lenovo thinking it would work, unfortunately it does not. It is supported on the X230 non-tablet version, which is interesting.
Your stuck with an internal 3G card (GOBI 3000) or external USB 4G card."