Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440

Average customer rating:
2.981 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
15
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
8
24 of 54(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

New Lenovo

Date: December 14, 2014
" Just got a Lenovo Thinkpad for the first time and am still setting it up. When I've been away for awhile then come back, I cannot log back in. I try to type in my password, but nothing happens. The keyboard does not enter the characters into the password field. I have to restart. Very frustrating. Also, when it is on the docking station it is "plugged in but not recharging". Not sure if that's due to a setting or hardware issue. Still trying to resolve it. Once logged on and using it, it is quick and easy to use. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

What were they thinking

Date: December 10, 2014
" This is the worst laptop I ever had.
Main reason. The mouse is un useable.
You need an external mouse...
The frustration with this model is very high. I wish I could get another model. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Not what I expect in a business laptop

Date: December 8, 2014
" I've had IBM / Lenovo ThinkPad laptops for business for over 15 years and have always been happy with the quality of the devices.
The T440 is not in this category.
1. The lid is flimsy and flexes on opening and closing. This will certainly impact system life.
2. The mouse pad on the laptop is not the standard buttons below the track pad, instead, you must push the track pad itself. This is awkward and left mouse dragging is difficult. I had to look up how to right-click as it is not intuitive.
3. Using the docking station, the USB keyboard and mouse takes ~15 seconds to turn on when the laptop wakes from sleep. This seems like a very long time to wait every time I want to use the laptop.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Workhorse

Date: December 8, 2014
" This is a great system, with plenty of features. I use it at work and decided to get one for the home as well. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed so far

Date: December 4, 2014
" Bought for work, had good memories of previous ThinkPad, have working mainly on a Mac the last 2 years, the T440 has Windows 7 Pro...purchased from MicroCenter for $999. PC has crashed several times in the first few days, great. Crashed when trying to add a printer?
I'm going to stick with foe a few more days, see if I can get the kinks worked out, but overall not good thus far :(
"
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

I'm happy and got used to the new type of mouse.

Date: December 3, 2014
" First be aware there are several sub-models and differences even with the same sub-model number.
I bought one that I thought would NOT have backlight but did (and boy and I happy)
Crucial memory told me it can handle 12GB but it only can handle 8 total. But some 440s (not 440s but four fourdees) can do 12. did not know till I opened it up - although have assume it was only 8.
I bought with 4 but with windows7 I needed to go to 8 to work the way I need.
Now it is a great machine. One thing that was important for me - that it has is 2 monitor ports (VGA and mini displayport).
When using at home I keep LT off to the side and use my 2 large monitors.
Even though the screen is 1600*900 the externals can both be 1920*1080 and higher.
As keyboards go on a laptop this is one of the better ones (given that today they are getting flatter.
For me - this guy at below 4lbs - is a feather after my last 7lb monster.
The mouse experience is different - but I fairly quickly got used to it. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

New ClickPad is bad and a deal breaker

Date: November 28, 2014
" I have been a ThinkPad user for almost 14 years, mostly the T-series, and have always loved each one of my ThinkPads. Three months ago the company I work for gave me a new T440 to replace a T420. As soon as I took the brand new T440 out of the box and clicked on the ClickPad I knew that something had changed for the worse -- the new pointing device felt clunky, noisy (rattle noise), and required too much pressure to click when using the TrackPoint. The new ClickPad is so bad for me that I am currently (Black Friday 2014) looking for a new laptop for home use and have decided it won't be one that has it.
Lenovo also got rid of all LED indicators but power. Now it is not possible to see if there is disk thrashing, if your wi-fi is on, if there is a BlueTooth connection, or if the AC adaptor is plugged in and charging the laptop.
The ClickPad and lack of LED indicators are negatives. In terms of positives, the screen and the keyboard are nicer than in the last ThinkPad I used (T420). "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Suits my needs.

Date: November 28, 2014
" I'm older and use it to read Newspapers and e-mail. Was sad to lose the solitaire game I had on my previous lap-top. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Fingerprint reader issue after Hibernate

Date: November 28, 2014
" It only works about 50% of the time in my brand new T440 after Hibernate mode. On Sleep mode or Lock, its OK 100%. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Love everything except the synaptic

Date: November 23, 2014
" I use the machine mostly for programming work and for scientific typesetting. Having used many models of thinkpad before (R40, X60, T60, T430) I find this model reliable, quieter and lighter. While the power is occasionally less than I would like it to be, I love its portability. Hence, choosing this over the bulkier and more powerful T440p model. The synaptic is an acquired taste. Am still getting used to it even after about 3 weeks of usage.
Dual booting with Ubuntu 14.04 LTS is easy to set up. The only drawbacks were 1) card reader and 2) fingerprint reader need considerable tweaking to work. I suspect that overtime this minor problems would be worked out nicely by the linux community.
Overall, a great value-for-money workhorse for my purposes. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing

Date: November 22, 2014
" Before I bought this laptop I read about the T440’s Trackpad and potentially how horrible it was. After using it however, I found the Trackpad to be really good. Many complained about the “click” noise, but with the multi gesture and touch sensitive features I hardly find myself ever having to “click” using the Trackpad. If you find yourself to be susceptible to change, than I am sure you will enjoy using the new Trackpad.
From a student’s perspective, the T440 runs like an absolute beast during lectures. I never carry my charger on me, and the laptop is durable to withstand the harshness of a student’s life. You find yourself spilling tea while you read notes on your laptop, don’t worry! The T440 has got keyboard drains. Key travel is brilliant! With a back-lit keyboard and uniquely shaped keys, I find typing notes and essay’s to be a breeze. If you are planning to be a full time student and want 110% reliability, than this laptop is definitely for you.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Big Change in Screen Dimensions - Disappointing

Date: November 22, 2014
" I have been a fan of Lenovo laptops since Windows 98. The T440 is my fourth IBM/Lenovo laptop. On this model Lenovo has changed the screen dimensions -- wider and shorter -- but you can't find that information anywhere. The 14" diagonal dimension is nearly the same as a T410 (14.1") but width and height have changed significantly. The T440 screen height is about 3/4" LESS than the T410, and the T440 screen is more than 3/8" wider by my measure. I do a lot of text work and this difference is significant. I only discovered it when I received the unit. It was not disclosed in any product information that I reviewed or have located since. Very disappointing. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Average computer

Date: November 13, 2014
" If you're looking for a laptop for general use, this one is pretty good. In the interest of full disclosure, I must say that I am and have been for a while, a MacBook Pro gal but needed a computer with a Windows operating system for work, so I tend to compare the two. The T440 is thin and light and is an attractive laptop. It is also a really good value and would be a good choice for a student. Two main complaints: 1) While the MBP's Touchpad almost eliminates the need for a mouse (I only use one for ultra detailed work in InDesign or PhotoShop), the Touchpad on the T440 is almost useless; borderline unresponsive making toting around a mouse a necessity. 2) The resolution on the screen isn't the best. I keep fiddling around with my glasses to see if it's me or the screen but then I look at the retina display on the MBP and everything looks great. So it's the T440 screen. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Sending it back

Date: November 10, 2014
" Just received this new ThinkPad T440P and was excited to get working with it. Well there is where the problems began, there is no way to see your "indicators" caps lock, etc. and you have to be a near genius to figure out how to keep your function keys working (F1, F2, etc.). The keyboard overall is nice and has a good feel. Great if you want cheap. I pounded out thousands of lines of code on the ThinkPads of old, good sturdy machines. I figure the most I could get out of this if I kept it is a couple of programs. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Do not like the new "function key" setup

Date: October 22, 2014
" I want to be able to use my F3, F5 and so on keys without holding down the Fn button with it.
I do not like that aspect of the keyboard, and until they change back, I would not buy another Lenovo. It is annoying. I may be old-school, but I don't need pictures for everything.
Does not seem to be very fast.
I would like to have a hard copy of the users guide; not having to read it online, or having to print it out myself. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

I expected more from the legendary "thinkpad"

Date: October 16, 2014
" Originally I wanted the carbon x1, but didn't want to take the chance due to all the crazy wifi issues people were having. Instead I decided to get the T440. Shipping took forever (approx > 1 month) but the machine got here undamaged.
Boot up times are great but this machine has given me so many issues from black screens to very very sluggish performance.
I am running the machine in performance mode and running classic shell to keep things fast and snappy. The results are sub-par. I build desktops and have learned that you should never cut corners if you expect certain performance. I cut huge corners by getting this machine and fully regret it.
Build quality however is surprisingly good, so thats at least a big plus. I use VS 2013 and MSSQL Server and this machine is definitely no good for getting work done.
This machine will be sold at my next yard sale or donated to a highschool kid, because it's just not good for anything other than basic browsing and checking email. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Lost all its engineering excellence

Date: October 13, 2014
" I was a keen user of IBM laptops back in the time, owned T40, then T60 and used the X-series for a while as a company laptop. Now I have got a T440 in my new workplace... a dreadful experience!
- No integrated NumPad! How you can call it a business laptop?
- The new touchpad just does not make any sense. It was far better in the prior design.
- Screen resolution: you should not even offer a 1366x768 option! It is completely useless if you - say - use Oracle, half of the screen is 'falling off'
- Function buttons: why to spare money on separate function buttons?? The majority of office software still relies on commands given via F-buttons!
- The new keyboard layout follows the worst imaginable path: PgUp / PgDn buttons in a stupid place, bad quality buttons, no backlight (10 years old technology!!), Fn button's place exchanged with Ctrl etc.
- The plastic from which the body is made is a fingerprint magnet.
Overall: a lot to be improved in the next gen!
"
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Okay trackpad is terrible

Date: October 11, 2014
" I received the laptop through my school and overall it is okay except the trackpad is absolutely terrible compared to the previous thinkpad models.
Bring back the old trackpad and I might consider using it.
Seriously what where you thinking? "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Can I have our old touch pads back.

Date: October 6, 2014
" I purchase many laptops a year for users in my company. This was the 3rd T440 I had purchased. I should have took the advice from the first 2 users and not bought another! This one is going back! The touch pad makes this totally un-usable! Until the next version comes out and it doesn't have this touch pad I will be buying other brands. Something I thought I'd never do. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Not Their Best Product

Date: October 3, 2014
" The mouse pad is extremely finicky which makes for a frustrating time when it opens things it shouldn't or doesn't open when you do need it to work. I have found that the T520 is a much better purchase. It is a reliable laptop and is a typical Lenovo product, which I love, but trying to learn the "mouse" on this has been an uphill battle. "