Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440

Average customer rating:
3.159 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
17
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
9
33 of 69(48%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

This time, change is bad.

Date: April 14, 2015
" For over 10 years now, I've used the ThinkPad T Series for business. They have proven reliable tough machines that I didn't mind paying a little extra for. This will be my last one. The ThinkPad T is changing to function more like the consumer models than the business models. The separate button for the tracker ball are gone, replaced with the flat touch surface which is incredibly hard to use, making the tracker ball useless and one of the best features of the Thinkpad. Other familiar features like a ThinkPad help button are gone, replaced by an application and function keys were combined into other keys. Smaller package but forces you to do more to get what you want. Still solid construction but I can buy rugged versions of competitors product since the special features ThinkPad had are being eliminated. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Best Purchase

Date: April 10, 2015
" There thing is perfect, except the battery. Sometimes it shows 99%, but 100% in fact. I don't know why this case always happens. However, it does't affect the performance. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great business machine

Date: March 31, 2015
" I have grown so tired of sending my PC to the IT department for repairs. Motherboard and hard drive problems are the worst. I travel from Monday through Friday every week. That means I have to spend Saturday's letting the IT department try to fix my problems and Sunday's sending my PC overnight air. Then I don't have a PC for the next week. "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo laptop best value

Date: March 30, 2015
" Easy to set up, fast, and compact. Has all the bells and whistles anyone could want in a notebook. Very happy with my purchase. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Amazing!

Date: March 26, 2015
" I've been fan of Lenovo for years ago. Specially for thinkpad t440 series. And this machine is not the exception. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great Business unit

Date: March 26, 2015
" Have purchased 3 of these as business laptops and have been very pleased with the purchase. Going the route of spending a bit more to get an SSD is the very best move you can make. The systems are light and really responsive, my team is thrilled and I plan to deploy 15 more. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Cool Design, NOT reliable WiFi receiver

Date: March 5, 2015
" This laptop is easy to travel with and carry around. The design of the device is great. HOWEVER, the internet connection to WiFi cuts out at random which inhibits use during work meetings and the Bluetooth receiver doesn't work.
If WiFi and Bluetooth were fixed, I'd be a happy customer, but for now, I am not happy with this device. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Rock Solid, Light, and Great Specs

Date: February 28, 2015
" The Thinkpad T440 is everything you want from a laptop: easy to carry around (light and thin), sturdy (it looks like it can handle a few falls), and has great specs. It's definitely worth the money you pay over other "cheap" laptops. "
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Terrible Design and Poor Quality

Date: February 15, 2015
" Terrible - I used to love Thinkpad. Now Lenovo has ruined it.
Generally the laptop has ok features/performance.
However, the hinge broke (completely snapped) after less than 1 year of use. It broke on 3 laptops (my laptop and 2 colleagues laptops). On top of that, we had a 3 year warranty but Lenovo refuses to fix it!
Also, the mousepad is a terrible, awful design. Tried to copy Apple but terrible, impossible to use.
AVOID THIS LAPTOP. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

Lenovo to ASUS status?

Date: January 27, 2015
" I have purchased several T models for myself over the years and several hundreds for my clients over a 15 year period.
Not again.
This laptop is no longer a business laptop. It has an UNUSABLE trackpad. It is now trying to keep you in 'Mac' mode by not displaying any status lights on the laptop. There is no hard drive LED to let you know if anything is happening. My customers no longer want those laptops.
Not again.
My T420 is getting older but I WILL NOT buy another Lenovo until they get their act together and fix these (self imposed) problems.
Then maybe again... "
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Not what I expected from Thinkpad product line

Date: January 16, 2015
" I'm a .Net developer and that is primarily what I use this laptop for. Its bone stock and still struggles to load applications. I use CCleaner/Malwarebytes/Avast to and have 0 applications set to run on startup and even so it's still sluggish. The track pad randomly stops working and I spend most of my time updating and debugging the computer rather than getting work done. First and last Lenovo laptop. I'll stick with desktop replacement gaming laptops. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

T440P

Date: January 11, 2015
" Have had the laptop for about a month now and really like the performance and ease of using it. I was familiar with this laptop since my wife had been using the same model for her work. The one disappointment with this model is the touch pad is rather clunky and awkward to use and I resort to using a mouse to navigate. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Miss the old T Series!

Date: January 8, 2015
" I'm a long time user of the T5X0 series. I'm knocking down the overall because of one stupid simple change to the "IBM" model. The mouse/touchpad/button combo. The new touchpad with "combined" button is absolutely awful!!! The button mouse embedded in the keyboard is fine, keyboard is very responsive and nice. It's just the button's combined into the touchpad is annoying, I find myself clicking 2-3 times just to do something. The old way was much more crisp and responsive.
The screen is very crisp, boot speed is great with the SSD drive. Memory size is very nice, performance overall seems very good and speedy.
If you're used to the old button combo, be ready for a change. So far I hate it. Last thing is they changed the speaker configuration, not as good as it was.
If you don't care about the issues above, it's a nice laptop and worth the money, just not my money. "
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Great machine for the value

Date: January 6, 2015
" I upgraded the machine as much as possible when ordered. This was configured with a 7200 rpm disk drive with maxed out RAM. It is very responsive and delightful to work on. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

One important suggestion

Date: December 28, 2014
" Ordered the laptop think pad with the Lenovo mouse and keyboard , hoping that these optional devicess would link up easily, but NO , it was not seamless .. a CD was included in the package but the think pad did not have a cd reader "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Vexing

Date: December 24, 2014
" I don't like the keyboard arrangement, but from the beginning I had bigger problems with this product. The first issue was that it couldn't maintain contact with my wireless router. My old cheaper HP laptop never lost contact, my daughter's new Lenovo didn't, but I had to experiment with three new routers before finding one that the wireless card responded to with stability. Next problem: the laptop disabled the factory-installed Norton Anti-virus program. Each time that happened, I had to re-install. Third: the machine discharged the battery while plugged into electricity. Lenovo sent a new battery but that didn't solve the problem. When the internet access issue popped up again last month, I gave up. Sent it back to be overhauled and now I just hope it will stay functional. I sure didn't get my money's worth when I chose Lenovo. And I still don't like having the Home and End keys up above the numerals. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

New Lenovo

Date: December 14, 2014
" Just got a Lenovo Thinkpad for the first time and am still setting it up. When I've been away for awhile then come back, I cannot log back in. I try to type in my password, but nothing happens. The keyboard does not enter the characters into the password field. I have to restart. Very frustrating. Also, when it is on the docking station it is "plugged in but not recharging". Not sure if that's due to a setting or hardware issue. Still trying to resolve it. Once logged on and using it, it is quick and easy to use. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous

What were they thinking

Date: December 10, 2014
" This is the worst laptop I ever had.
Main reason. The mouse is un useable.
You need an external mouse...
The frustration with this model is very high. I wish I could get another model. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous

Not what I expect in a business laptop

Date: December 8, 2014
" I've had IBM / Lenovo ThinkPad laptops for business for over 15 years and have always been happy with the quality of the devices.
The T440 is not in this category.
1. The lid is flimsy and flexes on opening and closing. This will certainly impact system life.
2. The mouse pad on the laptop is not the standard buttons below the track pad, instead, you must push the track pad itself. This is awkward and left mouse dragging is difficult. I had to look up how to right-click as it is not intuitive.
3. Using the docking station, the USB keyboard and mouse takes ~15 seconds to turn on when the laptop wakes from sleep. This seems like a very long time to wait every time I want to use the laptop.
"
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous

Workhorse

Date: December 8, 2014
" This is a great system, with plenty of features. I use it at work and decided to get one for the home as well. "