Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440

Average customer rating:
3.032 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
17
3 stars
15
2 stars
13
1 star
9
28 of 62(45%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Rock Solid, Light, and Great Specs

Date: February 28, 2015
" The Thinkpad T440 is everything you want from a laptop: easy to carry around (light and thin), sturdy (it looks like it can handle a few falls), and has great specs. It's definitely worth the money you pay over other "cheap" laptops. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible Design and Poor Quality

Date: February 15, 2015
" Terrible - I used to love Thinkpad. Now Lenovo has ruined it.
Generally the laptop has ok features/performance.
However, the hinge broke (completely snapped) after less than 1 year of use. It broke on 3 laptops (my laptop and 2 colleagues laptops). On top of that, we had a 3 year warranty but Lenovo refuses to fix it!
Also, the mousepad is a terrible, awful design. Tried to copy Apple but terrible, impossible to use.
AVOID THIS LAPTOP. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo to ASUS status?

Date: January 27, 2015
" I have purchased several T models for myself over the years and several hundreds for my clients over a 15 year period.
Not again.
This laptop is no longer a business laptop. It has an UNUSABLE trackpad. It is now trying to keep you in 'Mac' mode by not displaying any status lights on the laptop. There is no hard drive LED to let you know if anything is happening. My customers no longer want those laptops.
Not again.
My T420 is getting older but I WILL NOT buy another Lenovo until they get their act together and fix these (self imposed) problems.
Then maybe again... "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Not what I expected from Thinkpad product line

Date: January 16, 2015
" I'm a .Net developer and that is primarily what I use this laptop for. Its bone stock and still struggles to load applications. I use CCleaner/Malwarebytes/Avast to and have 0 applications set to run on startup and even so it's still sluggish. The track pad randomly stops working and I spend most of my time updating and debugging the computer rather than getting work done. First and last Lenovo laptop. I'll stick with desktop replacement gaming laptops. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

T440P

Date: January 11, 2015
" Have had the laptop for about a month now and really like the performance and ease of using it. I was familiar with this laptop since my wife had been using the same model for her work. The one disappointment with this model is the touch pad is rather clunky and awkward to use and I resort to using a mouse to navigate. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Miss the old T Series!

Date: January 8, 2015
" I'm a long time user of the T5X0 series. I'm knocking down the overall because of one stupid simple change to the "IBM" model. The mouse/touchpad/button combo. The new touchpad with "combined" button is absolutely awful!!! The button mouse embedded in the keyboard is fine, keyboard is very responsive and nice. It's just the button's combined into the touchpad is annoying, I find myself clicking 2-3 times just to do something. The old way was much more crisp and responsive.
The screen is very crisp, boot speed is great with the SSD drive. Memory size is very nice, performance overall seems very good and speedy.
If you're used to the old button combo, be ready for a change. So far I hate it. Last thing is they changed the speaker configuration, not as good as it was.
If you don't care about the issues above, it's a nice laptop and worth the money, just not my money. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great machine for the value

Date: January 6, 2015
" I upgraded the machine as much as possible when ordered. This was configured with a 7200 rpm disk drive with maxed out RAM. It is very responsive and delightful to work on. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

One important suggestion

Date: December 28, 2014
" Ordered the laptop think pad with the Lenovo mouse and keyboard , hoping that these optional devicess would link up easily, but NO , it was not seamless .. a CD was included in the package but the think pad did not have a cd reader "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Vexing

Date: December 24, 2014
" I don't like the keyboard arrangement, but from the beginning I had bigger problems with this product. The first issue was that it couldn't maintain contact with my wireless router. My old cheaper HP laptop never lost contact, my daughter's new Lenovo didn't, but I had to experiment with three new routers before finding one that the wireless card responded to with stability. Next problem: the laptop disabled the factory-installed Norton Anti-virus program. Each time that happened, I had to re-install. Third: the machine discharged the battery while plugged into electricity. Lenovo sent a new battery but that didn't solve the problem. When the internet access issue popped up again last month, I gave up. Sent it back to be overhauled and now I just hope it will stay functional. I sure didn't get my money's worth when I chose Lenovo. And I still don't like having the Home and End keys up above the numerals. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

New Lenovo

Date: December 14, 2014
" Just got a Lenovo Thinkpad for the first time and am still setting it up. When I've been away for awhile then come back, I cannot log back in. I try to type in my password, but nothing happens. The keyboard does not enter the characters into the password field. I have to restart. Very frustrating. Also, when it is on the docking station it is "plugged in but not recharging". Not sure if that's due to a setting or hardware issue. Still trying to resolve it. Once logged on and using it, it is quick and easy to use. "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

What were they thinking

Date: December 10, 2014
" This is the worst laptop I ever had.
Main reason. The mouse is un useable.
You need an external mouse...
The frustration with this model is very high. I wish I could get another model. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Not what I expect in a business laptop

Date: December 8, 2014
" I've had IBM / Lenovo ThinkPad laptops for business for over 15 years and have always been happy with the quality of the devices.
The T440 is not in this category.
1. The lid is flimsy and flexes on opening and closing. This will certainly impact system life.
2. The mouse pad on the laptop is not the standard buttons below the track pad, instead, you must push the track pad itself. This is awkward and left mouse dragging is difficult. I had to look up how to right-click as it is not intuitive.
3. Using the docking station, the USB keyboard and mouse takes ~15 seconds to turn on when the laptop wakes from sleep. This seems like a very long time to wait every time I want to use the laptop.
"
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Workhorse

Date: December 8, 2014
" This is a great system, with plenty of features. I use it at work and decided to get one for the home as well. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

Disappointed so far

Date: December 4, 2014
" Bought for work, had good memories of previous ThinkPad, have working mainly on a Mac the last 2 years, the T440 has Windows 7 Pro...purchased from MicroCenter for $999. PC has crashed several times in the first few days, great. Crashed when trying to add a printer?
I'm going to stick with foe a few more days, see if I can get the kinks worked out, but overall not good thus far :(
"
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

I'm happy and got used to the new type of mouse.

Date: December 3, 2014
" First be aware there are several sub-models and differences even with the same sub-model number.
I bought one that I thought would NOT have backlight but did (and boy and I happy)
Crucial memory told me it can handle 12GB but it only can handle 8 total. But some 440s (not 440s but four fourdees) can do 12. did not know till I opened it up - although have assume it was only 8.
I bought with 4 but with windows7 I needed to go to 8 to work the way I need.
Now it is a great machine. One thing that was important for me - that it has is 2 monitor ports (VGA and mini displayport).
When using at home I keep LT off to the side and use my 2 large monitors.
Even though the screen is 1600*900 the externals can both be 1920*1080 and higher.
As keyboards go on a laptop this is one of the better ones (given that today they are getting flatter.
For me - this guy at below 4lbs - is a feather after my last 7lb monster.
The mouse experience is different - but I fairly quickly got used to it. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous

New ClickPad is bad and a deal breaker

Date: November 28, 2014
" I have been a ThinkPad user for almost 14 years, mostly the T-series, and have always loved each one of my ThinkPads. Three months ago the company I work for gave me a new T440 to replace a T420. As soon as I took the brand new T440 out of the box and clicked on the ClickPad I knew that something had changed for the worse -- the new pointing device felt clunky, noisy (rattle noise), and required too much pressure to click when using the TrackPoint. The new ClickPad is so bad for me that I am currently (Black Friday 2014) looking for a new laptop for home use and have decided it won't be one that has it.
Lenovo also got rid of all LED indicators but power. Now it is not possible to see if there is disk thrashing, if your wi-fi is on, if there is a BlueTooth connection, or if the AC adaptor is plugged in and charging the laptop.
The ClickPad and lack of LED indicators are negatives. In terms of positives, the screen and the keyboard are nicer than in the last ThinkPad I used (T420). "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Suits my needs.

Date: November 28, 2014
" I'm older and use it to read Newspapers and e-mail. Was sad to lose the solitaire game I had on my previous lap-top. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Fingerprint reader issue after Hibernate

Date: November 28, 2014
" It only works about 50% of the time in my brand new T440 after Hibernate mode. On Sleep mode or Lock, its OK 100%. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Love everything except the synaptic

Date: November 23, 2014
" I use the machine mostly for programming work and for scientific typesetting. Having used many models of thinkpad before (R40, X60, T60, T430) I find this model reliable, quieter and lighter. While the power is occasionally less than I would like it to be, I love its portability. Hence, choosing this over the bulkier and more powerful T440p model. The synaptic is an acquired taste. Am still getting used to it even after about 3 weeks of usage.
Dual booting with Ubuntu 14.04 LTS is easy to set up. The only drawbacks were 1) card reader and 2) fingerprint reader need considerable tweaking to work. I suspect that overtime this minor problems would be worked out nicely by the linux community.
Overall, a great value-for-money workhorse for my purposes. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing

Date: November 22, 2014
" Before I bought this laptop I read about the T440’s Trackpad and potentially how horrible it was. After using it however, I found the Trackpad to be really good. Many complained about the “click” noise, but with the multi gesture and touch sensitive features I hardly find myself ever having to “click” using the Trackpad. If you find yourself to be susceptible to change, than I am sure you will enjoy using the new Trackpad.
From a student’s perspective, the T440 runs like an absolute beast during lectures. I never carry my charger on me, and the laptop is durable to withstand the harshness of a student’s life. You find yourself spilling tea while you read notes on your laptop, don’t worry! The T440 has got keyboard drains. Key travel is brilliant! With a back-lit keyboard and uniquely shaped keys, I find typing notes and essay’s to be a breeze. If you are planning to be a full time student and want 110% reliability, than this laptop is definitely for you.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.