Lenovo Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lenovo.

Lenovo ThinkPad T440

Average customer rating:
3.271 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
22
3 stars
20
2 stars
15
1 star
10
44 of 85(52%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lawrence, NJ, United States

No glare

Date: January 12, 2016
" I picked this without realizing that it had a non-related screen. I'm glad it has that, all other features are comparable to other laptops. "
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest

would have been five stars but ...

Date: January 7, 2016
" ... the top of the unit doesn't fit well onto the bottom, causing my arms to rub / snag on the two front corners. otherwise, it is a great PC and would have received 5 stars. it is very lightweight with good screen size and resolution. this model does not have a CD player/burner, but I never used that in the past (I download my .exe from the Internet, use iTunes, stream) and the lack of one makes it a lighter PC. battery life is good and the keyboard is very, very comfortable. "
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lyndhurst, NJ, United States

Well built

Date: December 16, 2015
" I bought this a month ago and it makes me happy happy "
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Somewhat disappointed

Date: October 13, 2015
" When I opened my T440 to begin to set it up and register I found out that 11 of the keys on the keyboard did not work. This apparently existed while at the factory. I can't believe that no one did any quality control and tested to see if the keyboard worked. I called tech support at Lenovo and they will not send me a new machine but will replace the keyboard. "
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ThinkPad T440 Owner Review

Date: October 3, 2015
" I have owned my T440 two months for home use.
I have also owned other ThinkPads (T and X models) with this replacing my T420. Compared to the T420, the T440 is slimmer, lighter and easier to carry. I purchased the base model (1366 X 768 screen, i3 1.9 GH processor, 500 GB 72 RPM HD) and I’m generally satisfied with the performance. The keyboard is fine with plenty of space on the palm rest. Although I have read owner reviews complaining about the touchpad, I don’t have a problem with it. Yes, it’s noisy and the two track point buttons are integrated into the touchpad, but I like the large size and smooth feel.
Now, I do have a few issues with it. There are only 2 USB ports and no processor light. But the biggest issue I have is the keyboard leaves an impression on the screen. I don’t know if this is a design flaw or a defective keyboard.
Generally, I like the T440. It still has the legendary ThinkPad durability, outstanding battery life and is easy to carry. "
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SO FAR THIS PC IS DOING A GOOD JOB

Date: September 4, 2015
" NO COMPLAINTS .EVERYTHING IS WORKING FINE. I LIKE THE 14 " SIZE. ITS LIGHTER AND EASIER TO CARRY AROUND. "
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still the best, but I miss physical buttons

Date: August 30, 2015
" I finally upgraded from my T43 and was skeptical of the chiclet keyboard. My concerns were mostly unfounded, I'm pretty darned happy with it. I overlooked the lack of backlit keyboard and regret that. My only real gripes are the absence of the physical buttons when using the TrackPoint and incomplete support for middle-click. "
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice Laptop

Date: August 26, 2015
" Have always had a Think Pad so wanted another. This is only my second as the R60 I had was still running. The R60 was my only other PC and first!
The new T440 seems like a great machine. Super light, slim. Fit and finish is what I expeceted from a Think Pad.
Top Notch IMO
"
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Need easier access to RAM and HD

Date: August 11, 2015
" It's a good machine, but forget trying to add RAM to this unit without some headaches. You have carefully "pop" the tabs on the bottom of the machine just to add RAM. This is a horrible design. "
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unwanted Software

Date: June 30, 2015
" Features:
It is highly unprofessional of Levono to include unwanted programs together with included Windows and the user has to accept that a number of large companies will receive data about his/her behaviour on the internet with more.
We have in our company decided to spend extra money to get a "Clean" version of windows.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The slowest computer

Date: June 29, 2015
" The computer is quite poor,it needs about five minutes to have the computer turn into the login area.The mouse is quite lag on the display.Sometimes the report i save will be loose,i think there are nothing good to say to the computer. "
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Value for Money Spent

Date: June 15, 2015
" I recently purchased a new Lenovo T440S. I did so primarily because I have owned ThinkPads in the past and have always been a big fan. This new ThinkPad does not disappoint! Compact, light and with a smaller footprint, it is the perfect laptop for those people on the go. As the owner of my own company, I do not spend money foolishly. The T440S represents great value for money spent. Moreover, if I had it to do over again, I would not hesitate to purchase the Lenovo ThinkPad T440S. "
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

T440

Date: June 6, 2015
" Don't like the touch pad
Not the same old key pad.
Every thing else is great.
"
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Extremely Good Selection

Date: May 30, 2015
" My T440 has met my expectations, the only qualm I have is that I wished the keyboard had a backlight, because I do a lot of typing at night with low level lighting. "
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Broke within two weeks

Date: May 30, 2015
" Unfortunatly I let the salesman at our campus bookstore convince me to go with The ThinkPad T440, big mistake. I've had the computer for no more than two weeks now and already have had multiple problems with it. First it wouldn't connect with the wifi printer, after about two days it finally magically connected to it. Then about a week in it got stuck on the loading page for about 6 hours before it finally started to work. Now a week after that it wont turn on at all. This was a 1600 dollar computer that i've had more problems with in two weeks than I've ever had with all my other computers combined in my life. The last problem is that it has a warranty but trying to navigate this process through the lenovo website is a real pain. If you want to buy new products they make that really easy, but a warranty claim that's a whole other story. NEVER would I ever purchase anything from this company again. "
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Be wary

Date: May 7, 2015
" There's an issue with the laptop waking up from sleep mode. Currently looking for solutions to the issue. "
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This time, change is bad.

Date: April 14, 2015
" For over 10 years now, I've used the ThinkPad T Series for business. They have proven reliable tough machines that I didn't mind paying a little extra for. This will be my last one. The ThinkPad T is changing to function more like the consumer models than the business models. The separate button for the tracker ball are gone, replaced with the flat touch surface which is incredibly hard to use, making the tracker ball useless and one of the best features of the Thinkpad. Other familiar features like a ThinkPad help button are gone, replaced by an application and function keys were combined into other keys. Smaller package but forces you to do more to get what you want. Still solid construction but I can buy rugged versions of competitors product since the special features ThinkPad had are being eliminated. "
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Purchase

Date: April 10, 2015
" There thing is perfect, except the battery. Sometimes it shows 99%, but 100% in fact. I don't know why this case always happens. However, it does't affect the performance. "
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great business machine

Date: March 31, 2015
" I have grown so tired of sending my PC to the IT department for repairs. Motherboard and hard drive problems are the worst. I travel from Monday through Friday every week. That means I have to spend Saturday's letting the IT department try to fix my problems and Sunday's sending my PC overnight air. Then I don't have a PC for the next week. "
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lenovo laptop best value

Date: March 30, 2015
" Easy to set up, fast, and compact. Has all the bells and whistles anyone could want in a notebook. Very happy with my purchase. "