Lenovo Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Lenovo
Shop ThinkPad T440 or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Lenovo ThinkPad T440

Average customer rating:
2.966 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
5
11 of 29(38%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ThinkPad T440
Review 1 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ganesh

lenovo t440

Date: August 8, 2014
"worst laptop I have ever used so far from thinkpad series is t440.
large apple like clickpad worsens typing experience. and the clickpad by itself is horrible to use.
it must have been designed by a brainless designer from lenovo.
clickpad is not good.
keyboard is not typing friendly as when typing, hand touches the laaarge clickpad (although uselss given that much space..) and the curser moves somewhere else.. then why have keyboard?
"
Response from Lenovo:By LenovoAugust 8, 2014
Hello Ganesh, we regret that your are dissatisfied with your T440 experience. Regarding the ClickPad...we have recently released drivers for this model that should improve its usability. You can download and install the driver here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647

Hope this helps.
Review 2 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rhett

Trackpad is a nightmare

Date: August 6, 2014
"The computer works fine and is nice. I have used a thinkpad for several years. I work out of my car a lot and everytime I talk to someone about the trackpad they advised me to get a dedicated mouse. Why is there a mouse on the keyboard if I need an external mouse. It is annoying to type and then grab the mouse and click and then go back to typing. It used to be in one area, the new trackpad is very sensitive and unless you hit in just the right area, not button, then the left and right click do not work. If I wanted a desktop or an external mouse I would have picked a different computer."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PurpleDiane

OK, but needs updating

Date: August 5, 2014
"My main complaint: Get rid of the stupid VGA port and give us more USB ports! 2 usb ports is not enough; should be minimum 3, 4 even better. If anyone really needs a VGA port, there are converters from Display Port to VGA easily available.
Also, the RJ-45 port should be on the same side as the power port. It is really stupid to have the 2 ports that might have cords all the time to be on different sides of the laptop. It's really annoying.
I have a low end version, so performance is OK, but not great. Screen is nice; color seems vivid.
This is my first Lenovo, so I don't have the trackpad issue that others complain about - I think it works pretty well & is compatible with my Mac and Chromebook trackpads; it is not a problem to go between computers.
"
Review 4 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peter

The whort touchpad ever

Date: August 3, 2014
"I`m using T series for more than 6 years. The notebook is excellent, unfortunately a new touchpad was implemented in T440.... try it before purchase...."
Review 5 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Khaled

Bad Touchpad

Date: July 14, 2014
"It lost all the precision of Thinkpad, I could work from any angle while doing other things with the Physical buttons on the touchpad. Especially I use right thumb to use left click and right click. Now the larger touch pad interferes with the mouse pointer while trying to reach left button, it moves the cursor and I waste time. It does not feel natural anymore. . IBM got it right the first time, no improvement was needed. Physical button gives confidence. now it is like ordinary HP or DELL . Also touchpad should not be at the same level surface as the palm rest, to avoid accidental touching. Also exterior design cue is less like thinkpad, color also changed. It used to look RICH and High quality. Also should be sharper lines in the corner."
Review 6 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miles

TrackPad is Horrible

Date: July 8, 2014
"I have owned Thinkpads since the 2000's: r42, r61, t400, t410, t420, t430, x100e... and now a t440. The main reason I have been so loyal to Thinkpads is because they are great machines and the trackpoint "eraser head" is the best feature on any computer ever that has given Lenovo an edge.
When Lenovo integrated the lift click/right click buttons into the touchpad, they made a major mistake. The older track point with dedicated left click & right click buttons worked great. Why the change? Why change something if it works? The new one doesn't work well, and I have expanded the touch area as well as downloaded the new driver.
It simply takes several clicks to get the pointer / cursor to land in an MS Excel cell or any place I want it. IT IS ANNOYING. It always takes several clicks for what should only be one click. It's a deal breaker. Not sure I will buy another Thinkpad again."
Review 7 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
th1nkpad

Excellent Thinkpad

Date: June 26, 2014
"This laptop is one of the best I've owned. It is very thin and light, and the color gives it a sleek, clean design. The keyboard is wonderful to type on and is by far my favorite on a laptop. I know there are mixed opinions on the new trackpad but I personally find nothing wrong with it. It's soft and smooth and I have not encountered any problems. Overall it is a great investment."
Review 8 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChristophH

The trackpad is a disease!!

Date: June 2, 2014
"Fine notebook overall, especially impressed by the browser performance (Chrome) on heavy weight webapps (games), which is on par with my Ivy Bridge desktop Quadcore from last year... Supports up to 4 monitors.
But dear lord... The trackpad is a plague. How in the world could that pass QA? Unbelievably bad user experience, sorry. There is no excuse. Please do "field tests" not in the retail market, this thing is so bad that the laptop is virtually unusable without a dedicated mouse..."
Review 9 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Archie

Feels Cheap & Half-baked Hardware

Date: May 27, 2014
"Cons:
1) The chassis is made up of a plastic or whatever material it is... and it feels really cheap.
2) The chassis is not properly molded.
3) On the screen, the frame on the lower part peeled-off a little out of the box.
4) comparing MAC OS integration with it's hardware vs. Windows OS integration with Thinkpad T440, it makes T440 a mediocre machine, half-baked and not with Quality and Overall user satisfaction.
5) The touch-pad and trackpoint is somewhat not designed for real life work scenario.
Pros:
1) battery as if I'm just carrying Ipad or a Tablet the whole day.
2) battery design of inner and outer battery.
3) The keyboard is great!
4) Light and easy to carry around.
5) small power brick.
6) Business level security features.
7) Good for enterprise solution.
"
Review 10 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judy

Thinkpad for granddaughter

Date: May 27, 2014
"Purchased the Lenovo T440 for our youngest granddaughter as a high school graduation gift. This is the third Lenovo we have purchased for a granddaughter - all are very pleased with them.
I also purchased a Lenovo Thinkpad E430 for myself and a Lenovo desktop for my husband.
"
Review 11 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ychen

Research before you buy

Date: May 1, 2014
"I have bought many Thinkpad X and T series. The latest ones are T420 and T430. I just get a T440. As other reviews said, the trackpoint and touchpad are next to useless. You have to disable the touchpad in order to use trackpoint. Otherwise, the pointer will move when you click. Many buttons for easy access are removed from the keyboard. I cannot switch to external display or go into sleep without going to the control panel. The keyboard is ok. The laptop is thin and light. The CPU is low power. The laptop will hang when it enters sleep mode. It seems a lot of people have similar complaints. I have not figured out the solution."
Response from Lenovo:By LenovoMay 19, 2014
Hi ychen, we're sorry to hear about some of your frustrations with the T440 touchpad. Have you tried installing the latest drivers to correct for some of the issues you are experiencing? Please follow the below link to do so:
http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647
Review 12 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thinkpadfan

Bring back the trackpad..enough said.

Date: April 19, 2014
"I have owned several thinkpads including t23, t30, t40, t60p and t420. I just got the t440 and it looks great. Good that it's lighter than it's predecessors and overall performance is simply great. Smaller keyboard is bit tricky especially since pageup/down buttons have moved but no big deal.
New touchpad is honestly annoying and sometime it doesn't recongnize right clicks and have to click couple of times. Lenovo, please bring back the original trackpad with buttons, and yes please don't ever think of replacing the trackpoint with something else. If you want to remove something from the thinkpad then get rid of low resolution 1366x768 version of display! That shouldn't be even offered as an option."
Response from Lenovo:By LenovoMay 19, 2014
Hi thinkpadfan, please follow the link below to the latest drivers. If you download and install these, you may see some improvement in the functionality of your trackpad:
http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647
Review 13 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disgusted

New Laptop designer should be fired

Date: April 17, 2014
"I loved Lenovo laptops for the great red trackpoint and the smart positioning of the thumb mouse buttions. This design was the deal maker for me. BUT! the new laptop models have ruined that design! Lenovo laptops are dead to me..."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
l3n0v0

Good value and highly reliable

Date: April 15, 2014
"I own this model for 3 months now and so far, it hasn't failed me esp. on the battery life (9-cell; no internal). I also like the feel of the keyboard. With regards to the trackpad, it really needs some getting used to, but once you're pass that, I think it's bearable. Although its not as good as Mac's though.
Some of my complains though are: It doesn't have an HDMI out and there are only 2 USB ports. Personally, I always reserve 1 for my mouseAdditionally, there are times that the trackpad doesn't respond much on the clicks that I do - I have to press twice before it responds. I also don't like the fact that there are less dedicated buttons for additional functions and indicators such as volume up and down and caps lock light which I found handy in my old laptop."
Review 15 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FormerThinkpadUser

I've been apologizing for this since I bought it

Date: April 12, 2014
"I bought this for my girlfriend as a present, having owned previous generations of the T series extending from the T30 up to the T430. The touchpad is appalling. I can't imagine buying another Thinkpad again as long as it is part of the package."
Review 16 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MLSCrow

Could have been a great machine...

Date: April 11, 2014
"...if it wasn't for the horrible touchpad. As is, out of 10, with 10 being the best, my user experience has been a 2. If Lenovo does the smart thing and rolls back the touchpad to the previous model (with the buttons), my experience would increase by 400% (It'd go from 2/10 to 8/10, just from the touchpad alone).
I know it's a Lenovo standard, but please for the love of God, swap the control and function keys back to how they should be, with the ctrl key on the outmost edge.
Also, instead of wasting LED's on the function key and to light up the "I" in the Thinkpad logo, use it instead to provide a caps-lock notification instead (if not one on the screen)."
Review 17 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cesarc

Bringback the T430

Date: April 7, 2014
"Lacks the same feel and functionality as its predecessor. Biggest complaint....you guess it, that awful trackpad."
Review 18 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shahzadeh

Advantages and unexpected disadvantages

Date: March 31, 2014
"I purchased this laptop about two months ago, primarily because of its antiglare screen. .
The antiglare screen is good for the eyes, however the contrast could be disturbingThe shortcut keys stop working sometimes. The fingerprint device doesn't work sometimes
The camera could be much better
The touchpad is not responsive enough and the settings don't work well
The sound of the laptop is great.
Battery life is also good.
"
Response from Lenovo:By eCommerceApril 3, 2014
Hello Shahzadeh, thank you for your feedback on the T440. I’m sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the new ClickPad design. We have recently released drivers for this model that should improve the usability of the ClickPad. You can download and install the driver here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS034647
Review 19 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kathryn
Owned Product:1-6 months
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Okay, but trackpad drives me nuts

Date: March 22, 2014
Pros: Weight, Durability, Screen size
Cons: Storage, Build Quality
"I've had two previous Lenovos in the T series. They've both been reliable and generally great computers. This one, however, I kind of wish I had gotten something else. I'm a heavy trackpad user, and this one drives me crazy. It's so finicky, and I get constantly frustrated with it. I never had this problem with a Lenovo before. In addition, I don't feel like the small SSD on here significantly speeds up the computer. I still feel like it's rather laggy at times. If I were in the position to where I could afford to be computer-less for a little while, I'd probably return it for something else."
Review 20 for ThinkPad T440
OverallOverall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mobility 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DJS758
Owned Product:Less than a month
Operating System:Windows 7 Professional
Processor:Intel Core i7
Memory:4 GB or more

Lenovo JUST Ruined the ThinkPad

Date: March 19, 2014
Cons: trackpad, design
"This would have been my third ThinkPad, as the T-Series is really the only business class notebook that competes with Apple for build quality. However, this ThinkPad has one major design flaws.
THE TRRACKPAD renders this notebook unusable. Dual buttons on previous models were perfect.
I also think the design looks more like an Apple compared to the traditional thinkpad, so, in short, I guess I'm switching to Apple because this laptop is unusable. BOOOOoooooo LENOVO!!! You ruined the best laptop on the market."