Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440

Average customer rating:
3.205 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
19
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
10
38 of 78(49%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice Laptop

Date: August 26, 2015
" Have always had a Think Pad so wanted another. This is only my second as the R60 I had was still running. The R60 was my only other PC and first!
The new T440 seems like a great machine. Super light, slim. Fit and finish is what I expeceted from a Think Pad.
Top Notch IMO
"
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Need easier access to RAM and HD

Date: August 11, 2015
" It's a good machine, but forget trying to add RAM to this unit without some headaches. You have carefully "pop" the tabs on the bottom of the machine just to add RAM. This is a horrible design. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unwanted Software

Date: June 30, 2015
" Features:
It is highly unprofessional of Levono to include unwanted programs together with included Windows and the user has to accept that a number of large companies will receive data about his/her behaviour on the internet with more.
We have in our company decided to spend extra money to get a "Clean" version of windows.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The slowest computer

Date: June 29, 2015
" The computer is quite poor,it needs about five minutes to have the computer turn into the login area.The mouse is quite lag on the display.Sometimes the report i save will be loose,i think there are nothing good to say to the computer. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Value for Money Spent

Date: June 15, 2015
" I recently purchased a new Lenovo T440S. I did so primarily because I have owned ThinkPads in the past and have always been a big fan. This new ThinkPad does not disappoint! Compact, light and with a smaller footprint, it is the perfect laptop for those people on the go. As the owner of my own company, I do not spend money foolishly. The T440S represents great value for money spent. Moreover, if I had it to do over again, I would not hesitate to purchase the Lenovo ThinkPad T440S. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

T440

Date: June 6, 2015
" Don't like the touch pad
Not the same old key pad.
Every thing else is great.
"
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Extremely Good Selection

Date: May 30, 2015
" My T440 has met my expectations, the only qualm I have is that I wished the keyboard had a backlight, because I do a lot of typing at night with low level lighting. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Broke within two weeks

Date: May 30, 2015
" Unfortunatly I let the salesman at our campus bookstore convince me to go with The ThinkPad T440, big mistake. I've had the computer for no more than two weeks now and already have had multiple problems with it. First it wouldn't connect with the wifi printer, after about two days it finally magically connected to it. Then about a week in it got stuck on the loading page for about 6 hours before it finally started to work. Now a week after that it wont turn on at all. This was a 1600 dollar computer that i've had more problems with in two weeks than I've ever had with all my other computers combined in my life. The last problem is that it has a warranty but trying to navigate this process through the lenovo website is a real pain. If you want to buy new products they make that really easy, but a warranty claim that's a whole other story. NEVER would I ever purchase anything from this company again. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Be wary

Date: May 7, 2015
" There's an issue with the laptop waking up from sleep mode. Currently looking for solutions to the issue. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This time, change is bad.

Date: April 14, 2015
" For over 10 years now, I've used the ThinkPad T Series for business. They have proven reliable tough machines that I didn't mind paying a little extra for. This will be my last one. The ThinkPad T is changing to function more like the consumer models than the business models. The separate button for the tracker ball are gone, replaced with the flat touch surface which is incredibly hard to use, making the tracker ball useless and one of the best features of the Thinkpad. Other familiar features like a ThinkPad help button are gone, replaced by an application and function keys were combined into other keys. Smaller package but forces you to do more to get what you want. Still solid construction but I can buy rugged versions of competitors product since the special features ThinkPad had are being eliminated. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Purchase

Date: April 10, 2015
" There thing is perfect, except the battery. Sometimes it shows 99%, but 100% in fact. I don't know why this case always happens. However, it does't affect the performance. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great business machine

Date: March 31, 2015
" I have grown so tired of sending my PC to the IT department for repairs. Motherboard and hard drive problems are the worst. I travel from Monday through Friday every week. That means I have to spend Saturday's letting the IT department try to fix my problems and Sunday's sending my PC overnight air. Then I don't have a PC for the next week. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lenovo laptop best value

Date: March 30, 2015
" Easy to set up, fast, and compact. Has all the bells and whistles anyone could want in a notebook. Very happy with my purchase. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date: March 26, 2015
" I've been fan of Lenovo for years ago. Specially for thinkpad t440 series. And this machine is not the exception. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Business unit

Date: March 26, 2015
" Have purchased 3 of these as business laptops and have been very pleased with the purchase. Going the route of spending a bit more to get an SSD is the very best move you can make. The systems are light and really responsive, my team is thrilled and I plan to deploy 15 more. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Cool Design, NOT reliable WiFi receiver

Date: March 5, 2015
" This laptop is easy to travel with and carry around. The design of the device is great. HOWEVER, the internet connection to WiFi cuts out at random which inhibits use during work meetings and the Bluetooth receiver doesn't work.
If WiFi and Bluetooth were fixed, I'd be a happy customer, but for now, I am not happy with this device. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rock Solid, Light, and Great Specs

Date: February 28, 2015
" The Thinkpad T440 is everything you want from a laptop: easy to carry around (light and thin), sturdy (it looks like it can handle a few falls), and has great specs. It's definitely worth the money you pay over other "cheap" laptops. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Design and Poor Quality

Date: February 15, 2015
" Terrible - I used to love Thinkpad. Now Lenovo has ruined it.
Generally the laptop has ok features/performance.
However, the hinge broke (completely snapped) after less than 1 year of use. It broke on 3 laptops (my laptop and 2 colleagues laptops). On top of that, we had a 3 year warranty but Lenovo refuses to fix it!
Also, the mousepad is a terrible, awful design. Tried to copy Apple but terrible, impossible to use.
AVOID THIS LAPTOP. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lenovo to ASUS status?

Date: January 27, 2015
" I have purchased several T models for myself over the years and several hundreds for my clients over a 15 year period.
Not again.
This laptop is no longer a business laptop. It has an UNUSABLE trackpad. It is now trying to keep you in 'Mac' mode by not displaying any status lights on the laptop. There is no hard drive LED to let you know if anything is happening. My customers no longer want those laptops.
Not again.
My T420 is getting older but I WILL NOT buy another Lenovo until they get their act together and fix these (self imposed) problems.
Then maybe again... "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what I expected from Thinkpad product line

Date: January 16, 2015
" I'm a .Net developer and that is primarily what I use this laptop for. Its bone stock and still struggles to load applications. I use CCleaner/Malwarebytes/Avast to and have 0 applications set to run on startup and even so it's still sluggish. The track pad randomly stops working and I spend most of my time updating and debugging the computer rather than getting work done. First and last Lenovo laptop. I'll stick with desktop replacement gaming laptops. "