Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440

Average customer rating:
2.9 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
10
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
7
15 of 40(38%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Do not like the new "function key" setup

Date: October 22, 2014
"I want to be able to use my F3, F5 and so on keys without holding down the Fn button with it.
I do not like that aspect of the keyboard, and until they change back, I would not buy another Lenovo. It is annoying. I may be old-school, but I don't need pictures for everything.
Does not seem to be very fast.
I would like to have a hard copy of the users guide; not having to read it online, or having to print it out myself."
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

I expected more from the legendary "thinkpad"

Date: October 16, 2014
"Originally I wanted the carbon x1, but didn't want to take the chance due to all the crazy wifi issues people were having. Instead I decided to get the T440. Shipping took forever (approx > 1 month) but the machine got here undamaged.
Boot up times are great but this machine has given me so many issues from black screens to very very sluggish performance.
I am running the machine in performance mode and running classic shell to keep things fast and snappy. The results are sub-par. I build desktops and have learned that you should never cut corners if you expect certain performance. I cut huge corners by getting this machine and fully regret it.
Build quality however is surprisingly good, so thats at least a big plus. I use VS 2013 and MSSQL Server and this machine is definitely no good for getting work done.
This machine will be sold at my next yard sale or donated to a highschool kid, because it's just not good for anything other than basic browsing and checking email."
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Lost all its engineering excellence

Date: October 13, 2014
"I was a keen user of IBM laptops back in the time, owned T40, then T60 and used the X-series for a while as a company laptop. Now I have got a T440 in my new workplace... a dreadful experience!
- No integrated NumPad! How you can call it a business laptop?
- The new touchpad just does not make any sense. It was far better in the prior design.
- Screen resolution: you should not even offer a 1366x768 option! It is completely useless if you - say - use Oracle, half of the screen is 'falling off'
- Function buttons: why to spare money on separate function buttons?? The majority of office software still relies on commands given via F-buttons!
- The new keyboard layout follows the worst imaginable path: PgUp / PgDn buttons in a stupid place, bad quality buttons, no backlight (10 years old technology!!), Fn button's place exchanged with Ctrl etc.
- The plastic from which the body is made is a fingerprint magnet.
Overall: a lot to be improved in the next gen!
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Okay trackpad is terrible

Date: October 11, 2014
"I received the laptop through my school and overall it is okay except the trackpad is absolutely terrible compared to the previous thinkpad models.
Bring back the old trackpad and I might consider using it.
Seriously what where you thinking?"
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Can I have our old touch pads back.

Date: October 6, 2014
"I purchase many laptops a year for users in my company. This was the 3rd T440 I had purchased. I should have took the advice from the first 2 users and not bought another! This one is going back! The touch pad makes this totally un-usable! Until the next version comes out and it doesn't have this touch pad I will be buying other brands. Something I thought I'd never do."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Not Their Best Product

Date: October 3, 2014
"The mouse pad is extremely finicky which makes for a frustrating time when it opens things it shouldn't or doesn't open when you do need it to work. I have found that the T520 is a much better purchase. It is a reliable laptop and is a typical Lenovo product, which I love, but trying to learn the "mouse" on this has been an uphill battle."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

I Returned It

Date: October 1, 2014
"It kept showing the blue screen of death and restarting my computer when I want to shut it down. Support couldn't figure why, most likely hardware (eithernet card) but I need to send in for checking to know. Too much trouble for an expensive purchase. I just returned it."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Perfect for business

Date: October 1, 2014
"Has every adapter you need for projectors and a good battery life."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

T440

Date: September 16, 2014
"Like the computer however am dissappointed in the display. Very lack luster. In this day and age when screen clarity and colors are brilliant this one isn't. Kind of burst my bubble loving it."
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Laptop

Date: September 5, 2014
"Thinkpad T440 is a laptop that is amazing, it can run many things at same time without any problem. My dad's one it's used for business and he needs to run many thing at the same time, like Virtual Machines, many company programs and T440 can take it without problems.
The only problem that T440 ha, is the graphic card, that has not the performance required for some programs.
I really recommend T440 even it haven't a great graphic card
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Track pad

Date: September 2, 2014
"Bring back the old left and right click! I have to click the darn thing 2-3 times in order to get the selection and it is way too noisey!"
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ganesh

lenovo t440

Date: August 8, 2014
"worst laptop I have ever used so far from thinkpad series is t440.
large apple like clickpad worsens typing experience. and the clickpad by itself is horrible to use.
it must have been designed by a brainless designer from lenovo.
clickpad is not good.
keyboard is not typing friendly as when typing, hand touches the laaarge clickpad (although uselss given that much space..) and the curser moves somewhere else.. then why have keyboard?
"
Response from Lenovo:By LenovoAugust 8, 2014
Hello Ganesh, we regret that your are dissatisfied with your T440 experience. Regarding the ClickPad...we have recently released drivers for this model that should improve its usability. You can download and install the driver here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647

Hope this helps.
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rhett

Trackpad is a nightmare

Date: August 6, 2014
"The computer works fine and is nice. I have used a thinkpad for several years. I work out of my car a lot and everytime I talk to someone about the trackpad they advised me to get a dedicated mouse. Why is there a mouse on the keyboard if I need an external mouse. It is annoying to type and then grab the mouse and click and then go back to typing. It used to be in one area, the new trackpad is very sensitive and unless you hit in just the right area, not button, then the left and right click do not work. If I wanted a desktop or an external mouse I would have picked a different computer."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PurpleDiane

OK, but needs updating

Date: August 5, 2014
"My main complaint: Get rid of the stupid VGA port and give us more USB ports! 2 usb ports is not enough; should be minimum 3, 4 even better. If anyone really needs a VGA port, there are converters from Display Port to VGA easily available.
Also, the RJ-45 port should be on the same side as the power port. It is really stupid to have the 2 ports that might have cords all the time to be on different sides of the laptop. It's really annoying.
I have a low end version, so performance is OK, but not great. Screen is nice; color seems vivid.
This is my first Lenovo, so I don't have the trackpad issue that others complain about - I think it works pretty well & is compatible with my Mac and Chromebook trackpads; it is not a problem to go between computers.
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peter

The whort touchpad ever

Date: August 3, 2014
"I`m using T series for more than 6 years. The notebook is excellent, unfortunately a new touchpad was implemented in T440.... try it before purchase...."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Khaled

Bad Touchpad

Date: July 14, 2014
"It lost all the precision of Thinkpad, I could work from any angle while doing other things with the Physical buttons on the touchpad. Especially I use right thumb to use left click and right click. Now the larger touch pad interferes with the mouse pointer while trying to reach left button, it moves the cursor and I waste time. It does not feel natural anymore. . IBM got it right the first time, no improvement was needed. Physical button gives confidence. now it is like ordinary HP or DELL . Also touchpad should not be at the same level surface as the palm rest, to avoid accidental touching. Also exterior design cue is less like thinkpad, color also changed. It used to look RICH and High quality. Also should be sharper lines in the corner."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miles

TrackPad is Horrible

Date: July 8, 2014
"I have owned Thinkpads since the 2000's: r42, r61, t400, t410, t420, t430, x100e... and now a t440. The main reason I have been so loyal to Thinkpads is because they are great machines and the trackpoint "eraser head" is the best feature on any computer ever that has given Lenovo an edge.
When Lenovo integrated the lift click/right click buttons into the touchpad, they made a major mistake. The older track point with dedicated left click & right click buttons worked great. Why the change? Why change something if it works? The new one doesn't work well, and I have expanded the touch area as well as downloaded the new driver.
It simply takes several clicks to get the pointer / cursor to land in an MS Excel cell or any place I want it. IT IS ANNOYING. It always takes several clicks for what should only be one click. It's a deal breaker. Not sure I will buy another Thinkpad again."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
th1nkpad

Excellent Thinkpad

Date: June 26, 2014
"This laptop is one of the best I've owned. It is very thin and light, and the color gives it a sleek, clean design. The keyboard is wonderful to type on and is by far my favorite on a laptop. I know there are mixed opinions on the new trackpad but I personally find nothing wrong with it. It's soft and smooth and I have not encountered any problems. Overall it is a great investment."
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChristophH

The trackpad is a disease!!

Date: June 2, 2014
"Fine notebook overall, especially impressed by the browser performance (Chrome) on heavy weight webapps (games), which is on par with my Ivy Bridge desktop Quadcore from last year... Supports up to 4 monitors.
But dear lord... The trackpad is a plague. How in the world could that pass QA? Unbelievably bad user experience, sorry. There is no excuse. Please do "field tests" not in the retail market, this thing is so bad that the laptop is virtually unusable without a dedicated mouse..."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Archie

Feels Cheap & Half-baked Hardware

Date: May 27, 2014
"Cons:
1) The chassis is made up of a plastic or whatever material it is... and it feels really cheap.
2) The chassis is not properly molded.
3) On the screen, the frame on the lower part peeled-off a little out of the box.
4) comparing MAC OS integration with it's hardware vs. Windows OS integration with Thinkpad T440, it makes T440 a mediocre machine, half-baked and not with Quality and Overall user satisfaction.
5) The touch-pad and trackpoint is somewhat not designed for real life work scenario.
Pros:
1) battery as if I'm just carrying Ipad or a Tablet the whole day.
2) battery design of inner and outer battery.
3) The keyboard is great!
4) Light and easy to carry around.
5) small power brick.
6) Business level security features.
7) Good for enterprise solution.
"