Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop IdeaPad Z580 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo IdeaPad Z580

Colorfully designed, affordable, 15.6" multimedia laptop

Average customer rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
11
49 of 72(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IdeaPad Z580
Review 1 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KirenGlover

Good budget laptop

Date: July 6, 2014
"Great budget laptop. Excellent keyboard. I have gotten a lot of work done on this machine. The dedicated GPU on certain models is a great feature too. There are some problems though.
Pros:
-Great price
-Good CPU and GPU
-Ergonomic keyboard and touch pad
Cons:
-Wifi sometimes stops working
-Heavy
-Runs hot at times
-Not the most solid chassis (though not too bad)
-Biggest con: Terrible hinges, got loose several times
Overall a good laptop for a budget, though due to certain cons is better as a desktop replacement rather than a portable laptop."
Review 2 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Arun

Issue

Date: June 26, 2014
"This laptop has really bad and irresponsible touch mouse pad. always got struck in middle of work which tempt to break the laptop into pieces. to check problem(increase the volume by touching the feather key, at the same time try to access the mouse by mouse pad) which never work!!"
Review 3 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hammer

Awsome Computer

Date: May 29, 2014
"After repairing Lenovo computer I realize how much better they are then other brands. I bought a less expensive model and it still out performs my HP desktop. I have had no problems only great impressions. How ever I am not a fan of windows 8 but that is not Lenovo."
Review 4 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nick23

dont buy!!

Date: April 13, 2014
"it took them over 1 month to deliver my laptop. at first it was great but after a few months it started having problems. So i had to send it in to get repaired. it still did not work well. now it takes a like 45 sec just to copy something and another 45 sec to past it. it was the worst investment of my life. Now i have had to pay to get it fixed 3 times."
Review 5 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Iqueenxme
Owned Product:7-12 months

Worst investment

Date: March 25, 2014
Pros: Screen size
Cons: Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Weight, Security Features, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Durability
"At first when I bought this laptop, it was okay. The screen was big enough and the features weren't that bad. However, there were more cons than pros. For example, the weight of the laptop prevents me from being able to bring it anywhere, the anti-virus "protection" on the laptop is almost non-existent, the battery life is very short, and the hard drive is constantly having trouble. Within a year, I had to go get it fixed more than three times. My suggestion is: save yourself the trouble and go with another laptop. This one is a no-go."
Review 6 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yagesh
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

My 1st Laptop

Date: March 18, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Display performance
Cons: Storage, Memory, Keyboard/peripherals
"Phenomenal piece of Machine."
Review 7 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sammy
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Job Lenovo

Date: March 3, 2014
Pros: Processor, Durability, Memory, Screen size, Build Quality, Display resolution
Cons: Weight
"I like this.... a bit heavy... speakers are a bit soft on regular settings. However the computer is fast and i've never had a problem with it! great buy!"
Review 8 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kirenwin
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Laptop

Date: February 2, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Processor, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Weight, Included Software, Build Quality
"Bought this laptop about 2 years ago. Great value for money, excellent budget laptop. Amazing speakers for a laptop, especially in this price range. The laptop is a little heavy, and is not very portable. However, it is quite customizable, I personally upgraded the RAM, HDD, and CPU. While gaming, the laptop gets a quite hot, and requires to be put on a cooling pad during intense gaming. GPU is great for a laptop in this price range. Rubber from front LCD plastic panel comes out very easily, a flaw in build quality. Overlooking that, a great laptop for the price, definitely one I would recommend to those with a budget."
Review 9 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dean
Owned Product:18-24 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

The best purchase I have made in a long time...

Date: January 31, 2014
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Battery, Weight, Included Software, Build Quality
"Prior to owning the Lenovo Z580 I was owner to a few other brands of laptops. These laptops that I owned broke down pretty fast. Therefore, I set out to find a reliable brand of laptops
Upon finding the IdeaPad range, the Z580 quickly became my device of choice.
Once my device was fully set up with essential software, I started testing out games. The particular Z580 I own has the Intel HD 4000 integrated graphics. I had heard that this chip set would struggle with a lot of games. However, this is far from the truth. I am able to run games such as the latest Crysis game.
Another feature that is really helpful is the fan control. When playing games the device can actually get warm. However, you can control the Z580's fan with the touch sensitive buttons.
"
Review 10 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bicky
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

The Unique One.

Date: January 23, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, dolby digital sound
Cons: Storage, Video card, Warranty, Display resolution, Wireless card, Memory, Support, Input/Output compatibility, Battery, Bluetooth, Weight, Security Features, Keyboard/peripherals, Included Software, Software compatibility, Processor, Build Quality, Screen size, Display performance, Durability
"excellent performance with core-i3 processer.it was 1 yr+ ago i ve brought this. during this period i ve never phoned to dealer or costumer-care.works good,sounds good,i think its the best i ever purchased..thank you"
Review 11 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doug
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Purchase

Date: January 13, 2014
Pros: Processor, Screen size, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Wireless card, Battery, Weight
"I Have a top of the line i7, with intel 4000. Very good for price runs minecraft as smooth as its gona get. But its very loud and thick."
Review 12 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StarTrekCode1707
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Best Ever

Date: January 5, 2014
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance, practically everything you can think of
Cons: Wireless card, Included Software
"This is by far the best spend of money on a laptop/ultrabook. I build and program computers and I love this computer and do everything on it. I would buy 100 more if I had the money. :D"
Review 13 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuckyBins
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8 Pro
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Awesome and Afforable Laptop

Date: November 22, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution
Cons: Video card
"I bought this laptop in need of one going into the IB programme now I use this laptop everyday and it is a really good laptop it is affordable and excellent would reccmond to anybody in need of a laptop espcailly kids in honor classes in their schools in 11th and 12th grade well hope you enjoy this laptop :)"
Review 14 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Orka
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Big bargain, very happy

Date: October 20, 2013
Pros: Processor, Included software, Memory, Wireless card, Build Quality, Storage
"I bought i5 Z580 w/8 ram in early March 2013 for a spectacular price of $445, so have had it 8 months now. I love it. It has been great.
Probably the one thing I found annoying was hitting the Windows key inadvertently, so I used some Freeware to reassign it.
The other weird thing was I couldn't connect my external monitor through the HDMI jack -- only the VGA worked well, but the picture is great.
The metal coating on the top is very nice. The Dolby equalizer for sound is the best freeware I've ever gotten with a computer. I love it. Also, when using as a laptop, having that on enhances the built-in speakers dramatically."
Review 15 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OStester
Owned Product:18-24 months

Could be better

Date: October 10, 2013
"Windows 8 hogs down the performance of this laptop in a major way. So I installed Windows 7 including these editions; Enterprise, Professional, Home Premium, and Ultimate. It performs best with Windows 7 Ultimate. The Desktop Aero effects rate higher at 7.1 as a subscore and the Intel HD 4000 graphics driver works like a charm on this edition of Windows The hard disk data transfer rate score is very low at base it never tops 5.9 even after defrag or wipe. As far as Linux goes absolutely not! Unless you intend to build your own kernel for this firmware there is no major Linux Distro I have tested that will run smoothly on this machine. So I would say overall, try a different model for anything other than a custom Windows 7 install.
Good luck friends"
Review 16 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mobility 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SANDY
Owned Product:13-18 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Don't invest in Lenovo.Go for HP,SONY or MAC

Date: October 5, 2013
"With in few month i face below problem
1)Window corrupt took 15 day for replace of window
2)MotherBoard was replaced after 15 days
3)Keyboard was replaced after 55 days
4)Hinges issue-replacement of lower and upper panel after 25 days
5)Still web cam issue is pending
6)Display is not working
"
Review 17 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
UniversalEye
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

Great Product, with some changes

Date: September 19, 2013
Pros: Input/Output compatibility, Warranty, Processor, Security Features, Support, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Video card, Wireless card, Keyboard/peripherals, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display performance
Cons: Display resolution, Battery, Weight, Included Software, poor microphone placement
"This computer works really great! I have had no problems learning how to use it. The microphone next to the fan was a very bad idea, as it picks up a lot of feedback. Cannot use the keyboard and mouse at the same time (harmful for gamers wanting to use this). The mouse as well has a hard time telling the difference of a left and right click sometimes. Battery life is terrible, I may get 2 hours if that, so I'm having to buy another one. Also my brightness will not change no matter what I try."
Review 18 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bangalore
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i3
Memory:4 GB or more

Good Laptopp with Reasonable Price

Date: September 7, 2013
Pros: Weight, Processor, Included software, Video card, Screen size, Display performance
"It is very nice laptop, i get shock after seeing the lap price. Perfect if you like to watch films or play games,"
Review 19 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Professor
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Usability not impressive

Date: September 6, 2013
"After much research, I purchased a Lenovo Z580 for my home computer. I wanted something I could use on my home desktop, as a laptop, and as a travel computer. While the speed of the computer is excellent, I find that certain features were not designed with the user in mind. Specifically, all usb ports are on the front corners of the machine, thus interfering with the use of a mouse if desired. The front edge of the machine is sharp rather than rounded, so it becomes uncomfortable when used on a desktop. Finally, the screen is so glossy that during daytime hours, I have a hard time finding a place where the glare on the screen is tolerable. These issues could have been diagnosed with even simple usability testing procedures. I would not recommend this laptop."
Review 20 for IdeaPad Z580
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jonnymon
Owned Product:7-12 months
Operating System:Windows 8
Processor:Intel Core i5
Memory:4 GB or more

pretty nice deal

Date: August 18, 2013
Pros: Battery, Input/Output compatibility, Weight, Processor, Security Features, Support, Included software, Durability, Software compatibility, Memory, Bluetooth, Wireless card, Screen size, Build Quality, Storage, Display resolution, Display performance
Cons: Video card, Warranty, Keyboard/peripherals
"its good for gaming and has a great design, very fast, has a great battery and sound system."